Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
    6. Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Loved it and can't wait to return!

    Reviewed by KK on Mar 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed at this resort Feb 28 - March 11 - would absolutely go back! Staff are friendly and helpful. Always smiling and always willing to please. Waitress Karen at pool was so awesome! Restaurants are great, never a shortage of food or selection even when staying 11 days. Recommend you ask around resort first before booking excursions. Discovered a day late that snorkelling is provided at the resort instead of paying for an excursion and resort and tour guide snorkelling was much better. Can't wait to go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved it,staff excels at everything.

    Reviewed by Sue on Mar 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We just returned from our vacation at secrets in Huatulco! We had a great time. We hope to return next year. I will start with the weather. I awoke each morning and just had to look outside to check the weather. Each morning was beautiful, sunny and hot. The staff was amazing. The food was amazing and the no reservations needed for the al a carte restaurants was an added bonus. Our resort rep James was awesome. He was available everyday of our stay. He booked our excursions with amazing tour guides. I recommend the coast to the clouds tour. The nine bay tours which includes snorkelling and a speedy snorkel tour which allows one hour in the water. We saw lots of fish,coral etc. This resort did not seem to have regular live shows that we have enjoyed in other Mexican holidays. If you require privacy in the bathroom you won't find it here. The separate toilet area is small and has frosted glass with strips of see through glass. This is visible just inside your room door. So if your friends stop by your room to pick you up you will not want to be sitting on the toilet. Just saying!!!! Each room has a jetted tub on the deck, it's a waste of space. It only fills half way and was not shaped for comfort. Take your pesos everywhere you go.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    g

    Fabulous

    Reviewed by great time on Jan 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    we enjoyed our stay . The staff really looked after us . Food was fabulous. We arrived on New Years eve and the party was over the top . Excellant food and entertainment . Would definitley go back again . Met some very nice people .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Relaxing stay in a great resort. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!!

    Reviewed by Simply Put on Jan 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel is on it's own bay so very secluded. Makes for a very relaxing and wonderful vacation. All the restaurants are fantastic. The weather is fantastic with sun all day : We felt very safe and were treated like we were special everyday. All the workers were very engaged and happy. Our WestJet rep went out of his way to help us get a couple wonderful excursions. Would go back in a heartbeat!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5244 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Incredible views, beautiful beach and great resort !

    Reviewed by amilarfom(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Secrets Huatulco ( March 30 - April 6) We travel 3-4 times per year, mostly to the Caribbean side - but we really loved Huatulco and will be back ! Resort & Room - We were in building 5 which is on the 4th floor. We had the ocean view suite, the view was incredible - you could see the pool and the beautiful beach. I would recommend building 5 as it gives you the view but not the noise that's coming from the main pool. It's close to the restaurants and to the gym. The room itself was very nice, the same as you would find in other Secret's resorts. Maid service was fantastic, our room was cleaned by the time we would get back to (make sure to tip and appreciate that someone is cleaning the room while you're relaxing) ! Restaurants & Room Service The room service was fantastic, our order would arrive within 20 minutes of ordering it. Restaurants, our favorite was the French restaurant but overall the restaurants were good but not fantastic. The buffet was great for breakfast, but the service for lunch was hit or miss. I would have to ask for water or wine to be refilled several times until someone was able to do it. So we ended up eating at the barefoot grill - really great service and the food is good, typical snack food. I did like that the buffet had a vegetarian section, but overall there was something for everyone. The beach & pool Wow, the beach is incredible and you can snorkel every day. The sand is coarse and not powdery like on the Caribbean side - so it tends to get very hot around 11-1 - make sure to bring water shoes or just wear flip flops until you get to the water. The water is clear and even without snorkeling gear you'll see fish swimming around you. I brought my own gear but you can rent equipment from the staff. There is a national park right next to the resort side of the beach, about a 5 minute walk on the beach and a small path to the other side - make sure to check it out - it is so serene and the views are spectacular. I wouldn't recommend swimming as it is shallow, but in the morning you'll see local fisherman diving and getting oysters. Service at the beach was very good, I always bring an insulated cup/mug and it keeps my drink cold. We prefer the beach and don't spend much time at the pool but around 5 we would get a drink at the pool bar and it was great. They would have a drink of the day which was always good. Gym - the gym is small and on a hill. My warm up consisted running up the steep hill to the gym so I got my cardio out of the way. You can also take the stairs. The gym is small and the weight equipment is very limited but for a basic workout its fine. They have treadmills, elliptical machines and bikes. This resort is truly incredible, it's all about that amazing view. On Saturday night there was a ceremony performed by local tribal men, they encouraged everyone to form a circle while they gave thanks to the spirits and the planet. It was something very cool to experience. The entertainment was fun, they would have fun games at night by the bar and mostly everyone would participate. Two nights George performed, he has a great voice I just wish that he would sing songs that would allow people to dance. One thing we always notice when we travel is that resorts try to play American music, rock music etc but we travel so we can experience some Latin music and dance. So please keep that in mind, we come to Mexico to hear local music, not something we hear everyday. We went to one of the shows, it was the international show and they did a fantastic job. Overall we loved the resort, there's always room for improvement but for us the beach was the top priority and it definitely exceeded our expectations.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    AMAZING!!!!!

    Reviewed by 73lovetotravel(Alberta) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Secrets end of March and LOVED it. The weather was amazing. We did have one day of crazy wind but it was still a beautiful day. Loved all the restaurants. Staff was wonderful and accommodating. We cannot say enough about our swim out......fabulous!! My best friend and I walked the beach every morning and ventured over to a little private area....I miss that part the most....I want the serenity of walking that beautiful beach again. After our trip to Secrets Huatulco we decided we will not go to any other Secrets. We have been to a few and this is the best one!! We will be back in February and we cannot wait. Thank you Secrets, thank you Huatuclo!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Secrets Huatulco Fantastic

    Reviewed by alec542(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    There are not enough good things that I can say about this hotel We traveled with a group of 12 of us and every single person was blown away by this hotel right from the minute that we set foot inside the lobby right up until the time that we all departed at different times over the next 11 days. The setting of the hotel on a private bay is breathtaking and the design of the hotel although constructed up the side of a hill is very functional and takes advantage of the uniqueness of the area. The pool layouts and sizes are excellent with plenty of room and chairs for everyone. I never felt like we were competing for chairs or pool side space. The beach area and palapas are also very nicely set up but the sand gets very hot by mid-day so access there can be a bit limited at certain times of the day. The bar service at the pools was exceptional and the staff were very professional and efficient. The server Angela was always right on top of things when she was our server and offered excellent service at all times.The daily food offerings at the Barefoot Grill was always consistently good if you wanted a burger or a grease fix. Otherwise the Market Cafe buffet always had an excellent selection including healthy choices and plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. The Hostess at the front of the Market Cafe most days was extremely professional and helpful, her name was Nathaly and she remembered my name and greeted me personally at all times which I thought was a very nice touch. Another staff member in the Cafe and who helped organize a private birthday celebration for me was Ivonne and she was amazing. They made things feel very personal in a hotel that probably had 400-500 people flowing through it at any given time. Also as part of that birthday celebration which was amazing Ricardo Mohedano the general manager of Tamarindo served us brilliantly that night and on a number of subsequent nights in various locations. He couldn't do enough for us at all times. Amazing. The restaurants in general were very good and the food overall was as good as or better than any other hotel that we have stayed at in Mexico. The rooms were well designed and the plumbing pressure in the shower was enough to strip paint if you wanted to. Not a common thing in Mexico we have found.The rooms in general were very clean and well designed and layed out. If I would comment on anything it would be the lighting, it was a bit lacking but that is not uncommon in Mexico and any number of other hotels in general. My wife sustained an injury the first day that we were at Secrets and the concierge, in particular Rolando, were very helpful throughout our stay to help make our stay as easy as possible in spite of her injury. Overall all of the staff were extremely well trained and the service was excellent without an exception. If there is anything slightly negative that I would comment on it would be that the resort has an excellent workout room facility and Spa but the prices at the Spa were very high compared to any number of hotels that we have stayed at in Mexico and around the world for that matter. A number of people in our group had wanted to take in some spa treatments but everyone felt that all of the services were over priced. We will be back at Secrets Huatulco no doubt and based on this experience will try out other hotels under the AMResorts flag. One of the best holidays ever.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing Resort with WONDERFUL Staff!

    Reviewed by LinaMarie1286() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was a last minute trip and we decided to jump on because the prices were amazing. I didn’t know what to expect, except that I have been to several Secrets in the past and have never had a bad experience. Arrival at the resort was BUSY…SUPER BUSY. People were coming in on buses. That was the first time I was super happy that I had booked preferred club. We were walked to a different area, no lines no waiting. Check in was smooth and Isabelle did an amazing job. Plus every time we seen her around the resort, she went out of her way to check on how we were doing. You can tell she is a dedicated employee! Our room view as stunning, we were on the 7th floor, room 4322(I know weird). All of the rooms at this resort do have ocean view! Our room was always well kept and clean and our mini bar always stocked. I could not ask for anything better in our room. Including the beds, they were comfy and my back did not hurt all week! I heard a lot about the “chair game”. Meaning you needed to get down to the pool early to find a spot to sit. There is some truth to this IF you have a specific area you want to sit at. Otherwise you would always be able to find at least two chairs together if you are willing to sit in a different area. WELL we started playing the game after we sat in Jose Luis’s area. We had great service any where we sat BUT with Jose Luis, you were extremely well taken care of. He worked his butt off and it showed! As far as pool service, he is the best server we have EVER had ANYWHERE…HANDS DOWN!! THANK YOU JOSE LUIS!!! The pools are beautiful, well taken care of and run from one side of the resort to the other. The pool with the swim up bar is the “louder and more active” pool. But we had fun in all of them. While hanging out at the small pool closest to the grill we met Candy. She works for the Spa. She was so super sweet and nice. We ended up booking services for three people. Candy continued to check on us all vacation and have us numerous tips about the resort and the town. Our vacation was better because we talked to her. The spa services were fantastic, two of three had massages and said it was the best they ever had. THANK YOU CANDY!!! The restaurants were all good, my only complaint about the food was…I think the buffet should be open during dinner hours and I think the room service menu should be a bit bigger. In fact this secrets could also use the ipads in the rooms that I have experienced at all the other Secrets we have went to. The ipads are so nice to see what is going on at the resort and when, this was missed at this resort. I never really knew what was going on each day. With that said the Sky Bar had live music all night, it was pretty neat. One of the best night time atmospheres we have seen at a secrets. One restaurant server that really stood out above the rest was Josue. Again all of the workers are great and you WILL be treated well by everyone. However, there where those that really went above and beyond their job. You could tell Josue enjoyed what he was doing and took pride in taking care of his guests. We had the pleasure of having Josue be our server while at the Mexican restaurant. There were a couple people in our group who did not like the menu and he offered them the Cin Cin menu. He did not have to do that, but he wanted everyone to be happy and eat as a group. He was amazing. THANK YOU JOSUE!!! I have written several Trip Advisor reviews, I do not think I have ever put an employee’s name in. I think it says a lot for these four people. When the service is as good as Secrets it is hard to stand out and Isabelle, Candy, Jose Luis and Josue all stood out. Secrets Huatulco is a beautiful resort that I would recommend trying. The weather is amazing, HOT all the time! The views are spectacular! I think if they get the ipads that will make the guest experience even better, knowing what is going on around the resort is important and that is the ONLY area that lacked for me. Well Ok that and the Preferred Club. I think they need to add a few extra perks to make the preferred club worth it.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Views were amazing, overall resort could use an update

    Reviewed by susansR5378NM(Milford, Massachusetts) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We've been to many Secret/Dreams resorts. The views at this resort were unbelievable. However, the decor and resort itself looked very...tired. It is in definite need of a face lift, more bartenders, more towels, and more alcohol (they were out of champagne and vodka right when the bar opened). The employees were great and extremely nice/accommodating (shout out to Laura, the hostess at Castaway who went above and beyond to make our breakfast and lunch amazing). Overall we had a great vacation there but with small improvements this could be a spectacular resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX