El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Mazatlan

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Mazatlan
    5. El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Mazatlan
    6. El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Mazatlan review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    the worst All incluse I have ever been

    Reviewed by AMdC on Oct 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    A 5 starts all inclusive that charges 55U$ for internet, doesn't have fridge at the room, charges 50 pesos per extra package of coffee at the room, and charges for can beer. The ocean is ok, the beach space at the front of the hotel is short, so get busy pretty fast. The pool is not that big and the bar service is not the best. WestJet sale as it has internet and fridge, not true. Bathroom is really small, a tall person would touch the wall with their knees. Doesn't worth the price at all. I would give it a maximum of a 3 stars. It has plastic plates, plastic chairs and no free internet at the lobby. NOT a 5 stars. Also everything closes by 1 or 2 am. doesn't have a disco/club, and the lobby bar is awful. A Mexican restaurant that has hot dog, pizza, hamburger and NO GUACAMOLE??? was that Mexico?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    T

    Best Boogie Board Beach Ever

    Reviewed by The Campbell's on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff is what makes this hotel a 5 star to us. They treat you so well. We love the pools but this time too many people were smoking around them for us to enjoy them so off to the beach we went boogie boarding every day. Make sure to stay all inclusive as the food and entertainment are very good. Love the El Marino Coffee. I rated the restaurants 4 out of 5 because the Japanese was still terrible. However the Mexican was a total surprise this time it was excellent. Make sure to book all these restaurants each day. Loved the beach vendors, if you are kind to them they are very kind to you. We will be going back again this next January. Hope to see you all there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Going back in November

    Reviewed by TK on Jul 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Have been going to El Cid Resorts for the better part of 25 years. Staff are ALWAYS welcoming and accommodating to our needs. They make you feel like "family" not just a tourist who will be gone in a week or two.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Good Value but average resort

    Reviewed by Fun Only on Jan 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    El Cid Castilla is a reasonable choice for an economical all-inclusive tropical getaway of a week or less. The facilities and food are decidedly average, if your goal is upscale look elsewhere for example El Cid Marina The resort is an unusual mix of time-share, all-inclusive and European a la carte plan. The meals are expensive and will cost USD $100 per day per couple on the A La Carte plan. At check in there are several staff members that pounce and aggressively direct you to the “information” desk, which in fact, is sales pitch to buy a time-share. The time share staff will be quite persistent phoning the room at 8 am with a lame excuse about wanting the correct spelling of my surname and offering a coupon book of discounts if we met. The true hotel staff were all pleasant and welcoming. The internet wifi is a rip off at US$70 per week. A repeat visitor told us that they have tripled the rates this year! Rico’s Café in the attached mall serves excellent coffee and provides complimentary wifi for customers. SUMMARY: The El Cid Castilla is an OK choice for a 7 day or less economical winter escape if low price is the main concern. It is unlikely that we would return as a little more money will get a much nicer place in Cabo or the Yucatan.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    Great 7 day get-away!

    Reviewed by Sally on Mar 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just home from El Cid Castillo.......Loved the location with long walking beach and super great surf for body surfing! The lunch time restaurant overlooking the beach was fantastic... as were the night time restaurants, especially the Italian! All of the staff were super hard working and very friendly. Nice to escape the busy beach activity to our room up in the tower, which had a great view of the evening sunset and was quiet.. Shower pressure amazing! Only suggestions are that we would have liked a coffee bar early in the morning before 7 am so that we didn't have to wait til breakfast. Also having to get up before the sun to reserve our beach chair was a bit of a pain. or the chairs and palapas would be all taken We will be back next year for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    d

    Typical Mexican experience, will go to Hawaii next time!

    Reviewed by disappointed on Mar 08, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Good location, great pools and very clean. All-inclusive buffet needs to be updated and changed more frequently. Also specialty restaurants need to change their reservation process. Seems they only cater to the 'Elite' members. And pool & beach chairs should Not be reserved between 5-7am!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Won't go back unless changes are made!

    Reviewed by SnowBird on Mar 03, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel, pool and beach are very nice. The waiters are great! The buffet food needs to be refreshed and updated - hard to eat the same thing everyday! The restaurant policy needs to be changed! Couldn't get reservations in any of them even though they were over half empty every night!!! Pool lounge chairs should be first come first served - no reserving them between 4-7am and then not showing up til the afternoon!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    g

    Loved our vacation, going back for 7th consecutive year!

    Reviewed by gkb2015 on Feb 08, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great vacation for all ages, very warm. friendly and helpful staff. Can't say enough about the wonderful service we always receive. We find the resort very safe and affordable and are returning once again for our 7th consecutive year. with friends and family. David and Gloria Boychuk. Edmonton, AB

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5291 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very good

    Reviewed by Valeria R() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very good hotel, calm, clean and in the middle of golden zone. I liked the service, the food, restaurants and the sea, it was really clean. I went with my family and we are very satisfied and of course we will return next year

    Summer vacations

    Reviewed by irore0601() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel has excelent service in all the aspects and all the area's. I had an amazing experience staying there. It's to comfortable, beautiful and friendly. The staff it's so nice and efficient. I recommend a hundred percent this hotel.

    Terririble experience and service

    Reviewed by Getaway40238670674(San Antonio, Texas) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Terrible attitude from most of your front desk agents, horrible service at the "Alhambra" bartenders and beach servers are very disrespectful! We made a 7 room reservation for all our family 6 months ahead of time, thru your own hotel website, and none of our requested accommodations were done. Our check in was supposed to be 3pm, we did not got the keys until 4.15pm. 7 of our family members got stomach poisoned from "la Pergola buffet" 2 days after check in... I was very surprised that you also charge for internet access at the room! It is very sad to see EL CID Mazatlán resorts falling apart this way, nowhere near what the service used to be a decade ago. I am not coming back.

    Good and beautiful place

    Reviewed by GrandTour42639272185() on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    In my opinion, the service to make the check-in is very bad. my check-in was done at 12 pm, I was told that at 3 pm my room would be available and with very poor organization I was handed the room until 3:50. Very bad service.

    El Cid Castilla

    Reviewed by BrianM2395(Calgary, Canada) on Jun 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are having a great vacation at the resort. Restaurants are good. Food is great. Lots of activities for families. Always something to do. Resort is on main bus line so you can get around the city for 11 pesos per person.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX