The Westin Golf Resort & Spa Playa Conchal

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    P

    One of our best All Inclusive vacations.

    Reviewed by Pete A. on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Note to WestJet: Your service and flight to and from Liberia was EXCELLENT! However you should talk to Westin about trying to put clients in a room with only a Double Bed when we paid for a King Bed. We did not accept this and Westin did give us the King Bed. We did read previous reviews where they tried this with other travellers, so we were prepared. The Westin Playa Conchal is a beautiful, large & spread out resort so be prepared to walk if you choose or take the many shuttles. Our room was in great shape and worked well for us. The gardens are very nice and well cared for and the pool is large and gets a lot of use due to the crushed shell kind of beach it is. The staff is plentiful and very pleasant to speak to. The food is good and varied throughout the resort and we were able to generally have something that suited our taste. The golf course is scenic in very good shape and challenging. This is a resort that I would return to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5077 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Property with Excellent Service

    Reviewed by Robert R() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I traveled to Costa Rica with my wife and 14 year old son and 12 year old daughter. We had such a wonderful experience at this property. The layout is great, no high rises, just two story houses...The staff is very friendly, pool is enormous and the food was really good. Definitely check out La Sabana for dinner, Chef Erick is fantastic. We thought the beach was wonderful. It is a public beach, but the locales are very kind and the view is amazing (again, no high rises). If you are planning an offsite adventure, I highly recommend that you book with Erik Garcia. I can't say enough good things about our zip-lining, horseback riding, rock climbing, cliff jumping, hot springs tour. Bryan, our guide, was awesome and even took some great photos for us. He stayed with us the whole day. Look for Erik when you walk to the beach. He is right by the entrance in blue shirt and blue and white hat. We plan on returning next year and we will certainly do another excursion with Erik.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Pura Vida Costa Rica!

    Reviewed by familytraveler2539() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family and I recently stayed at the Westin - Playa Conchal - we had a wonderful time. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more eager to please. The pool was fun - my boys enjoyed the various activities throughout the day. We ate at a different restaurant every night- all good. I liked that they provided the same kids menu at each restaurant so if they didn't find something they liked ... chicken fingers was always an option. Traveling with kids .. this was a plus! The beach is beautiful and if you are looking for any type of excursion or adventure - go see Erik Garcia on the beach. He's right when you walk onto the beach ... his name is on his hat :) I read so many reviews that I had to try ... he's the real deal. Very helpful, honest and will give you a reasonable rate- we took surf lessons and went on an all day excursion - hiking, sloths & zipline. It was one of our favorite days in Costa Rica. Costa Rica is an amazing place - I hope to come back some day.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great!!

    Reviewed by 243shellys() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a great time with my family at the Westin. The service and staff were amazing. The resort is beautiful. Lots of animals around including monkeys, birds, pizotes, and iguana. Specialty restaurants were excellent as was common eating area. Regarding excursions, find Erik Garcia at the beach entrance. He was fantastic. Let him know what you want to see and he’ll make it happen - he was awesome. Overall, the Westin was a great experience.

    Great dining and service - but busy

    Reviewed by Thomas P(Sudbury, Massachusetts) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Wonderful campus but rooms and some buildings are showing their age. The pool is crazy, not enough chairs and very loud..... However the staff is exceptional, with service that is 5 star, as good if not better than Four Seasons. Food is spectacular and the attention to allergies is amazing. We have a significant gluten allergy, every staff member asked and for 5 days we ate without issue and with great comfort. HIGHLY recommend if you are traveling with allergies, gluten-free options were plentiful and our celiacs was well protected.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great family experience

    Reviewed by USVAJS(Virginia) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled with a large family group with half kids and half adults. This resort satisfied almost everyone. We were most impressed by their superb services. The rooms are nice and clean, all mini bar items are included. The rooms are in strange shape, but after a day, we all got used to it. Air conditioning is available in the room, but not in the bathroom. But, it’s not that of a big deal. The pool is nice and big, some areas are as deep as 6ft. No lifeguard. But they do have a kiddie pool. There are plenty of chairs for guests to rest, but I don’t think they have enough umbrellas to provide shades. The food in general is excellent. Comparing with some other all-inclusive resorts we have stayed, there is a little less in varieties of choices, but the quality of food is not bad. The resort does offer shuttle service within the resort, no specific schedule, more like a hop on-hop off kinda service. It’s very efficient. You can always call the operator to request a shuttle to pick u up, and they will show up in just couple of minutes. Very impressive. The hotel also offer daily entertainment program to guests. It’s not a bit production, but more like small group shows, it’s very entertaining. Kids love it. Overall, our experience with the resort is very good, except one time, when we were in the room during the day, and we heard a buzz of the door bell, before we event get to the door, the staff already used a key opened the door. The staff was delivering bottle water, and he should have waited a little longer before entering. So, lock ur door from inside even during the day.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX