Tesoro Ixtapa

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    T

    Will never go back

    Reviewed by Terry on Jan 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Would not go back ever, hotel is kept clean but the facility cannot handle the amount of Mexican family's that come in from up north every two days, there is no place to sit in the lobby not enough chairs around the pool or beach, always lines ups to eat because of the constant influx of large Mexican family's coming in the food is the same day after day for breakfast lunch and supper, the shows and any pool entertainment is only in spanish

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 953 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Another Wonderful Vacation

    Reviewed by oldbartho(Wisconsin Rapids, WI) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife, her sister and I have found that the Tesoro Ixtapa resort that makes us want to return every year. This year's trip was our 11th in a row! Upon arrival we found that general manager Senor Ruben Rodriguez has again implemented several significant changes that continue to improve the resort. Food is no longer served adjacent to the lovely swimming pool. Rather it is now served in the lower level of the hotel in an air conditioned completely new snack area adjacent to the pool. Very good food such as hamburgers, bacon wrapped hot dogs, chicken nuggets, salads, etc. are available in clean comfort. Also located in the lower level of the hotel are completely rebuilt sanitarias for men and women which are bright and clean and have replaced to old banos. Senor Ruben informed me that he plans to make additional improvement to the hotel in the coming year. I compliment him on great vision and leadership! The resort area is kept very clean with regular washing and painting. The staff is very friendly and tries to do everything asked to make ones stay enjoyable. The one negative change noticed by us and several Canadian friends was that the food served in the buffet area and even at times in the special restaurant was not up to the standards that have been available in the past. The variety of food was limited and somewhat repetitive from day to day. Some dishes were not completely heated when put into the serving area. We one time found rice that was undercooked. The Canadians mentioned that they preferred meats that were not served in a sauce such as cordon bleu and individual chicken pieces. Those were not available as in years past. Most food was tasty but there were several dishes that were quite bland and tasteless. However nobody went hungry because of the lovely fresh fruits and salad makings and generally tasty offerings. I'm sure Senor Ruben will be able to make improvements in this area too. . The resort's location is wonderful with great beach walking areas that extent for about 1 mile in each direction. It is also within several blocks of good shopping and other restaurants that offer a great selection of meals! We plan to visit Tesoro again next year. I'm sure we'll find it just as enjoyable.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    food

    Reviewed by Wendy M(Moose Jaw, Canada) on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This hotel is smaller and has only 1 buffet, which is awful, one beach bar which is always lined up, one snack bar which was in the basement and so loud with mechanical pipes you couldn't hear across the table and the food the was cold. The pool was to 5 feet off the step, But on the positive, the rooms were clean, some times the face cloths and hand towels were a little short. Beautiful view off the balcony but the noise from the hotel next door's air conditioning was so loud that it wasn't quiet or peaceful out there. It is really nicely located and the wait staff were pretty awesome,,

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Fabulous vacation

    Reviewed by janandang(New Westminster, Canada) on Feb 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have just come back from a month at the Tesoro Hotel. The staff were amazing they couldn’t do enough for you, right from Marco and Jamie at the front deck who gave me a Spanish lesson each day, or the wait staff in the buffet like Rosie who greeted you every morning with a big beautiful smile and the waiters like a Jorge, Carlos and so many others. The entertainment staff work tirelessly each day to make our stay memorable. The hotel is well located on the beach and just a short walk into Ixtapa. Great bus service as well. We felt very safe walking around and even hired a taxi to show as the sights one day and he showed as a great day. We bused into Zihuatanejo every other day and played pickle ball with a great group of Canadians, Americans and Mexicans for a 50 peso cost and 14 pesos for the bus. Great restaurants in Ixtapa as well and very reasonable. We are already planning our return trip for 2 or 3 months next year. Thank you Ruben Rodriguez your dedication to your customers is second to none and the respect you show your team shows in the way they treat their staff. See you next year

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful visit to Ixtapa

    Reviewed by dkswarner(Fairbanks, Alaska) on Feb 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an ocean view room--It was excellent to view the beautiful sunsets. The room was big, the bed was comfortable and the staff was wonderful. Food was excellent, especially breakfast. We particularly enjoyed the fact that this hotel caters to Mexican visitors. We enjoyed interacting with the "locals". I wish I had learned Spanish!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Not what we were expecting.

    Reviewed by nhlchik(Vancouver, Canada) on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    In all fairness we did get a tremendous deal on this vacation. If I had of paid full price, I would have been very upset. With that said, here is a little about our experience. We are Canadian. This was our fifth time in Mexico, (4th with our 7 year old), and on this vacation I was 5 months pregnant. This was NOT the typical "resort" experience that we have had on other places in Mexico, (PV, Cabo or Riviera Maya). Ixtapa itself and this hotel were "rustic"... We are quite used to there being a diverse blend of guests, and that the hotel staff speak both Spanish and English, (if not perfect English, enough to communicate). In this hotel, 95% of the guests were Mexican on stay-cations, which in itself was absolutely fine. Just meant that we didnt have the same, "where you from" conversations with other guests...which I like normally because you meet people from all over the world while on vacation. The problem was that with the vast majority of the guests being Spanish speaking, it seemed perfectly acceptable for the vast majority of the hotel staff to be Spanish speaking only. This presented complications, throughout our entire trip. I ordered a water, (and even said agua)...and was given a margarita. This was comical but also not, as I was 5 months pregnant. The other time the language barrier was entirely evident was with the evening entertainment. The shows were packed, and everyone seemed to be having a really good time, laughing and such. I just wish I knew I could understand what was going on. The dancing was good, but the rest of the shows, were all Spanish only. Disappointing for my 7 year old. Also, I had wanted to get a massage while I was there, but the spa ladies didnt speak a lick of english and I wasn't able to ask what products and techniques were pregnancy safe. Also very disappointing. The room was basic at best. There were parts of the wall that looked cracked, and there was rust around the sink. Most non-upgraded rooms are quite basic, but a little attention to the maintenance would go a long way. The AC was very loud and seemed like it might just quit at any second. It didn't quit, and kept the room cool enough, although barely. The one good thing about the AC being so loud was that it blocked out the sound of the raging after hours night club down the street which ran from 11:00pm - 5:00am from Thursday to Saturday. The food was okay at best. The only thing that saved me from going completely crazy was the a la carte restaurant. The food there was really good. Patzy, the hostess was AMAZING. She helped me to read the Spanish only menu and was great with my daughter. She was there every night we went and really made each dinner memorable. Best service we received on the whole trip. The buffet was really not great. There were at least 6 different dishes every night that had hotdogs in them. And they would call the hotdogs different things. One dish would be labeled 'sausage' in rice...with diced up hotdog. The next would say 'ham' and veggies...also hotdog...etc. Their pizza had hotdog on it, and the "ham" at the omelet station was also hotdog...The rest of the food was okay...at best. There is a Dominos up the street if you need some reprieve from the so-so dining at the buffet. But I really recommend making reservations in the morning for the a la carte. They take reservations up to three days in advance, in person only. We always got in, as long as I made the reservation after breakfast at the latest. There is only 1 pool at this resort and it was ok. No swim up bar. Pool was big enough to hold everyone who wanted to swim comfortably, and was open until after dark. This was really nice, as you could swim without the worry of getting a sunburn. There is security however that are very strict about the 100 rules in and around the pool however. No drinks in the pool. No food near the pool, (as in taking food from the snack bar back to your deck chair to eat). They were constantly giving people trouble for stuff. Never seen that before. There was a shallow kids pool - circular and about 5 feet across...packed with kids. Good thing my daughter knows how to swim well and was in the big pool. I would have been mortified if all she had was the kiddie pool. I never once had a waiter come take a drink order by the pool. Had to walk to the bar yourself every time. Also, no alcohol until 11:30. They were renovating a new snack bar while we were there. The reno itself was no bother, however the temporary snack bar left something to be desired. The new snack bar opened the day before we left, and it was amazing!! AC, lots of seating, inside and out. Great food selection and a bar. Best snack bar I have seen at any resort I've been to. No wet clothes allowed...possible downfall. Kids Club was small, but my daughter had fun. Teresa was AMAZING and spoke good English. My daughter was sad to have to leave her. If you dont want your little one swimming in the ocean without you, make sure to say so to the worker. They do trips down to the ocean as well as the pool. The ocean was beautiful. It was red flag every day however NOT the size of the red flag waves I saw in Cabo. Lots of people swimming and seemed safe. My daughter and husband went in a bunch and had a great time. There was always places to sit with shade, but the waiters were scarce. The town was nice, with shops that are great for all kinds of souvenirs. All within walking distance of the hotel. Nothing spectacular, but got some nice stuff to take home at reasonable prices. I would suggest bringing more Pesos than USD. When you ask how much, or looked at price tag, pesos dominated. If you asked for conversion to USD, it seemed they did math in their head. Of course, I have to do conversion from CAD to USD and then to Pesos....was confusing for me, and I am pretty sure I got hosed a couple of times. Live and learn. I highly recommend buying a big bottle of Mexican Vanilla while there. Great price compared to back home and excellent quality. You can take a city bus into Zihuatanejo, and its completely safe. Cheaper than a taxi, and the driver will give you change if you dont have exact fair...within reason. All drivers I met spoke little or no English, so be sure to ask for your specific destination, including town, prior to boarding. I made the mistake of asking if he went to the 'marina' meaning the Ixtapa Marina 5 minutes away. He said yes so I got on...and was taken 25 minutes to downtown Zihuatanejo...no marina. It was fine...just got rerouted a bit. Zihuatanejo and Ixtapa are NOT resort towns. In PV, Cabo and RM, you can find nice buildings and clean streets, so that it is obvious they have invested money into making the towns look good and appealing to tourists. This is not the case here. Hence why I said "rustic" at the beginning of my review. It was a bit of a shock from what I have experienced in other Mexican destinations. Usually there is a line between the "tourist zone" and the rest of the town which is usually impoverished. Here is was all one big town with shops, people begging, and Policia with machine guns all rolled into one. I held my daughter close, and would NOT go there at night. Otherwise was fine...just not what I was expecting. Playa La Ropa is by far the best beach in Zihuatanejo. Was 2 busses from the hotel, (about 40 minutes total). Easy to find and the beach was only 30 seconds from where you get off the bus. Amazing beach, calm water, restaurants with umbrellas all along the beach. We were happy to sit in the shade and order beers and virgin pina colada while my daughter played in the surf. Was a great afternoon. Also highly recommended is Ixtapa Island. You can take a city bus to Playa Linda. There is a beautiful public beach there. From here, you take a short water taxi to Ixtapa Island, (5 minute boat ride). The taxi will hold about 10 people and can be a little tricky to get in and out of. The waves can rock the boat substantially. There are men on the dock that will hold your hand and help you in. I was able to do it at 5 months pregnant, but was admittedly a little scared. The cost for the taxi is 50peso per person, for a return trip. Make sure to have small pesos to tip the men that help you in and out. All I had coming back was a 500bill and felt terrible that I didnt tip the man who helped me out of the boat. The island is spectacular!! It is quite long, but very narrow. You can walk across it in about 45 seconds. There are restaurants on both sides. One side is a bit choppier, with the water taxis coming in and other boat traffic. We went to the far side, and it was so calm my 7 year old played by herself in the surf. Barely any waves. There are also fish around your feet as you stand only ankle deep. Was really cool. The cost of snorkelling was reasonable. My husband and daughter went out, both first timers, and had a blast. Saw tons of tropical fish. The food, drink and service were all great. That coupled with the fact that there was shade and flushing toilets made for one happy pregnant lady!! Overall we made the most of the trip considering it wasn't exactly what we were expecting, however we would most likely not stay at this resort again.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX