Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3237 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    GOOD FRIENDS GREAT TIME!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by Tracey C(Syracuse, New York) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I along with our friends stayed at the Grand Buenaventura February 2 - 9/2019. Our transportation service was Superior Tours. For private transport roundtrip for six people was $114.00. Great reliable service. We arrived an hour early and was able to check in. Our room was not ready until 3pm which we new ahead of time. We booked an Oceanview rm 3rd floor rm 1348 overlooking the pools and ocean with a balcony. The room was small but very clean. It also had a musty smell to it however, we turned off the ac at night and opened the balcony doors to hear the ocean. The hotel and grounds were immaculate. Food very good something for everyone. You have access to the Skybar with Oceanview room. Alcohol selection very good. They put on an impressive Super Bowl party with food, snacks and a Super Bowl cake. Service was fantastic! Had a couples massage at resort for $90.00 for 80 min massage. Excellent! Please make sure you tip as I often observed people not tipping. Everyone works very hard and long hours to provide you with the best experience so don't be cheap. Highly recommend Captain Don's Bar a block and a half from resort. The hotel is in a great location 10-15 walking distance to Malecon.. If you don't want to walk, taxi is 60 pesos less than $4.00. Highly recommend Devil's Bar and The Sea Monkey on the Malecon. We also used Unique Tours and was able to drive a Can -Am(4 passenger) vehicle for $150.00 total for 4 people. Visited where the movie Predetor was filmed, tequila tasting and restaurant. Great time. Took a water taxi located at Pier for $22.00 per person to go to Xelepa. Absolutely beautiful! It is located in a remote bay. You can only get to by boat. Saw whales going there. Take note if you have a broken leg or use a cane do not go by water taxi take a big boat instead. A little more expensive there as everything is brought in by boat. Take a walk to the waterfalls there beautiful. PV is very safe to walk around. Have fun and don't forget to tip. Will be going back to Grand Buenaventura again.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Fantastic Memories

    Reviewed by Passenger45753740993(Omaha, Nebraska) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a fantastic time at Buenaventura Grand Hotel! The hotel was fantastic. Terrific service. Everyone made us feel at home and welcome. Me and my daughters are already planning our trip for next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Trip

    Reviewed by alex g(watrous sask ca) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 9 days it was a group of 19 it’s a very well kept place . The food was great you wouldn’t have to leave the resort for a meal . The staff is great got club house and fish taco right at the pool friendly all the time great people . The first room we had over looked the oxxo and was load in the middle of the night when the delivery trucks unloaded went down asked for a different room was switched that day and all was handled with a smile from the girl who helped . We all decided we will be back for 14 days next year ..!! Ps the bar with the swings was great

    Great Location but needs a few upgrades

    Reviewed by Nola435(Winnipeg, Canada) on Feb 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We have just recently returned from our winter vacation in Puerto Vallarta Mexico. We have been to Puerto Vallarta two times before and have always enjoyed walking the Malecon, so we thought choosing a resort closer would be an asset. The location was great, however the resort could use a few upgrades to make it a great resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Beautiful Resort

    Reviewed by pwa1958() on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back from a wonderful stay at the Buenaventura Grand Resort. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Just a short walk to lots of shops.The food is good and offers a nice variety. The beds are comfortable ! We had a wonderful time and plan to return again.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX