Aston at the Waikiki Banyan Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    S

    A plus for location, bare pass for room quality and a huge fail for the pool

    Reviewed by Saralee on Apr 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had booked this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend due to location and the spaciousness of the suites. The location was great to the beach and to restaurants. That gets an A plus. The amenities at the hotel were not even worth mentioning. The photographs of the pool that we had seen made it seem like a great outdoor rooftop oasis. Not so much. The pool was small and the whole deck area looked very run down and cheap. The pool is in an area that is not secure or privileged just for guests. Anyone could walk off the street and go up to the pool level and use the bbqs and the pool and I was appalled when I heard a woman there with her kids telling someone she didn't live there and knew she could use the bbqs and the pool with her kids as she had a day off from work! The hotel has a lot of renters and the decks were evident of that with all kinds of decks being used for storage. It looked very run down when looking up. In order to get towels for the beach and/or pool you are sent to the laundry room type maintenance floor. Finding someone to help was quite an issue. The concierge knew nothing of places to eat or what tours would be good to take. The front desk staff were less than friendly and our requests for a bathroom key for the main hotel bathroom was a big deal and would not be released to us unless we showed a room key, even though we were seen exiting the elevators. The rooms are spacious but are in serious need of updating. They are very outdated and not at all modern and not even, in the least, luxurious. You would expect non-modern suites in a different country but not in the US. We have stayed in nicer Motel 8's in Washington State.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1038 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    No room, no contact, no concern

    Reviewed by voyagers51(Ballarat, Australia) on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were booked into this accommodation for 10 days by a very reputable travel company only to discover upon our arrival that there wasn’t any condominiums available! We weren’t given any explanation for this other than the front desk person telling us that they had “lost” some inventory. Asking why they didn’t contact me the reply was that they didn’t have our details. Why wouldn’t they have contacted the travel company to inform them of the conundrum? Very unsettling and disappointing to find out that you have to scramble to find accommodation elsewhere even though you have paid for it months in advance! After several phone calls to our travel consultant in Australia to inform her of our situation, we were eventually directed to a property for our stay some 3 hours later. No real concern was shown by the Manager but we were thankful that we had a great consultant back home that came to our aid.

    Great Location and Nice Condo

    Reviewed by 329rebekahr(Sydney, Australia) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I recently stayed at the Banyan in May 2019, we had a 1 bedroom condo with an ocean view on the 7th floor, the room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities including a washer dryer on each floor. Cant wait to get back in November 2019. Its close to everything Waikiki has to offer.

    Beware -- Confirmed Reservation with Deposit doesn't guarantee you a room!

    Reviewed by Michael K(Brisbane, Australia) on Aug 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We showed up at 9PM after a long day of travel with a small child, with a reservation that had been in place for months and a deposit paid, and were told there was no room for us! Due to an 'overbooking' our reservation had been switched, without any notice or consultation, to another hotel on the far other side of Waikiki. We had been in touch with the hotel as recently as five days before our arrival, and there had been no mention any problems. The staff people had no information about the alternate hotel or what kind of room we had. With no time to research alternatives, we had to schlep our stuff back outside and wait for another cab. The Banyan said they would pay for the cab (how generous!), but they underpaid the route, leaving us with an ugly situation with the driver on the other end. Now we're spending our vacation in a hotel we had no input in selecting, on the end of Waikiki we didn't want. (We had chosen the Banyan in part for its location near the zoo and its tennis court.) We've stayed at Aston properties literally a dozen or more times. Never again.

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by Freedom816789(Idaho Falls, Idaho) on Jul 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Our room was old, outdated and uncomfortable! Nothing like the photos show. The only things they have going for them is location, price and the pool deck. We arrived at 2:56 and were told we had to wait until 3 to check in because our room wasn't ready, it took more than 4 minutes for the actual check in but whatever. Upon check out they tried to charge me for a roll away bed and when I said we didn't use one they made me wait for someone to physically check my room like I was lying! No ice machine but there is a bucket, the rental kiosk wouldn't let return my movies so here's hoping they don't charge me for those later because I had to return them at the desk and so far they proved to be pretty incompetent!

    Great location

    Reviewed by collo75(Brisbane, Australia) on Jul 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here 4 years ago in an ocean view room and decided to change it up to a Diamond Head view ( which still gets ocean views anyway) It meant the afternoon sun wasn't belting in on the room and you could enjoy a drink on the balcony later in the day. We were on the 34th floor and traffic noise was minimal, besides the never ending emergency vehicles that frequent Waikiki. Theres a coffee shop and a convenience store on site, and all other shops are within walking distance. The lifts can be damn slow though in Tower 1, often waiting well over 5 minutes to get a lift up or down.Not sure why, there are 4 lifts in operation. Our kids loved the beach being so close, and they are already looking forward to our next stay. Car park on site which helps.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX