The Reef Atlantis

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    T

    Loved the Aquaventure park, especially the Rapid River.

    Reviewed by Theresa on May 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    We loved this hotel. It was luxurious and had a great family feel. Our room had a full kitchen and stunning views. The beach was beautiful. There were several options for restaurants and the food was amazing. The staff were great and very accommodating.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1927 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Horrible. Sad. Go anywhere but here. Disgraceful

    Reviewed by andrew_branham(Boise, Idaho) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have traveled the world and have actually been to Atlantis and The One and Only Ocean Club many times. Wow...it has changed and I will not be back. This place is absolutely disgraceful. No hot water. None. Ice cold showers. After traveling 20 hours - we just wanted a hot shower. No hot water. Not a drop. We called the front desk and got hung up on twice. They didn’t care at all. Then we were told it would be 30 mins (that was 3 hours ago). We booked a two room “suite” - it’s actually two separate hotel rooms with no connection. Wow that works well for a family with a 4 year old. The front desk told us “she can just walk out of her room to your room.” Is this a joke????? She is 4. AC isn’t working - the room is very hot. I was told someone would be up to fix it. That was 3 hours ago. There was some very nasty “stuff” on the bathroom mirror - clearly never cleaned. Absolutely no service and the staff couldn’t care less. Again - we were traveling all day and wanted a quick and affordable meal. They told us to go to the Mosaic buffet. Wow - we should have asked. $179 for 3 people (and they charged full price for a 4 year old). This place is a disgrace to the Bahamas. We will still have a great vacation but we will never, ever come back here. For the price go to the new hotel in Nassau or the fabulous One and Only Ocean Club. Yikes

    celebrating my birthday with my son and his family. The grandkids had a ball!

    Reviewed by Gail S() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were a party of 7.....4 adults and 3 kids, so a 2 bedroom suite was perfect. We had 3 full bathrooms and everyone had his own bed. The living room and kitchen were spacious and the view from our 18th floor 3 balconies was superb. We could watch my son snorkeling with a barracuda!! Grandpa made breakfast burritos each morning and we had lunch and dinner out. The meal plan didn't interest us because we have one child who only eats macaroni and cheese and another who only eats chicken tenders, so we were able to get away for a lot less expensive by choosing restaurants for them. Fine dining was not part of our plan! However, we had very good meals at Carmines and Frankie Gone Bananas. Lunches at Sip Sip were very good. We went one night to a casual restaurant called Viola's that was kid friendly. The first night we arrived everyone was tired from the journey, so we had room service which was very timely, and ate on the balcony. All is all, it was one of the best vacations we have had.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Bad Reviews are REAL!!

    Reviewed by kimmM5046XC(Dallas, Texas) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This is our family’s third time staying here. It’s been 5 years since our last stay and holy WOW has it changed for the very worse!!! AWFUL!!!!! I read the bad reviews and just thought the guests writing the reviews were overreacting. But no, the bad reviews are real and should be listened to so you do not make the mistake of spending over $23k on a vacation that is less than stellar. Brookfield, you should be ashamed of yourself and what you have done to this resort. At The Reef specifically, issues include but not limited to: 1. Losing power every day, multiple times a day. 2. Horrible Wi-Fi and being charged $25/day for it. 3. No more turn down service (Thanks, Brookfield!). 4. A/C being out in one of the rooms and taking 2 days to look at but never really fixed. 5. Light bulbs and outlets not working and taking 2 days to address but bulbs went out again and outlets still didn’t work. 6. Long lines for getting towels (horrible process). 7. Ridiculously long check signing process (handhelds, anyone??). 8. The A/C being out at Mosaic for breakfast on at least one day. 9. Keys going out every single day even though they never touched a phone. 10. Dirty pool with band-aids floating around. 11. No one at the beach to help get chairs. 12. No one monitoring who can access The Reef and The Cove beach resulting in an influx of people not paying for it. We stayed at The Reef and paid much more specifically so we could be in a relaxed area of the monstrosity of Atlantis. Bummed it didn’t happen. 13. Concierge desk lines and check in lines were outrageous. 14. Check in process is so painful even though you’ve already paid for the room well in advance. The above pales in comparison to the icing on the cake of NO WATER to take showers and being told they have NO IDEA when it can be turned back on. Couldn’t shower for dinner and we have ten people...two adults, five 15 yr old boys and one 19 year old in our suite. Plus, two family members in another room. The front desk had one person working while this was going on and ZERO management in sight. My husband and I demanded to speak to a manager who the front desk called and then gave my husband the phone to speak to the manager. The manager, Bradley, was at The Cove and didn’t deem it necessary to be there. Um, what?! No water on at least 12 floors of the building and you think one person can handle it? He finally agreed to meet in the lobby of The Reef and water was restored after 10 hours. The way it was handled was horrendous...management 101, keep your guests happy. Problems happen, we completely understand. But if you would have done something about it sooner before we had to complain and if you would have gone about it in a nice way, I wouldn’t be writing this review. We did receive a $200 credit for the incident for 8 people in a two bedroom Topaz Suite. Not enough in my opinion. My parents who were in another room had to move rooms because of a gushing leak in the bathroom that couldn’t be fixed. They received a $150 credit for having to move but were told since they already received that, they wouldn’t receive an additional inconvenience credit for not having water. Not right either. If we had not paid so much, I would not be so LIVID! We paid over $2,000 per night for seven nights for a two bedroom suite, not including the outrageous food and drink costs (which we knew and were actually fine with) but not being able to shower in my suite is highly unacceptable! Employees are overwhelmed, overworked and aren’t happy you’re there. We did find that if you tip with cash to individuals, you can get in any restaurant without a reservation as well as The Cove pool/bar. But if you aren’t prepared to give $20-$50 cash each time you need/want something, forget it. You’ll get sad faces and uninterested staff who would rather not be there and who won’t help in any way. All of the negatives being said...we did make the most of it and viewed it as an adventure. We ate, drank and had a fun time. And, our children who brought their friends, had a blast. However, we will never return to the resort. Save your money and go to another island or if you’re already coming here GO TO ANOTHER RESORT. The resort is definitely missing the hospitality you expect when paying such high prices. (Again, thanks Brookfield!) Do not, I repeat, do not book The Reef or any other tower at Atlantis. Believe the bad reviews and go elsewhere, especially if you aren’t bringing kids.

    Nice stay

    Reviewed by 879lingling(Shanghang County, China) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a nice stay and Rasheda made our stay super nice. The place its-self is very nice with spacious rooms. The view is spectacular a d the service is top notch. I will definitely back here soon as I enjoyed my stay.

    Family vacay

    Reviewed by Graham M() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our family went over 4th of July. We had a fantastic time. The staff was great. The accommodations worked out perfectly. The views from the rooms were amazing. It was a very enjoyable weekend. It was hard to relax because we stayed on the go with all the different adventures at the property.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX