Love St. Martin – St. Maarten?

Book a flightBook a vacation

If you like St. Martin/St. Maarten,
you might like:

Filter by trip type:

Best Value for Food, Wine and Water Sports

Would recommend

Reviewed by Margot Rudy on Dec 14, 2012

Travel Date: November 2012
Trip Type: Couple

St. Martin -St. Maarten is a caribbean location that provides something for everyone. This was our fourth visit, and we keep returning because it is a wonderful place to experience gourmet dining as we enjoy it in Paris, with a creole twist that is always satisfying. For this reason, we stay on the French side, in the village of Grand Case, where we can walk to a huge selection of first rate restaurants, and have easy access to a number of beaches, the delighful city of Marigot, art galleries and wonderful supermarkets which stock French food and wine at very reasonable prices. It is easy to get around the island, and we also spent some time on the Dutch side. St. Martin is also close to Anguilla, St. Barth's and Saba, so it is possible to see quite a bit of the Caribbean if you choose. The entire island is a duty free port, so it is possible to find real bargains here. You cannot beat St. Martin for value, and if you love fine food as well as sun and snorkeling, it is a must visit.

 

Travel Tip: Recreation/Sports

Alternate fine dining with "picnics" from the local bakeries/delis, and you will save both dollars and calories, as well as enhancing your experience

See more See less

A slice of perfection...

Would recommend

Reviewed by BeeDee on Oct 04, 2012

Travel Date: March 2012
Trip Type: Couple

Things that were perfect: Weather, beaches, food, people, music, air & sea. Things that were lacking: 0 St. Martin is one of the most incredible places on earth - period. We're going back 9 months later and will return again and again. It is so very easy to fall in love with this island!

 

Travel Tip: Food

2 beach bars/restaurants on Baie Rouge beach - you have to go here.

See more See less

Lovely and still not too overpopulated.

Would recommend

Reviewed by jayjay13 on Nov 14, 2011

Travel Date: January 2011
Trip Type: Couple

I wish I had more time to explore this wonderful dual-destination. It has become a bit popular for my taste (I prefer places a bit more off the beaten path and NOT cruise ship destinations), but St. Martin/St. Maarten still has a relaxed atmosphere about it. Some lovely restaurants on both sides of the island and great walking destinations for those who love to go where the sights take you.

 

Travel Tip:

Bring good walking shoes and put them to good use. Ask the locals about the hidden gems. That will keep you out of the cruise ship tour circuit.

See more See less

One Island- Two cultures

Would recommend

Reviewed by Sheila on Sep 13, 2011

Travel Date: October 2010
Trip Type: Couple

What an unusual island to boast two countries within it. Dutch and French languages and culture getting along in harmony and the lovely Orient Beach to boot!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Cruise Into St. Marten

Would recommend

Reviewed by Kimberly on Aug 16, 2011

Travel Date: December 2010
Trip Type: Couple

We arrived on a cruise to St. Marten. The sail in was beautiful and the town is amazing. We got off the ship and made are way over to the water taxi that shuttles you to the main town. As soon as we boarded they started up the music and the singing and dancing began. The town itself is easily walkable with lots of things to see and do. The beach was awesome and the water was very nice. We also were able to take in a local band performing Christmas music for everyone in the square. I have to say that listening to the Christmas music in the Caribbean was the most I will remember about this day. I only wish we could have stayed longer! We are planning on going back for a land vacation soon.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

St. Marten

Would recommend

Reviewed by Ellie on Aug 09, 2011

Travel Date: March 2010
Trip Type: Couple

We stayed at the Pelican Resorts. Swim-up bar right outside our room. Our friends could not make their timeshare - so they offered it to us. Sorry about their luck.... The Sunset Bar and Grill - where the planes come in - was f a n t a s t i c Frankie G from Tennessee - at the Red Piano bar was where we spent the nights,. The restaurant Ciao and Toppers mmmmm...

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

First visit to St. Maarten

Not recommend

Reviewed by Elaine on Aug 08, 2011

Travel Date: January 2011
Trip Type: Friends

We were fortunate to have a room on the 9th floor, but rooms below the 8th floor were horrible and old. There was no beach and the airport was right beside us with planes landing/taking off from 7 am to 7 pm. And horrible street noise from the bars.

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Great Stop on our Cruise

Would recommend

Reviewed by Gord on Aug 05, 2011

Travel Date: March 2011
Trip Type: Family

Calling all Star Wars fans!!! Make sure you visit the 'Yoda Guy' when in town. Lot's of memorabilia of all things Star Wars from one of the designers of Yoda!!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Honeymooning in St. Maarten

Would recommend

Reviewed by on Aug 05, 2011

Travel Date: April 2011
Trip Type: Honeymoon

St. Maaten was the perfect place to go for our honeymoon! We actually scored a great deal! My husband found a website where time shares were selling for 1/5 of the cost it normally would be per week. So we jumped on this deal. We stayed at the Pelican resort in Simpson Bay for one week, and the second week we stayed at Flamingo resort ? it?s neighboring resort. We were impressed with both; especially Flamingo where we stayed on the bottom floor literally steps to the sand. Food was wonderful on the island ? a tad expensive because of most brands being imported from the U.S. We ate at Bon Appetite across from Flamingo resort and we LOVED it. Everything we had there was wonderful. Our favorite meal was Sopranos Piano Bar for this-crust Italian style Pizza located in Maho Beach. We enjoyed French pastries on the French side of the island which were delicious. One of our favorite memories were watching the planes come in so close it almost blows you off your feet (Maho Beach). We can?t wait to go back to St. Maarten!!

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

awesome awesome

Would recommend

Reviewed by linda on Jul 21, 2011

Travel Date: February 2010
Trip Type: Family

my daughter bought me the trip for christmas,it was a wonderful surprize,we had a blast

 

Travel Tip:

See more See less

Have you visited St. Martin – St. Maarten?

We'd love to know what you think.

Write a review

Our review policy

We do our best to ensure reviews are accurate, fair and objective. All reviews are the opinion of a WestJet Vacations website visitor and not of WestJet Vacations.

Read our review policy