Love Kahului, Maui?

Book a flightBook a vacation

Other Hawaii destinations:

If you like Kahului, Maui,
you might like:

call our call centre at 1-855-735-6323

Want to know more?

Our knowledgeable agents love talking travel.

Call us at 1-855-735-6323.

Filter by trip type:

Awesome Maui - Wailea

Would recommend

Reviewed by Ashok on Oct 21, 2014

Travel Date: March 2014
Trip Type: Couple

It's an incredible place to spend time. I wish I could visit Maui every year. The spectacular beaches, the flower, the pleasantry etc.

 

Travel Tip: Shopping

Go to Molokini Island for sonrkeling, even if you are not a snorkler, it's amazing

See more See less

Maui was great place to partake of what tourist things were offered, or to just relax in peace.

Would recommend

Reviewed by G&E S on Apr 03, 2013

Travel Date: April 2013
Trip Type: Couple

Not a drop o frain, warm the whole week, toured the road to Hana, snorkelled, whale watched, saw sea turtles, enjoyed a luau, photographed sunsets, had a great guide on route to Hana and learned substantial local information from him. had a great helicopter ride and once again enjoyed not only the views, but the inforamtion relayed by the pilot and the manner in which it was presented.

 

Travel Tip:

Do not count on public buses. Either rent or be prepared for substantial cab fares if you are on the west coast.

See more See less

People were very friendly

Not recommend

Reviewed by Fergy on Mar 19, 2013

Travel Date: March 2013
Trip Type: Couple

The area is beautiful.Enjoyed whale watching, our helicopter ride,and the beautiful flowers everywhere.Would love to go back,althought things are abit pricey.We would love more all inclusive resorts

 

Travel Tip:

rent a car

See more See less

Kihei Maui was incredible, safe, friendly and a very pleasant holiday

Would recommend

Reviewed by Scooter on Feb 15, 2013

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Friends

We departed Calgary December 6th and spent three glorious weeks in Kihei Maui... We stayed two weeks at the Maui Coast and one week in a private condo. The Maui Coast was awesome, the staff incredibly nice and we would highly recommend it. The WestJet staff, flight crew, etc... were amazing... You can tell they're owner and love what they do. We met a gal from Calgary who was fantastic, her name was Shayne and a very efficient, friendly and wonderful addition to the company. Her regular route is Calgary to Maui and we would love to see her again some day soon. Maue was great and highly recommended for all!!! The weather wonderful, the water, wonderful, the food and people wonderful!!! What more can one ask for!!! We'll be back for sure!!! Aloha and Mahalo!!!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Swimming in at Kameole beach 2 was fantastic, lots of sea turtles and colourful fish

See more See less

Maui is a safe, beautiful relaxing island we will all be back.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Bear on Feb 08, 2013

Travel Date: January 2013
Trip Type: Family

We LOVED our trip..everything was perfect. Maui is a beautiful place. I have travelled all over the world and feel that this was one of the most beautiful relaxing places I have ever been. We were in a condo which was so perfect, our party consisted of two adults, two teenagers, and my eighty year old Mom. A fantastic time was had by all of us.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Pack light and very casual..nothing fancy required here.

See more See less

Great weather, awesome beaches. For a Canadian in December, it's paradise!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Shell on Jan 24, 2013

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Family

It was fantastic weather every day and once we got away from the airport and Kahului itself it was very relaxing. The traffic was "Big City" insane in and around Kahului. Fantastic beaches and hiking. Waves can be scary if you're swimming some days but watching the surfers was awesome. Good food. Would definitely go back.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Fish tacos on the side of the road by Big Beach are great!

See more See less

Love - Love - Maui !!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Maui -12/13 on Jan 15, 2013

Travel Date: January 2013
Trip Type: Family

Our family loves Maui. This is our second time there and if not for the long flights we would travel there annually. We have stayed on other Hawaiian islands and like Maui best. It has just enough of everything in a laid back very relaxing atmosphere. All of the people we met are very friendly and were eager to help. The weather on Maui is warm, cooling off mildly at night with gentle ocean breezes. We would definitely go back.

 

Travel Tip: Food

Excellent sushi restaurant near the golf courses up by Kapalua

See more See less

Awesome beaches, good food and don't let the weather report scare you!

Would recommend

Reviewed by JandJ on Dec 30, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

I was staying in Kaanapali. If you go in December, the weather report will say Rain every day... don't panic. It will rain for a short duration in the morning, and then drizzle lightly sometime during the day. Plan on a steady 20-30kph breeze through most the day. 20-30 degree temps. The weather is not nearly as bad as it seems on the weather reports. Kaanapali Beach was awesome, you don't 'need' to go to any other beaches, unless you plan on surfing or boogie boarding... in which case head up to DT Fleming beach which is a short drive to the north. You will want a car in Maui... you don't need one the whole time, but you will want one at least for a few days to tour around. Mahi Mahi, Ahi and Ono are the best types of fish to eat in Maui... stick to those and you should have excellent meals.

 

Travel Tip: Food

The Coconut Shrimp at the Kinaole Grill Food Truck in Kihie at Kinaole beach I was excellent

See more See less

Kala;ui was a dream come true for us!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Ron and Debbie on Dec 29, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

The weather was perfect! There was a trade wind so that it was never so hot that you were uncomfortable . A warm breeze all of the time. We had a few days when there was a light mist in the mornings and because of this there was many beautiful rainbows. One day there was a double rainbow. I would definitely go back. Next time perhaps stay in a condo with a fridge and stove so could have an occasional meal at our condo on the lanai. We enjoyed going to the restaurants, and loved being able to eat outside on the patios with the open windows. The beach was very clean and not crowded. We could see the ocean from everywhere including every restaurant we went to. Our hotel had a free streetcar so we used that several times to go to the shops and restaurants. There were many dishes made with coconut and fresh fish. We took in a dinner cruise and it was very pretty to see the sights on the water. We would gp again in a heartbeat.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

We found a very reasonable restaurant called The Castaway near our hotel. The food was delicious , the staff were super friendly .

See more See less

Kala;ui was a dream come true for us!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Ron and Debbie on Dec 29, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

The weather was perfect! There was a trade wind so that it was never so hot that you were uncomfortable . A warm breeze all of the time. We had a few days when there was a light mist in the mornings and because of this there was many beautiful rainbows. One day there was a double rainbow. I would definitely go back. Next time perhaps stay in a condo with a fridge and stove so could have an occasional meal at our condo on the lanai. We enjoyed going to the restaurants, and loved being able to eat outside on the patios with the open windows. The beach was very clean and not crowded. We could see the ocean from everywhere including every restaurant we went to. Our hotel had a free streetcar so we used that several times to go to the shops and restaurants. There were many dishes made with coconut and fresh fish. We took in a dinner cruise and it was very pretty to see the sights on the water. We would gp again in a heartbeat.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

We found a very reasonable restaurant called The Castaway near our hotel. The food was delicious , the staff were super friendly .

See more See less

Absolutely Beautiful! Definitely a place to visit more than once!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Amanda Sheldon on Dec 28, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Family

Absolutely beautiful! The weather was great, it was hot, but the wind made it just perfect. Maui is so laid back and the people are so friendly and nice. It is easy to drive to any location you want to go. The beaches are clean and so very beautiful. You can snorkel in 4-5 feet of water and see so many different kinds of fish, turtles, and sea creatures. It doesn't take long to travel to many different beaches, and almost every one has different types of sand, people, waves etc. it's so neat! We tried local foods like the purple sweet potato, sweet onions and of course pineapple...all delish! We also tried the shaved ice of course which was so good! Going to a luau is highly recommended! The food and entertainment is amazing! the story they tell is beautiful and it being at sunset makes it all the more better. There are sugar cane fields galore which are cool to see. Overall this is definitely one place we will be visiting over and over again, even the kids loved it!

 

Travel Tip: Miscellaneous

The Banyan Tree on Front Street in Lahaina is definitely a must see!

See more See less

Absolutely a magical island and lots of relaxing or active things to do.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Cathrine on Dec 21, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Family

Loved this island! Smell of the flowers as soon as we got off the plane. Very consistent warm weather and wonderful breezes. Friendly people everywhere and helpful business owners for tips on things to do and see. Loved the rainforest and the drive to "Hana". We returned to this side of the island 3 times on our trip and loved it each time. So much beauty to see and I would return again. My next trip to Hawaii would most likely be to the big island to see the active lava flows. That would be awesome. I already miss Maui.

 

Travel Tip:

Maui tacos in south kihei. Order the fish tacos with refried beans, big portions for the $. Also go to Lava Java for their iced mocha,

See more See less

Can't wait to go back.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Lyn on Dec 20, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Maui is perfect. The weather was 25+ every day with sunshine. We experienced one 5 minute rain. The island is casual, relaxed and beaches are not crowded. We were there to cycle. We cycled daily. The highways and drivers are all bike FRIENDLY!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Eat fish tacos at Life's a Beach

See more See less

Very relaxing.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Kim and Nick on Dec 17, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Had a great time lots to see and do or you can just relax and unwind.

 

Travel Tip: Miscellaneous

A little pricey so bring lots of money.

See more See less

Wonderful destination!! Tropical paradise!

Would recommend

Reviewed by VT on Dec 12, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

We loved Kahului, Maui (we stayed specifically in Kihei which is about 20 mins south of Kahului. Kihei has such a relaxed atmosphere. The weather was phenomenol - very hot in the high 20s (C) and humid. The ocean breeze was lovely...... We would definitely go back!!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

This was the first time we vacationed in a condominium so be aware of that and bring all your necessary items.

See more See less

Maui is truly paradise!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Cindy on Dec 11, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Friends

What a beautiful paradise! Location is fantastic, very relaxing, easy to get around, the weather was fantastic and can't wait to go again!

 

Travel Tip:

Travel light, explore island, take in all the natural beauty!

See more See less

I loved Maui. Lots to do & see. Weather was great. I would definitely go back.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Carmen on Dec 11, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Friends

I loved Maui. Lots to do & see. Weather was great. I would definitely go back.

 

Travel Tip: Recreation/Sports

Shopping on Front Street in Lahaina.

See more See less

Maui is excellent!!

Would recommend

Reviewed by L on Dec 04, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Maui is excellent!! Safe, fun in the sun.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Relax and enjoy the laid back pace.

See more See less

Love the climate . Great place to relax and unwind

Would recommend

Reviewed by Rae on Dec 01, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

The weather was great, very predictable. Maui is a very relaxing place to go.

 

Travel Tip:

Not much to do at night

See more See less

Very beautiful.

Would recommend

Reviewed by barbara_vanc on Nov 13, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Family

I have been to Maui eight times. I never get tired of it.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Rent or buy snorkle gear.

See more See less

Have you visited Kahului, Maui?

We'd love to know what you think.

Write a review

Our review policy

We do our best to ensure reviews are accurate, fair and objective. All reviews are the opinion of a WestJet Vacations website visitor and not of WestJet Vacations.

Read our review policy