Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 6876 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    New Year's Eve 2019 Great Visit

    Reviewed by SRCFan(Rochester, New York) on Jan 17, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I returned to SRC for our 25th visit from Dec. 28, 2019 - Jan. 7, 2020. We arrived mid afternoon on Dec. 28, 2019 to an empty immigration hall. We had purchased Club MoBay arrival service and also used the relatively new online Jamaican immigration C5 form submission process. Going through the Club MoBay expedited immigration line, the process is as follows: 1. Tell the Club MoBay rep that you submitted the C5 form online. 2. When you get to the immigration inspector, inform the inspector you used the online process. 3. Hand them your passport for the usual stamp and scan. 4. The agent checked our names off a paper list. Proceed to baggage claim and then customs. Our Club MoBay agent (forgot her name) was very efficient in helping get our bags out of the incoming baggage and we were on our way to customs inspection, green line. Here you inform the agent as well you used the online process, she checked our names off a list, inspected our passports, and we were on our way to the Sandals arrival lounge. After a maybe 5 minute way, our private driver, Dobby was waiting for us and our luggage for transport to the resort. All very efficient. On arrival, now about 4pm., our room was ready and we checked in with our Butler Dwight to get our visit started. We were in room 3301 in the Edinburgh building and loved the room. Granted our primary view was the Sandringham building capital project...but progress never stops and we didn't let the project impact our visit. By the time you read this, the project will be finished (or very, very near so). There were no other major capital projects ongoing during our visit. I'll only focus on newer or different features rather than a comprehensive day by day, minute by minute review. Three new restaurants have opened. Two are complete remodels (Spices and The Bombay Club), the third is a rebranding (La Tavola). If you are familiar with the former Regency space, it's been essentially divided into two for Spices and The Bombay Club. Spices serves an international cuisine for dinner, with the buffets typical of the former Regency for breakfast and lunch. Bombay Club features Indian cuisine. Both restaurants retain the outdoor seating deck, which is also wider. See attached pictures. La Tavola Italian cuisine in the space of the former Eleanor's. We had a wonderful experience at ALL the restaurants we visited. We'd like to recognize (and if botched their spelling I apologize) Tuerika at Spices, Patrice and Bernadette at Royal Thai, and Taneil at La Jardinere. Sonya's, entire food and beverage team was spot on for our entire visit. Hats off to the entire entertainment and food and beverage team for a great New Year's Eve party. For drinks, several sattelite bars were set up surrounding the Almond Terrace which was the focal point for the Disco Themed evening. The place was packed with revelers and high enegy well past midnight. A great time was had by all. We spent most of our days on the beach either in front of the Balmoral building our out in the textile section of the Private Island. We love the clothing optional section, but only if we can lay out in the sun. This time of year, the entire section is mixed shade at best because the sun is lowest in the sky...so we just laid out in the textile section. A few other small changes, now there are many small fresh towel bins and receptacles scattered about the beaches and pools. As well as more smaller trash receptacles. The Montego Bay shuttle used to serve guests pretty much on an every 30 minute rotation. Now during the hours of 7 and 10, the shuttle departs every 15 minutes so this was effective at keeping guests moving and not having more guests than transport seats during these peak hours. Our Butlers Dwight and Ellis were their usual outstanding selves and we'll continue to treasure their friendship. Our housekeeper Shakeera was wonderful all 10 days! A quick visit to Kaye's team in Loyalty and Travel to book our 27th visit in March 2021. We'll be returning April 2020...so already starting to think about that visit!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Anniversary trip

    Reviewed by Cindy R() on Jan 17, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed in an overwater bungalow with infinity pool. Room needs lots of attention to fix minor inconveniences. Lights in bathroom can’t be turned off? Didn’t ruin our trip by any means but a room of that level shouldn’t have multiple maintenance issues. Our butlers, Dane and Hugh were helpful. Rosan and Keno with housekeeping we’re great and respectful. Brown at Bombay was the perfect waiter. Lots of relaxation, sun, and wind. Spa treatments were excellent. Went to sushi restaurant and Latitudes Bar at SMB. Great experience. Wanted to try Butches another night but was told reservations would be very difficult. Transport to and from airport was very comfortable and prompt.

    Sandals Royal Caribbean

    Reviewed by JTC1975(Anderson, South Carolina) on Jan 15, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This property could use some renovations. The food at the Royal Caribbean and Montego Bay was excellent. The entertainment was good. Our air condition was not great but our friends worked very well. I think if you pay for the higher room categories you will enjoy your stay. Do not book the lower category rooms.

    Very Relaxing but short Vacation

    Reviewed by MTAYAB() on Jan 14, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Resort was very nice only bad part was that it does not have a stretched beach to walk on. We had few issues with the room but the manager Mr James was very gracious to give us a better upgraded room and gratis couples massage package for the inconveniences we had in the room moving. He also sent some exotic fruits to our room. Restaurants were very good with some yummy meals, Premium liquors. Nightly entertainment was very nice too. We had Butler service included to our room price and our butler's Nicolaus and Anthony were very helpful in making our trip very comfortable. All along this was a relaxing trip.

    New Years in Jamaica

    Reviewed by JimR498(White Lake, Michigan) on Jan 14, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We booked a trip to celebrate New Years away from the cold. This is our second time at SRC and it wasn't exactly our best experience. I had great meals every night, but my wife didn't fare so well. There was a major renovation project going on in the building right in front of us and the noise was sometimes too much for us. I was disappointed with the New Years Eve plans - I had expected a beach party or something more entertaining. The restaurants had a "special menu" but I wasn't all too impressed. The entertainment started about an hour earlier than usual, but nothing to write home about. We did go to SMB one night for dinner at Butches. I highly recommend it, as it was the best steak I have ever had at a Sandals resort. Our biggest disappointment was with our butlers. Usually, I find the butlers also very attentive (but not intrusive), but this trip we hardly saw them and rarely heard from them unless they were returning our call. Don't get me wrong, I love Sandals and SRC. Just didn't have the best experience this time

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4