Ocean Casa del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    d

    So much potential but horribly serviced

    Reviewed by dctraveller on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The good…Excellent location, very private, secluded from other resorts. Feels like you’re in true Cuba natural landscape. Beautiful white sandy beach where you can walk in many directions for miles. Grounds are well landscaped but not matured yet. Buildings and grounds very well maintained. Pools areas are beautiful. Easy walk everywhere on the resort thru concrete sidewalks. Really friendly and courteous staff. We could get into any and all A la Carte restaurants as long as we were there right at 7pm. The bad…Minimal entertainment. No welcome drinks in the lobby and nobody at the front entrance to welcome you. You have to take your own bags/suitcases and lug them around everywhere. Upon check in we asked for a trolley to bring us to our room and when we arrived at our building, we had to carry our own luggage up to the 3rd floor to our rooms. Not a lot of lights at night and can get tricky to walk from one end of the resort to the other. Beach towel supply was very low and rare. Buffet area/food supply was too low for the amount of people that are at the resort so trays were often empty and VERY long lineups at the 3 grills meat, pasta and fish grills . Very long lineup at all areas. Food in restaurants was of the same quality as the buffet, i.e. not bad but sometimes tough meats Asian meat was horrible , cold food and took HOURS to be served. Privilege restaurant was very good with service and quality of food… we had to tip big time to get in there… we just wanted to see the difference in restaurants…like night and day… that kind of frustrated us when we realized that everything/everyone else was treated 2nd class… not right in my opinion. The ugly…Bath towels in the room were grey and very stained. In the shower in the room,, there was no water nightly between 6-7pm. Shower drain worked minimally so water stayed in the shower for 10 mins and often flooded bathroom floor. Air condition not working.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Wonderful vacation at a beautiful resort!

    Reviewed by Careylw on Aug 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We spent a week, mid August, at this resort and loved it. Everything looks exactly like it does in the pictures. The staff could not have been nicer and nearly everyone speaks excellent English and French. The food was acceptable, remember Cuba is not known for having great food. There wasn't much that we tried that we couldn't eat. It may not all be to one persons taste but finding something good is not at all hard. The portions at the al a cartes are quite small but you can order multiples of anything if you want to. Our room was clean and well attended by the housekeeper. Massages at the pool are inexpensive and very good. The only negative we had was that there is no food served at the beach. You have to go to either the buffet or snack bar to get lunch. It's not that far though. I have a feeling that this will change in time as the resort is still building and there appears to be a space for a snack bar at one of the beach bars. I wanted to mention the staff again. They are worth a second mention. They really bend over backwards for you and always with a smile. The staff really pushed this trip over the top for us. They take the time to learn your name and treat you like an old friend. It felt very genuine.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2318 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Love Oceans!

    Reviewed by Michelle M(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our second stay (March 26-April 2), in this beautiful resort. Our maid, Regla (building 16), made sure our stay was comfortable and clean. Servers Magdiel and Leo (buffet) were amazing! They are so passionate about their jobs, and I appreciate their hustle. You must try their fried rice at the buffet. It was my absolute favourite dish. We did a couple of the à la cartes - Origami and Romantico. Highly recommend. The gardeners, especially Jorge, do an incredible job at keeping the grounds looking spotless. I love taking areal photos, so I appreciate the effort - Great job, boys! Mike's Cafe is a great place to get coffee and other hot/cold drinks. It's opened 24/7 for convenience. Vania and Yunier were 2 of my favourite bartenders at the adult pool. Quick to get you a drink, and always pleasant to talk to. The pools are clean and taken care of, and lit at night for caution. If I were to give any constructive criticism, the adult pool could you some music to liven it up. The beach is incredible, with crystal clear water to relax in. It's so beautiful and serene. Traveler to traveler advice. Please pack bug spray and calamine lotion. The mosquitos were dreadful, the last couple of nights during our stay. Enjoy!

    Ocean Casa del Mar (nightmare del mar)

    Reviewed by Miguel C() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We selected this hotel based on the reviews we saw but we were dissapointed and dissatisfied. Arrived at 11 pm and were checked in to a room that when we opened the door there was people sleeping in it. Can you imagine this shock? How can I trust this place? (Mistake No.1) Back to the lobby, another room given. Not bad but not the greatest either. Small room big washroom hard mattress and a friendly cokaroach was waiting to say hello "welcome to Cuba" right by the door. Went to snack bar, only place open 24 hours, it was an experience no doubt, the furniture was from 1940's and a cabinet that Christopher Columbus brought when he discovered America, too bad we left our phones charging in the room. Good food for someone that's starving and good drinks for someone that's thirsty, other than this it was a horrible place, hard to believe it's a 3 year old hotel. Looked like 80 year old hotel. Next morning we go to breakfast and found the most dirty and disgusting place (see pictures) and there was hardly any good food to eat. Eggs and some ham and cheese that was all left. Coffee was watered down which was sorprising since we always found good coffee in Cuba. So we decided to just go to the Sunwing Rep at the lobby and request to change hotels. We didn't want to spend another minute there. It was enough to just want to leave that place. I have to give Sunwing a good credit as they did their best to help us and transferred us to the Valentin Perla Blanca which is next door and we have been there 4 times already therefore we knew it would be better to go there than to stay here at Ocean Casa de Nightmare!! VPB is a better place and we know people there so for us was a good upgrade however the quality of service remains but the food quality has gone down big time. So this was our last time there. There are a few NEW Resorts at Cayo Santa Maria which we will explore next time. So to all that read this review, better think twice about picking Ocean Casa del Mar.

    Left a bit to be desired..

    Reviewed by quelles840(Mississauga, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I stayed at the Casa Del Mar in Cayo Santa Maria from April 8th to 13th this year. It definitely left a bit to be desired. A little background, I have travelled quite a bit in the last few years around the Caribbean including Cayo Santa Maria staying at Melia Las Dunas about 3 years ago, and at another Ocean property in DR 2 years ago so my expectations were not over the top as I know the differences in what is offered and I really was just going for a quick getaway to relax. Let’s start with the good things: - Beach, of course this is the beauty of Cuba and why we decided to visit here again, it is the most beautiful crystal blue beach I have ever seen, and it remains that way, lots of chairs and shade, no saving of chairs or anything, we spent most of our time here and it was amazing. - the pools are really nice, with one quiet and one more loud . We didn’t spend much time at the pools but they looked nice and well maintained. - the rooms were modern and didn’t have that musty smell that you usually find in the other hotels. There was a very nice rain shower and the water pressure and temperature were perfect. No issues with the room in general, it was cleaned well. We were in building 17, which was a bit far from everything. In general this resort requires a lot of walking so not for someone that has issues with mobility. Now for the not good things: - the service and attitudes of the people here is very very sub par. Again my expectations were not super high, and I wasn’t expecting luxury, but every worker didn’t look like they wanted to work... no smiles, or general niceness, just bad attitudes, no smiles , made me very uncomfortable to be honest. They only really cater to guests that speak Spanish,, or are waiving money. No hello when passing or asking if you need anything, weird stares and just bad attitudes all around. For that reason alone I would not return here but there’s more. - the food. Now again I know I’m not going to Cuba for excellent food, but this food was awful... they had fries and hot dogs so I was able to survive for 5 days, but other than that, everything looked gross and I didn’t chance eating a lot of the meats. The food was Not presented very well, it was just plopped in the hot plates and wasn’t hot or even warm... just not a pleasant food experience at all, by the last day both of our stomachs were not doing well at all. The buffet is also very very small, and not a lot of choice. I had made to order pasta one day when the line wasn’t too long and it tasted like it was ketchup and pasta sauce mixed together. It was awful awful awful. If you do visit this resort stick to the “safe” options. - the overall image of the resort was lacking. Not very clean and is showing signs of wear and tear. Didn’t really see a lot of people around cleaning or taking care of the grounds, saw a lot of workers standing around talking and playing on their cell phones, the resort was just overall dirty. Overall I don’t think I will be visiting Cuba again anytime soon, the people just seem so miserable even at the airports, just everyone we met was not polite or welcoming at all, does not make me want to spend my hard earned vacation money in their country at this point I would rather pay a bit more and visit Jamaica. Now we paid a very good price for this vacation so I’m not going to say it was a total bust, and we got the relaxation we needed, away from the daily grind and Canadian cold but if we did decide to visit Cuba again, I definitely would not visit this resort again and don’t recommend it unless you get an unreal last minute deal

    Casa del crap

    Reviewed by jjimieb(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Spent seven days in a place that it was supposed to be all four-star hotel. Total BS this place wouldn’t even put a one on my scale Bj. Place was out dated, food was disgusting!!! The beach was beautiful!! That it , unfortunately I will never darken Cuba’s doorstep again

    Ocean Casa Del Mar - April 2-9, 2019

    Reviewed by TaniaTina(Ontario, Canada) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I stayed at Ocean Casa del "Cockroach" April 2-9, 2019. I was a part of a wedding party (approx. 70 guests. I've travelled all through Mexico and the Caribbean and was excited to experience Cuba. I went with zero expectations and knew that it would be a little different given the fact they do not have all of the resources most islands have. …WHAT AN EXPERIENCE… We travelled via Air Transat, I never dealt with the rep at the resort as I learned quickly that no one in that place is willing to help you. We arrived between 3-4pm. The ride to the resort was really nice and smooth. Check-in was disorganized and slow, but expected given the fact that we were 3 bus loads of people. Our room was ready for us. We were in Building 12, top floor with an ocean view. ROOM: We were one of the lucky ones with not too much wrong with our rooms. Our room was basic, but livable for the most part. I was sad to learn they do not stock the room with bottles (mini bar) and you will only get 2 beers, 2 soft drinks and 1 bottle of water and you will be lucky if it is restocked once finished. The same goes for toilet paper. 1 roll at a time, and if it's not empty, you are not getting a new one. Sliding doors do not lock. Our towels where dirty and smelt of the perfume from the person before us. My beach towel had bird poop on it. Don’t bother changing the beach towels by the pool because they just fold the returned towels. There is no laundry service on site, so they receive clean linens once per week. Our floors still had footprints and residue from the guests before us The cups still had lip stains and toothpaste in them. Basically, the made comes only to make your bed and fold your towels. I do not think the hotel supplies proper cleaning/disinfectant. **TIP: We brought our own towels. I would suggest bringing toilet paper and bed sheets too. Our bed had some stains on it. GROUNDS: DIRTY. The pools where never cleaned and slimy, cups and plates with old food from the day before. Broken glass on the ground was left all week. There is a lot of walking as the resort is huge. That didn’t bother me, but I should warn you that the entire resort if not wheelchair accessible, so even if you have bad legs, don't count on finding an elevator. They had one, for service only. There was a trolley that rarely came by. The most annoying part is that the drivers would stop and try to and hit on any female walking by. The entire resort seems to be understaffed, that or no one wants to work there. There where cockroaches all over the resort and many preferred to hang out around the buffet and a la carte restaurants. One member of the group had the pleasure of finding one in his food! Management was notified and brushed it off saying it was a butterfly, regardless, why are there bugs in the food??? The lobby washrooms are directly on top of the main buffet. There was a sewage leak one day and the buffet smelt, like POOP, but was still operating. They only closed one section. It should have been closed completely and sanitized top to bottom. They risked putting many lives in danger that night. The smell lingered for the remainder of the week. **TIP: If you have it in your room, bring toilet paper with you everywhere as there is never any in the public use washrooms. It may also be wise to bring baby wipes, in case of a toilet paper shortage. FOOD: If you like seafood, I heard the seafood was great. Don’t count on any veggies except cucumber, potatoes and carrots. All meat is extremely unsafe to eat as this place was a cross-contamination nightmare. A lot of people were sick with stomach issues. Barely any fruit. I would stay away from the resort at all costs of you have any sort of allergy or food sensitivity. Workers did not wear gloves or hairnets and I've seen plenty of them coughing and sneezing into their hands and then touching the food, I doubt they wash their hands after using the washroom. The hot food was always cold and the cold dishes (salads, dressings etc.) where always room temp. This place is definitely failing in all aspects of food handling. The snack bar would be a great alternative if there was food available, but they were always out if something. We didn’t try the a la cartes, but I heard they were just as bad. They constantly ran out of the basics, or safe foods to eat, but those foods would magically appear on the plate of a local who was staying there. All cups, plates and utensils were simply rinsed and reused. Everything had crusty food, grease and lip stains. DRINK: The alcoholic drinks where gross. Slushy drinks where watery and curdled. Mixed drinks were always flat and beer was always warm. Water is your best friend. STAFF: Most where nice but a lot of them in the food and bar areas where just plain rude. My heart really goes out to the people of Cuba. I learned a lot about what it's like to live in a communist country and most do try really hard to the best job they can, others, not so much. There is a huge double standard. Basically if you're not Cuban or following one around like a lost puppy, you come second. Locals received a lot of preferential treatment when there should be equal treatment across the board. A lot of staff choose to get drunk will working too, they think they can be your "friend" just so they can benefit from you...it's rather annoying. BEACH: Not the best, but the sand was nice and there were TONS of beautiful seashells. It was large and you can walk and walk…which I love to do. There was a ton of seaweed but that didn’t bother me. No sand fleas! I really could go on and on, it was the most awkward trip I have ever been on and have never seen so many happy people going home. I feel so embarrassed for the bride and groom because all their guests where so disgusted and unhappy, not just with the wedding experience, but their trip in general. No one had anything nice to day. This place is nowhere near the five star it is advertised to be, even by Cuban standards. Management needs to really step it up and the vacation providers need to re-consider offering this place especially as the cost we all had to pay to stay there. I could have gone to Jamaica, Mexico or the DR! I would love to give Cuba a second chance, but will never, ever return to Ocean Casa del Mar….even for free. **TIP – keep drink containers, hats, anything of value close to you when at the pool or beach. They will steal it and try to resell it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX