Golden Nugget Las Vegas

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Service could be strongly improved.. Please correct Televisions.

    Reviewed by Spencer on Sep 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I've stayed on the Strip for my past several stays in Vegas at the Wynn, twice - and this was my first time staying in Fremont for a music festival. We chose the Golden Nugget because it looked appealing and had good reviews. A few minutes after entering our room we had a loud bang on the door. The housekeeping / facility workers were there and needed to come in to change some light bulbs that were burnt out. We hadn't even been in there for a minute before being startled by this. A minor inconvenience. The first night we tried to call to order Room Service, but after three attempts to call and being placed on hold, we gave up and went out to eat. I've given a lower rating because I feel Service should be number 1 priority. If a light bulb was burnt out, I probably wouldn't even notice. But if I am looking for Service, it shouldn't be impossible to call the front desk and speak to someone. The morning of our Checkout we went for the hotel's buffet. It was nice, and the food was tasty. We arrived back at our room at 10:55am. Most hotel check-out's are 11:00am. HOWEVER - The Television in the Room explicitly shows Checkout to be between 5:00am - 1:00pm. We received a reminder call, so I called back down to the front desk unwillingly, presuming nobody would answer like before . I was surprised when someone did answer this time, and I asked to clarify if the Television checkout time of 1:00pm was correct and if there was an additional fee. Like I mentioned before, I've stayed at the Wynn a handful of times and I've always been given late check-out extended to 1:00pm at no cost. The person on the phone was very rude and abrupt, and told me that it was impossible. I explained I am looking at the Television right in-front of me and it's showing Checkout 5:00am - 1:00pm. He responded very sharply, "I advise you to checkout IMMEDIATELY or else we will charge you for the full rate of the night." I was absolutely shocked. Very low Service quality.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12450 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Disappointing Experience

    Reviewed by KyTravelPro(Kentucky) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    March 9 - March 13, 2019 This was not our first trip to Las Vegas. We have been coming for many years, sometimes several times a year, and have always stayed at the Golden Nugget. Let me start with my previous trip a year or so ago. The main issue at that time was an ongoing one. No matter what time you got to the pool there were never any seats. We have gone down at 7:00 am and towels were on every chair but no one was there nor did they enforce the "no saving seats" policy. Later in the day we found out from another family that the Nugget sells pool time to other hotels … even though they cannot accommodate their own guests. Very annoying. We are pool people and not gamblers so this did not sit well with us. This trip beginning on 3/9 started like this: Arrived at the airport at approximately 9:30 pm (Saturday night) and proceeded to obtain our car rental (Budget). Waited in line for 30 minutes only to get to the service desk to find out they did not have our reserved car. They suggested they would give us another vehicle and that we should come back the next day to get the one we reserved. Told them "no way". We were only there for few days. After about an hour total we finally got a vehicle. Take note: they were telling all the customers around us the same thing. Why make a reservation at all? We proceeded to the hotel only to be told only "smoking rooms" available and that we could upgrade to the Rush Tower for a nominal fee of $40 per night. We told them "no". We then checked out the smoking room. The hallway did not have an odor but when we opened the room door the stench was overwhelming. Needless to say totally unacceptable since we booked ahead for a non-smoking room. My friend proceeded to get on the phone and demanded a manager. After about 15 minutes of hold time on the phone he said he had a room for us in another tower and would send the bellman up for our luggage and with keys for the new room. There were three of us and we were assured there would be a rollaway bed in the new room. We stood outside the smoking room for 45 minutes waiting for a bellman. No Show. Consequently we proceeded to return to the front desk (no short distance from the Carson Tower) and they gave us keys, but no bellmen available for about an hour. Proceeded to the Gold Tower room and it was fine, but NO rollaway We had to call the front desk two times before we finally got one. By this time it was 2:00 am their time and we were on eastern time zone time plus add on the hour to arrive at daylight saving time. When we arose from our short rest, we had to change rooms again. This would be third room. We did, however, get bellman service for this move. Unpacked again. Room was as we expected. Nice. Upon return in the early evening we found several insects crawling on one of the beds. Called front desk and they sent Security to observe the situation. Well you can guess what came next. They took our information, said Housekeeping would be coming to take our clothes to be cleaned (if we desired) and take our luggage or whatever else to be placed in a freezer for 24 hours. Then, we moved again to another room. Fourth room in 48 Hours. In speaking with a manager on the phone she removed the Resort Fees (approximately $150). The next day, which was our last day (Wednesday), I spoke to another manager and adamantly requested a full compensation for the 4-night stay. He adjusted the invoice to take off about $500 total. This included the Resort Fee. Good chunk of change but certainly not the hotel stay we had hoped for. Additionally, as noted in someone else's review the water pressure in the shower was not good and a very strong odor in the sink was present at all times. Had to call for bottled water every day. This was one of the "amenities" included in the Resort Fee. I do believe my days of staying at the Golden Nugget have come to an end.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    We had a GREAT time at the Golden Nugget!!

    Reviewed by Galacakes(Muncie, Indiana) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first time going to Vegas. We picked the Golden Nugget based on what some of our friends said and we are happy we did. Our room, the casino, and overall hotel were exceptionally clean. The staff was incredibly friendly. Access to the Uber pickup area was very convenient. We loved the easy access to Fremont Street. We ate at three of the restaurants, Lillie's Asian Cuisine, Red Sushi, and Claim Jumpers and really enjoyed each meal. My personal favorite was the roast duck at Lillie's! We would definitely choose the Golden Nugget again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    BUYER BEWARE: Golden Nugget

    Reviewed by paul h(Yankton, South Dakota) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We had stayed at the Nugget before and made reservations through VEGAS.COM. They took all our information and requests: non-smoking & king bed. We thought we were set. We arrived at 11:00 PM, got our keys, & went to the rooms. They were smoking and 2 small queen beds. We went to the desk & were told they had a choice to what rooms/beds we got on a "first come, first serve" basis. We had all our printouts and showed them to the front desk. They showed the small print to us & explained they had nothing else. We got the manger and he said he could change us the next day but not tonight. My wife was very angry & gave up. When it was settled they aired it out as much as possible. We got our no smoking room, but not our queen bed. Helpful hint to all travelers: WHEN YOU MAKE RESERVATIONS THROUGH A THIRD PARTY - YOU MAY NOT GET WHAT YOU WANT. RESORT FEES - stupid and never got everything promised w/o phone calls (water bottles). Way too high for what is available for you to do. Who comes to Vegas to go to the workout room? NEED COFFEE MAKERS in the room. Spent more on coffee than I wanted too and could have gambled that money but spending $8 to $10 - 2x a day for 5 days adds up. Coffee in the restaurant that was open at 5:00 am was terrible & weak. Water in shower and sink smelled bad. Great location - you are in the middle of Fremont & can go all over!! That is the best thing to say about the Nugget this trip. We probably won't stay there again, unless things change. .

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Golden Nugget

    Reviewed by snowwhite01(Ontario, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Golden Nugget is located on Fremont St. This street definitely has character, and will stay on Fremont St on our next visit. The Golden Nugget was good to start . We arrived late at night and checked in and went up to the room but were unable to access . We went back down to the front desk where they discovered they wrote down the wrong room #. For this inconvenience they offered a $25 meal voucher which was suitable. On our last day before checking out we spoke with the front desk on booking a room for 1 more night as our flight was not scheduled until 11pm and this would mean carrying our luggage for 12 hrs. We would have been totally out by 6pm, and the room paid for, for the night. She told us a price that was tripled. I explained our situation and could /would not offer a solution. We found out that the hotels for a small fee $5- $10 will hold your luggage while you are out and about. She did not offer this service.

    Great experience! / Excellent staff

    Reviewed by Shanaya A(Houston, Texas) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited Vegas for my husband's 40th birthday! I worried about booking at the Golden Nugget Las Vegas because we normally stay on the Vegas strip. However we've enjoyed Golden Nugget in other places in the nation and wanted to test out Vegas. It was great! I was frustrated from a delayed flight but the wonderful staff made us feel welcomed and valued. The rush tower room was clean, quiet, and nice for our stay. Room service and the restaurant staff memebers were great too. Great food. Will definitely return to this hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX