Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    l

    Can't Wait to Go Back!

    Reviewed by lyric on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We are a Canadian couple, in late our 60's. Our room was a beautifully appointed suite with a roof-top plunge pool. Everything about the place was 5 star and aside from a reserved part of the beach, from our perspective, we couldn't see any advantage to the Excellence Club class. The food was fantastic, with top notch service throughout by friendly, willing staff. The choice of restaurants was wonderful, and there were special events and entertainment each night. The beach was nice, but the pools are fantastic. If you want excitement, the swim up bar pool was rocking, but for peace and quiet, the spa pool area was serene... and for handicapped folks, there was a heated, accessible pool area. We loved the availability of lounge beds around the pools. The hotel offered a free shuttle bus into the small village of Puerto Morales where we were able to buy a few souvenirs. We have lived in Europe and travelled extensively all over the world as well as doing at least 10 cruises. By comparison, this stay was the best value, ever...so much so that we plan on going back for a longer stay this winter! There were no negatives from our perspective and we would highly recommend this hotel! Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    The best trip ever, so far! This resort is the epitome of luxury and relaxation with the greatest staff!

    Reviewed by Karen ... Canada on Jan 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Best!!!!! Herman, Xavier, Erikka- @ the tour desk and our girl Erikka on the floor, along with Louise an amazing greeter and Bell! The entire hotel staff was simply amazing and accommodating. Wonderful selection of restaurants and snack bars, room service, and a great coffee bar along with an amazing Martini Bar! And so much more! I loved the ice cream station, crepe afternoons and frozen fruit cart and the Mexican Bingo with the wonderfully amusing sorry girl...I've forgotten your name...loved you too! Just a sample of what this beautiful resort has to offer. Extremely clean. Fabulous entertainment every evening and...Soooooo many interesting activities Daily! Good luck trying to fit them all in. The lazy river pool is one of the best! This hotel is prepared for every scenario and make good on every reservation. These fine folks go above and beyond ... truly, a luxury experience. It was the greatest resort Experience! Kudos to all! Loved the Excellence! ...BTW...the wee town of Puerto Morelos is well worth checking out...great folks, arts and crafts and festivities! Check in with your concierge when you arrive, it's worth it. Also recommend a side excursion to Coba Ruins...fascinating and affordable and one of the last Mayan ruins you can ascend. Everything was 5*****s!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We loved every minute of our stay at Excellence - I want to go back immediately!

    Reviewed by Sunlovers on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellence was exactly what we wanted - quiet, adults only, terrific food, magnificent service and nice rooms. Pros: - Gorgeous pools. They were very quiet and peaceful but the main pool near the swim up bar was lively in the afternoon. There were tons of pool chairs available. If you are staying in a swim up suite, you have your own private pool bed. Think of a king sized comfy bed out in the sun. If not, you could grab one of the few that were poolside or in a shaded hut. - Restaurants had amazing food. I had very low expectations and didn't believe the positive reviews that I read but the food was great. The breakfast buffet at the Barcelona was huge and offered omelettes to order, waffles... The a la carte dinners were very good too. We were not huge fans of the Mexican restaurant but the Italian and Asian restaurants were tasty. We only had to wait for the Asian restaurant but were seated immediately at the others. - Mini bar stocked with drinks and you had a full bottle of vodka, tequila, wine and rum in your room - All couples honeymooners or 30/40 somethings . Cons: - Do not go if you are a beach person. It is not the hotel's fault but tons of seaweed was constantly washing up on shore. They had to use a big tractor to scoop it up and then rake it by hand. It's kind of gross but it's a huge problem everywhere, not just here. We didn't care because the pools were to die for but if you love the beach, look elsewhere. - Westjet's hotel transfer from the airport was horrible. We had to wait on the sidewalk in the hot Mexican sun for over an hour. 90 minutes after we had landed, they said that they were waiting for two other couples from our flight but they must have taken private transportation so they made us wait for a large group that came on a different flight. It was not how I wanted to begin my vacation. : We loved everything at the hotel, especially the pool and terrific service. We can't wait to go back!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 15454 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Meredith L() on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was the best resort I've ever stayed at. Moises, Amable and Rocio were the happiest and most helpful staff members. They truly made our stay special! I will recommend this property to anyone! They handled everything for us from start to finish and we didn't have to plan or think about anything.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Another Excellant New Years at the Excellence Riviera Cancun

    Reviewed by Richard P() on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Another “Excellent” New Years at the Excellence Rivera Cancun, second year in a row for my wife and myself and we are already planning on booking for next year. This is the perfect place to relax and ring in the New Year. They do a great job putting on a celebration that is just enough without going over the top. Omar greeted us at front door like we never left, great smile and awesome personality, taking care of everything thing we needed. Miguel took care of our daily lunches at the Grill, best place for a scenic lunch at this wonderful resort. The overall best experience was with Walmar, bartender at the outdoor bar Café Kafé. During one of the nighty shows Walmar spend over 30 minutes providing us with an excellent history of tequila and a tasting lesson. It was pleasure to hear his descriptions of the different blends, aging processes and backgrounds of the tequila he had to offer. Overall, the Excellence Rivera Cancun is a great, warm and friendly place to relax and start the New Year off right.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Best Place to Honeymoon!

    Reviewed by kayteepea() on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellence Riviera Cancun lives up to its name. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in January, and we had the absolute best experience. After spending months planning and coordinating every small detail of our wedding, it was so wonderful to sit back, relax, and the let the fine folks at Excellence fulfill our every want and need. We stayed in an excellence club two story suite with a plunge pool, and although we didn't use the plunge pool much (because the weather was a little too chilly), I definitely recommend booking an excellence club room for the extra perks (i.e. access to the excellence lounge and private beach area). The grounds are lush with tropical vegetation and immaculate, the pools and beach area are wonderful, the restaurants are delicious, and the drinks don't stop. On top of all those wonderful things, our honeymoon package came with a private romantic dinner on the beach, champagne breakfast in bed, and the most amazing spa experience either of us have ever had. We were even able to take a 45 minute walk down the beach to go explore the lovely town of Puerto Morelos. My only complaint would be that the bars by the pool close way too early and there were no drink menus at many of the bars.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Really lovely resort!

    Reviewed by bgriestdevora(San Antonio, Texas) on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at ERC for 8 days in January and had a great time. We have visited EPM previously, and have been to many resorts around the area, with The Valentine and El Dorado brands being our favorites. ERC is smaller than any of these, but is laid out well and manages to never feel crowded. (The compact size might be a plus for some, but we missed taking long walks on the grounds.) The beach is beautiful, and there was no seaweed to be seen during our trip (although it gets quite terrible during the warmer months.) Service was great, and the entire staff seemed to go out of their way to be friendly. Benito, who provided beach service, and Manuel in the French restaurant were stand-outs, but we found everyone to be just lovely. We also certainly enjoyed the drinks; however, the house wine is a weak point. Double ick. Nightly entertainment was fun and varied. We particularly enjoyed the live music, which was everywhere during all hours of the day. So fun! Kudos to the resort for providing such a wide variety of talent—this was a highlight of the trip. The only real letdown was the food, which was just okay—but not great. We are foodies, so this was a disappointment. The one standout was Basmati, which was delightful and absolutely delicious. The food everywhere else just seemed either bland or over salted, with no real use of spice or flavor. Oh--and we missed the wildlife, which is so abundant at other resorts. The pools were lovely—but a tad chilly, which is to be expected in January. (Full disclosure: I’m a total wimp in cool water. My husband thought it was just fine.) We are beach people though, and we had no problem finding the perfect palapa each morning. Loved the beach! The sand is fantastic, as is the beach drink service. They’ll even bring you food right on the beach! And—you can take a right at the beach and enjoy a 45 minute walk into Puerto Moreles, which is a fun trip. The rooms were also great—very large and well appointed. We did a garden view, non-club, and we didn’t feel we were missing out on a thing. I would recommend skipping paying extra for the club-level rooms. A couple of tips: go to the beach and turn right at 10:55 AM to be in line for a coco-loco drink served in a real coconut starting at 11! Delish—but they run out, so get there early! Also—if you plan to rent a cabana, do so before you arrive. They were booked for several of our days when we were there. Finally—don’t save your first choice restaurant for the last night, as you might find it closed. All in all—it was a great trip! Would we go again? Maybe--if the price were right—as there are other resorts with comparably fabulous views, service, and amenities. But I would certainly recommend this highly to anyone looking.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    "Nicest trip of our lives"

    Reviewed by Jordan R() on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were completely impressed with every facet of our stay. The resort is beautiful and the service is incredible! You can easily tell it's a well managed facility, as it is reflected in the care and attention of the staff. They perform their service making you feel like they are truly happy to be at your service. And the food was top notch! We were impressed with absolutely everything!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX