St. James's Club & Villas Antigua

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Would stay elsewhere next time

    Reviewed by Sarah on Feb 15, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed the island but would stay elsewhere next time. Our flights to and from Antigua had very friendly crews. We left late from Antigua but they were able to make up the time in the air. Pick-ups to and from the airport were on time. I would highly recommend bringing Gravol with you to Antigua as the roads are quite windy and the drivers are very aggressive. Our problems first arose at check-in. We were expecting the King bed we booked. We walked into our room to find two double beds. Upon questioning this, the staff feigned ignorance and stated WestJet never communicated the information. We were told we would be placed on a wait list to get a King bed as they had run out. The following day we were asked to email them a copy of our itinerary from WestJet that stated our room arrangements. We did that but we still never got transferred to a room with a King bed. Rather disappointing. The room itself was also not up to the standard you would expect in Canada. It required some maintenance. The food at the resort was good which was a nice find as some reviews stated the opposite. It does take some effort to discover which restaurants are best for which meal. The staff at Coco's are by far the most pleasant and friendly. The water sports available at the resort were great. The staff were fantastic and always willing to teach you how to use the equipment. The two beaches were also well kept and gave you two nice options: one always having a cool breeze and the other having a great swimming area. We took two catamaran day trips: one to Barbuda and one around Antigua. They were great. Our other disappointment was that on the last full day at the resort my suitcase was went through. A pair of pants were taken but all our valuables were in the safe. The disappointing part was that security did not seem to care and brushed me off. After that incident, we would never stay at an Elite resort again. Antigua was nice but we would stay elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Very friendly staff

    Reviewed by Romanie on Jun 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff here are wonderful, they make the place warm and inviting and run smoothly. The main pool is close to everything and has a bar. The room was a nice size with a large bathroom. There is a number of activities to do at the beach. I would go back to this hotel again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    I enjoyed this property and would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Barb on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Enjoyed my stay. Property located on a well maintained 110 acre site. Rooms are bright and clean. Staff members are great and very helpfull. No bracelets to identify guests, use room numbers. Lots of activities to choose from. Many options for dining. Really enjoyed the Italian restaurant even though there is a surcharge that applies. Pool areas are great. Unfortunately the beach is a little disappointing I would recommend this property for families with young children and or teens as they do have a children and teens club. Couples would enjoy this property as well.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Amazing Staff!

    Reviewed by DH on Jun 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the St James club. The staff is always willing to assist when needed, The rooms are quite spacious. The views from the rooms is great. They had live music playing in the evening on some of the nights. Right from check in to check out they make sure your stay is welcoming and enjoyable. Would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved our stay!

    Reviewed by KR on Jun 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The St Jame's Club is a wonderful gem surrounded by the Atlanitic Ocean on one side and the Caribbean Sea on the other.The staff are very genuine and engaging. Good dining options particularly the Piccolo speciality restaurant. There is a $35UD supplement but well worth the experience. The food and service were excellent! The property is farily large, requiring lots of walking. unless your room was close to the main lobby. The Caribbean beach was much nicer with calmer water than the windy Atlantic beach. This is a solid 4* resort. It would be an excellent option for couples, familiies and friends. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Lovely Resort on Antigua!

    Reviewed by Kim on Jun 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is a lovely resort on the island of Antigua. The rooms are spacious with large balconies. Loved that they had 2 sinks in the bathroom! The pool was very large with lots of seating. It was close to the restaurant so you didn't have to walk very far. The beaches were very nice and the Italian restaurant was amazing! I would highly recommend it. The downfall to this area is there are lots of stairs or hills to walk up. It does not have an elevator but if you wanted to stay around the pool and restaurant area, it is easily accessible. It was a clean hotel and the staff were friendly. I would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Fantastic Hotel

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Everything was fantastic at this hotel!! We traveled as a large group and had a blast. The entire staff were awesome, friendly and always helpful. The food was great, location was great, the rooms were large and cleaned every day with a number of staff around to help. The people here are second to none when it comes to being friendly!! There is a true kindness in their personality. This goes from our driver John Henry who we absolutely loved to all the hotel staff we met. The pools were good and the beach was great too, they did have a lot of seaweed on one of the beaches but the workers who removed the seaweed worked relentlessly from early in the morning until mid afternoon. We were impressed with their hard work We were fortunate enough to go to Shirley Heights where we listened to live incredible Caribbean music and danced!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great value for the money

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Overall a great experience at this property. Staff was amazing, food was good.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Quiet and relaxing

    Reviewed by Small group trip on Jun 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    No wrist bands! Nice property, comfortable beds, large rooms. A rather quiet property. Great for a restful and relaxing holiday. I don't consider it to be luxurious but it is simple and clean. Staff were very friendly for the most part. The sand on their 2 beaches is nice but the water wasn't very clear. Lots of seaweed on Coco Beach which was cleaned when necessary. They told us this is seasonal and does not occur all the time. They had a great selection of non motorized water sports and I enjoyed kayaking in the Mamora bay side where the water is nice and calm. The main pool is nice but not huge and just a simple rectangle. No swim up bar. We went to the Managers cocktail party which is a great place to meet people. Seems like a lot of people spend time away from the resort exploring the island and doing excursions during the day. The food and drinks are good and the service in the restaurants and bars was always great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    c

    love the stay there no complains

    Reviewed by chickoo on Jun 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    beautiful property good servce great staff good internet coonection just the beach have seaweed but overall complete satisfaction its quaint and definaltely worth to go again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3919 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing stay

    Reviewed by georgiapreece(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We returned last week from an amazing two weeks at St James's Club. This was our 4th visit, but definitely not our last. We stayed in beachfront villa 472 on the mamora bay side of the complex, which is in an amazing location, being the closest villa to the table tennis area, tennis courts, volleyball area and the water sports desk. All of the staff across the resort were wonderful and welcoming, especially the lovely Kenton from water sports who was absolutely wonderful (and patient), taking us out almost every day and teaching us to sail the Hobie Cats, always with a big smile on his face! We have had an absolutely amazing time, and can't wait to come back!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Time at St James Club Antigua

    Reviewed by Kevin O(Reading, Pennsylvania) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Dates: Aug 8 – 15 Overview: My wife and 3 grown children in their 20’s. Had a very good time during our stay. We stayed in the 300 building. Close to the dining areas. The resort was fairly quiet since it was off season.

    Awful Experience So Far

    Reviewed by Sightseer662097(Sheffield, United Kingdom) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We’ve been at St James Club in Antigua for a little over a week now and are due to leave in 6 days - it can’t come soon enough!! We’ve stayed at St James in St Lucia on 4 separate occasions over the past 2 years and have always booked suites at high costs . We fancied a change this time so booked Antigua expecting a good quality hotel and good service like we received in St Lucia. The rooms are very very dated - paint chips everywhere, dirty marked walls, damaged and unsafe tiles that are chipped, broken TV remote, no way of using DVD player as Samsung remote no where to be seen (some pics attached). The taps in the 2nd bedroom of the suite are loose and feel like they’re about to snap off every time you use them. Door handles coming off on the 2nd bedroom and bathroom door. Blinds won’t open / close as they should etc - imagine a room that was decorated 20 years ago, used daily and never repaired and you get the idea. Housekeeping is very hit and miss - sometimes turning up at 4pm and other times just not turning up at all. On one day the cleaners must have spilt a bucket of water as the stairs were absolutely soaked - unfortunately for us, this resulted in my little girl falling down the stairs and badly hurting her hand and wrist. Thankfully, ibuprofen seems to have taken the swelling down and therefore avoided a trip to the local hospital. The 11-11 restaurant food is good (rib eye steak was excellent). BBQ at the beach for lunch is ok but a few times had to ask for food cooking for longer (burgers sometimes served very pink and a bit “mushy” inside). Breakfast is buffet style and in general of an ok standard - only really let down on first day was providing yoghurts that was out of date. Surely someone should check dates??? Bars - They seem to run out of ingredients very frequently but not consistently. Eg order a banana cocktail at one bar and your told they have no banana, ask someone else and they magically have banana. Very confusing?? Pools - Really good pools and excellent water aerobics teachers. Really nice guys and massively stand out from the crowd. Beach party was cancelled due to weather so can’t comment on this (can’t blame them for the weather!) Kids club - As we have 2 young children, kids clubs are important to our holidays and we was expecting good things like the one in St Lucia - this is definitely not the case! My 6 year old complained to me as soon as she came out of the kids club - one member of staff was texting on her mobile all the time and the other was watching movies on her laptop with earphones in. Both kids tried it again hoping it was a one off. This time only 1 staff member who again was on her mobile phone. My younger child literally begged not to go back saying the staff wouldn’t play with her and they just said to play on her own. This has been reported to reception twice and still yet to speak to a manager let alone get a response from the hotel on this. There are 2 beaches at the hotel - one over looking the bay and the other overlooking the Atlantic. The bay beach is beautiful and truly looks like something out of a post card with the seaweed only becoming a problem half a meter into the sea. The other is relatively small but suffers very very badly with Seaweed on the beach. We visited the pool near the 11-11 restaurant for the day and literally all we heard was a tractor driving up and down the beach all day in an attempt to move the seaweed to a different part of the hotel. Service / General thoughts: It is apparent that the hotel is quiet at the moment and that shows in the overall atmosphere and it feels quite dull. What I can’t work out for the life of me is why the staff are all miserable and the service is so bad. It’s clear that they aren’t busy so surely this should allow them to put extra focus on the customer service side of things. The staff simply never smile or actually look like they want to be there. Some simply are rude. The only exception to this would be Cleo in the buffet restaurant who is doing a great job! From now on and for the rest of our stay, we intend on only sleeping at the hotel and eating out the rest of the time - not ideal after spending thousands on the holiday! We ventured out yesterday to Shirley Heights which is a small carnival type event with live music, steel band, bbq food and drink - really good evening out. Today we visited Boom restaurant at English Harbour - a great day out and they really know how to show good service (and have bananas!). I really think the management team need to send staff to locations such as this to gain an understanding on how to operate good customer service. As you can probably tell - I wouldn’t recommend the hotel and won’t be returning.

    Disappointed

    Reviewed by Maria M() on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I Have been back home now for approx 3 weeks following a family holiday and still no reply from the hotel despite me leaving a negative questionnaire for the attention of Manager, Matt King. Families who are prepared to spend their hard earned cash at this resort need to be made aware of what they are paying for. The accommodation is VERY tired and in need of refurbishment. Previous reviews have commented on the cleanliness. I have to agree - the rooms/corridors are dirty. Housekeeping staff are complacent and lazy. I dropped an empty bottle of water during the night which rolled under my bed - it stayed there for the duration of our holiday! Service in the Rainbow restaurant for dinner was very poor. One evening we waited over 2 hours to be served - staff have a great knack of treating you as invisible. After speaking to management about our experience - staff started to pay us attention - this should have been our experience during our entire stay! The food is average. Breakfast have a display of yogurt pots next to smoothie station -some yogurts were well past the best before date - this is not acceptable! There is an additional charge for WiFi access in your bedroom. This was not highlighted at all through our tour operator. I have never experienced additional charges before at an all inclusive resort and I can only assume that this is for the commercial gain of the hotel owner - very poor! The latest addition to the hotel - the coffee shop is a lovely spot. However please be aware that this area seems to attract lots of mosquitos. This is something that the management were aware of and at the time of our visit did very little to combat. Antigua is a beautiful island but sadly we were very disappointed in our choice of resort. I expect this post will generate the standard generic response from the hotel which seems to be given to anyone who makes a complaint. I hope that this post helps you, the holiday maker, make a more informed choice.

    The Year of the 50th

    Reviewed by Nicole B(Raleigh, North Carolina) on Aug 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I along with 11 others had amazing time at the Resort! Staff was amazing and very accommodating! Cleopatra (Manager),Rose(Manager),Naomi*Excusion),Nashil(Server), Hyacyinth(Server),Colletta (Front Desk),Alfred(Server),Diana (Guest Server) Sheena (BarTender) and Cynthia(housekeeper) made our STAY AMAZING! THEY All constantly checked on us, very friendly and very accomdating! These staff members ROCK!! FROM the beginning until the LAST DAY! They all had great smiles. They All did their job Amazingly at 5 plus star standard!. We will be back because of these individuals

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX