St. James's Club & Villas Antigua

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Would stay elsewhere next time

    Reviewed by Sarah on Feb 15, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed the island but would stay elsewhere next time. Our flights to and from Antigua had very friendly crews. We left late from Antigua but they were able to make up the time in the air. Pick-ups to and from the airport were on time. I would highly recommend bringing Gravol with you to Antigua as the roads are quite windy and the drivers are very aggressive. Our problems first arose at check-in. We were expecting the King bed we booked. We walked into our room to find two double beds. Upon questioning this, the staff feigned ignorance and stated WestJet never communicated the information. We were told we would be placed on a wait list to get a King bed as they had run out. The following day we were asked to email them a copy of our itinerary from WestJet that stated our room arrangements. We did that but we still never got transferred to a room with a King bed. Rather disappointing. The room itself was also not up to the standard you would expect in Canada. It required some maintenance. The food at the resort was good which was a nice find as some reviews stated the opposite. It does take some effort to discover which restaurants are best for which meal. The staff at Coco's are by far the most pleasant and friendly. The water sports available at the resort were great. The staff were fantastic and always willing to teach you how to use the equipment. The two beaches were also well kept and gave you two nice options: one always having a cool breeze and the other having a great swimming area. We took two catamaran day trips: one to Barbuda and one around Antigua. They were great. Our other disappointment was that on the last full day at the resort my suitcase was went through. A pair of pants were taken but all our valuables were in the safe. The disappointing part was that security did not seem to care and brushed me off. After that incident, we would never stay at an Elite resort again. Antigua was nice but we would stay elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Very friendly staff

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff here are wonderful, they make the place warm and inviting and run smoothly. The main pool is close to everything and has a bar. The room was a nice size with a large bathroom. There is a number of activities to do at the beach. I would go back to this hotel again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    I enjoyed this property and would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Enjoyed my stay. Property located on a well maintained 110 acre site. Rooms are bright and clean. Staff members are great and very helpfull. No bracelets to identify guests, use room numbers. Lots of activities to choose from. Many options for dining. Really enjoyed the Italian restaurant even though there is a surcharge that applies. Pool areas are great. Unfortunately the beach is a little disappointing I would recommend this property for families with young children and or teens as they do have a children and teens club. Couples would enjoy this property as well.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff!

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the St James club. The staff is always willing to assist when needed, The rooms are quite spacious. The views from the rooms is great. They had live music playing in the evening on some of the nights. Right from check in to check out they make sure your stay is welcoming and enjoyable. Would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved our stay!

    Reviewed by KR on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The St Jame's Club is a wonderful gem surrounded by the Atlanitic Ocean on one side and the Caribbean Sea on the other.The staff are very genuine and engaging. Good dining options particularly the Piccolo speciality restaurant. There is a $35UD supplement but well worth the experience. The food and service were excellent! The property is farily large, requiring lots of walking. unless your room was close to the main lobby. The Caribbean beach was much nicer with calmer water than the windy Atlantic beach. This is a solid 4* resort. It would be an excellent option for couples, familiies and friends. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Lovely Resort on Antigua!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is a lovely resort on the island of Antigua. The rooms are spacious with large balconies. Loved that they had 2 sinks in the bathroom! The pool was very large with lots of seating. It was close to the restaurant so you didn't have to walk very far. The beaches were very nice and the Italian restaurant was amazing! I would highly recommend it. The downfall to this area is there are lots of stairs or hills to walk up. It does not have an elevator but if you wanted to stay around the pool and restaurant area, it is easily accessible. It was a clean hotel and the staff were friendly. I would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Fantastic Hotel

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Everything was fantastic at this hotel!! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality. This goes from our driver John Henry who we absolutely loved to all the hotel staff we met. The pools were good and the beach was great too, they did have a lot of seaweed on one of the beaches but the workers who removed the seaweed worked relentlessly from early in the morning until mid afternoon. We were impressed with their hard work We were fortunate enough to go to Shirley Heights where we listened to live incredible Caribbean music and danced!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great value for the money

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Overall a great experience at this property. Staff was amazing, food was good.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Quiet and relaxing

    Reviewed by Small group trip on Jun 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    No wrist bands! Nice property, comfortable beds, large rooms. A rather quiet property. Great for a restful and relaxing holiday. I don't consider it to be luxurious but it is simple and clean. Staff were very friendly for the most part. The sand on their 2 beaches is nice but the water wasn't very clear. Lots of seaweed on Coco Beach which was cleaned when necessary. They told us this is seasonal and does not occur all the time. They had a great selection of non motorized water sports and I enjoyed kayaking in the Mamora bay side where the water is nice and calm. The main pool is nice but not huge and just a simple rectangle. No swim up bar. We went to the Managers cocktail party which is a great place to meet people. Seems like a lot of people spend time away from the resort exploring the island and doing excursions during the day. The food and drinks are good and the service in the restaurants and bars was always great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    c

    love the stay there no complains

    Reviewed by chickoo on Jun 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    beautiful property good servce great staff good internet coonection just the beach have seaweed but overall complete satisfaction its quaint and definaltely worth to go again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3793 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice holiday and a much appreciated break

    Reviewed by taffy_on_the_road(berkshire, england) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We wanted some winter sun and an activity holiday and this place ticked the boxes. Took advantage of the hobie cats and really nice sailing in Mamora Bay, also kayaking, tennis and fishing. The staff were really good, friendly and helpful and made it a really fun stay. Our room was nice and quiet with a peaceful outlook and privacy and we really enjoyed ourselves. The fishing off the boat jetty was amazing and I caught loads of fish! The only disappointment to our time there was the dining experience where the restaurants were more like large, noisy cafeterias and very busy. Some required prior booking and working out when and where to eat was important. Also the quality and selection of the food was disappointing compared to other similar places we've stayed at in the Caribbean. Took a trip to English harbour and Shirley Heights and unless you want to join the masses at the latter then avoid the Sunday party.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Vacation

    Reviewed by jackiek945(Huntington Beach, California) on Feb 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All inclusive resort. Breath taking views. 30 mins. from the airport. Great restaurants, bars, and a coffee/pastry shop. They have daily activities planned if you choose to participate. Little market/gift shop on the premise. Outside coordinator if you want to go off grounds for activities: Helicopter, Boat tours, Island hopper tours etc. However, they charge for internet in your room, but free in the public areas. The management is always walking up to their staff and asking how they are doing, very rare that you see that at other resorts. It is definitely a vacation you will remember.

    First time in Antigua

    Reviewed by Isabel C() on Feb 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I spent a week at St. James Club February 3-10th. We have looked at this resort many times, but always thought it was expensive for a 4 star. We finally bit the bullet and decided to knock Antigua off the bucket list and booked the week of my 50th birthday. Although I still think its over priced as you can get many other 5 star resorts in the Caribbean for much less, this resort and its staff were absolutely amazing. My husband had emailed them ahead of time to let them know that it was our wedding anniversary and my 50th birthday that week so that we could make reservations to Picolo ahead of time, and they were so accommodating. On the nights of our anniversary and of my birthday, we arrived to our room to find a bottle of champagne on ice, as well as anniversary and birthday cards. it was such an amazing token. We later found out it was arranged by the wonderful Royal Suites Representative Keressa. She was absolutely amazing to us during the whole trip. She followed up on our reservations, checked up to see how our excursion went and was genuinely a great person. The food was fantastic. Always a different assortment at the buffet and the A La Cartes were fantastic. Coco's is a must. The food was fantastic. Samantha and Matarah were so amazing and went above and beyond on our anniversary. We were given a great seat, flowers on our table, and a wonderful dessert. Could not have asked for a better meal and better settings. Same as the meal at Picolo's. Great assortment and worth the $75.00 we had to pay extra. Meals at the Rainbow Garden were always good. We had breakfast there most days, as well as lunch. Merion was always there to get us our Mimosas and special lunch drinks. Beaches were great, although smaller than we like, there was always an abundance of loungers and Papalas. No need to ever have to get up early to save a spot. Grounds were beautifully kept and always very clean. The property is great for strolling. especially if you go to the section where the villas are. The cobblestone roads and positioning of the villas remind me of a mini Greek Island. If you like to hike, I suggest to walk up the mountain and stroll through the residential area. Views are breath taking. Excursions: Pink Panther Safari tours. A must if you want to experience the culture, see the historical sights and get out for a day. Ask for Joy. She was amazing!!!! My only disappointments were.. 1) Prices are a bit high compared to other resorts. I feel that if they were more competitive with their pricing, they would get a lot more Canadians visiting. Most guest s that we met were from the UK and other European countries. 2) Very quiet on the beach. Beware if you bring a blue tooth speaker as we did. The retiree's will complain that you are interfering with their nap time. Even though we had easy rock at the lowest volume, we still got asked to turn it down or off. 3) No swim up bars in the pools and no beach bars on the ocean side. Although Alfred does come around on his fully stocked golf cart and offer you drinks. By day two he already knew everyone's drinks and names. He over-compensated and made us forget the things that we didn't like about the beach (size, quietness and lack of bars) Overall, regardless of the few cons, I would still highly recommend this resort. It ended up being one of our favorite islands and we had an amazing time.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Hotel and Location

    Reviewed by Teofilio(Guernsey, United Kingdom) on Feb 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed for eight nights. The location was excellent for nearby attractions of Nelson's Dockyard, Falmouth Harbour and Shirley Heights. The accommodation was spacious, clean and generally good. The resort beaches were great and in particular the water sports on the calmer lagoon beach were excellent. The food was decent and staff were all exceptionally helpful. My only question mark would be that in an all inclusive resort, why do some restaurants have to be booked? This creates hassle when you want to go out for the day and return to find all restaurants, except the buffet, are fully booked.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing Place

    Reviewed by MarieEClaire(Effingham, United Kingdom) on Feb 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved everything about St James. It was ideal for families. The grandchildren loved the tennis, the water sports and the smoothies and milkshakes at the pool bar. Their favourite restaurant was Dockside which had plenty of choice for vegetarians. We enjoyed Breakfast in both the Rainbow Room and CoCo’s. The position of our room in Mango block was ideal centrally placed for both beaches. We had a ground floor room that went straight out onto the Atlantic Beach which was ideal for the children who want to be free. The coffee shop was a great place to go early in the morning especially on the days jet lag caused us to be up and about very early. We also enjoyed going there for afternoon tea at 4! Thee staff were always helpful and polite. We had no problem with the lack of free bottled water as St James filter their own water and it tasted fine. We would definitely recommend to others especially families.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX