VIK hotel Arena Blanca & Cayena Beach

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    s

    Not a great first impression, but enjoyed this hotel overall

    Reviewed by sfseibel on Jan 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Family vacation 3 kids (11,10,6) We learned to enjoy this resort. Great pool, fantastic beach. Basic amenities in room (one towel & pillow per person, no clock, no dresser, 5 hangers in closet, 2 chairs on balcony for a family suite). Room was always clean and lots of bottled water placed for us in our mini fridge. Buffet was great - kids found lots to eat, adults enjoyed the variety. We were approached at many points for upgrades, tours, services etc. at the resort and on the beach, but never harassed - people take no for an answer. Kids mini disco each evening on the stage was a great highlight for the kids. Glad we brought pool toys/floating mats/masks for the kids - kept them entertained for hours at the pool. Read thorough the reviews, bring some extra supplies, create reasonable expectations in your mind and this is a very good budget-friendly family resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Lobby needs TLC - deceiving web site

    Reviewed by Debbie on Feb 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The advertisement is very deceiving. There are only 2 alacartes at one time. Main Buffet was closed and due to open by end of week Feb 24/2017 but remember thats dominican time . 2 restaurants for an 11 day week is repetitive but the food is very good. They used one of the restaurants and converted to the Buffet. Was considerable smaller and you sat with strangers most of the time. Fridge in room you have to pay $75 for the week one time fill that is not on this site either. site also has to be updated. very old pictures. If the price is right i would recommend but please note lobby is very depressing when you first see it. rest of resort is great. it just needs a little TLC I would return if price was right and to see the knew buffet we couldn't use.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    f

    French speaking and smoking resort

    Reviewed by froggygirl on Mar 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location! Nice beach! The staff was not accommodating at all. We paid for a King bed and got two twin beds and they never changed us after we complained right away. Oceanview was more like ocean peek. Could hardly see the ocean. Food in the buffet was really good and a nice variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not very good at all. This resort was a majority of French speaking people. If you are a non-smoker, don't go here. People smoke every where, except two sections of the buffet. I would never go back to this resort :

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    This resort is for smoking and french speaking people.

    Reviewed by Joyce Reitsma on Mar 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca was a good hotel but it has the majority of French speaking people that go there and they are catered to. The smoking at the resort was ridiculous! It was every where, except two sections of the buffet. We paid for a king bed and got two twins and they never changed us to another room. The hotel was clean and the food was good in the buffet with quite a variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not good at all. I would go back to the Dominican but not this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3807 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacation.

    Reviewed by Culture734774() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We really liked the energy that all the employers transmit to us! Very kind and hospitable. Me and my wife enjoyed everyday at this hotel. The food was outstanding an very delicious and all the shows were so wonderful. I was astonished with the opera guys that sang one night. My wife give singing lessons and she was mind blowed with the amazing voices of those young men. I hope we can enjoy so much the next time as we did this year.

    Not what I expected

    Reviewed by Willie M(London, United Kingdom) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    On Arrival we were met with NOT a friendly reception desk at all, maybe it was the fact that there were soak towels all overt the counter soaking up the rain from the leaking roof. There were a lot of thing that I can say but I do not have enough space here and you not enough time to read it all. Positives, the location of the resort is amazing, the view from our second room was stunning, the beach are awesome, and stretches for miles. the outdoors were kept very clean and secure. Felt very save here with many security guards visible, even on the beach no one bothers you, with in the perimeters of the resort, to sell you stuff, Except the hotel sales people that ambush you on every corner, even waiting when you leave the loo. around the pool and beach always loungers available. The food is good with a big selection. However : The rooms are very dated, and need a lot of attention.but are kept cleaned. If you look for a quiet relaxing holiday, THIS is not the place for you. The AC is very noisy.The entertainment during the day is very loud. The same music being played every day around the pool with a guy screaming over a microphone. starting at 10 am till 12 pm aqua aerobics an beach volleyball. then from 2 pm till 5pm dancing lessons and aqua aerobics again. the music is so load some days I could hardly hear my partner sitting next to me. Then at about 5pm the evening entertainer start with shows and more dancing and disco till after midnight. The all inclusive package drinks are not strong at all, you can hardly taste the alcohol in the cocktails,And I am not a real drinker. The bar staff were super unfriendly and some times rude, especially the one at the pool bar. I saw him once hiding the cocktail menu and got very annoyed when a lady found it and asked him for one, The waiting staff on the other had, super friendly and helpful. and O my word, they guy making the eggs in the morning, a bid of a queue though, but he a amazing. English for some staff was very challenging even on the customers service desk to help with having no hot water for two days in the room. He asked If I could rather speak French or Spanish but no English. As I said the setting is amazing but that is where it stops. I will never go back to this place gain. There was so much more that I can not fit into this review that went wrong. Don't expect all the water sports and stuff they advertise, there is nothing.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    spring vacation

    Reviewed by danmursic(Cambridge, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just came back from the VIK Arena Blanca in Punta Cana. First time at this resort but sixth time in the D.R. Here you go for an Honest Review on Pros and Cons: PROS: Very Clean - Rooms very clean. Staff is constantly working to keep the resort clean. Beautiful grounds. Food - Buffet is very good with choices for all diets and likes for all 3 meals. Did not try any a la cartes. Staff - all very friendly and helpful.Location - Excellent- awesome big beach and small resort so everything is close to get to. Always lots of chairs at beach and pool. Vendors do not hound you. CONS: Reception Staff either gives wrong info or none at all - Example: Booked a Superior Gardenview Room with king bed on second or third floor, but got ground floor with 2 double beds. Both the agent asked for this and I sent in separate email for this. I did not get a response. This is the first time for this. Went back to reception and asked for room change and they gave us what we asked for in the first place-could have saved us the aggravation. Room picture is also wrong. Also was told the wifi would be fee for the resort, which was incorrect. We overheard the reception staff tell another guest a high price so we didn't get it however found out the last day that it was only $10. If I was told this the first day I would have gotten it. Entertainment - the Michael Jackson was pretty good. They had the same show 2 nights in a row-but 1 night had costumes and make up.

    Good value for the $$

    Reviewed by Julie G(Huron, Ohio) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from 7 days at VIK Hotel Arena. Check in seamless. Room very clean, bathrooms renovated. The beach was very nice and the pool as well. There were some people who reserved chairs early but tough for staff to really monitor that. Buffet food was OK; the made to order omelettes in the morning were delicious and most dinners you could have stir fry or pasta made to order. We enjoyed the ala carte restaurants more. They didn't seem very busy at all and the service was good. Shows in the evening were not the best we've seen, but certainly can see the effort put forth. Special thanks to Emmanuel at the front desk for quickly taking care of a problem for us (moved us away from a noisy group in the next room), Pedro who made awesome drinks at the beach bar with his smile every day, Christian in the lobby bar, and Jefferson "Panda", one of the entertainment crew. We would definitely go back!

    Great Vacation!

    Reviewed by imlvd(Cambridge, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I traveled with friends for 10 days. Check-in and Check-out was quick and efficient. Front Desk always helpful when needed. We had an issue with room keys not working. Stayed in Building 5. Very close to the beach and snack shack. The grounds were well maintained. Our room was very clean and great view of the ocean. No reservations required at a-la-carts. Mexican was the best. Buffet had a good variety of food with Stir-Fry and Pasta Stations. Drinks are good. Constant warm breeze and sunshine during the days. Pool area was beautiful but we spent most of the time on the beach which was also beautiful. Beach went on forever. A lot of seaweed on the beach during our stay but staff did their best to keep it clean. Powder white sand and lots of palapas. Signs said no reserving chairs but it was not enforced. Loved the Snack Shack! Didn't appreciate being constantly approached by Guest Services in the lobby and at Buffet entrances to get VIP. Nightly entertainment but it needs some work. If your looking for a calm quiet relaxing vacation, I would recommend the VIK.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX