Love Punta Cana?

Book a flightBook a vacation

Other Dominican Republic destinations:

If you like Punta Cana,
you might like:

Filter by trip type:

Lovely and relaxing

Would recommend

Reviewed by Imar on Jul 01, 2014

Travel Date: June 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

Really beautiful beaches. The water is warm and clear and the sand is soft. The coffee and chocolate...mmmmmmm.

 

Travel Tip: Food

It's all about the chocolate here.

See more See less

Punta Cana may be my new favorite destination!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Danielle on Jun 29, 2014

Travel Date: June 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

Amazing weather, 60km of the most beautiful beaches I've seen. Love that Punta Cana itself although has a large amount of spectacular resorts it doesn't have the overall "resort city" feel. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Hola Tours!! Check them out!

See more See less

"Surprisingly adorable!"

Would recommend

Reviewed by Francis on Jun 25, 2014

Travel Date: June 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

Finally had the opportunity to visit Punta Cana and was amazed with its natural beauty, powdery white sand beaches, adorable people and good food. Five nights is not enough and will definitely come back!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Amazing beaches!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Ash G on Jun 20, 2014

Travel Date: May 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

Punta Cana is an incredible destination. Some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. The resorts are fantastic and the people are friendly. Very relaxing and fun place to vacation.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Fun for all ages!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Kujo on Jun 18, 2014

Travel Date: June 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

Recently returned from Punta Cana, I had been there about 10 years ago and wow has it changed!! First of all, flying over the Dominican is very lush and green, once you land in Punta Cana there are no ramps the stairs will be pushed to the aircraft......as soon as you step off the plane you feel the wonderful heat and humidity! The process through the airport is a bit daunting, as most airports. But once you pass all the major points and step out of the airport the transfers are waiting for you. If you are travelling with Westjet vacations then one of the Representatives will meet you at the desk, they will be holding a westjet vacations sign and they will assist you with the transfers. Depending on which hotel or area you are staying is how the transfers buses are allocated for each party, sometimes you may get a large bus and sometimes you may get a smaller 20 seater bus, really depends on how many people arriving on that flight are travelling to the same area. The beaches in Punta Cana are stunning! white sand and turquoise water, we visited a few beaches and honestly they were all beautiful. I would highly reccommend a day trip on the saona catamaran, beautiful boat and gorgeous scenery, the boat will take you to a sandbar in the middle of the ocean where you will be served champagne and hold a star fish, maybe you'll be lucky like we were and see a stingray then you will be whisked oof to an island and you will be served a delicious lobster lunch. The beach on the island is gorgeous and great pic opportunity. Over all I would reccommend this destination to anyone and everyone, beautiful beaches, friendly people and great food!

 

Travel Tip: Food

Bring bug spray, seems the little critters come out at night....nothing crazy though!Kujo

See more See less

A must on the bucket list

Would recommend

Reviewed by Jennifer on Jun 15, 2014

Travel Date: June 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

I thought Punta Cana was beautiful. I was surprised at the beaches and the water was so refreshing. Will be returning again hopefully.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Punta Cana has it all great beach, great food, and great entertainment.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Anne on Jun 07, 2014

Travel Date: May 2014
Trip Type: Couple

We had never been to Punta Cana or the D.R. before and were looking for something different from our usual Mexican getaway... We were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the beaches and country overall were. The food was another positive note for the trip, buffets seemed to include more seafood, more choices and everything was very fresh which is not always the case when travelling. You see tons of cows throughout the countryside, which translated into some great steak dinners at our resort at the a la carte restaurants, I'm sure that all the hotels offerings are similar, as the beef and seafood seemed to be abundant. I can truly say that we totally relaxed while we were there, we took in the Saona VIP Cataraman Tour, and it was one of the best day tours we have ever been on. Relaxing on board this huge catamaran complete with 2 hot tubs, great music, beers and bevvies, swimming with starfish, and then a yummy lobster lunch on the beach was one of the highlights of our trip. The other highlight was that we actually won at the casino, not a ton, but enough to pay for our day tour and a bottle of mamauana liquor to bring home. Most large hotels have their own little casino with tables and slots machines. The Mamauana (probably spelt wrong) Liquor is sold all over the island and is a combination of rum, red wine, honey and a ton of secret herbs shoved into the bottle, it is a bit of a cure all, and also listed as an aphrodisiac. Can't wait to go back and see another part of the island, although now we have had our romantic couple getaway for the year, may bring the kids next time as we felt really safe and taken care of by West Jet Vacations.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Love the beaches

Would recommend

Reviewed by Cathy B on Jun 06, 2014

Travel Date: June 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

I really enjoyed Punta Cana. It was very hot in early June and it rained a few times but luckily only for short periods. Twice at night and once during breakfast I saw rain but never in the middle of the day. The beaches are the highlight for me. The sand and the ocean are beautiful in Punta Cana.

 

Travel Tip:

Do a day trip to Saona Island. It's beaches are amazing.

See more See less

Visit Punta Cana as you will have a really good time at an affordable rate. This Island was very safe.

Would recommend

Reviewed by MomaJan on Jun 27, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Punta Cana was so beautiful and relaxing, the weather was just right in the early morning it would rain and then heat up late afternoon to a comfortable level while we were there. The air was clean and the people were overly friendly I would take a bit of bug spray for the evening and a light sweater. I went swimming with the sharks and held a sting ray for the first time, now this is something I would not normally do but the staff on the excursion were very knowledgeable and made me feel safe. The water park we visited was so much fun for the kids and the adults, however listen carefully to the safety instructions when going down the ride. If you are looking for a really good spa at a great price many of the hotel resorts in Punta can accommodate you from the novice user to the upscale guest.

 

Travel Tip: Shopping

Have fun pack a rain coat, bug spray, good dancing shoes and don't drink too much before you take your favorite tour.

See more See less

Will be back...........

Would recommend

Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 25, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Not sure what I was expecting but pleasantly surprised with Punta Cana. The beaches are beautiful & the resorts are even more. It truly is a destination to relax and be with love ones, whether its relaxing on the beach, going out dancing or enduring an adventure. For example going on the Marinairian Shark & Ray Experience, what a way to spend the day swimming with the sting rays and sharks. The staff are unbelievable, just a friendly, knowledgeable bunch of staff. But if that’s not what you’re looking for, the destination representative with WestJet, Melinda is perfect for her roll. She is a fountain of information who is always there for you. Just a wonderful place to visit and will definitely be back!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

check out Marinairian Shark & Ray Experience

See more See less

Great destination! Beautiful beaches, locals welcoming.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Laura on Jun 24, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

I loved Punta Cana!! It was my first time there and I especially loved the white sandy beaches. Also, I would highly recommend a cruise from the Marinarium where you can swim with nurse sharks and stingrays. Lots of fun!! The locals and staff at resorts are very welcoming!! There is something for everyone!!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

visit the Marinarium for snorkling with nurse sharks and sting rays, great fun!!

See more See less

A great destination for family

Would recommend

Reviewed by Beni on Jun 24, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Family

Punta Cana is a great destination for family. Very relaxing! The weather was great and even when it rained in one day it was only for less then an hour and still was great to swim in the ocean or the swimming pool. Definitely would go back.

 

Travel Tip:

Try to be involved in as many as you can activities that you can be offered!

See more See less

Absolutely an awesome destination

Would recommend

Reviewed by mcr on Jun 19, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Punta Cana is an absolutely beautiful resort destination. The beaches are beautiful with lovely water and sand. Pools at resorts are lovely. The culture and people are so interesting and people very friendly and eager to please. I would highly recommend taking in some of the excursions. For instance the MARINARIAN SHARK & RAY EXPERIENCE is absolutely a worthwhile experience. You are able to swim with the sting rays and sharks, scenic cruise with stunning views of coral reefs, professional instructors, cocktails and refreshments and hotel pick up and drop off. It is a truly amazing experience and well worth the money. It is approx $98.99 USD.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Punta Cana - a definate go to destination!!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Michie on Jun 19, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Punta Cana is definately a destination to be desired to go to. There is literally something for everyone here - from the budget conscious to those looking for the extreme elegance and lavish lifestyle. There are a variety of different activities to do not only at your resort, but also through out the area - the most exciting activity was swimming with the sharks at the Marinarium!! Something you don't think of doing off hand, but it was an experience to remember.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Don't be afraid to experience everything this destination has to offer!!

See more See less

Loved Punta Cana :)

Would recommend

Reviewed by Andrea C on Jun 18, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Loved My stay in Punta Cana - seems like this destination has something to offer for all kinds of clientele .. couples, families, groups there's something for all .. most hotels have beautiful beaches .. the locals are all very friendly and helpful :)

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

AWESOME

Would recommend

Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 17, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

What can I say? Beautiful. The weather was great just a bit of cloud and it rained for about 2 hours in total. The beaches are wonderful. I went swimming with Sharks and Stingray's fro the first time~AWESOME. I have never even heard of this before. Exhilerating and scarey at the same time. The food was good the culture is plentyful. Can't wait to go back.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Swim with the sahrks.

See more See less

Punta Cana - a Beach Paradise

Would recommend

Reviewed by christine k on Jun 16, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

Arrived in Punta Cana in June. Weather was partly overcast, but warm. The beaches were beautiful, nice white sand! Aqua waters await you! Resorts that I saw were quite big. Dominicans are very welcoming people! If I had the chance to go back I would! Definately!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Swim with the Sharks and Stingrays! Awesome experience!

See more See less

Pleasant Surprise

Would recommend

Reviewed by Leah on Jun 15, 2013

Travel Date: June 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

This was my first time to Punta Cana and I was plesantly surprised. Yes the beaches were beautiful but it felt very safe as well. The WestJet Vacations Rep Melinda was amazing and was so excited about the destination and how much she loved it it was contagious!! There are some great excursions here as well. We went to snorkle with the nurse sharks and sting rays. There are so many great tours it is hard to choose.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

I LOVE PUNTA CANA

Would recommend

Reviewed by Anndee on Apr 06, 2013

Travel Date: March 2013
Trip Type: Couple

The weather was fantastic!and the beach was BEAUTIFUL although a couple overcast days..which was alright as we had a couple adventures on those days. We were there for a week last part of March and the wind was crazy when in the water. so not much daily adventures were available except in the pools. The one adventure was with Canopy Adventures (ziplining), Wiggi Wiggi was our host on the bus and he was fun and happy. We enjoyed our ziplining but not for people who have issues with climbing hills to get to the next zipline. All the staff at the ziplining were helpful and fun. Our photos turned out horribly and glad we got to review them before we purchased them. Gives you a chance to see outside the resort and head into the bush. Met the snakeman with his trancula on the road (very cool but ewe). Our next adventure was fishing, with Punta Canas wind and waves, I would advise you know exactly what you are going to be doing on the boat. There were 6 of us, we sat in boat as it lead us into the waves for 1.5hours. 3 of us got sick. The one man set up the rods and we watched as we trolled into the large waves (i was green within 30mins). As we headed back to shore we caught a 20lb tuna. there was no mention wether anyone wanted a peice to take or an offer to cook it for us. disliked this adventure. Our 3rd adventure was snorkeling with the sharks and stingrays at ocean park. Punta Cana Sailing was incrediable! all the guys were fun and caring and took a great video of our experience. Highly recommend this adventure. We booked all our adventures with the staff on the beach. I would say the beach is not that great for small kids who like to be in the water because of the large waves.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

DO SOME RESEARCH ON A GOOD RESTURANT TO GO TOO FOR SEAFOOD, BCS NOT MUCH ON RESORT IN THAT WAY

See more See less

overall good time, just not great

Would recommend

Reviewed by party of 8 on Mar 01, 2013

Travel Date: February 2013
Trip Type: Couple

Great weather and temperature. Lots to do, some adventures were not as great as promoted. Bought a "picture disc" of a tour. When we got back home it turns out it was random music, others friends on the same tour received a disc of pictures at least however the pictures were from 2005 and a different tour. Buffet food was nothing special, al la carte restaurants were disappointing. The airport was overwhelming. felt so lost and chaotic.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Have you visited Punta Cana?

We'd love to know what you think.

Write a review

Our review policy

We do our best to ensure reviews are accurate, fair and objective. All reviews are the opinion of a WestJet Vacations website visitor and not of WestJet Vacations.

Read our review policy