Barceló Karmina

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Always a great vacation.

    Reviewed by Darren T. on Nov 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have been to Karmina Palace times and enjoyed each stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4370 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Seem to be the best, but was not...

    Reviewed by oem08() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I reserved with a promo of 2 free kids on my stay, when I checked in to the hotel they told me it was not stated on reservation and they bill for my kids without an option for my 4 and 5 years old kids. Our special dinner only worth the place, we did not received any attendance until we told 3 different waiters; we left without having desert. At restaurant, even with open tables they offer you to move to other restarutants or tables away from buffet, when you have to take care of 2 kids you want to have them at a quick view, not away causing a possible problem. In our room, we always hear upper room water flush. Pools were good and most of the staff was kind, even if they were working under preasure.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Premium Level not worth it

    Reviewed by Miguel T(Kaneohe, Hawaii) on Jul 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Barcelo Karmina is a beautiful hotel that most people would enjoy. We wanted something special and upgraded to their Premium Level. Unfortunately, this proved to be a mistake as it uncovered several areas that need correction from a corporate level. First, and most importantly, customer service. It took four days to get evening turn down service started. We requested it when we checked in and every morning we would let the person at the Premium Level lounge know that it was not done. She spoke perfect English but we found out she kept requesting the room be cleaned at night. We had to explain what evening turn down service was to someone in the hospitality industry. Part of the upgrade package is premium liquor at all their bars. Got very tired of "we don't have that here" from the waiters outside of the Premium Lounge and Lobby bar. Only one waiter, Daniel Hernandez, at the pool area, ever said "let me go get that for you". This would be funny if it wasn't so sad. The buffet had all the fixings for Caesar Salad except for Parmesan cheese. We got "we don't have that here", even from the captain. Only one waiter, Martin Renteria, had the good customer service to offer to get it from their ITALIAN restaurant. This is just poor training. Secondly, maintenance. Took three conversation to fix our blackout curtains. Two to get a clock radio that worked. Their Mexican restaurant had only one men's toilet. When I really needed to use it, there was a maintenance person working on it. He comes out and says, "it's fixed." I go in and the commode has no seat. Fixed. Really! Third. The food in their Japanese restaurant was horrible. Their fish is not fresh. It is previously frozen. Gave up on the sushimi after one bite. Got presented with a beautifully seared fish. It was raw all the way through. I guess they did not let it defrost enough. The tempura was not only greasy but the oil was rancid. To top off the evening, the waiter because rude when we mentioned these deficiencies. We just had to walk out and enjoy their buffet dinner - just no premium drinks.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Awesome stay here

    Reviewed by Passenger29772677295(Santa Ana, California) on Jun 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The family and I had a wonderful stay here. Everything was to our expectations and comfort. Employees are very nice and comprehensive. I loved it. The privacy that this hotel has is wonderful with the private beach and even swimming with the fish in the beach is super cool. Will definitely be coming again and will definitely recommend to friends and family.??

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Keep up with room repairs, better food, and better service at the pool area.

    Reviewed by Curiosity33466046736(Sherwood, Oregon) on Jun 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our room fan did not work. Food at the specialty restaurants was horrible, either have staff that has knowledge on how to cook specific foods or eliminate the specialty restaurants. The pool area needs more attention, I had to pick up after other guest since cups were left for hours and cups will land on the floor which will make the pool look like a public pool and less of a resort. Also ensure that guest have umbrellas or have extra and customers should not feel that in order to get service there should be an additional cost. I paid almost 700 for two days, I should not have to be told that if I want an umbrella I should pay a tip. No I did not report it to management and I didn't bother to look at the staff name, I will just make sure to stay at the Hadas next time. The Hadas is a bit older than Barcelo, but the service they provide is better.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Excellent resort!

    Reviewed by MaryM807(Toronto) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is one of the best resorts I've ever been to! Very good food , especially at Agave restaurant(but Japanese was also pretty good, followed by Italian). Buffet had always something you can find to your liking and drinks were good. People were very nice, especially Silvia from Social media. She is a real asset to the hotel. But everybody made me felt welcome there. Rooms are pretty nice and big (around 70 sqm) with nice views. I'd go back in a heartbeat, too bad that there no direct flights anymore from Toronto! Hope one day Sunwing or other Canadian tour company will start again flying to Manzanillo Mexico! I will be on that plane when it happens! My travel date was December 2017, but cannot select it

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX