VIK hotel Arena Blanca & Cayena Beach

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    s

    Not a great first impression, but enjoyed this hotel overall

    Reviewed by sfseibel on Jan 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Family vacation 3 kids (11,10,6) We learned to enjoy this resort. Great pool, fantastic beach. Basic amenities in room (one towel & pillow per person, no clock, no dresser, 5 hangers in closet, 2 chairs on balcony for a family suite). Room was always clean and lots of bottled water placed for us in our mini fridge. Buffet was great - kids found lots to eat, adults enjoyed the variety. We were approached at many points for upgrades, tours, services etc. at the resort and on the beach, but never harassed - people take no for an answer. Kids mini disco each evening on the stage was a great highlight for the kids. Glad we brought pool toys/floating mats/masks for the kids - kept them entertained for hours at the pool. Read thorough the reviews, bring some extra supplies, create reasonable expectations in your mind and this is a very good budget-friendly family resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Lobby needs TLC - deceiving web site

    Reviewed by Debbie on Feb 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The advertisement is very deceiving. There are only 2 alacartes at one time. Main Buffet was closed and due to open by end of week Feb 24/2017 but remember thats dominican time . 2 restaurants for an 11 day week is repetitive but the food is very good. They used one of the restaurants and converted to the Buffet. Was considerable smaller and you sat with strangers most of the time. Fridge in room you have to pay $75 for the week one time fill that is not on this site either. site also has to be updated. very old pictures. If the price is right i would recommend but please note lobby is very depressing when you first see it. rest of resort is great. it just needs a little TLC I would return if price was right and to see the knew buffet we couldn't use.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    f

    French speaking and smoking resort

    Reviewed by froggygirl on Mar 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location! Nice beach! The staff was not accommodating at all. We paid for a King bed and got two twin beds and they never changed us after we complained right away. Oceanview was more like ocean peek. Could hardly see the ocean. Food in the buffet was really good and a nice variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not very good at all. This resort was a majority of French speaking people. If you are a non-smoker, don't go here. People smoke every where, except two sections of the buffet. I would never go back to this resort :

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    This resort is for smoking and french speaking people.

    Reviewed by Joyce Reitsma on Mar 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca was a good hotel but it has the majority of French speaking people that go there and they are catered to. The smoking at the resort was ridiculous! It was every where, except two sections of the buffet. We paid for a king bed and got two twins and they never changed us to another room. The hotel was clean and the food was good in the buffet with quite a variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not good at all. I would go back to the Dominican but not this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3868 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not Bad for a Short Stay Vacation - 3 1/2 Stars

    Reviewed by Lee-AnneMH() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Visited the hotel for 5 nights in July 2019. We had been to the DR several years ago but this was our first visit to Punta Cana I am a bit torn on how to review this place. Although the resort was good the overall experience left me feeling disappointed. The hotel was what I expected from pictures and reviews. grounds and rooms were clean. The beds were not very comfortable and pillows rather thin. The room we had was ok - no air conditioning at least none that worked but we did have a large ceiling fan that seemed to do the trick. I had brought the lack of air conditioning in our room to the attention of multiple staff - each who took our room # down but nobody ever came to the room or offered any change. With only a 5 night stay after the second night I just dropped it. Also on the 2nd night we returned to our room with a notice they were to fumigate our room the next morning. I get the need to fumigate in the tropics but we were only on a short stay vacation...couldn't this have been done either before or after our stay? They said it was not toxic but I still felt it best to pack away any items I didn't want in contact with whatever fumigation product they were using. For the most part staff were friendly everywhere we went. We ate at the main buffet and found the food was good- not as repetitive as I have experienced at other resorts. Empty trays were quickly replaced. A shout out to our waiter Jonhatan - He was one of the few staff we met there who really made our stay great and we always looked forward to meeting him in the restaurant each evening. There were a la carts but we never felt we needed the change in meals to bother with them. The pools were clean but the bar for the pool area was set up close to the beach and was a bit of a walk if you were at the further pool. The beach was OK but was a public beach (signs were posted to indicate this) so you had to be careful of your belongings when out swimming- (staff even warned us of this). During our stay the water at beach was full of seaweed; so much seaweed that few people were swimming in the ocean. Apparently this is a phenomenon that occurs from time to time on the Atlantic side of the island and is not the fault of the resort but never-the-less was disappointing for us. The entertainment during the day was so-so. I would have liked to hear more local or Latino music played at the pool instead of the repetitive "Who let the Dogs Out" and other such 20 year old dance music. the night shows we caught seemed entertaining and one evening there was a lively beach party. Free wifi available in the lobby was nice to connect back home once and a while and it worked well for the most part even during the busier evenings. My biggest turnoff for this resort was the constant and sometimes aggressive soliciting - multiple workers walk the resort all day long trying to sell excursions, photos, souvenirs, massage, hair braids, and worst of all the timeshare at the VIK Cayena Beach Club next door. You can barely walk 20 steps before you ran into the next sales pitch. It just seemed non stop and got to the point that if we saw one of these workers up ahead or one coming our way we would joke "don't make eye contact" . Overall the hotel was mostly as expected for a 4 star but I was disappointed in some areas. I would return again if the price was right and maybe next time not in the summer.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    mme

    Reviewed by tal m(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    this hotel sucks... worst hotel ever ... rooms ugly and old...good not so great .... no service what so ever and no animation only 2 guys??????????... in the restaurents you have to serve yourself your drinks even ur wine is from a machine u have to serve yourself. reception zero helpful and thieves...all drinks are not included if u want to drink a wisky you have to pay... if u are hungry after ten you have to wait till next day no snack bar open... they only put soup on a table and if u want u can help yourself. WORST experience ever . never went to such an all inclusive hotel. people that work there look like they can not even talk to tourists no hi no ola no buen dia nadaa noting only the do their job like if they are punished?????

    Family Vacation

    Reviewed by huyphuongh() on Jul 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We traveled as a large group with 9 families. The best part of our trip was the staff. Especially Julio and Javier in the dining area. They tried their best to accommodate everyone, they were always welcoming and happy. The beach had quite a bit of seaweed so it was hard to swim, maybe it was bad season. The pools were nice and clean. The grounds were nicely kept and very clean. The food was okay. We had some issues with the rooms and reservations for our groups.. some were fixed some weren't.

    Very good Vacation!

    Reviewed by TexasWilddflowerr(Lavon, Texas) on Jul 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    VIK is at least worth the price we paid, likely more. Food was abundant and good, drinks were ok, pool was huge and nice, beach was Beautiful and white, plenty of beach chairs, and the water was clear. We had building 5, beach front and the view was great!! BUT, the air in all 3 rooms sucked badly!! humid, and about 85 degrees. We called every day and nothing ever changed. We learned to live with it. The nightly shows were good, the Michael Jackson tribute was excellent. The staff was friendly, especially the activity guys. We felt very SAFE all the time. We had kids under 7 yrs old and the 5 and 7 yr olds were fine going to the pizza place, the bathroom or to the bar alone. The Mexican restaurant is the best. The steak place was good and worth the small charge. Buffet was good, but don't be late! they will put it up around you 15 minutes early. Italian was not my favorite, International was pretty good. Loved the pizza and burger grill by the pool. Rooms were large, bathrooms not so much, but adequate. Some paint is needed around the resort and rooms, but clean enough. Liked the espresso machines in the Lobby. There was a beach disco one night and that was very good!! Lots of fun To my surprise, no beach service like some other travelers have posted. No one to tip for drinks either. Sometimes the vendors got annoying on the beach, but was ok. I would definitely go back. Great value for the price paid. Good family vacation.

    Really lovely resort

    Reviewed by Chantal B(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed at the VIK several times and really enjoy the friendly staff and the excellent location right on the beach and near many restaurants and shops . Really clean and a good variety at the buffet. Lots of activities for everyone to enjoy.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX