Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Hec on Jan 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Amazing place with amazing staff. Would highly recommend this resort to everyone

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    The rating of this resort should be reviewed and amended.

    Reviewed by Eva and Joe, Toronto area on May 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our fourth vacation at this hotel and while we enjoyed the hotel, beaches, pool and staff, the food was very disappointing compared to previous years. The resort is starting to look very tired and unclean. There is no comparison to previous years in the quality of the food as well as the selection. This should really be looked ito as the changes in dining have changed so drastically. We were there for two weeks and were not feeling well for the last week due to food. There are also some health issues regarding preparation of food as we were served fish/meat that was not cooked enough as well as food not being covered with birds and insects landing on the buffet tables. It should also be noted that the restrooms in the dining areas did not have any soap and this is also where the staff wash their hands. As beautiful as the resort is, we will definately not be going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6471 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    NOT a five star property

    Reviewed by momr2d2(Mississauga, Canada) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We booked a getaway for our team of 15 adults and a baby and thought we were getting a 5 star property. It was well below a 5 star and at most a 2.5 overall. It is a 1.5 hour drive away from the airport The beach (encenachos) was beautiful, clean and clear....5/5 but the beach side snack bar was not cooking any food so it was a hassle to come back for food as that beach is far away from the buffet restaurant and 24 hour snack bar. The boardwalks were broken in areas. The staff and people were awesome...friendly and helpful as best as they could be 4/5. Four of the rooms in our group were disgusting...with cockroaches and dead bugs all over the place. Three rooms got changed the first night but we just asked for the bugs to get swept away before we got back from dinner. That was never done, the curtains were falling off, there was no hot water, the tv and safe didn't work and the furniture was falling apart. I was unwell and needed to sleep so we insisted on a room change the next morning. The new room still had bugs but was in better shape and had hot water. The furniture still was awful and drawers didn't open and close easily. Rooms 1.5/5 The food 1/5. I had the reception write a letter indicating my food restrictions (vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free) that I could show the chefs. The first day I was given a plate of plain white rice with sliced cucumbers, tomatoes and bananas in the buffet...wtf?? The buffet itself had very little I could eat...maybe a couple of vegetables and fruit...they said they did not have gluten free pasta. Even the bowls of beans, lentils and chickpeas had ham in them! If staying 3 or 4 days, you can only make 1 reservation. iIf staying 7-8 nights you can make 3 reservations. Other than that you are stuck eating in the buffet. The snack bar had nothing at all for me so they cut up some cucumbers, tomatoes and red peppers for me....I had no desserts the entire trip. The teppanyaki restaurant did a fried rice with veggies which was ok and I was looking forward to the mediterranean restaurant for the hummus, but they just gave me vegetables and said they had no chickpeas for hummus. The food manager, Franklin, did try to help me out and was able to arrange my meal in the teppanyaki place and gf pasta in the buffet. I was told the mediterranean restaurant would be informed of my needs when i made the reservation but they were not aware at all. I had to wait well after everyone else finished their entrees before I got mine as they had to go source out some gf pasta for me. Nothing tasted great but I appreciate the little efforts that were made. The meat eaters enjoyed the pork and seafood but found the chicken and steak very tough. Drinks were fine and the coffees from the lobby bar were a hit. The property itself was kept very clean with garbage being cleared constantly from pool side and the walkways. There were tons of mosquitos and they sprayed a very smoky substance everyday and after rainfalls along the entire property to help control them....very toxic. There were many areas that were old and needing repairs and upkeep. 2.5/5 Many crabs along the sides of the pathways at night so carry a flashlight when walking at night. The auditorium was run down and had many seats missing. Nightly entertainment was often done in the lobby. Entertainment staff were great.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Grand Village visit #5

    Reviewed by CubaSiesta(Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Visited the Grand Village 2nd week of May/2019. It kind of went like this: ? Not Resort related, but pleased to report that the damaged Santa Clara airport reopened the day before heading down, saving us a HUGE transfer time to the resort, which is already long enough at 90 minutes by bus. ? We actually got the exact bungalow & room we had requested! How Sweet Is That?!? THANK YOU SO MUCH! ? All the Village staff was on the ball, friendly and pleasant to chat with. Thanks to one & all for making our stay so enjoyable. But we miss Yan at dinner. ? As usual, the food at the Village was top notch. ? We got to chat with several other nice guests. ? We lucked out with the weather, sunny & 28 C to 31 C every day, with just a little rain shower 1 evening around dinner time, which lasted maybe 15 minutes. Fantastic! ? With the fine weather & usually wind-free days, Ensenachos beach was spectacular, and a BIG hit with the guests. Actually, Playa Ensenachos was so great, we didn’t even bother going to Playa Megano. ? We only did 2 a-la-cartes (Italian & Mediterranean), neither one was anything special. (I guess we were spoiled too much by the El Colonial menu & staff.) ? Though the Village section advertises itself as ‘14 years old & up’, a large family with a 5-ish year old visited all week. No big deal though, best behaved 5-ish year old I’ve seen in a long time; certainly WAY better behaved than certain so-called ‘adults’ from the Spa section who used Village shade, loungers & beach bar unimpeded all week. [C'mon Iberostar, how hard can it be to put a stop to this, for crying out loud?!?] ? Looks like the maintenance budget has not been topped up in a while. Anyone going down in the near future will have to watch your step on the beach boardwalks, especially the one on the east (washroom) side of the restaurant. The beach restaurant floor looks like it’s getting ready to swallow somebody up soon too. Also, at night the lights in some of the Village pathways were sometimes not working…..bring a flashlight. All-in-all we had a delightful week. Surprised a bit with the last 2 items mentioned above, especially with the Village’s apparent laissez-faire attitude with letting Spa & Park section guests flagrantly help themselves to pricey Village-only upgrades & amenities. This was a big disappointment for us, and an issue we hope Iberostar can correct before our next winter getaway.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    How can you beat it?

    Reviewed by tartanspecial(Kitchener, Canada) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed at Iberostar Ensenachoes Grand Village the last two weeks of November in 2018. This was I think our 12th 2 week stay, been so many.One cannot beat the service of the wonderful staff and the beach is to die for. We are gearing up for our next two week visit this coming November so we can catch up with our many friends, dare I say family at the resort, special mention to Katia and Geysi in the customer service dept at the main lobby. Counting down the days already, planning to travel perhaps from Nov 12th to Nov 26. Robert and Davina Cullen

    Great family geteway

    Reviewed by Art P(Toronto, Canada) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great hotel, food and service. We enjoyed our stay. Playa Ensenachos is the best for swiming and snorkling. You can take a cart or walk to the beach. At night time flashlight needed in some area of the hotel (you can find a lot of live animals like crabs and lizards). Hotel has kids play pool with water slides which is great.For the pirat cave restaurand better book time before sunset (great view). Didnt have problem to change towels, for the beach chair - you have to take it early in the morning. Thank you all staff and Chef at the mail buffet for the great time and tasty food.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Nice Property - but lacking the 5 star experience

    Reviewed by Joanna V() on May 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort is about 1.5hrs away from the aiport, the hotel rooms are amazing - the property could use some general housekeeping. I found the public restrooms were not maintained and for some strange reason the toilet seats had been missing in the laides washrooms. The resort staff was another issue - about 70% of them seemed to want to be anywhere else. The food and restaurant staff was good and better than expected. This is also a very large resort - we had been near the pool which was great however a little over a KM to the main building and restaurants. Excellent Beach. I would rate this a 2.5-3 star. I would only return if the Customer Service was better - I have been to Cuba before and have seen much much better. This was disappointing for an Iberostar.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX