Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10650 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Lovely hotel

    Reviewed by sambH9871GG() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Ignore the negative reviews there seems to be no pleasing people. This is are 3rd visit to Mexico and probably the best hotel we've stayed at. In general the hotel is an excellent standard. Grounds... well kept and pretty to look at. Yes it is a big resort but once you get to grips with it it's not that bad. Rooms... we stayed in 6216. Great location easy access to all pools and beach and 2 of the buffets. we had deluxe junior suite with a whirlpool bath nice touch. Nice big comfy bed with a big balcony and separate seating area. Pools... there is alot to choose from loads of loungers but limited to the ones with shade (the hotel could probably invest in more parasols). You have the option to be in the party pools or quieter ones depending on how your feeling. Pool bars where hit and miss they seemed to close most days at 4.30 even though they are advertised being open until 6. Beach... yes there is seaweed but still doesnt mean the beach is unusable. We spent plenty of time there and the smell isn't so bad after 5 minutes. There is a huge adults only section if you do a left. No one really uses it so it's like you have your own section of beach. Restaurants... we found the buffets to be actually better than than the al a cartes. We only tried the steak house and Italian. The steak itself was nice but starters and desserts wernt the best. In each buffet there is fresh cooking stations for breakfast lunch and dinner. The al a cartes are the only reason why I'm not giving 5 stars. Bars... we preferred the lobby bars upstairs. Better service and drinks better. There is a 24 hour sports bar which serves drinks and snacks like nachos, ham and cheese toastie etc you can also take out. The nightclub is ok loud music with ok tunes but atmosphere is a bit of let down (not the hotels fault) people just stand round rather than having a dance. Staff... yes some staff are miserable but not rude. You get that in any hotel. I want to give the biggest shout out to GRIZELLE (pool waiter) she took her time to get to no us and had many conversations always keeping are drinks topped up (we had many hangovers from her haha;). Such a lovely woman. Also would like to mention Rene and Diego from the bars super efficient. Entertainment team all seem nice and never in your face to join in the activities. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel take no notice to the negative reviews and I would definitely return. Viva la Mezico Sam and Michael x

    Awesome Staff!!

    Reviewed by Cristina M() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Staff is great - very friendly. Grounds are constantly clean and they are constantly cleaning. There was a lot to do for ever age. Food was delicious and a good variety. We had the walk out to the pool - wow so cool.

    Girls trip

    Reviewed by sN4942TC() on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great resort. Rooms were big. So many pools, always something to do, a lot of restaurants and nice staff. Pool/beach/events staff was great, especially Erick!! Shows at night were great. We would definitely go back.

    Girls Trip

    Reviewed by Curious402029() on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    5 friends, 5 nights: what a great time. Yes, there was seaweed, but didn't keep us out of the ocean. Resort was beautiful, well kept, spacious rooms, and wonderful staff. Service was great starting with Andre at check in to Lupita at the pool keeping our drinks filled and an endless smile. No issues at any point, no complaints.

    Here at present

    Reviewed by Bevste(Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom) on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Been here 3 days, I will update further into holiday but up to now no issues, room great and we in basic junior suite, food good only done 1 al a Carte up to now (Italian) to be honest food just as good in buffet. We did do the meal offer for the chill out area and well worth it it’s amazing in that private part of the beach about £70 spent on a meal for two and get access to it every day. Pools look great good entertainment at the but we love the beach, yes there’s seaweed but just swim past it, not great for snorkelling but after being to Cuba don’t think anywhere would be as good as there for the sealife. Entertainment on an evening prob the best I’ve had when on all inclusive. As I say def worth coming if any negatives I will update. Also staff amazing nothing is too much trouble.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX