Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection
    6. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a great resort for families. The pool and waterpark are great for kids. The pool is also divided and has an adult section. So you can put the kids in camp and have some quiet time with adults. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The restaurants are great. So many that we couldn't even try them all. The room service was a bit lacking. Food was bland. Overall, a great stay for all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a 5 * any more! 4 hours for food! Musty stinky rooms!

    Reviewed by The Family Trip Planner on Apr 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is going to be a bittersweet review. I love Mexico and it's people. That still applies! But this was supposed to be a week at a 5 star, expensive property that came highly recommended. We have been terribly disappointed by Finest. We booked it August 2016 for a mini family reunion in April 2017. We had 3 swim-up suites booked with a request that they be as close together as possible. I realize there are no guarantees. The request was on file and I emailed the property who did email me back about a month before our arrival, as a reminder. The front desk clerk must've been new and did not know the property layout. He had us in the same building and assured us "07" and "08" are next door to each other and "04" is just three doors down, same side. Well, not so much! 04 and 07 were on same hallway, 3 doors apart but 08 was on a different corridor altogether. So, quite spread out and two of the rooms 07 and 08 are at intersections of pathways so quite busy areas -- not the best locations, for sure. Anyway, moving past that first let down! The rooms - all 3 - smelled severely musty/mouldy. To the point that allergies were triggered and headaches. Most noticeable when you left for a meal and returned. Housekeeping staff did their best with a lightly scented cleaner and I would think it was gone, 30 min later it was back. Horribly unpleasant. Way beyond that tropical scent that comes home on your clothes. This was nasty! The staff generally were great, just couldn't do enough for you, honestly! The problem is there's not enough staff! Where it's noticeable is in every single restaurant and bar. These men and women are run off their feet! The same person is hosting, clearing, taking orders, serving...maybe cooking, lol? I started to wonder when one night our meal took 4 hours! Not by choice!! Property is only 3 years old maybe. Corona contract ended 6 months ago so no Corona on site! New management perhaps??? Somethings wrong and it's not the staff's fault!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Amazing family resort!

    Reviewed by Ang on May 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first time we took our children 7 and 8 years old on an all-inclusive vacation and it couldn't have been a better time. The resort was amazing and we loved that we didn't have to make a reservation for dinner. The staff treated us very well throughout the resort. Our room was spotless. We loved the free wifi throughout the resort and we didn't find it slow at all anywhere on the resort. The food was excellent...but just be aware that you you cannot dine with shorts, t-shirt and flip flops except at the buffet. The drinks were free poured and it was the first time we actually had waiters serve us pool side consistently! The beach had ample loungers and we didn't find it crowded at all. We will be back again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort. Great water park for kids.

    Reviewed by CBFreeb on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is located in beautiful Playa Mujures which was approx 30 mins from the Cancun airport. There are two water park for the kids. One was for ages 3-6 and the other was for ages 7-12. The older kids' park was fantastic! There is also a playroom with pool, air hockey tables, etc. The resort had lots of live music which was fantastic. The night of the 'beach party' they had an amazing band and a colourful dance floor. The whole family had a blast. There were 8 restaurants and a few bars. The buffet was really good as they have chefs that will prepare your eggs, or grill meat for you right on the spot. Overall the food at the restaurants were really tasty. However, be sure to read the dress code prior to leaving. Men were required to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for the majority of the restaurants so be sure to pack those in your suitcase. They will request that you go back to the room to change. Also, plan to go to the restaurants when they open, otherwise the wait could be fairly long. The service at the restaurants were fairly slow potentially due to being under staffed. It was probably the biggest complaint of our trip. The rooms were really spacious - our room had 2 double beds and there is a pull out sofa. The fridge was well stocked with beer, pop and water. They also stocked the room with chocolate bars, cookies and chips. In addition, the hotel supplied bottles of vodka, rum, wine and tequila in the room...all included! The showers are really big but there are no drapes or curtains which would require coordination if you have older kids sharing the room with you. We will probably go back to this resort but may want to see if the service time improves over time. I hope it does because it was a beautiful resort, with friendly staff and great amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    WOW!!!!!!

    Reviewed by EK on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beyond amazing! The rooms are beautiful and a great size, the staff are so wonderful and made sure everything was satisfactory when ever we came accross them. The Japanese restaurant was incredible and the Market Place Buffet was the best I have had in Mexico. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience at The Finest Playa Mujeres and will be back ASAP!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6012 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Summer vacation

    Reviewed by Tour63958994019(San Jose, California) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second time at this resort and this place does not disappoint. The friendly and attentive staff, service, quality of food and nightly entertainments were awesome. We love how this place is not too crowded and the facility is always clean and well maintained. Our kids enjoyed the kids club as well as the Imagine lounge. Would definitely be back again!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best destination wedding get away!!!

    Reviewed by DayTrip60233677177() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great service!!! Unbelievable staff!! Food was great something for everyone!!! Staff was welcoming upon arrival were greeted w champagne and walked to private concierge and told about the resort and made sure if we had any questions to call them. Felt very at ease and comfortable, Felix at Brass restaurant was AMAZING even cooked us a private dinner, the trainee Alberto was a doll very incredibly nice. Alexei was so nice chatted w us and was personable!! All I can say is this resort is AMAZING and relaxing!! Spa is great!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    First time in Mexico

    Reviewed by Tourist21324942703(Bronx, New York) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The only downside was the distance to everything else like hotel zone. Other than that the hotel and staff were absolutely amazing honestly. beautiful resort, not a turn up place though, very family oriented, but nonetheless amazing place.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    The Best Resort!!!

    Reviewed by mattrecc83() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went here for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed! We were literally treated like celebrities. The food, the amenities, and the service were all 10/10. This place was so good we didn't even consider leaving the resort. Every hour it seemed there was some kind of event going on. There was no need for excursions as everything you could want and need in a vacation was on the resort. We didn't have a bad meal the entire time there, every restaurant was top notch. Every single worker and performer was amazing. I can't recommend this place highly enough and we will definitely be going back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Family Resort

    Reviewed by Jessica N() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 2nd visit to this resort and it was just as wonderful as we expected it would be. The staff are friendly and the service is awesome! Plenty of restaurants to choose from, activities to enjoy, and great entertainment for the family. The beach is clean and beautiful and not too crowded. We especially loved our swim-up suites. The only downside is that it is far from any towns or cities so there isn’t much of an opportunity to head out to the local shopping or restaurants. This would be ideal for families who just want to stay and relax at the resort their entire stay. There’s also an island nearby, but we weren’t able to visit this time. Highly recommend it!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX