Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
    6. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    J

    I will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Reviewed by J on Dec 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not come here. My number one reason for picking this place was for the heated pool that is advertised. Sadly there is no heated pool and it is too cold to swim without it. There are very few people in the pools and each time someone goes in they make that face of shock from how cold the water is. The service is no where as good as I've recieved in the past in Mexico. Many of the staff have poor English skills so it's hard to communicate sometimes. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel. Paying for the upgrade to privileged makes you think you get a special Beach and bar as advertised but it's not true. We have been to these areas and there are full of non privileged guests. The staff do not monitor who is using these areas. Why was I charged for this service that everyone else is getting without paying for?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12087 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent value for money

    Reviewed by Passenger57285938467() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great experience overall. Family friendly and the staff was great. Food options at themed restaurants were great, however, buffet was average as one would expect but not a deal breaker by any means. I would return and recommend this resort to anyone visiting Riviera Maya!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great holiday

    Reviewed by GailJ891(Wolverhampton, United Kingdom) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed for two weeks here with my mother. Check in went smoothly and quickly. There are two sides to this hotel, one side is the Catalonia and the other side is the yucutan although it’s all the same hotel with use of all facilities. We stayed Catalonia side. Large room comfy bed nice balcony to relax, fridge stocked daily with water. Pleased with the room it had everything we needed. Cleaned daily to a high standard. The only negative thing was not enough plug sockets. Luckily we packed an extension lead to charge our phones etc. We mostly used the two buffet restaurants and found them very good the staff were amazing and worked so hard. Choice of a la carte also. The pools and grounds were very well kept. There is everything you need at this hotel to keep you occupied with a theatre show at night that was absolutely amazing. There was even a pop corn machine outside that you could help yourself to. We found the pool area a bit rowdy at times so spent plenty of time on the beach. Yes there is a seaweed problem but that’s hardly the hotels fault. I did feel sorry for the staff tasked with cleaning it up as they just didn’t seem to be getting anywhere and they worked so hard. I really think the hotel need to rethink this as surely there is a more efficient way to tackle this than a few men a few wheelbarrows and shovels. Short walk to the marina where there are shops and you can see dolphins manatees and sea lions. As two women travelling alone we felt perfectly safe here. Overall we had a lovely relaxing time and I would definitely recommend coming here. I would definitely return. Well done to all the amazing staff that work so hard and always have a smile for you and make you feel so welcome.

    Amazing hotel

    Reviewed by Jade_holpin() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent two weeks in Mexico and I was so sad to leave because we had such an amazing time! On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed with drinks and someone who took our cases for us while we checked in. We was then shown to our rooms where a member of staff took our cases for us. The room: The room was huge with a big balcony. It had a bath and shower, a coffee machine as well as a mini fridge. The tv has a selection of different channels mainly American or Spanish shows. The maid would always leave us animals made out of towels when she tided our room so we leave looked forward to see what new animal she would make. The room comes with a safe that is very easy to use and I would recommend using this just for safety! The only criticism is there was only 2 plug sockets in the whole room (1 was in the bathroom) so we was lucky we took an extension lead with us. The pool: There are a few pools to choose from because you can wall round to the joining hotel. There are plenty of loungers. I’d say loungers were full around the main pool from 7:30ish. They’re very clean and not that deep so you don’t feel out of your depth. There is also seating round the edges of the pool so you can just sit and chill in the pool. The entertainment: What can I say? This team are the most special and funny team I’ve ever had when I go on holiday. They make you feel so welcome and do so many games from 10am through till 11pm in the evening with very little breaks. They work so hard and are just the sweetest people. They’re enough to make me want to come back and I was so sad to leave saying bye to them. I want to say a huge shoutout to; Vivi, Melissa, Georgina, Rodrigo, Tony and Miguel. You’re all so so special and you girls don’t get enough credit! The food: The food is absolutely beautiful. At 1pm around their pool there is a taco stand that does something different every day. The buffets always have a wide variety of food. The snack bar which is open 10-5 is nice and does nuggets, burgers and chips etc. The a la carte restaurants are really nice! I’d definitely recommend them especially the Mexican and Italian! The bar: The bar by reception is where there’s a little disco after the show till 11 where the entertainers will come and dance with everyone. The only criticism is it’s VERY hot in there and needs more fans or air conditioning. It can be uncomfortable to sit there sometimes in the heat! They have little market stalls every other day in the evenings. If you walk out the hotel, turn left then take the next left you’ll come to the marina where the dolphins are is recommend taking a walk there to see the dolphins! Overall a very very pleasant stay and I’d go back in a heartbeat!

    Great Holiday at the Catalonia Riviera Maya

    Reviewed by Godfreylinton99(Runcorn, United Kingdom) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great Service and facilities. Excellent food and friendly helpful staff. Pool and Theatre entertainment was good. Temperature at 32oC was a little hot for me but there was plenty of shade.Did some excellent trips to Expresso Bongo and Mayan ruins.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Very nice vacation

    Reviewed by cinsmith98(Ohio) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort is very nice and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. However, because of the location (in a cove) the beach is very small and the water and sand are full of seaweed. If you are looking for a beach vacation, this is not the right spot for you. The pools were clean and there were plenty of activities. The food was really good and the buffet, particularly for breakfast and lunch, had lots of options. However, a la carte dining is limited and we were not able to choose a themed restaurant for each evening. We were limited to 2 dinners for our 4 night stay; the other 2 nights had to be eaten at the buffet.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX