Excellence Riviera Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Fantastic Resort and staff... highly recommended.

    Reviewed by JTG on Apr 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Simply an excellent establishment. True 5 star. The only items that may not hit top notch would be: beach - excellent sand but lots of eel grass and seaweed. Lounger - cushions were just ok, extra towels helped a lot Entertainment - evening shows were pretty hit and miss. Overall, any shortcomings were way overpowered by outstanding staff, good food and excellent rooms. Very quiet adult resort without any wildness.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    O

    Best mexico Vacay

    Reviewed by Ogopogie on Jan 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Best staff, best food, best vacay ever! Clean, fun, safe, immaculate. A+ on everything!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    l

    Can't Wait to Go Back!

    Reviewed by lyric on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We are a Canadian couple, in late our 60's. Our room was a beautifully appointed suite with a roof-top plunge pool. Everything about the place was 5 star and aside from a reserved part of the beach, from our perspective, we couldn't see any advantage to the Excellence Club class. The food was fantastic, with top notch service throughout by friendly, willing staff. The choice of restaurants was wonderful, and there were special events and entertainment each night. The beach was nice, but the pools are fantastic. If you want excitement, the swim up bar pool was rocking, but for peace and quiet, the spa pool area was serene... and for handicapped folks, there was a heated, accessible pool area. We loved the availability of lounge beds around the pools. The hotel offered a free shuttle bus into the small village of Puerto Morales where we were able to buy a few souvenirs. We have lived in Europe and travelled extensively all over the world as well as doing at least 10 cruises. By comparison, this stay was the best value, ever...so much so that we plan on going back for a longer stay this winter! There were no negatives from our perspective and we would highly recommend this hotel! Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    The best trip ever, so far! This resort is the epitome of luxury and relaxation with the greatest staff!

    Reviewed by Karen ... Canada on Jan 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Best!!!!! Herman, Xavier, Erikka- @ the tour desk and our girl Erikka on the floor, along with Louise an amazing greeter and Bell! The entire hotel staff was simply amazing and accommodating. Wonderful selection of restaurants and snack bars, room service, and a great coffee bar along with an amazing Martini Bar! And so much more! I loved the ice cream station, crepe afternoons and frozen fruit cart and the Mexican Bingo with the wonderfully amusing sorry girl...I've forgotten your name...loved you too! Just a sample of what this beautiful resort has to offer. Extremely clean. Fabulous entertainment every evening and...Soooooo many interesting activities Daily! Good luck trying to fit them all in. The lazy river pool is one of the best! This hotel is prepared for every scenario and make good on every reservation. These fine folks go above and beyond ... truly, a luxury experience. It was the greatest resort Experience! Kudos to all! Loved the Excellence! ...BTW...the wee town of Puerto Morelos is well worth checking out...great folks, arts and crafts and festivities! Check in with your concierge when you arrive, it's worth it. Also recommend a side excursion to Coba Ruins...fascinating and affordable and one of the last Mayan ruins you can ascend. Everything was 5*****s!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We loved every minute of our stay at Excellence - I want to go back immediately!

    Reviewed by Sunlovers on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellence was exactly what we wanted - quiet, adults only, terrific food, magnificent service and nice rooms. Pros: - Gorgeous pools. They were very quiet and peaceful but the main pool near the swim up bar was lively in the afternoon. There were tons of pool chairs available. If you are staying in a swim up suite, you have your own private pool bed. Think of a king sized comfy bed out in the sun. If not, you could grab one of the few that were poolside or in a shaded hut. - Restaurants had amazing food. I had very low expectations and didn't believe the positive reviews that I read but the food was great. The breakfast buffet at the Barcelona was huge and offered omelettes to order, waffles... The a la carte dinners were very good too. We were not huge fans of the Mexican restaurant but the Italian and Asian restaurants were tasty. We only had to wait for the Asian restaurant but were seated immediately at the others. - Mini bar stocked with drinks and you had a full bottle of vodka, tequila, wine and rum in your room - All couples honeymooners or 30/40 somethings . Cons: - Do not go if you are a beach person. It is not the hotel's fault but tons of seaweed was constantly washing up on shore. They had to use a big tractor to scoop it up and then rake it by hand. It's kind of gross but it's a huge problem everywhere, not just here. We didn't care because the pools were to die for but if you love the beach, look elsewhere. - Westjet's hotel transfer from the airport was horrible. We had to wait on the sidewalk in the hot Mexican sun for over an hour. 90 minutes after we had landed, they said that they were waiting for two other couples from our flight but they must have taken private transportation so they made us wait for a large group that came on a different flight. It was not how I wanted to begin my vacation. : We loved everything at the hotel, especially the pool and terrific service. We can't wait to go back!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16886 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Terrible food. Booked a room with a King bed, got 2 doubles. Sad.

    Reviewed by Robert G() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Why should I have to sleep in a twin bed and my wife in the other when we booked a suite with a king bed?!? The food was overall pretty bad. We will never come back and I will definitely tell my family and friends to find another resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Easy, Relaxing, and Special.

    Reviewed by Navigate578362() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my second trip to the same resort. This time I stayed in the Club Level (closer to the beach,check-in is a bit simpler, and drinks are easier to come by even if your not in the "main" pool. This resort is 20 minutes from the Airport (so easy), the bellboy/front-desk/check-in experience is a breeze, everything -restaurants, convenience shop, spa, beach, pools- is just so close (relaxing), and although it's definitely not quiet during the day, it's not a screaming bunch of drunkards either. It's filled with adults that are there to relax, and maybe have a bit of fun. Love this place. Whenever I go to Mexico and want to do nothing but stay on-site and relax this is where I will stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent Customer Service

    Reviewed by Mitchell S() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed at the Excellence Riviera Cancun on our Honeymoon June of '19. The staff exceeded every expectation. Each day our room was cleaned and the minibar was stocked. We got the Honeymoon package and several days there were towels formed in the shape of swans or hearts. My wife's birthday was during our stay and we returned to the room one evening to find balloons and cake waiting for her. Really couldn't ask for better customer service. Everyone was extremely friendly and willing to help. This is not a hotel to stay at if you're wanting to spend time in in the ocean, though. It's located on the shore of an area where seaweed (or something like it) constantly washed up on shore. They had people out there throughout the day shoveling it up and putting it into a large pile to the side. Another con was the rooms would tend to get rather humid during the night to where I would wake up usually around 5am because it was uncomfortable. All in all, though, I have no regrets planning our honeymoon at this resort and, even though the beach wasn't really usable, the staff's supreme customer service definitely made up for it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent

    Reviewed by Annie F G(Rive-sud De Mtl) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I really enjoyed my stay in thaïs resort and recommand it without hesitation. Me and my friends had a lot of fun. All the staff is very friendly. The ocean was not Nice, but this has nothing to do with the hôtel.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wonderful & Relaxing Anniversary Trip

    Reviewed by MindyS0604(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed 7 nights in the Excellence Club Honeymoon Suite with Rooftop Terrace to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed!! We had previously stayed at and loved Excellence Playa Mujeres and thought we’d try this resort this time. We truly loved it. 1. The staff is amazing! Seriously, the service was second to none. We loved chatting with Mariana, Amable, Secundino & Moises each day in the EC pool & beach area. They were very friendly and attentive to our needs, especially Mariana!! The EC concierge staff in the lounge were equally helpful and welcoming. We had many times where we were asked how our stay was going and if there was anything they could do for us. Loved that! 2. Food: This is so subjective since everyone has different tastes and preferences. We really enjoyed lunch at The Grill and we loved the wood fired pizza by the pool! (Side note...the iguanas seem to love it too and one even jumped up on my lap to try to steal it from me. Scared me!). Another meal we loved was Hibachi at Spice. It was fantastic and our waiter put on an awesome show of his talents! Feel badly that I forget his name but he was great! 3. Our room: 7357, the EC Honeymoon Suite with Rooftop Terrace. Absolutely stunning. Living room is separate from the bedroom with doors that can be closed to separate the spaces. There’s a very large walk-in closet that we really liked. Plenty of drawer & shelf space. The rooftop has the best view in the entire resort, according to the EC concierge when we checked in. Only suggestion is that many of the floorboards on the rooftop terrace need to be tightened down or replaced. They’re lose and outdated. Important to note is that this rooftop terrace does NOT have total privacy. The terrace of the neighboring room (7358) has a section that looks onto this one. 4: Entertainment. Go to the Silent Party! It was hilarious and was seriously one of the highlights of the trip. Everyone is wearing headphones and dancing and singing along to various stations. The color of your headphones shows what station you’re listening to. It was a blast! 5: Beach- You’ve already heard that there’s a seaweed issue. But they work tirelessly to eliminate it from the sand. The beach itself is beautiful and we spent many long days relaxing there. We went for a long walk in both directions on the beach and can tell you with confidence that the Excellence team does the best job of dealing with the seaweed. When people write that the beach is unusable, they mean the water. If you’re okay lounging on the beach without getting in the ocean, then you’ll still enjoy it! We found there to be very little to no smell from the seaweed either.... The purpose of our trip was to getaway alone together and just relax. We did exactly that. We highly recommend this resort for couples looking for a romantic escape in a beautiful setting with outstanding service and attention to detail. You won’t be disappointed!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX