Love Varadero?

Book a flightBook a vacation

Other Cuban destinations:

If you like Varadero,
you might like:

call our call centre at 1-855-735-6323

Want to know more?

Our knowledgeable agents love talking travel.

Call us at 1-855-735-6323.

Filter by trip type:

Varadero was a nice spot.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Thanks Westjet. on Apr 03, 2014

Travel Date: March 2014
Trip Type: Couple

Liked travelling with Westjet. Thanks for the humanitian suitcase for each guest. We were able to give out lots to the people of Cuba. We advised other guests about the humanitian suitcase. Weather was excellent. Will return to Cuba but in another city for a change.

 

Travel Tip: Miscellaneous

a la cartes are good

See more See less

Highly recommend vacation to Cuba

Would recommend

Reviewed by Matt & Elsie on Aug 08, 2013

Travel Date: July 2013
Trip Type: Honeymoon

We went to Varadero for our honeymoon. Stayed for 10 days and had a great time. Spent some time relaxing at the resort but also enjoyed the tours and excursions we went on. Took a private tour to Havana. A private tour is the way to go! The tour guide's English was great and he was very knowledgeable about the history of Havana. He customized our trip to what our interests were which was fantastic. We did the catamaran excursion. Personally, we felt like it was more for people who wanted to sunbathe & drink alcohol. The snorkelling portion of the catamaran was not as enjoyable because there were about 40 of us in one concentrated area. The best excursion we went on was the Discover Tour. We got to drive around in a jeep (we followed the guide ahead of us), did snorkelling (much better experience!), swimming in a cave, city tour in the jeep, visit & lunch at a ranch and speedboating. This was the most fun! We highly recommend this tour. The weather was great, we always felt safe wherever we were & the month of July was a good time to go because it's not a busy time of year for them. We really enjoyed the food at our resort (Iberostar Laguna Azul). The second day we arrived in Varadero, we met with our WestJet Vacations representative, Ray. He was outstanding! Gave us all of the information we needed and answered all of our questions. We booked all of our tours & excursions through him. He was very helpful and super friendly. We would definitely go back to Cuba if we had the chance.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Bring lots of cash! Credit cards are NOT accepted in a lot of places.

See more See less

A nice place to visit!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Frequent Traveller on Jun 02, 2013

Travel Date: May 2013
Trip Type: Family

We spent 10 days in Varadero at the Iberostar Laguna Azul. The city as a whole was nice. The people were all friendly and approachable. Everything is a bit outdated but that is Cuba as a whole. The beaches in Varadero were definitely the best part of the whole trip. Adventures and entertainment we acceptable for the size of the city. the catamaran tour to Cayo Blanco was fun and something to look at if you plan on being in the area. There are a few snorkelling places in and around Varadero.

 

Travel Tip:

The beaches are the ultimate place to relax in Varadero. Not overcrowded!

See more See less

Crappy trip

Not recommend

Reviewed by Kelly on Apr 10, 2013

Travel Date: April 2013
Trip Type: Family

Went deep sea fishing boat was rough, full open bar we where told it had was 1 bottle of cheapest rum they could find, was told as soon as we got on boat fishing was very bad will likely not get any fish and they were right! Next day trip to Havana bus was old and beat up tour was bad lunch was ok but we were crammed into the corner then we were taken to a old run down hotel to shower and get ready for supper "6 Peaple to a room!!!!!" supper was terrible! Next to the show where are foursome was split up and we were practically sitting behind stage! Trip was very misleading ! Would not tell anyone to do that!!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Very relaxing, whether in the hotel, delfinarium, beach or town

Would recommend

Reviewed by Nexxis on Mar 31, 2013

Travel Date: March 2013
Trip Type: Family

Very nice in whole. Stay away from street horse carriages (rip-off). * The least impressive of all was the flight itself. No entertainment system on the way down south, and no satellite service over the USA on the way back until coming closer to the Canadian border (then we're at home within minutes anyways). Everything else is pay, pay, pay. Again, no satellite service is a smack for the traveller. Extra cost? Not my problem in this century of travelling. Most people will not need overcharged tablets as a 'entertainment'. Please resolve.

 

Travel Tip:

In Varadero (the town), on 42nd street towards the beach, there is a restaurant where they serve awesome lobster

See more See less

Please read this review of Varadero/Havana Westjet Vacation

Not recommend

Reviewed by Jane Drew on Mar 30, 2013

Travel Date: March 2013
Trip Type: Couple

Our vacation started off on a bus from Varadero to Havana where our bus broke down late at night and we had to get out on a busy road with our luggage and wait for a new bus. When we arrived at the hotel in Havana, the Westjet rep did NOT meet us and we were on our own. The room was not satisfactory and in the morning when we tried to change, we met the Westjet rep (Finally) and she tried to help us move but our new room was just as bad. The hotel customer service was not very accommodating and we were constantly hassled outside by taxi drivers and other locals wanting to hire us. The rep was pushing shows on us and we signed up and paid for one but I got ill and the rep the next day did refund my money but my husband went to the show and was hassled about payment but we already paid the rep and got no receipts. In Varadero, there again was NO REP to meet us and NO help to find our room so we had to carry our luggage IN THE RAIN to our building which was difficult to find. We ended up finding a rep the next day who was very nice and helped us book 2 excursions. We could not go on the second one so another rep was going to refund our VISA, we are waiting for that. Overall we were not impressed with the Westjet Vacation services and are very disappointed :( Don't know if we will book another vacation through Westjet unless we are compensated for this one.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Varadero for fun in the Sun!!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Chris on Feb 28, 2013

Travel Date: January 2013
Trip Type: Couple

Sunny with beautiful beaches! Excellent flea markets to shop for souvenirs. Excellent tours of Varadero & surrounding area. Very safe for tourists to venture out on their own. Very relaxing vacation...would go back in a flash!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Take the Belmar Caves tour & the catamran tour to Cayo Blanco, you won't be disappointed. Swimming with dolphins was a definate highlight.

See more See less

Varadero is a GREAT vacation destination!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Tibor and Clare on Feb 11, 2013

Travel Date: February 2013
Trip Type: Couple

Super Vacation Destination by WESTJET! This is an addendum to our general review sent in yesterday and primarily concerns the destination and Westjet. Cuba, an excellent place for a vacation and as we have been 4 times (first time in Varadero!) it is still our favorite. The country is huge with plenty of opportunities for all travellers once arrangements are made... The people of Cuba and genuinely down to earth, well educated and cultured. Our vacation was an 11 day type and even though it was the first time we travelled in January/February, the weather was great except for two days when we took our overnight trip-tour of Havana. Westjet bends backward to make flying enjoyable even in rough weather as experienced on our Toronto bound flight---they are efficient and professional! Thank you Westjet! We returned well rested, enjoyed the blue sea, tanned by the Cuban winter sun and above all with the though of returning next year. TRY IT IN CUBA! TRY IT IN VARADERO @ IBEROSTAR LAGUNA AZUL!

 

Travel Tip: Miscellaneous

Tropicana show in Havana as well as the entertainment nights at the hotel were super!

See more See less

Beautiful beach

Would recommend

Reviewed by Marion from BC on Jan 24, 2013

Travel Date: January 2013
Trip Type: Family

Overall we had a great time at the Iberostar Veradero. The beach was out of this world, restaraunt and bar service was excellent. Our Maid service left a little to be desired but I think that was from lack of training as the maids were very friendly and mostly accommodating. It just seemed that we were always chasing after coffee or sugar or faceclothes or whatever. Our tour into Havana was really great. The tour ended with the show at the Tropicana and it was excellent. The only complaint I have were the seats booked by Westjet tours. the stage was a circular stage and we were not even beside the stage, but a little behind which distracted greatly from the experience. Varadero itself was a fun little town to poke around in. I felt safe the whole time there.

 

Travel Tip: Food

Our tour bus to Havana stopped at a little roadside spot where they had local musicians playing and Pina coladas to die for

See more See less

AWESOME

Would recommend

Reviewed by Catherine on Jan 10, 2013

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Single

Loved Varadaro. I will for sure be returning

 

Travel Tip:

Be friendly! You will be treated like gold.

See more See less

A great place to just 'be'...

Would recommend

Reviewed by j&l on Jan 09, 2013

Travel Date: January 2013
Trip Type: Couple

We travelled this time for relaxation purposes. We cannot comment on the golf nor nightlife as we did not partake. We did however, walk, read on the beach, visit the town of Veradaro, ate, drank, swam and exercise. We went to Havana for the day and saw some of its sites (ie. Ernest Hemmingway bar). It was a relaxing, beautiful, refreshing, peaceful and memorable holiday. We will go back.

 

Travel Tip:

The people are very apprecaitive of whatever you offer them. We have LOTS to share...

See more See less

Varadero has one of the best beaches in the world and the people are very friendly.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Peter from Ontario on Jan 01, 2013

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

The beach in Varadero is beautiful and because it is so long, it is never overcrowded. There are plenty of opportunities to make side trips to Havana and to other places, or go into town. The weather during our stay was perfect, with only one cool rainy day. It is certainly the place to either relax or stay busy. As the destination goes, it is to be recommended. However, I would not go back, having been there twice before.

 

Travel Tip:

Take the bus tour to Havana and also to the town of Trinidad in the south of the Island.

See more See less

Very enjoyable

Would recommend

Reviewed by Julian on Dec 30, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Family

Lots of history in the town

 

Travel Tip: Food

Bring toilet paper with you outside of your resort

See more See less

Varadero was awesome value, and very relaxing!

Would recommend

Reviewed by JF on Dec 30, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Varadero was the friendliest tropical place we have ever travelled too! We felt totally safe at all times! The weather was perfect and the scenery was beautiful. The people were so very friendly and very polite at all times. Excursions and souvenirs were very affordable. We felt we got great value for our money. Would go back for sure!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

good beaches; quiet; relaxing;

Would recommend

Reviewed by cgt on Dec 24, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Single

Varadero; good beaches; excellent weather; would return in Dec; quiet; relaxing; good pre-holiday trip;

 

Travel Tip:

lots of books for reading on the beach

See more See less

A great place to call your 2nd home

Would recommend

Reviewed by cubacan on Dec 17, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Varadero has the most wonderful beaches with that crystal clear water that you see on brochures or on tv. Going into the ocean is the best as there are no rocks to step on etc, just that nice sand. This last trip was our 8th trip to Cuba. Varadero is the safest place to holiday - tourists are looked after well. Cubans are so friendly and welcoming. Cuba gets a bad rap for having bad food but in the restaurants the food is great and the Cubans know how to cook. Buffet food at hotels not so great though. The weather is always wonderful...when asking a Cuban what the weather will be like the next day, they always say, "It will be nice" - and it is. Take a hat, sun glasses and sun screen! Even on a very hot day, there is always a breeze off the ocean or that warm water to cool one down! Don't go with expectations of having all the luxuries we have in Canada.

 

Travel Tip:

check out the beautiful Josane Park which is at about 60th Street!

See more See less

Great friends getaway.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Val on Dec 16, 2012

Travel Date: December 2012
Trip Type: Friends

Went on this trip with four friends for our 40th and 45th birthdays. Went on a couple tours which were fantastic . The weather was good, windy the first couple days but the last three days were fabulous. The resort was very nice. Not really busy which made it great. I would definitely go back to Cuba and this resort.

 

Travel Tip: Miscellaneous

Bring toilet paper with you on all excursions.

See more See less

Varadero beautiful natural beaches!!

Would recommend

Reviewed by bleepeters on Dec 02, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Family

Varadero has some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. As the beaches are still very natural they are what one would expect to find. Seashells galore!!! Varadero is close enough to Havanna that one must take in a tour of Havanna. Havanna is like a picture from the past with the beautiful old cars, buildings, etc. Most definitely go back to this area of Cuba. It can be a bit windy on the beach, but makes basking in the sun all that more enjoyable.

 

Travel Tip:

Havanna is a must see!!

See more See less

nice trip

Would recommend

Reviewed by steve on Nov 29, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

nice beach . very relaxing . friendly locals . warm weather. cold drinks . i will definately go back again .

 

Travel Tip: Recreation/Sports

bring canadian money to exchange .

See more See less

stay 5+ stars

Would recommend

Reviewed by bernpatjean on Nov 27, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Family

Beautiful Beaches , various means of transportation - tried them all

 

Travel Tip: Food

stay at the beaches resort stay at 5+ stars nothing less if your concerned about food quality

See more See less

Have you visited Varadero?

We'd love to know what you think.

Write a review

Our review policy

We do our best to ensure reviews are accurate, fair and objective. All reviews are the opinion of a WestJet Vacations website visitor and not of WestJet Vacations.

Read our review policy