Honua Kai Resort and Spa Condo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Well worth the money

    Reviewed by Shanny on Jun 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved the suite that we were in , we did upgrade to the partial ocean view and it was well worth it. The food at Dukes was unforgettable had the risotto and it was pure salt, the ribs were dry and tough. It was unfortunate as we hard so much about the restaurant. The condo itself was gratr the beach out front not so much but walk 5 mins and you can find some nice beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    t

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by traveling mama on Feb 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were very disappointed with this hotel, especially with regard to it's value. Certainly the room had granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, but the carpets were shabby and stained, and the furnishings were worn. The headboard on the bed was dirty, and the patio furniture was disintegrating wicker. We were assigned a room in the Hokulani tower which is the older of the two towers. This is the tower closest to the construction that is going on next door for the new Westin. Every morning we were treated to constant cacophony of construction noise. Sitting out on the mountain view balcony was not a pleasant experience. The pools were fantastic for children, but were too full of pool toys, and too shallow to allow for any real swimming. With high surf advisories, this left us with few options. Overall I would say that this resort would be suitable for families with small children, but value for the money for couples and older individuals can be found elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3614 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Spectacular/Relaxing Stay - Kudos to KBM as well

    Reviewed by TravelinFamVA() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first time in Maui and our first time at this resort. We rented via KBM and it was an amazing unit in the Holukalani Tower with an ocean view on the 7th floor. There was construction on the opp side of the property of new Garden Villas but we barely heard anything and was not a distraction. There were some intermittent sewer odors but thats about it. Our 2BR unit was very well appointed and spectacular. The living room was large with the balcony door/window that opens completely! The kitchen was fully stocked. Unit also had a W/D that came in super handy! KBM also provides a beach package of chairs, floaties and boogie boards which was really nice! We loved the main pool at the resort. The beach was nice to but a little hard to swim too much with the reef rocks. The valet or self parking is free too! I would recommend KBM as the property mgmt company to rent from...It comes across a little impersonal after you book but they really did take care of every detail including switching out beds in one of the rooms. The check in was super easy. just show ID to the bellman and get your keys, done. I would definitely return on a future visit or at least KBM again for a rental.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great pools in the resort

    Reviewed by Rich131(Walnut Creek, California) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed in the Honua Kai for 9 days with my family, we had a 2 bedroom with Kitchen and a nice ocean view. We went to Dukes restaurant alot for food and drinks and its the only real place to sit and eat on the resort. Just a tip Dukes don't let you call in and pick up the food you have to eat on the premises which is a little annoying especially when you have a young child! The pools were great all very shallow which was good and you can swim all the way up to after 10pm at night. They have BBQ's on the resort which we cooked on July 4th which was very handy, also they have food trucks from 5.30pm nightly at the back of the resort which we gave a go one night. A couple of things I didn't like about the hotel was that the cleaners don't change the beds, we had to call down for them to come back up to the room and the fire alarm test kept coming on 3 times in the night and woke us all up. They only have 1 small lift in the 1 tower which is always busy, we walked through the fire exit steps most of the time. Overall I would give the hotel a 3 star as we were expecting a bit more quality for the price we paid, I think its kid friendly and the pool/garden areas are nice.

    Fourth of July visit

    Reviewed by Kristina D() on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    **First of all, I left my make-up bag in the suite and noticed it was missing 2 days later. There is no doubt in my mind it was stolen or thrown away. I called housekeeping and they said they’d “call me back.” They haven’t. I would expect a resort of this caliber to contact guests regarding items left behind** Our visit was over the 4th of July and the main reasons for choosing this resort came down to 3 things: 1. 4th of July-the resort has a BBQ 2. Laundry facilities within the suite 3. I felt safe allowing my 8 and 10 year old use the pools on their own due to low pool depth (max 3 feet) Unfortunately, the BBQ area is located some distance from the resort suite and the pool chairs and tables located near the BBQ are claimed by 10 a.m. I didn’t want to sit there for 5-6 hours waiting for the optimal time to BBQ, nor did I want to deal w the anxiety of hoping space would be available if I appeared around 4-5-6 p.m. especially with a cooler full of BBQ stuff. We ended up choosing not to BBQ. The dryer in the suite had some kind of “moisture recognition” technology which did not function and required the dryer to be restarted over-and-over and the clothes were never completely dry. Super frustrating. The pool(s) were pretty good and open until 10 p.m., although the slide is more for the under 6 set. The sunsets were beautiful from my view and made the days worth it. Also, the electronics in the room from like 2001 or something. If you’re going to tout yourself as an upscale place, then be upscale. I am disappointed with this resort experience and will most likely never return to Maui. But if I do, I am definitely going to Maui Mike's Beach House has the best shaved ice on the island and maybe in Hawaii. 126 Hinau St, Lahaina, HI 96761

    Could have been much better for the price!

    Reviewed by officerb(NC) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We booked this resort because we needed 7 suites for a large family gathering in Maui. The booking process was tedious and took months to finalize the rooms dealing directly with the hotel. Eventually, we worked it all out and away we went. Upon check in we were assigned to room 413 which I have attached photos of. This was the nicest of all of the rooms that we were issued in my opinion. The room is stocked with many amenities and the resort provided us with most of your cleaning needs for the washer and the dishwasher. Our room was very clean for the most part. Huge bathroom with spacious showers, comfortable beds and a beautiful view from our large patio. Housekeeping comes every other day to make the beds, clean the counters and take out the trash. We stayed a week which also gave us a deep cleaning on the fourth day of our stay. Overall we had a great time and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. However, two of our families that were staying would not agree with this at all. One room, had a rat that was eating their food and leaving rat feces on the counters. After complaining to management, maintenance came out and placed traps around the room. They did give them a resort credit for $800. Another family member had an awful smell that they could not locate and they eventually had to move them to another room. Also, on the day before we left, the resort had their quarterly pest control service which meant you had to choose whether the room would be sprayed or if you wanted, they would use a gel poison instead. This is scary especially with all those tourist deaths attributed to poisons in the Dominican Republic right now. One last thing, the beach/pool towel process is a debacle. The resort charges you $20 per towel if you don't return the exact amount you get from the towel hut. This leads to constant anxiety about leaving your towels on the chairs while you swim in fear of someone stealing it.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Take me back!

    Reviewed by Deanna J() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is great! Great beach, great pools, great location! The condo, we rented through VRBO #504, in the Konea building, was perfect for our party of 5. The food trucks right outside our superb! Times Market is right across the street. The construction was never an issue for any of us.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX