Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Los Cabos
    5. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
    6. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    Outstanding service

    Reviewed by Lee on Jan 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Travelled to this secrets location in the middle of December 2016. My husband and I had a fabulous time. We booked room deal of the day and we were not dissapointed, we had a garden view, but we could see the ocean from our bed. The service is outstanding, I asked about a special drink and the next day the bartender I had asked had gone home that night and looked on ytube how to make it for me. Food is very good, lots of options on restaurants. This is our second visit and we will be back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    This place was a 10 for us!!

    Reviewed by Ron on Dec 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was one of our best holiday resorts . We have travelled mexico for 25 years and stayed at all levels of resorts. Every part of this vacation was a 10 from the food,service, rooms etc. The entertainment staff were very friendly and got you involved with the many events they planned. Our favorites were Lucas,Lia,Anthony,Kenya and David. My favorite pool waiter was Augustin. I cant imagine anyone not liking this place???

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Extremely Disappointing

    Reviewed by Gloria on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked this resort as a special way for me to celebrate my 60th birthday with my family. We anticipated a wonderful five star experience. The only 5 star part of this resort, is the resort itself. It is very beautiful and that is the nicest thing I have to say about this resort. The food and especially the restaurant service was hugely disappointing. The only option for dinner service is one of the a la carte restaurants where we had to wait a long time for service and then the service we received was the bare minimum. The quality of the food served was hit or miss and the food portions are small. On my birhday we were grateful just to get the waiter to our table to take our order then deliver the food to the table; that was pretty much the only time we saw him. Add to that, he neglected to deliver my birthday cake to the table despite my son being reassured before hand that it would be served. Although, to be fair, the resort did not acknowledge my birthday in their daily announcements of guests' special occassions, despite being told at book in and on numerous occassions during signing into our rooms. The worst service though was on our last night when we returned to the Himitsu restaurant because we had enjoyed the food there on a previous visit but not the service. On this night the service was the worst we had received to date. I don't believe I have ever been so neglected by a waiter before, add to that we left most of the beef on the plate because it was so difficult to chew. In regards to the resort, be aware that it is very out of the way and the taxi ride into town is costly. Also, even though they call themself a golf resort and the resort is surrounded by fairways, the course itself is not part of the resort and you have to pay for a taxi to take you to the course. As for the beach, we were informed at check in that it is a non-swimming beach so water activities

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    m

    The perfect getaway to run away to!

    Reviewed by mere_aw on Jan 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is the perfect quick getaway for western Canadians. The flights from Calgary are perfect. We booked a last minute 5 day escape, which really worked out to 5 nights and 6 days. Hotel is reasonable distance from the airport. This resort is the nicest and cleanest place we have yet to stay at. Best service, great food, perfect size and a view! All rooms face the ocean, so no need to get an ocean view. Very quiet and relaxing. Easy to get chairs by the pool at any time. The beach is ok, but that doesn't really matter since you cant swim in the water anywhere because the ocean is too rough in Cabo. So hence why a nice pool area is so important. As this was the easiest trip to plan, with a convenient location and flight times, we may make this a frequent getaway. We cant wait to take our friends. I would rank this as 5 star plus resort. We wouldn’t change a thing. For those with a handicap, the resort is fully accessible and accommodating. For newly weds, perfect honeymoon spot. This felt like a second honeymoon for us. Don’t hesitate! * tip: Cabo is a desert location, it does get chilly at night!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4102 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    This is now my FAVOURITE Secrets Resort!

    Reviewed by TheChowChow(New Westminster, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have stayed at several Secrets resorts in Mexico and all deliver a very high standard of quality service, amenities, food, drink and activities. The Puerto Los Cabos Secrets however really set the bar higher for all other Secrets we might visit in the future! This resort is one of the newer ones in the Secrets family and they have done an excellent job of maintaining it. The room was immaculate, the landscaping and grounds are pristine and the architecture really takes advantage of the natural beauty of the location. What really set things above all others was the very high standard of service. Both of us have worked at 5 diamond hotels in the past and it was clear the training and HR standards have been well maintained here. Staff members remembered us and addresed us by name often. Favourite drinks were remembered. Staff were quick to introduce themselves and demonstrated initiative to ensure our stay enjoyable. Our UVC Rep, Araceli was warm and helpful throughout our stay. The front desk interactions on the way in and out and when I needed to change currency for tips were very positive! I celebrated my birthday while at the resort and was overwhelmed by the hospitality shown. The concierge sent up a small birthday cake, the spa had glasses of sparkling wine and a birthday cake waiting for us in the recovery room after our massage and hydro-therapy session. Our favourite restaurant there, El Patio was closed on my birthday, but we went the next night and they also had a special birthday cake and since we mentioned how much we loved tacos, they manager there, Dagoberto arranged with the sous chef (Irais Vazquez) to specially make canesta and other tacos we had watched on a Netflix series on Tacos. They were not on the menu, and they were DELICIOUS!!! Our waiters there, Elias and Christian were incredibly thoughtful, hard working and friendly. The hostess there, Evelyn (she was also a hostess at Portofino) always remembered us and greeted us with such genuine warmth. She is studying to become a somelier and I think she will be fabulous!! We loved the numerous egg and breakfast stations at the market grill. I love being able to get a customized omelet or runny fried egg and they did it super well. Homero was our waiter there often and he was such a lovely and kind man to us. At the Sea Side grill, it was TACOFEST for all of August and we indulged! It can be a bit warm midday, so make sure you get a seat with a fan on high above you. Humberto was often our server and it was like we were guests in his home. He remembered our favourite dishes and drinks and always brought extra pico and guacamole for my wife! Rene was also super friendly and helpful! Spending time at the beach watching waves and enjoying a beverage at the Baracuda Beach Bar was one of our favouite things to do. Salamon made delicious drinks for us and was happy to customize to our tastes. The waves are BIG and hypnotic! Do NOT get too close though....I thought I was going to become fish food after a rogue wave took me down... The evening entertainment at the Rendezvous Bar was a real treat...and it was always a nicely air conditioned space to just relax and read or play some games. I don't have any big compliants really...Himitsu wasn't our favourite restaurant, we didn't do the Teppanyaki experience, but people looked like they had fun. The rice in the sushi we ordered was kind of hard and not fully cooked. The noodle and rice dishes we had for mains were quite salty. If you go to the spa and do the hydrotherapy, keep in mind it is outside...so if you burn easily, maybe apply some suncreen first as there isn't a lot of shade. These are super minor issues and the positives vastly overwhelmed them. I would give our stay 6 stars if I could. We will definitely be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Our Recent Vacation at the Secrets Puerto Los Cabos

    Reviewed by tomphan714() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    In general, we enjoyed our 3-night stay at this location. Pros: The room is very nice, especially having a Jacuzzi. The room service is good except it takes so long for the food/drinks delivered to our room. Cons: The wi-fi keeps disconnected whether we stay in one location or moving around. We hope that management looks into this and make some improvement right away. We are pretty sure that other customers have or share the same experience about the wi-fi system.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Happy Birthday Vacation

    Reviewed by Lateresa B() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My stay at Secrets Los Cabos was absolutely amazing! from the time of arrival the staff was inviting, and made us feel right at home, the room was just as it was pictured on their website "pristine" the food, exceptional, and every night the entertainment was well put together with every guest in mind. The only issue I had was on the day of my birthday my husband planned a romantic evening dinner on the beach which was a disaster, my meat was raw, and they could not get the menu corrected which ruined my husbands surprise, they rectified this issue with a slight refund. I would recommend they be careful with the request of your guest when providing this service because it is very expensive. Other than that everything else was exceptional! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    El patio

    Reviewed by Jordan Y() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had an amazing authentic Mexican experience. As an appetizer we had the garden salad and the chips and salsa. Both were spectacular. For our main course, we had both of the fish dishes and they were beyond our wildest dreams. The Arabic vegetables complimented the crusted salmon so perfectly. The marinated perch maximized the basic taste of perch to soak in the powerful Mexican marinate to highlight the recipe. Marco Mendoza was a fantastic waiter and certainly steered us right.

    Portofino Restaurant

    Reviewed by Taylor L() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We cannot to put into words how amazing our trip and stay was at Secrets. One of our favorite parts was our dining experiences. Portofino was by far our favorite if you are looking for delicious and authentic Italian food. Salvatore was our waiter and he provided beyond excellent service!! I highly recommend for any future diners.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX