Be Live Adults Only Los Cactus

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Great place, great friends

    Reviewed by Denise on Oct 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Been going to Cuba at the same resort for the past ten years. It's my home away from home. Staff is wonderful, always eager to help you whenever they can. Good services everywhere in that resort. Cleaning ladies do a great job, gardeners go out of their way to keep the grounds looking super. Cooks, waiters, waitresses always big smiles. At the reception, they go out of their way to please you. The beach is awesome and the water is like the best. Beautiful place to relax. I am returning this month and I can't wait.

    B

    I loved my stay. I have stayed 3 times and will go back again. The staff are SUPER friendly and very accomodating.

    Reviewed by Barry on Sep 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    The location is great. The beach is close from the rooms. The staff are AWESOME !!!!!!!!! The resort def needs some upgrades but the friendly staff helps to balance it out.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    We loved this place, going back again!!

    Reviewed by Freeman on Aug 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The beach was really close and it was quite and relaxing. Planning our next trip there this year...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Worth the money for me, a senior

    Reviewed by PoppaReg on Feb 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    I have been twice, and am presently making plans for a third trip there this June.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3100 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Bloody awful

    Reviewed by MrsL82(Sussex in UK) on Aug 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I’m not sure we were staying in the same hotel as others! And a formal complaint has been raised with Virgin Holidays. Described on the Virgin Holidays website as being set in Tropical Gardens with tennis, 4 restaurants and themed Caribbean nights.  Multiple Jacuzzis etc. Trip Advisor rates it as 4/5, Virgin rates it as 3/5 – It was far from either in our opinion.   The buffet food was re-heated at every sitting, was inedible, covered with flies, birds pecking at food and defecating on it. Food in the specialist restaurants was obviously a rehash of what wasn’t eaten from the buffet and was over salted and inedible-I’m not sure what the options would be for a vegetarian. My daughter and I spent 10 days eating bread and fruit and we resorted to going to the local town to eat. 3 days before the end of the holiday my daughter got ill vomiting and diarrhoea, we can only put this down to the limited food she ate and the lack of quality.   The room was ok but certainly in need of an overhaul. When it rained the floors flooded and there was obviously some historic damp and a lot of black mould that had been covered over.   Staff were generally pleasant, but not many English speakers. We were constantly asked for tips for the first couple of days. One buffet staff member pulled me aside on day 2 to inform me that he liked his ‘tips’ in Canadian Dollars! Guess what, he got no tips from us.   The entertainment was non-existent unless you like bingo    The pool needs relining, the pavements were hazardous in places, and I certainly didn’t see 3 working Jacuzzis, many were empty and filthy.   The hotel is not set up for European guests and for most of our stay it felt like we were the only English family there, unless like us they chose to spend most of their time out of the hotel.   After 2 days of being at Los Cactus we complained to our rep, when he relayed our concerns to the guest liaison manager she shrugged her shoulders and walked off!   I can definitely say that we did not feel valued customers and the hotel and rep couldn’t care less whether we liked the hotel or not.   We would suggest that this hotel should not be advertised to the UK market and advertised as a 3/4 star as it certainly is not, it is no better than a 2 star and that is being generous. I wonder when Virgin last sent some staff on a mystery shopper exercise to this hotel. Apparently our complaint to virgin will take 6 months to resolve, what a joke!  

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Perfect hotel but...

    Reviewed by Unstoppable1993(Yutz, France) on Jul 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel in its environment was perfect with an incredible vegetation. VERY VERY VERY CALM ! But we were disappointed with the restaurant and bars. The food was always the same. The personnel are always in a bad mood without smiling (except for 2 or 3). Other than that all went well, the rest of the staff were very nice. The beach was INCREDIBLE but there is a lot of waste (cigarettes, bottles...). The animations were not very good but it's not the most important for us so... Although we are very disappointed with the restaurants and the quality of the bars and drinks, we recommend this hotel for its great location and decor. Vegetation cheers you up

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    2nd time at this resort and already planning my 3rd trip

    Reviewed by Malcolm W(Ottawa, Canada) on Jul 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I had a great quiet restful vacation here 3 years ago and knowing I needed a break right now I booked another vacation at Los Cactus. My comments will focus only on the things I think people are most interested in rather than describing the entire hotel property and services. I upgraded to a garden suite and requested the same room or block of suites as I had last time. I learned upon arrival that those suites had just undergone a renovation and I would have to pay a small fee to stay in one of those suites. I decided to spend my first night in what they were giving me for the price I booked and was happy enough to spend the week right where I was. I got a warm welcome at reception, they were efficient and I was immediately taken to my room within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel. Suites As you enter there is a good size foyer with a bench to sit on to put on or take off your shoes with storage for your shoes underneath. A large mirror and shelf under is on a nearby wall. The suites are very spacious with a 2nd bedroom/sitting room with another full closet and a small refrigerator with coffee set up. There was a patio door with Romeo/Juliet balcony looking out from this room. The pull out sofa was set up as a full bed. The bathroom was fully equipped (toiletries) and spacious. Its a bathtub/shower combination and there was always hot water. The main bedroom has a large closet with safe inside. My room had 2 double beds in the sleeping area and a double french door leading to a very large balcony. The TV was in the living room part of the suite visible from the beds, there was another sofa that could be made into a cot and a writing desk with chair. Another double patio door led out to the same large patio. The large patio had a small table and 2 brand new choirs to sit out an sun on or hang your wet bathing sits, shirts and towels to dry. Food This is Cuba, just remember that when traveling there. I found last time and this time that for Cuba I truly enjoy the taste of the food served at Los Cactus. Its not Cordon Bleu cooking but if you take your time and try everything you will discover some interesting dishes. Even though they have several specialty restaurants where you can book your dinner and have your meal served a la carte I stuck with the buffet for all my meals except for lunch on their Cuban Day made available by the pool bar. Choice was good, foods tasty and plentiful. It was great seeing some familiar faces with the staff and everyone including the gardeners were friendly and always saying "hola" if not more. Their friendliness is truly sincere. While the property was in great shape last time I was there, they continue to do improvements adding a number of cold water Jacuzzis, trellises and other small buildings. This was one of the few times I have traveled back to a place I stayed before and I am already thinking about going back for a 3rd trip to this resort before the end of the year.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Birthday 3 night getaway

    Reviewed by stephaniesB4674IQ(Barrie, Canada) on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort was not at all what we were expecting but it was very nice. When we thought adults only we thought it would be a more ‘party’ atmosphere but it was very quiet and low key. The staff were great at accommodating us at the a la carte restaurants as we were only there for such a short period of time including arranging a private dinner for us. The night of my birthday they unfortunately bumped our dinner reservation and sent wine to the room as an apology (we are at an all inclusive where alcohol is included) so the gesture was nice but we were still very disappointed we weren’t able to try the Cuban restaurant Mojitos. The Italian restaurant was also great food and as it was our first time in Cuba we were surprised with how the food is given such a bad reputation. Drink selection was decent with amazing mojitos served in the lobby bar! The beach was gorgeous and well maintained but the room always felt damp and sandy. I don’t think they change the sheets at all unless requested. Toilet paper was always provided but we have heard from other tourists that sometimes that’s an issue with Cuban resorts. One occasion there was none in the lobby bathroom. We probably wouldn’t visit here again as we found it a little pricey for such a short stay but it was a good overall experience and would rate it 3.5/5.

    Great hotel

    Reviewed by Warren K() on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit to Los Cactus and we stayed for 2 weeks. Granted is is an older resort that needs some work but it's charms far outweigh any issues. There were some room issues but were handled very quickly and the upgrade cost was well worth it. We did have some plumbing and food alergy issues as well and both were addressed quickly and promptly by the staff. Speaking of the staff they are awesome and Tania at the front desk is a rock star. Already have next years trip booked and looking forward to many more visits to Los Cactus in the future.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX