Love Ocho Rios / Runaway Bay?

Book a flightBook a vacation

Other Jamaica destinations:

If you like Ochos Rios/Runaway Bay,
you might like:

Filter by trip type:

Great place for a vacation, really nice local people.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Lynda on Oct 08, 2014

Travel Date: September 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

Ocho Rios / Runaway Bay is a great destination. Dunns River Falls is an absolute must! You do need to have water shoes though which are available for rent or bring your own. The weather was very pleasant , not too hot, but it did cloud over in the later afternoons and thunder storms rolled in but they did not last long. Beaches are nice and water is crystal clear. I would go back and hope to one day in the near future.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Dunns River Falls is a must!

See more See less

Warm, Active, Relaxing and Breezy

Would recommend

Reviewed by Nina W on Sep 27, 2014

Travel Date: September 2014
Trip Type: Large Group

Ocho Rios had lovely beaches and a gentle breeze. It was slightly overcast for a lot of the time and the water tended to be choppier than towards Negril. I saw lightening and panoramic stars in the night sky together for the first time, and if there was rain, it was short, felt warm and was refreshing. I went running a couple of mornings and it was already quite warm at 7am. We went to Dunn's River Falls and it was amazing! It had routes for more aggressive or more conservative climbers. Next time I go, a Bob Marley tour & snorkeling are on my To Do List!

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Bring tight fitting water socks for Dunn’s River Falls or buy some in Jamaica for $10-11usd. Our guide, called Smiley, was fantastic!

See more See less

Great Beaches, and Dunns River falls is worth the trip

Would recommend

Reviewed by Alicia on Jul 15, 2013

Travel Date: July 2013
Trip Type: Large Group

I really enjoyed this area. The beaches were beautiful, and Dunns River falls is very close by.I preferred it over the Montego Bay Area, and didn't find the beaches in that area to be anywhere comparable to the ones in Runaway Bay and Ocho Rios. There are also some really beautiful resorts in this area as well.

 

Travel Tip: Entertainment

Al

See more See less

Jamaica was two weeks of constant harassment, lieing, cheating, stealing, and threats of violence.

Not recommend

Reviewed by garry/linda on Feb 03, 2013

Travel Date: January 2013
Trip Type: Couple

Although Jamaica is a beautiful country, we would NEVER go back. NEVER. The constant, in-your-face harassment by locals was too much to take. They NEVER, NEVER stop. They lie, cheat, and steal from the tourists with impunity. And when the tourist ignores or protests against their lieing, cheating, and stealing, the locals cry that we are not "respecting" them. They have no idea that respect is a two-way street. The Jamaican concept of "respect" is: "I want your money and I don't care how I get it and don't disrespect me if you force me to lie, cheat, and steal it from you." We spent time in Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, Kingston, Saint Ann, Port Antonio, as well as several other small towns and it was the same everywhere we went: constant harassment. One Taxi driver/tour operator got $50 (US) from us then failed to pick us up for the trip. One local pulled a knife on us when we politely said we didn't want to talk to him. (Luckily, the police hauled him away before he could make good his threats.) Taxi drivers were always offering us $20 - $50 (US) trips to the beach or downtown or wherever - trips that turned out to be one or two minute walks. We walked miles and miles and almost never escaped the constant barrage of hassle after hassle. Compared to Mexico, Cuba, the D.R., and Belize, Jamaica is a MUST TO AVOID. We were not in an all inclusive resort as we chose to stay in a hotel in Ocho Rios to connect with the people of Jamaica. If you stay in an all inclusive and dont mingle with the people you can enjoy the beauty of the island.

 

Travel Tip:

Stay at your resort. If you do venture out learn to say, politely, until you drop, "No thank you,"

See more See less

Gran Bahai Principe Runaway Bay was a good spot.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Faye on Nov 18, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Large Group

We stayed at the Gran Bahai Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica was a very nice resort. The Resort is huge and there is lots of walking and stairs. They do have elevators. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have lots of entertainment here too, lots of music, a show every night and they do a show for kids also, It is a kids friendly resort. Lots of stores to shop and check out the prices some will sell cheaper than others. When looking at merchandise watch they will be in your face asking you to buy, that turned us off from shopping. They do have tons of trinkets and shorts and sun dresses. The prices are up there so stuff is not so cheap. Everyone wants a tip too and will ask for one. So have lots of 1,5, 10,20 US funds. The pool was very relaxing and the beach was good to hang out at. Only saw a few bees and flies so we didn't need our Off or Deet.as I have read on other posts. We had 30 above days very humid. It would rain everyday for a few minutes and stop. Also had 1day where it rained all day. They offer lots of things to see off the Resort as well. You will get those in your package when you check in. They do have a WiFi place at the Resort They have a bus that goes to Ocho Rios twice a day. Its a hours drive from Montego Bay and a nice drive to see the country and coastline. The food was good a nice variety to choose from and they do have a section for Vegetarians. I can't say to much about the Al La Carte restaurants all the ones were closed the nights we wanted to go. We did get to one the Italian and it was ok. So book those on the day you arrive to get in to them. We did not get to see to much of Ocho Rios only the mall so when going into the town let your tourist guide know that you want to shop at the mall and the straw markets. Ask your tourist guide what all there is to see in Ocho Rios. They are all very informative about their Country. I would go back to this Resort but there are other places to explore in Jamaica first.

 

Travel Tip:

The 12 hour tour is a long drive but worth the trip.

See more See less

Jamaica is the best place to relax and feel welcome.

Would recommend

Reviewed by Anita Lacquement on Nov 13, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

It is our second visit to Runaway Bay in Jamaica. We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Resort both times and absolutely love it! The service is excellent and the staff are so friendly and helpful. There is so much to see and do in Jamaica. We visited many places like Duns River Falls, Mystic Mountain and Bob Marley's birth place where he is now laid to rest. We also visited Scotchies, the best place to enjoy authentic Jamaican jerk chicken. On the days we choose to stay at the resort, we relaxed by the pool or on the beach. It wasn't too busy which was nice. It rained quite a bit during the first few days of our 10 day stay, but the weather improved signifigantly after that. We will definitely go back as we feel very at home in Jamaica.

 

Travel Tip:

You have to visit Scotchies to enjoy authentic Jamaican jerk chicken.

See more See less

Beach? What Beach?

Not recommend

Reviewed by on Sep 10, 2011

Travel Date: March 2011
Trip Type: Couple

We go south every year for one reason - to lay out in the sun on a great beach for 14 days. That being said, I select our resort based on their description of the beach area available for their guests. This year our resort of choice claimed to be "located on the BEST beach in Ocho Rios". Wow! Then I would hate to see the worst. This beach was short, narrow, crowded, and the roped -off swimming area was too shallow for adult swimming. The adjacent public beach was marginally wider and longer, but was usually crowded with day-trippers from the many cruise ships which docked here nearly every day. All-in-all, from our perspective, Ocho Rios was a disappointment.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

What Beach?

Not recommend

Reviewed by Jill on Sep 09, 2011

Travel Date: March 2011
Trip Type: Couple

We only go south to lay out in the sun on a beach for 14 days. That being said, I always check each resort for beach quality. This year, I chose a resort in Ocho Rios which stated that it is "located on the best beach in Ocho Rios". Wow - that reviewer doesn't get out much. If this is the best beach, don't bother taking me to the worst. This beach was small, narrow, short, crowded, and the roped-off swimming area was too shallow to swim! The adjacent public beach was marginally wider and longer, but was usually crowded with day-trippers from the cruise ships which docked here nearly every day. All-in-all, not a great resort, beach-wise.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Runnaway Bay,Jamaica

Would recommend

Reviewed by Wanda on Sep 08, 2011

Travel Date: January 2011
Trip Type: Couple

It was great weather ,nice romantic sunsets and the hospitality at our resort was amazing! Our Bob Marley tour was one to remember and the guide was excellant. The jerk chicken through out the island was fabulous with the fresh coconut as an accent. Horseback riding in the ocean was a nice refreshing excursion on a hot day. We would definitely suggest Jamaica as a holiday spot for those that love the beaches and sun.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

I visited an animal shelter

Would recommend

Reviewed by Kristi on Sep 06, 2011

Travel Date: August 2011
Trip Type: Single

I did my research before heading on my vacation and I made a point to visit an animal rescue shelter near Ocho Rios. This was the most memorable part of this trip for me because I did something meaningful. There were about 175 dogs at this shelter and they all jumped all over me and were happy to have a visitor! Much respect to the Canadian lady who runs the place. She's doing a fabulous job and it was such a worthwhile cause to go visit!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

A Great Getaway Mon!

Would recommend

Reviewed by Mike on Aug 31, 2011

Travel Date: January 2011
Trip Type: Family

The Ocho Rios/Runaway Bay area is an absolute blast. There are all kinds of attractions, including the can't miss Dunn's River Falls. The diving in Runaway Bay was a pleasant surprise with a couple of downed planes and some lively reefs. Add in the great Jerk food and wonderfully friendly Jamaicans and it can't be beat!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

everyting is arie is jamaica

Would recommend

Reviewed by Laine on Aug 25, 2011

Travel Date: November 2010
Trip Type: Friends

very relaxed country and the people were friendly. had 2 great private tours and got to knock a couple things off my bucket list!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

A family visit

Would recommend

Reviewed by christine on Aug 16, 2011

Travel Date: December 2010
Trip Type: Family

I met my husband in Jamaica 4 years ago. He has since immigrated to Canada and we try to get back a couple times a year to visit his family near ocho rios.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Runaway Bay - beautiful part of Jamaica

Would recommend

Reviewed by Andrea on Aug 11, 2011

Travel Date: March 2011
Trip Type: Friends

Runaway Bay is a beautiful part of Jamaica, with a quaint, rustic countryside. The local people are very friendly. Beaches are fantastic but a bit rocky in spots so bring your water shoes!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Beach? What Beach?

Not recommend

Reviewed by Jill on Aug 11, 2011

Travel Date: March 2011
Trip Type: Couple

Our resort advertised itself as being "on the best beach in Ocho Rios". These people need to get out more! This is one of the worst beaches we have visited in 14 years of trips to the Caribbean. It is short, narrow and generally too small for the number of guests they can accommodate. It is attached to the "public" beach of Ocho Rios which is also short, although a bit wider. However, it is crowded with the day-trippers from the cruise ships which stop here several times a week. A very disappointing beach.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Bahia Principe - Runaway Bay

Would recommend

Reviewed by Denise on Aug 09, 2011

Travel Date: April 2011
Trip Type: Couple

Beautiful Resort, great snorkelling, right off the beach. 2 different beaches - one is quite pebbly (man made), the other is nice sand. Beaches are not as beautiful as the Dominican, but are still fabulous! Great time was had!! Will definately return!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Yeah Man - Jamaica

Would recommend

Reviewed by REETA on Aug 09, 2011

Travel Date: May 2011
Trip Type: Family

The beaches were beautiful, the people were friendly, the hotel Bhai Principe was very nice. The food was fabulous. GREAT VACATION SPOT.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Ocho...

Would recommend

Reviewed by Jay on Aug 09, 2011

Travel Date: March 2011
Trip Type: Couple

Watching the sun rise over the turquiose waters of the caribbean was breathtaking. Being able to spend te week in paradise with the women I love was amazing..

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Jamaica

Would recommend

Reviewed by Diane on Aug 05, 2011

Travel Date: April 2011
Trip Type: Wedding

It was our first trip to Jamaica. The people in Jamaica are very kind. They go out of their way to greet you, provide information and basically make you welcome in their country. Such hospitality has made us look forward to returning.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Runaway Bay

Would recommend

Reviewed by rebecca on Aug 02, 2011

Travel Date: April 2011
Trip Type: Couple

Runaway bay Jamaica is a perfect getaway for couples or families, We stayed at the Gran bahia which is rated 5 star, the resort is gorgeous and the food was great , lots of choices! They served jerk chicken at the beach bar which was our favorite. At night there was great entertainment then after it was done the karaoke and disco would open. The beaches were blue and the water was warm,we would snorkel in the front of the resort and bring bananas to feed the fish, there were a swarm of beautiful colored fish. There are so many exercusion to do around Runaway bay, we chose to see an illuminated lagoon,we took a boat into lagoon, then we got out to swim when you move around the water glows a vibrant green, it was so cool! We also booked a tour with cool runnings, this was a catamaran that would take you into the coral reef to snorkel then takes you to the amazing Dunn river Falls which you climb up over 1300ft into the falls, this was fantastic! We then road back on the catameran and drank rum punch and danced, everyone on the tour had so much fun! it was well worth the 90us we paid. Our last excursion took us in to Ochos Rios to shop, it was a great experience to see Jamaican culture and buy souveneirs which you could almost always barder for, we also had lunch at a Jamaican fast food place where they served the famous Jucci patties which were delish! My husband and I had a wonderful time the only complaint that we had is we had troubles taking money out with credit cards or debit as all the machines in the resort as well as the airport were all out of order, so I would recommend brining cash for spending and a credit card for excursions. We will be back soon to this gorgeous, cultured country and would recommend travelling there to anyone looking for fun and relaxation!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Have you visited Ocho Rios / Runaway Bay?

We'd love to know what you think.

Write a review

Our review policy

We do our best to ensure reviews are accurate, fair and objective. All reviews are the opinion of a WestJet Vacations website visitor and not of WestJet Vacations.

Read our review policy