Iberostar Playa Pilar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    I

    I would definitely recommend this hotel, you are guaranteed an amazing week with family friends & great food and service from the staff.

    Reviewed by Irene Marszowski on Jan 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed here for one week and had an amazing time with friends & family. The buffet has a wide selection, the hotel is very clean, the servers are so friendly. Chef Vagas is an amazing cook, we tried his lobster & seafood platter. We attended a wedding hosted by the hotel, which was so beautiful, and the food cooked by Chef Eduardo & Chef Vagas was outstanding! We also really enjoyed the Japanese restaurant, it was dinner & a show with incredible food made by Chef Pepillo. Hector the receptionist is always there to help with anything you need. Thank you so much for such a sweet & comfortable vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    We loved this resort!!

    Reviewed by Dapa81 on Aug 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the Iberostar Playa Pilar with two other couples in March 2017 and loved it. This resort is a real treat for any traveller, from the beautiful pools to the large boardwalk overlooking a rugged beach it has something for everyone. The beach area has plenty of room and seating available on the boardwalk as well as on the white sand behind it. There is also easy access to the water via the stairs or the sandy beach section by the nautical hut. We really enjoyed the good food at the buffet and there were plenty of selections to choose from, service was always with a smile and we were attended to constantly. The a la carte restaurants were all good and we found the Japanese restaurant is definitely worth a visit. As always when we visit Cuba we really enjoyed the wonderful staff we encountered during our stay, especially the bartenders and waitresses in the lobby area as well as the funny guys that handle your luggage and drive you around all week, you guys are great! I have no hesitation in recommending this resort for anyone wishing to relax in beautiful surroundings with the wonderful Cuban people. Cheers Dapa81

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3122 reviews):

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Morning visit to the beach with the softest sand on earth

    Reviewed by chrissie880(Caledonia, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Enjoyed the morning, here, fed bananas to the fish! Beautiful soft sand, just like icing sugar. Water was warm and crystal clear!

    Fine sand & clear water

    Reviewed by Jackie K(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Take the tourist bus (5CUC per person for all-day travel) from the hotel to Playa Pilar; spend the day at the beach. For eats, there is a restaurant on-site or you can take a catamaran over to Isla Media Luna (half-moon island). You can rent sun loungers for 2CUC/day. We opted to pay 10CUC for two sun loungers under a palapa and three drinks at the bar - well worth it in our opinion. Recommend walking the full length of the beach - very shallow with sand bars at one end, you might be lucky enough to come across a starfish or two (remember not to pick them up out of the water, it can kill them); or enjoy the waves at the other end. Sand is soft and luxurious to the touch. Many people told us it was the best beach in Cuba.

    Gorgeous Beach

    Reviewed by HedP(UK) on Mar 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed in Cayo Coco and travelled using the Hop On Hop Off bus. 5 CUC all day. I thought our stretch of beach was fabulous till I visited Playa Pilar. It cost 2 CUC for a lounger for the day in a shaded cabana. There’s a small bar nearby serving all usual spirits and beers. Piña Colada was 3 CUC from memory but was delicious and had a good dose of rum. The beach and sea at Pilar are outstanding, so beautiful it looks artificial. Finally I visited Ranchon Playa Pilar, also on the beach. Good seafood there. I recommend it. The shrimp, chicken and lobster combo was great. Takes a little time, as it’s freshly cooked but worth it.

    the softest sand

    Reviewed by KathrynSkelly(Toronto) on Mar 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    took the 5 CUC all day double decker bus to Playa Pilar for half a day . The sand is unbelievable. Bring your book, your pesos as chairs cost 2 CUC. Drinks are fabulous. Pack snacks, enjoy rest and relaxation

    Beautiful Beach

    Reviewed by JenCT1234() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A short cab ride from our resort...we spent 2 days at pilar beach. The sand is like walking on flour, zero seaweed, turquoise water like you can only imagine. Rented a papala and 2 chairs for 10 CUC and it came with 3 drinks. Drinks afterwards were reasonable, did a catamaran tour...both days were amazing and we will be returning to the area with plans to visit this beach over and over!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX