Grand Bahia Principe Coba

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    A

    I would not recommend this hotel. The A/C in the room is poor and getting help is impossible.

    Reviewed by Andrea on Jul 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The staff was friendly but I had to speak to the front desk several times about fixing the toilet in the washroom. They said they would come right away but hours passed by.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    O

    Great staff, definitely would go back.

    Reviewed by Oldman on Nov 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Had a great time. Everything was good, good food, nice room, etc. Beach was a tad small plus the seaweed was terrible. The hotel can't be blamed for the seaweed though. We were there at the tail end of Tropical storm Michael with the wind blowing the seaweed in. They did have people cleaning it up as best as they could though. Had the use of the beach and most facilities at the sister hotel Tulum. Shuttle service was great and made getting around easy. Great place for kids. 24 hour snack bar was perfect if you got the munchies or a little thirsty at 2 am. Would go back in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    terrible experience here. Save yourself the headache and go elsewhere

    Reviewed by steve on Oct 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    I just spent a week at this resort and I am baffled at how this place has a 4.5 star rating. I have been to Mexico a number of times, and this is by far the worst place that my family has been to. With all of our visits to Mexico, we have never encountered rude staff, but at this resort we encountered this problem multiple times with the bartenders. The pool area was a mess, with garbage being left for days sitting on the ground and mold growing on the poolside lounge chairs. There is NO poolside service, so if you would like a beverage or food, you have to get it yourself. There is only 3, or better to say only 1 buffet restaurant, because after having lunch at the pool area buffet, it was decided to go to the main buffet due to the food quality. The food was OK, but pretty much the same thing everyday.We spent the whole week trying to find a drink that was worth drinking, but the low alcohol quality, and the bartenders inconsistency to make a quality drink made that next to impossible. The seaweed at the beach was piled up. I get that it s an ongoing process for the resort to deal with, but having a 3' windrow of weed on the beach for days in unacceptable. They could help this problem with more cleanup crews, but I doubt they care too much. Our Villa had no ice machine, and our room had a mini fridge that didn't work. After trying a few times to get it working, we just gave up. They would stock it sometimes, and sometimes they wouldn't. Our king bed was so old that it had large "dents" in it where previous guests had slept. We maybe slept for 1-2 hours at a time before waking up and having to change positions because some part of our bodies were numb. The bathroom had mold growing in the corners and on some edges. Shower toiletries consisted of shampoo, and conditioner, but no shower gel and hand soap, except for the last day that we were there. Our room had a dehumidifier, but no other rooms in our party had this luxury. They have work vehicles that are in disre

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    G

    Other than seaweed on the beach, everything else was great. Definitely considering going back.

    Reviewed by Gordon on Oct 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is an excellent resort. Great people, services, food and lodging.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Amazing people

    Reviewed by Joy on May 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I loved the people.. They r amazing .. My first family vacation to Mexico n i would go back there.. Buffet was good lots of selection .. Formal dining was great esp Filipe at La Gormet .. Had a lol hiccup during checkin but during the stay I forgot all abt it .. I was treated like a princess

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Loved this resort for families.... the waterpark is awesome!

    Reviewed by Christinek on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    The Coba is not directly on the beach, its a 5min walk, but i thought it was great as staying by the pool at the coba was really nice, it was quiet and relaxing. A definite stay for a family with the nice waterpark!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Clean Room, Good Food, Poor Service

    Reviewed by Peggy2017 on Apr 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Clean room and the food was good. It lacked service, and friendly staff. I personally would not go back, as it seemed that you had to tip big to receive good service. Due to the lack of good service we didn't tip as much as we normally do. The pools had lots of debis in them, and the pool bar had one bartender and one blender. We would try to order a few drinks when we were up there due to the slow service, but the bartender would just ignore you if you ordered too many drinks, 4 drinks being too many, or drinks that he didn't feel like making. Our drink orders got ignored on several occasions despite tipping and being polite. We got charged for a late check out because we called concierge to pick up our luggage, we were on the opposite side of the resort from the lobby, and they didn't come until an hour later and after another phone call. We tried to explain this to the front desk staff and they still charged us. We called for ice a few times and they were always prompt to come. One day the cleaning lady must have been cleaning the patio and she left the patio door unlocked, we were on the ground level, luckily nothing was missing from our room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    N

    Don't think it's a 5 star resort and think of it as 2.5-3 star

    Reviewed by Not a recommendation on Oct 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    It was better then punta Cana but not worth returning to at all. Few issues that we faced last week when we were there. 1- it was 4 friends that went there 2 rooms with single beds. We also confirmed with our agent and also send an email to the staff to make sure it was 2 single beds per room. When we get there sure enough both rooms had single king size beds. When we asked to change our rooms they replied not till tomorrow. We had to call them the next day several times to get the rooms changed. 2- no system for the buffet room. You walk in find an empty table leave your stuff on that table and then go get food before someone else takes the table. 3- always trying to find empty clean plates as usually thought our stay there were non avaliable until you wait for them to being clean plates. 4-hard to find a server in there for drinks and majority of the time we didn't even find anyone to bring water to the table. 5- new room gives to us was on second floor and the TV, ac and shower were not working in the room. We called the front desk a few times but no one came to check. We gave a good tip to the room service to fix TV and shower issue but ac was hopeless. Definitely was not a 4.5 or 5 star resort and no one should book it thinking it is that.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    t

    The No-Ba is a 3*. Maybe.

    Reviewed by travelbird on Apr 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We did what we thought was our due diligence about taking our family of 5 to the Bahia Coba, as well we have been to other Bahia Principe hotels. Coba was a disappointment in so many regards. Check-in was fine. We showed up at 1.30pm and were assigned our adjoining family rooms, close to the children's pool as requested however of course, the room was not yet ready. Fine. We returned as told at 3.30pm and our room was no longer available and we were assigned to building 3 which is pretty much at the end of the resort. No amount of pleading would change this. Further, the explanations varied depending on who we asked and ultimately we were completely lied to. Someone else got our room. New room in villa 3: a/c wasn't working, really pronounced mould smell and the very worst: mosquitos. So bad. Our daughter had 3 bites in her mouth that swelled her cheek up. Disgusting. Food was blasé. Restaurant reservations were brutal -- lines to get a reservation were impossibly long. Our family of 5 was granted 3 a la carte reservations at the amazing time of: 8.30pm. Our final meal was at Tequila @ Tulum which was actually really very good. So that's something. We have been to many AI resorts, as well as cruising. Never have we experienced the lack lustre service we received at Coba. We started calling it No-ba as truly -- any request for ANYTHING was answered with a NO. No we don't have your room anymore. No we can't fix the problem. No, the mosquitos aren't that bad in your room. No we don't have any premium liquor. No we don't have cream for coffee. No we don't have a better dinner reservation time for you. No, we don't have pancake syrup. No we don't have guacamole. No the snack bar isn't open even though it's 24 hours. No we don't have anyone running the tween/teen clubs. No we can't do your currency exchange because we have no currency. No we don't have a shuttle taking you that direction. No you can't take a photo. Seriously: NO-BA.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Amazing Stay! Excellent Customer Service!

    Reviewed by Andre & Melanie on Jan 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    This is definitely a place to go for anybody looking for a great resort. It's three resorts into one. A lot to do every single day. Beach, Pools, Casino, Golf and so many excursions too. Staff was excellent! We we're located in Villa 4a. Outside of our Villa, was the Iguana jacuzzi/bar. Would like to give a big thank you to our bartender JESUS! He was amazing! So friendly and did his job very well. Meanwhile, we went for our breakfast and lunches at the Buffet Cozumel. We had our regular waiter in Jose Marcial Coomol Ciov. What a great gentleman. Smiling all the time, cracking jokes but most importantly giving us the best service you can think of!! A great resort and thanks again Bahia Principe. Andre & Melanie Ontario, Canada

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 15808 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great holiday

    Reviewed by Tovarish332(Crawley, United Kingdom) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed the the Coba for 14 days and had a great holiday but there were some things that really the the place down. We stayed in block 17 which was fine not too distant a walk from the main restaurant and close to the pool. We are generally early risers which is required I found myself having to get towls on the shaded sunbeds before 6am otherwise they were all taken, given the intense heat of the sun you need a shaded lounger so this is a real demerit that they were so few. On two occassions I had to argue with a mexican family that had just sat on our loungers whilst we were in the pool even though our stuff was on them. The pool side drinks bars are very good but the pool side snack bars leave a lot to be desired and we only used them a couple of times as we felt the food selection was poor. The main restaurant however was fantastic, the quality of the food and range of choice was awesome. We generally are early eaters so got to the restaurant when it opened and had no problems with getting the same table every day, however we did see that at main times the restaurant was not well managed on table allocations and this led to empty tables whilst huge queues of guests waited outside in the heat to get in, this frankly is unforgivable and needs to urgently be addressed. The serving staff were for the most part very attentive and friendly, although we did have one server that seemed to see a family of 5 as an inconvenience as the tables are laid for 2, 4, 8 or 10. I very nearly went to the reception to complain about his attitude as it soured our meal. The hotel operates transport 'Traincars' that have set routes around the resort these are regular and convenient but are a mad scramble at busy times as they don't seem to schedule extra at busy times so results in some very unsavoury behaviour from some of the guest that is totally uncontrolled by the staff. The times that this most annoyed us was coming back from the beach at 1800 you have to be very pushy or you won't get a place. The worst however was the mexican fiesta at the Hacienda. The hotel management know what time it finishes and that everyone will want back to the individual hotels at the same time but there seemed to be absolutely no consideration of this and therefore there was a huge mass of people including with small children late at night wanting to get back almost fighting for places on the regular schedule of transport, this we incredibly poor and frankly the management of transport needs a serious review. The Mexican Fiesta in my view is not worth the money, it was ok but just ok and to charge $18 for the show as an extra is poor given the show is the entertainment staff from the hotels not proffessional from outside so the hotels have no other entertainment on a Thursday night. We did book the meal with the show $38 as it was billed as a gourmet mexican experience. Total waste of money do not bother! It was a set menu and if you don't like seafood you have no options, this was not communicated in advance. It definitely was not up to standard and a huge disapointment for us. The a la carte restaurants. Mediterraneo. Service was poor and although the quality of the food was good the selection was very limited, not to my taste. Mashua. Service was good and the food very good, would recommend Brazillian. If you like meat and plenty of it this is the place for you, they just keep comming with huge amounts Le Gourmet. I absolutely loved the food in here, French themed and very good. Service was attentive and efficient. Mikado. An excellent restaurant and make sure you get a show table so the chef cooks in front of you. The service was the slowest of all the restaurants but i think that was down tothe chef moving between show tables. We all agreed this was the best night so the slow service did not detract from the experience. Overall i would recommend this hotel we did have a great holiday, but there are things they could and should do to improve

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing Vacation

    Reviewed by michaell_122204() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My stay here was amazing ! The staff was really friendly, food was really good and there was a lot of variety.The entertainment team was amazing and the rooms were pretty comfortable.They had a balcony, beds were comfortable and the bathroom had a jacuzzi. Things at the lobby shop were pretty cheap and again the staff was always attentive. This place is definitely the best for family. Of course because of natural causes the beach is not that great, but there were always worker cleaning up.Would definetly recommend the grand mexican fiesta on thursday. I also recommend taking the public transportation( totally safe) in front of the hotel and going to the mayan ruins in tulum.It's pretty cheap and a really good experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Gran Bahai Principe Coba Privilege Club

    Reviewed by ColinMcgee(Peterlee, United Kingdom) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our fouth visit in 5 years , so we do like the place. But the place keeps improving year on year . The introduction of the Sports bar really good , air condition ,nice place to cool down during the hot days, improvements to restaurants and Pisces bar at pool make the place better each time we arrive. The entertaiment team excellent , Hector , Yasmin, Susie, Carlos ,Ando well done and thank you.Privilege club lounge and service was also excellent thanks to all the staff, Maykent, Alexandre, Edgar , David and many others you help make it such a great holiday .

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Fabulous holiday.. don't listen to the bad reviews!

    Reviewed by alicec181(Birmingham, United Kingdom) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My Fiance and I have just returned from a fantastic two-week stay at Grand Bahia Principe Coba. I cannot fault the staff at this hotel, from the fantastic entertainment staff, waiters at the buffet and restaurants, bar staff and the cleaning staff were all brilliant and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The customer service in all areas is outstanding, well done Coba! This hotel has got everything you need either on-site or close by in a buggy/train which comes very regularly. The buggies will take you to the Hacienda which has a club, shops/markets, casino, pharmacy, and 24-hour doctors, this is literally on site but a few mins on a buggy. Please be aware that although the Casino is part of the hotel, the drinks are not free there. This is the only place we went to where the drinks were not free at the Hotel complex. The buffet restaurant has plenty of options and was always tasty, the restaurants are also fantastic, but they do have small menus. My personal favorite was the Gourmet restaurant where I ate steak. The entertainment evening shows are brilliant, personal favorites of mine are the Circus show and the Rock show (Funnily enough I am not into Rock music, but the Dancers in this show are brilliant and made it!). The urban show is also great and kids would love it. If you have any football fans in the family, they will love one football section of the urban show in particular! I would also recommend attending the Mexican Fiesta night, which is held at the Hacienda on a Thursday! This is absolutely a family resort with constant entrainment around the main pool, kids clubs, and water slides! But if you do fancy a quieter relaxing day there are quieter pools available and also lovely jacuzzi style pools to chill in! The sports bar is also great, they have arcade games and a pool table ect and they play most of the big UK football games, they even offer snacks and cakes in there, which are free. The beach is lovely and the buggy trains will take you, but we walked as it only took around 8 mins. Yes, there is a seaweed problem in Mexico at the moment, but this will not affect your holiday as the staff work hard to clean it up to provide us holidaymakers with a gorgeous beach so that you can easily swim and snorkel! Please note that you can rent paddleboards and kayaking boats at the beach.. FOR FREE! We did not realise this until the last day and wish we knew sooner! Collectivo's- Our Tui guide did say at the welcome meeting that they would not recommend using these, however, we had no problem what so ever and got collectivo's a few times to and from Playa del Carmen and Tulum. We were quoted 90 dollars for a taxi ride that cost 2 dollars in a collectivo.. honestly I would recommend using them! They are basically like a taxi/minibus service that stops to pick you up, safely and with lovely air con. You can get these on the main road outside the hotel. Overall this is a fabulous hotel that I would 100% return to. If I did have to give one area of improvement for this hotel it would be more accessible Wifi. Although there is Wifi available in the lobby area, personally I think the hotel could improve this by extending it further out to different parts of the hotel as the lobby area can get extremely busy at times.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Mostly good

    Reviewed by jimos_sur(Surrey, Canada) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were there for 8 days during August with a 12 year old and 15 year old. We knew that it was not a 5 star resort which was reflected with the great price we rec'd. To us it was a great value. We found the buffet good with enough choices. However at the beginning of our stay Aug 11 we had no trouble finding a table - just walked in an grabbed one. By the following weekend there was a 10 min wait for tables. On our last day to avoid the lines we ate breakfast at the Cozemal. It has a smaller selection but no waiting. However seemed hotter (less air conditioning) than the main buffet.. Only complaint about the food at the buffet was that it was never hot - it always seemed to be just warm. Went to 4 a la cartes - Liked the Mashau, and Don Pablo the best. Mediterraneo was good but service slow. Did not like the Le Gourmet only because our waiter seemed to forget to serve us. The food at all was very good though. We stayed in building 31 which I would recommend as it is close to everything including the shuttle stop. We liked the room although wife thought it had a mildew odour.. Some reviews say the resort and rooms are"dated" but if that means traditional mexican style then that is what I want. I don't like resorts that look like we are just visiting a shopping mall. We knew before going that you had to take a shuttle to the beach and as others have said the Coba (and Tulum) beaches are not the best. The Akumal beach has better sand. Went there however it was hit and miss to get a drink. One time they served us; next they said not for Coba wristbands. Probably best to bring a travel mug and fill it before you go to Akumal side. There were lot more free loungers at the Akumal beach. I would recommend water shoes for the Coba beach but not required for Akumal side. Other notes: The pool waters were warm. You can use all pools even those at the Tulum.. Also no problem getting any service at restaurants or bars on the Tulum side. Hard to find chairs in the shade at Coba unless you get up real early. There were chairs at the beach. Like everyone has said the pool and the ocean swimming areas are not deep. I would have preferred deeper water at the pools. The Tulum pool was a little deeper. Also we signed onto the Grand Bahia loyalty program before booking and found it to be a very good deal. We rec'd a discount on the room, free private shuttle to and from the airport, dedicated check in line and some other perks. It worked for us as we didn't book a package but rather flight and hotel separate. The nightly entertainment shows were good - not great. We enjoyed them although 3 of the are quite similar - 80's show, Queen Tribute, Rock show.- having a band play an hour set with various singers and dancers performing in front of them. We went to the Mexican Fiesta night - which for us at $18 per person I would not recommend. Although it had some negatives we thought that overall it was quite good.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX