Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful beach, great room, wonderful housekeeping and waitstaff but nightmare with customer service regarding an offered upgrade.

    Reviewed by KM on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Our room was clean, cool, and well maintained. The outdoor shower was wonderful, and the room quiet! The food on the night of our arrival was amazing but we were a bit disappointed to find that the food was not like this every night. The food was okay at the buffets for the rest of our stay but repetitive and the same at all the restaurants. The a la carte restaurants are the real stars! The food was great and we found the waitstaff to be wonderful! We also used room service, which was included. It was fast and tasted good. The beach was clean, with fine, white sand, and the water was clear. The exclusives at the hotel for members of the TravelClub and the TRS resort are not clearly marked. There were areas on the opposite end of the resort from the TRS that were exclusive only for them but had no signs. There are also exclusive shuttles that would completely ignore you and drive off empty. Shuttles for non-club members were few and far between. We were also offered an upgrade by a letter left at our door. When we went to reception before noon the next day like the letter said, we were told it was first come, first serve and that we were out of luck. When we tried to plead our case, we were offered a cheap, free beach bag and a tour of the areas that we would not be allowed to use without the upgrade. No where did it say that it is first come, first serve or we would have gone to reception when we received the letter. The customer service was appalling considering that they offered us an upgrade and did not carry through, then did nothing to compensate. The attitude of the people we spoke to at reception and with the Travel Club was very dismissive and we felt that our concerns and frustrations were brushed off. As a 5 star resort, they should have customer service to reflect that rating. Had our experience with customer service been more positive, we would have no problems returning to the resort in the future

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    not the best

    Reviewed by michels on Apr 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is our 3rd all inclusive resort. I would not give it 5 stars. We were a group of ten and every morning at 0800 went to line up to make reservations for restaurant dinners. We were always told that it was fully booked or you could have dinner at 1030 pm! We asked multiple times and received no answers as to why there was always empty tables in all of these places when we walked in to try and get in. We also were told to use the APP but it worked very seldom. Then we were told to leave a message on line for reservations which ended up with 2 different times chatting with 2 different people. The WIFI only works in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms so it was hard to find our group and make plans about excursions etc. Everytime we had a question about anything the staff all had different answers. We were told the shuttle between hotels was closed as it was late night so we walked only to find out the next day that is always running and we had been given the wrong info again! It kind of started to be a joke for us! The buffets were all pretty much the same and the food was always lukewarm. We did get to 4 of the restaurants and 3 were good. The bartenders , waiters, dining staff, and housekeeping were all very good and worked hard. I feel that the resort is so big that you dont get that 5 star feeling because there are so many guests. The beach and pools are beautiful but the open smoking everywhere was an annoyance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6836 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful vacation!

    Reviewed by Travel63570987606(Florence, Kentucky) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Once we arrived at the resort our room was ready and clean! We were very pleased with the ease and quickness of the check in! The food was good and the staff was very friendly! The photos were a nice touch! We will definitely be recommending it to friends and family!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Decent hotel, great friendly staff, good food & drinks, but !?!?!

    Reviewed by Tu_ezguy(Kelowna, Canada) on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I took a group of 8 family members to this resort, my first time at this resort and 4th to Riviera Maya area. My rating ranges between 2 and 4.5 so pls read on. We enjoyed resort quite a lot but there is a couple of buts! The beach was really nice, lots of sun/shade and recliners but unfortunately the sargassum seaweed was really bad the week we were there due to high winds from the east. This is an issue all along the Maya coast and this resort had beach cleaning machinery out daily removing truck loads of the stuff. We went in the ocean only one day. The pools were very good, we especially liked the El Rinconsito. Edmundo the bar tender was great fun & entertaining. The food was very good, a la carte restaurants were quite accessible even with a large group. Only 2 required reservations. Waiter Omar at the steakhouse was great as was Kimberly the ever smiling crepe lady. I found it unusual that the big party nights were Sunday, Monday & Tuesday while Thursday, Friday & Saturday were pretty quiet with just the sports bar having any action. Drinks were pretty good here with plenty of variety. The theatre shows were ok, not really my thing. Now the big BUT - 2 young adults in our group who shared a room got hand, foot & mouth disease. To be fair the infection could have started off resort (like at a cenote with a rented mask). If the cause was off site I'd stick with a solid 4/5 for this resort! If however the disease was contracted at the resort I'd drop the rating to a 2/5 as its a nasty malady to bring back hime. They both need to stay off work for another week w/o pay. Its impossible to know the cause. If asked I'd still recommend the Kanetah, White Sands or Colonial. Don't forget your bubba mugs!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Just ok

    Reviewed by Denise F(Arvada, Colorado) on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Although we did have a relaxing vacation there were several issues with this hotel - We stayed in a romance villa room which was very nice - BUT - the blow dryer broke (was replaced in 20 minutes) the roof started leaking at 2 a.m. we called at 7 a.m. to report (3 times) and took 3 hours for them to come fix - the frig still had opened used bottled water in there - the coffee cups and juice were never replaced even after complaining and one day never even got our room cleaned - POOL - if you are under 5'5" good luck - the entire pool is 5'3" so being 5'2" I could not use - the smaller pool (El Rinconcito) was 4'9" so I could barely get into that one but this pool was very nice and the bar tenders were absolutely fantastic - FOOD - they did offer a ton of food in the buffet which was good not much for gluten free but still enough to eat - the restaurants are a joke - only 1 in Kentenah (Japanese) there are 2 at the colonial and rest are at sands - could never get a shuttle ever - we had to walk everywhere so we just went to buffet everyday and that was still a really long walk - The service in buffet was just ok - we actually had to go get pitcher to fill our water glasses - BEACH - horrible - seaweed is terrible but they never cleaned up once - So my recommendation is to skip this hotel and go to Iberostar - that hotel chain is by far superior to Grand Palladium

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Relax794548() on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have 3 adult children and booked 2 adjoining rooms at this property. The hotel was well maintained and the rooms were comfortable. Pool and beach area always had seats available. We did not have to get seats at 6am which is always a bonus. There was a wide variety of entertainment all day and evening this gave the family plenty of opportunity to enjoy the varied activities. The entertainment team was enthusiastic but not too pushy. The photographers were a bonus and were able to provide nice family vacation pics. (ALTHOUGH ESPENSIVE) The food was ok and the access to the a la carte restaurants was nice. The only issue was the the a la carte restaurants seemed to be closed on some evenings without warning and caused last minute change in plans and very busy buffets as a result .

    Great girls trip resort

    Reviewed by Brittany B() on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hotel was amazing. The staff was all super friendly and accommodating. Only complaint which is nothing they can help us the seaweed was so bad the last two days we were there you couldn’t get into the water. We will definitely be going back and taking the kids next time

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX