Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    d

    There's no place like Jamaica & Sandals Royal Caribbean was the place to be.

    Reviewed by dobrosky on Aug 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff were very refined, professional & delightful. The room was fantastic. The private island was an oasis. Close to downtown Montego Bay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6693 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Paradise!!!!

    Reviewed by Jeanagerber(Seattle, Washington) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our stay was absolutely perfect! Everyone was so nice and helpful, we couldn’t have picked a better place to celebrate 15 years! Thank you for making our stay absolutely amazing....it was absolute Paradise!!

    What a gem!!!!

    Reviewed by AgBeav(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're in the departure lounge at the airport as I write this and already talking about a return trip. The resort is smaller and more intimate and unique than it's nearby Sandals Montego Bay cousin and was perfect for what we wanted. This was our first experience with an all-inclusive resort and we loved not having to worry about the bill for anything we ordered. It's a beautiful and relaxing setting with a variety of good dining and recreation options. What really made the resort is the staff - friendly, eager to share their island, and making every effort to ensure we had a pleasant trip. Our butlers Nicholas and Steve were all-stars, attending to and anticipating our every need. Synovia gave us OUTSTANDING friendly service at the Jerk Shack and elsewhere, and bartenders Stacie and Aiasha at the private island pool were awesome - my wife asked for something "coconutty but not too sweet" and Aiasha invented an amazing drink for us. Latricia at Butch's Steakhouse (at Sandals Montego Bay) gave us an anniversary celebration toast called a "Scooby Snack" that was great. Odane & Garfield also gave us great help in several of the restaurants. We haven't spent so much time in the water since we were kids! Definitely worth a return trip. Thanks to everyone at the resort who made our trip pleasant and memorable.

    Avoid avoid avoid

    Reviewed by Gemma B() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    So if your travel agent tries to tell you the building works are not a problem... that’s lies. Everything is covered in cement dust. Non stop construction noise from either building works or the cement trucks. It’s NOT “screened off” and they WONT put you in a room away from it! They will allow you a 10 hour flight, stick you with a view of the building works and fob you off that they will move you. There’s no escaping it, the resort is tiny!!!

    Great First Vacation at a Sandals Resort

    Reviewed by popup40() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Finally getting around to a long overdue review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. This was the first time we have stayed at a Sandals resort - and it had big shoes to fill because we really enjoyed the other resorts we have stayed at. Turns out we had nothing to worry about. Let me start by saying we did NOT stay in a Butler room, but never needed a Butler. We stayed in the Windsor Building with the balcony and the view was fantastic. We loved the Tranquility Soaking Tub, and the balcony had an added bonus of the lovely sound of waves crashing against the reef. My husband wanted to take the shower home with us - it was that good. The concierges were always helpful. The beach and poolside service spot on. We rented a cabana on the island and Mario did everything to make were our time there enjoyable. We loved the Playmakers. They were SO FUNNY, and we especially loved to watch Elmo every night dance along with whatever entertainment was performing. We had a great time at the wine tasting too - and learned something about wine! One of the favorite things to do after the nightly entertainment was gather around the various firepits and chat with the other guests. As for the food, each dinner was better than the night before (we didn't think it was possible). However, the big let downs in the food category were the breakfast buffet - really disappointing, and neither of us liked The Jerk Shack at all. Lunch at The Regency was mediocre, but fantastic at The Mariners and the pizza at Bella Napoli's was delicious. The Beach Party Buffet was disappointing - really limited in choice and not very good - we were surprised at how small the buffet was at a resort that size. (The entertainment at the Beach Party though was spot on - we really enjoyed all of it.) But everywhere we ate, the service was some of the best we have ever experienced. I will also repeat - we never needed a Butler. We got reservations for every restaurant we wanted for the night we wanted and the time we wanted. We never had a problem getting a shady spot on the beach, and always got a seat at the pools too. Even with Club Level service, staff left cake in our room as we celebrated our anniversary, left a fruit plate our first night as a "welcome to Sandals" gesture. Every staff member we passed smiled, said hello, asked how we were enjoying ourselves. We would return in a second.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Experience of a lifetime!

    Reviewed by 815tanika(Lancaster, California) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I enjoyed every minute, from food to the entertainment, views, enjoying both resorts, to the service. To many wonderful staff members to name, but I enjoyed the friendly welcoming service I will return.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX