Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    S

    A plus for location, bare pass for room quality and a huge fail for the pool

    Reviewed by Saralee on Apr 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend due to location and the spaciousness of the suites. The location was great to the beach and to restaurants. That gets an A plus. The amenities at the hotel were not even worth mentioning. The photographs of the pool that we had seen made it seem like a great outdoor rooftop oasis. Not so much. The pool was small and the whole deck area looked very run down and cheap. The pool is in an area that is not secure or privileged just for guests. Anyone could walk off the street and go up to the pool level and use the bbqs and the pool and I was appalled when I heard a woman there with her kids telling someone she didn't live there and knew she could use the bbqs and the pool with her kids as she had a day off from work! The hotel has a lot of renters and the decks were evident of that with all kinds of decks being used for storage. It looked very run down when looking up. In order to get towels for the beach and/or pool you are sent to the laundry room type maintenance floor. Finding someone to help was quite an issue. The concierge knew nothing of places to eat or what tours would be good to take. The front desk staff were less than friendly and our requests for a bathroom key for the main hotel bathroom was a big deal and would not be released to us unless we showed a room key, even though we were seen exiting the elevators. The rooms are spacious but are in serious need of updating. They are very outdated and not at all modern and not even, in the least, luxurious. You would expect non-modern suites in a different country but not in the US. We have stayed in nicer Motel 8's in Washington State.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1019 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Affordable family accommodation in Waikiki

    Reviewed by gpfisher(Auckland, New Zealand) on Apr 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Family of 5 stayed here 6 nights. Great kitchen to prepare meals, saves money on eating out which can be expensive. A supermarket is a 10 minute walk from hotel only, super easy, and lots of buses pass by every 15 mins. Hotel is a little dated but who cares, rooms kept clean and pool area serviced daily. Pool can get busy during daytime so pick your times wisely! Friendly hotel staff and the little shop on site is great for everyday items. Would I stay again & recommend, definitely!!!

    Great location

    Reviewed by jenaleigh3(Twin Falls, Idaho) on Mar 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here twice in one week. The first 2 nights, the room we had was fine, a little dated but adequate..except for the mattresses, they needed replaced. The 2nd 2 nights we stayed, we paid for a slightly upgraded room and the mattress was better and the room looked more modern, but not really worth the extra $. Nice place but beware of the $25/night 'amenities' fee and $30/day to use their parking garage (not really another option). Also, a TV in the bedroom would have been nice, there's only 1 fixed-to-the-wall TV in the living/kitchen area.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great value, perfect location and amazing ocean views

    Reviewed by Dolphinxxxxxxx() on Mar 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I chose the Banyan because of its central location at Waikiki and low price but was pleasantly suprised how good this hotel was for me. All the necessities in the room for business and pleasure. A spectacular view, tea, coffee, toiletries and comfortable furnishing. This room had a fully equip kitchen should you feel like cooking a meal and sitting with a glass of wine watching the scenic view. More like a 4 star than a budget. Highly recommended for business, families and adventurers.

    Shabby, dirty and dated. Save your Money!

    Reviewed by Dominic L(Allen, Texas, United States) on Feb 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    When you go to paradise, it is not necessarily to spend a lot of time in your room but this hotel banks heavily on the fact that you will not care about the condition of your room...because they do not. I have attached several pictures that show damaged furniture, stains/burn marks/holes in multiple places that have not been repaired, and even some sort of fluid on the walls. If they show so little attention to basic maintenance, I certain shudder to think what I would have seen with a black light. There are no staff elevators so every time I got in the elevator I had to stop on the staff floors and often they would go 1-2 floors (without a cart). The hotel is 10 years past due for a renovation but assumes that just because they are in Waikiki that they can continue to operate on the cheap and fill up due to their location. This was a motel 6 at a luxury hotel price. A dirty Motel 6.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Good Value

    Reviewed by GingerTravels2913(Salem, Oregon) on Feb 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall this was a good place to stay for 5 nights. Not luxury,but comfortable. We had an ocean front room on the 36th floor - great views! Pros: Location - we were able to walk to most places or a quick/cheap Lyft ride to places that were a wee far away for walking. Clean - The Room was outdated - but it was clean Staff - Always helpful and nice Amenities - Room was stocked with everything we needed. Daily cleaning service was good. Pool/Hot tub - Nice WARM pool. 2 Hot Tubs. Area was kept clean CONS: It's a bit run down. Our room was outdated (I think probably depends on unit). The sofa bed needs to be replaced. It was actually pretty gross and was terrible for sleeping. Waiting for elevators at times was a BIG PAIN. We ended using the stairs a few times. This may seem trivial, but almost every time we were in the elevator - construction workers or staff were always trying to squeeze in with us with a lot of their stuff - was hard for guests to get in a lot of times. Would have been nice to have a decent restaurant/coffee shop on property. Again.. not a huge complaint - just what makes it a decent place not a luxury resort. Would I come back? Yes.. It was a decent price for a condo and the location was good.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX