Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 6704 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    MY SECOND HOME

    Reviewed by cdtweety21(Montreal, Canada) on Sep 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything about this hotel is AMAZING Food , rooms , most beautiful beach in cayo and fantastic staff ... I stayed in the spa section in May 2019 and came back in August 2019 I JUST LOVE THIS PLACE The a la carte restaurants are fantastic aswell Definitely will be returning

    Cuban standards?

    Reviewed by Roving182022() on Sep 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This is our fifth visit to this resort and it will also be the last for my wife and me. It seems a lot of time has gone by since our last visit but obviously, only a few years actually are enough for the deterioration of the place. It started with a defective a/c in the bus en route to the resort. They figured, despite every passenger's objection, that it was better to wait 90 minutes on the side of the road for another bus than to use the bus without the a/c to get to the hotel (50 minutes trip). We were told it was because of Cuban standards(?). We were lodged in the Gran Village and one of the only positive things I can say about the place is the very well maintained gardens surrounding the village. Other than that, the buildings, installations, villas, even the chaise longue on the beach are way past their prime.No hot water in the shower (curiously, some warm water in the bath), no phone line working, no wifi, busted furniture, defective toilet (we had two, good thing), leaking faucets, main cafeteria closed, access to Megano beach limited but who cares since Megano beach is destroyed, no lights on the walkways at night, and on and on ... For me, my lifetime worst experience was on this trip: being awaken at midnight by what I found out after using the flashlight, was two nasty sting by a scorpion. Yep, that's right, a scorpion in our bed. And if being stung twice by a scorpion isn't enough, I was also stung by the personnel's response to the whole thing. I captured the scorpion in our ice bucket (useless bucket since there is no place to get ice in the evening) for what I was sure would be a visit at the doctor. The first thing the head of security did when he saw the scorpion in the bucket was to pick it up, go outside and get rid of it in the garden. So I thought, "that can't be a good sign", and it wasn't. Despite the fact that I don't speak spanish, I do speak body language, and what they were saying was, the problem was not the scorpion, the problem was that they were here when the scorpion stung me. Obviously, I was a bigger problem than the thing. I had to ask for a consultation with a physician, I had to make the decision to visit the clinic and of course, I had to pay for the consultation. And here is where a third sting came from: No one from management came for a follow-thru or to inquire about my health or condition. Everyone was hoping for this story to go away. Since then, I have learned that no scorpion on Cuba is very venomous, but nevertheless, the whole thing was handled very poorly. To add to our displeasure, because the lobby did not have wifi on the night of our checkout to complete the transaction with our credit card, the girl behind the desk essentially had the attitude that since we had an 8cuc balance (that's approximately $11 Cdn) but didn't want to pay (?), we should simply go away. That one was worthy of an oscar for laziness, inertia and bad faith. I never have left a negative review of a place visited but let me be very clear on this one: WE ARE NEVER GOING BACK THERE and are going to make sure everyone around us gets tired of hearing about this vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Terrible.........so disappointed!!!

    Reviewed by val2121(Innisfil, Canada) on Sep 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Second time here and truly unbelievable change. Too many things to list. Can summarize by saying the heart has gone out of this hotel and no-one cares. It will not survive if not addressed. We will never be back!

    Great Resort for family and couples.

    Reviewed by 100lima(Miami, Florida) on Aug 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I visited this resort just a week ago. I would like to begin by saying that I have read a lot of reviews that are really not fair to this resort. I understand every person has his/her own opinion and each review is based on their own experiences. I gotta say, I had a great time during the 4 days I stayed there. The checking experience was good, the reception is indoors with AC which really helps with the Cuban heat. The process was really fast. Our room was not ready but that's normal since we arrived around 9:30 am and we knew the room would be ready after 3 pm. Around noon they gave us a courtesy room so we could rest a little since we had a very early flight. That's 5 stars to the reception workers. We were assigned a room in the Spa section which is adults only. Out room was great, clean, spacious, comfortable, with a great ocean view. Out house keeper made sure to have our room clean every day. 5 stars to the rooms and housekeeping. Food: this is a very important topic since Cuba has generally a bad reputation regarding the food offered in the hotels. To me, the food was awesome. There was a great variety every morning at the buffet restaurant for breakfast although I gotta say, the service was just fine. For lunch we always went to the pool or the beach grills which were both convenient and the food was ok there too. We had the chance to go to the Colonial à la carte restaurant located at the Grand Village ($25.00 x person). The restaurant was really nice and the service was amazing. The food, delicious (I strongly recommend it). The other two nights I stayed there we had dinner at the buffet restaurant. To our surprise, Saturday night they had lobster at the buffet. All you can eat lobsters... That was a plus since in Cuba you don't get to find lobsters in the buffet restaurants really often. So, I would give also a 5 to the food in this hotel. The beach, to die for. There are two beaches in this hotel, both are beautiful, they make you want to stay there all they long. The pool at the adults section is really quiet and relaxing.. if you want more action then you would need to go to the Park section where the action is. I would give 5 stars to the beach and the pool too. Now, my only bad review goes to the public areas of the hotel, mainly the lobby toilets and the garden fountains... This hotel was built in 2005 and it honestly needs maintenance... I could tell the fountains were being taken care of but to me there is no excuse for the lobby toilets to be is terrible shape and in disgusting dirt. I had to use one of them the day I arrived and I almost threw up. This is why I give the hotel 4 stars... I will definitely come back. Keep up the hard work guys.

    absolute horrible

    Reviewed by dirtsfriend(toronto, canada) on Aug 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    this resort is by no means even close to a 5 star rating. we were even travelling with someone who was there last year and she said the hotel has gone down and it was definitely not the same hotel is was a year ago. check in took forever, the food is absolutely horrible. there was a shortage of everything. no cola for the first 4 days, no chicken to be found. ask for a Pina colada and the machines don't work. French fries disappeared after the second day. the a la carte restaurants were missing so much off the menu... they were literally substituting everything with stuff that wasn't on the menu. they even ran out of ice the last day we were there... I would never recommend this resort to anyone and Iberostar should be embarrassed to have their name on this resort... our room stank of mould and we found a cockroach in the room. bathroom always smelled dirty.. none of the beautiful fountains in these pictures worked, the hotel is under major neglect.. I'm not sure how people are giving this resort even close to 5 stars... we literally feel like we need another vacation as we got ripped off at this place. I cannot see this place lasting another year. highly recommend against this resort.