Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    F

    Did not enjoy Sansals

    Reviewed by FrancisM on Apr 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overrated, not a 5* Resort. Rooms are old and need maintenance. Food in the buffet were scarce and cold. Club level not worth the price and the associated staff did not respond in a timely manner. Restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. I would not go back to Sandals

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10027 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Special Birthday trip not so special!

    Reviewed by KB045(Galloway, New Jersey) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    2018 Special Birthday trip for my beautiful wife to Sandal Ochi, Jamaica started off on the wrong off foot!!! After a very long day of traveling, we were brought into the Club Sandals’ lounge and immediately served rum punch. We were asked to fill out all the same check-in material we had already submitted online prior to our arrival on an iPad. It was very redundant! I still question why? While we were sitting at the concierge’s desk a gentleman came in complaining about his shower pressure, then another visibly upset man came in yelling “I want my room changed now!”. As per Trip Advisor guidelines for posting this next event accurately describing how our trip continued to spiral down and is a true first hand experience, but it’s not to reflect on the Sandals Staff or branding, however it directly effected our vacation - A young couple comes in and the female was crying and she spoke to us alleging the staff had stolen her diamond ring from her luggage, only later to learn the young lady had misplaced her ring. Talk about huge anxiety setting in for my wife and I. The Club Sandals staff continued to serve us rum punch and was apologetic, but they were scrambling to resolve everyone’s issues. We sat and waited! Finally, we started to get to our vacation. They didn’t have any of the information that I provided to the toll free number when I booked the trip. They had no idea the trip was for my wife’s birthday, nor did they have notes about a special dinner requested upon arrival that was suppose to be in their system promised by the phone rep. Speaking of the toll free booking number, be careful as they are after to up-sell you everything. They say the massages are booking fast and they are giving you a promotion. Not true! The spa was empty and it wasn’t a special price. I was not pleased about this. If you are going to go, just book the massages when you arrive and check for specials first. I wished I did! I will get back to the Red Lane Spa in a few minutes. Getting back to checking in, the staff was not able to get us any dinner reservations upon arrival. We were only able to book two restaurants in the resort for dinner during our stay. We were told everything was already booked. Highly disappointed and confused what was so special about “Club Sandals”. We were escorted to our room and shown the amenities. After a changing and going out to a what seemed to be a very romantic restaurant, we had the worse tasting dinners. My steak was as tough as could be. I order several order of chicken wings and was only brought three at a time. My wife’s dinner was lousy, as well! We very highly disappointed and got up and left. After walking around the resort we waited till Tapas to open at 10pm so we could get some bar food. However, they never started serving anyone till 10:45pm. The fast food at Tapas was way better than the Reef! Afterwords we walked to the “couples bonfire” and guess what there wasn’t one! We spoke to one of the staff and they made a joke about the Tiki Torch being the bonfire. At this point, we were in strike three with the resort! This is not what we paid for!!! Therefore we went back to our room to call it an early night and get a fresh start to the day! Romance was out the door, as the bed frame was actually broken. The bed sounded like a freight train running through the 4th floor. This put me over the top. The next morning, I spoke to Club Sandals about all of our issues and how unpleased we were. They Staff took for ever to try to get us another dinner reservation and make sure they could get the bed fixed. After spending a great day up at the Manor pool with the Red Lane Fitness Director, Ryan and playing games with Leon, we were finally enjoying ourselves. We went for couple massages at the Red Lane. First I was given a women’s robe and could barely cover myself up. Everyone was laughing and made me out another men’s robe on top. We started our massages with a nice salt scrub. The only issue I had is that the therapist started talking in a foreign language to one another and were giggling. I ask what was so funny. The female working on me stated that my belly was giggling!! By no means am I obese, so I tried to make a joke of it. Afterwards, I was thinking why were they laughing at my belly? Wait is it because I have two belly buttons from when I was very ill with tubes in me??? Now I am questioning their conversation. Very unprofessional!!!! We get back to the room and the bar is not replenished. All we wanted was water. I went back to Club Sandals and discussed the Spa incident and the room not being tended too. They walked us up to our room and stated they will make sure our fridge is always stocked with waters and that we get ice every night at 6pm. They also asked when we would like our room cleaned and turned down. We have the the times. So we go to dinner at the Italian Restaurant, Valentino’s, and this too started off rough. The service was slow. We order an appetizer that had fried seafood and fish. I told them my wife is highly allergic to fish, but not shellfish, could we get the appetizer without fish. She replied yes. When the appetizer arrived I was the first person to eat it. Guess what! It was fried fish!!!! If my wife would of tried this she would of been in the ER! Epic fail!!! We get back to the room and notice the bed was fixed. They put a wooden plug where the bed was cracked to stop the squeezing noise. It did work a little bit, but overall the rooms need to be renovated!! More complaint about dinner, led to an email asking to meet with the head chef!! No!!! We only have three days here and no one is on time and it takes forever to have a simple discussion. You messed up. Our third day we went out snorkeling and glass bottom boat. You could see a thing and the water was rough. Even worse the crew was arguing before we took off from the dock. It was explained to me by management that this is the way the language is spoken and they were probably just talking aggressively. Sorry you could see the disgust in their faces. When we got back to the room, our bed was not made and there wasn’t any waters again! I had asked the gentleman in the hallway with the water cart to please refill our bottle water and he said no problem, but never came back. Club Sandal bought us up a six pack of water for the room and apologized. We went to the Hibachi restaurant for dinner. It was just ok! They didn’t have any saki cups available, their realty wasn’t much enthusiasm from out chef, and the food was just ok. The next morning we went to the Ochi Beach Bar and pool. The pool was closed at the manor due to setting up for New Year’s Eve. We had a good time, until we witnessed the Bartender washing cardboard straws and then drying them on a towel. The other couple at the bar witnessed the same unsanitary matter. He also watched them use one of the straws for a drink. We were livid. I wish I had my phone to video record this. Top Management didn’t not believe this occurred. We were liars?!?! They claimed to have video and would investigate, but the next day they never reviewed it. When we went back to the room after dinner at the French Restaurant, our room was not made and once again, no water and no ice. I spent another hour speaking with Club Sandals. I didn’t want to be there that long. They insisted I speak to management. What a mistake. Another manager another 30 minutes only to be told to speak to the day manager before we check out tomorrow. Upon check out I had a scheduled meeting with the day Shift Manager, Ms. Maxine Williams. Once again, I had to go through all my issue, that I kept a record of on my phone. What a waste of time. I spent almost 45 minutes with her and she wanted to give me a credit that was only a couple more dollars then the night manager, who insisted that I speak to her before I left because she will would take care of me better than he could. She also did not watch the video they allegedly have of the bar and insisted I was wrong about washing the straws. I was wrong about the employees arguing at dock, it’s how they speak. I was wrong about the spa, the employees were probably laughing about something else! I am not wrong!!! Sorry! As, I was about to say NO to her offer the Hotel GM, Kevin Clarke, comes over could see I am visible upset. He just finished with a couple complaining about the wedding ceremony. I didn’t even want to explain everything again, but I did. He immediately said to Ms. Williams to take care of me and offered me an incentive, which legally I can’t disclose. However, I will say that I ask how long it was good for and he said 18 months. I said ok and the paper work was just completed before our Airport shuttle arrived. Here it was only valid for a year, which is almost impossible for us to return!!! A family member needs a major surgery and when I brought this to their attention they said they could not change the time frame. They said to simply email them and if we can’t return in a year and they would speak to the team and see if we could get an extension! So frustrating! I was happy to leave! I am holding Sandals to it. I also have to legally disclose that all matter discussed in my review where properly handled by management! Overall the resort was beautiful, the service was lousy, and the food was average to poor. The drinks were good, however, the bar service was slow. The rooms in the tower by beach front needs renovations. Special shout out to Ryan, from the Red Lane Spa, who was the friendliest employee to actually get to know us, speak with us, take pictures with us, hugs us goodbye! Sandals, for your branding, reputation, and high cost, our vacation did not have the value and service that we deserve for our hard earned money! I hope you will show us a different side to your brand name on a possible return trip!

    Good vacation

    Reviewed by Coastal27827883465(Westford, Massachusetts) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We truly enjoyed our vacation at Ochi Beach Resort. Most people went our of their ways to make our stay a great one. The only negative points we can highlight from our trip is that our encounter with the people running the water sports were almost unpleasant. We were made to feel like we were annoying them by asking to use the equipment on the two occasions we went to use the water sports. Besides the above, we truly enjoyed the restaurants and the entertainment at the seaside, the hill side and the Beach area. A very good vacation.

    Unreal !!!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by willoliph44(Kingston, Pennsylvania) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is was probably one of the best if not the best vacation our group had. The staff were phenomenal, friendly, helpful, courteous, outgoing... I can go on and on. From Mr. Adam Stewart himself, the food and beverage supervisor to Kerry Dene, Ray , Calicia, Vivian , Smiley the list can go on and on . Each and every one mentioned deserves an accolade for the part in making the vacation that special for not only me but the group I brought with me. Their dedication is a true testament to the message the company tries to send. After 10+ years of this types of trips, it takes alot to impress me, this vacation, I already booked for next year and plan on bringing an ever bigger group. 5 STARS ALL THE WAY. Very special thank to Mr.Jeremy Mutton, GM from Sandals, EXUMA, not only checking in but helping facilitate this vacation and making sure all needs were met. He without a doubt needs to be recognized and I am sure I won't here different, but without him, this vacation may not have happened, but I am glad it did ! See you guys in a year, sincerely Will Oliphant

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Honeymoon Adventures

    Reviewed by Travis K() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have never experienced anything so amazing in our life. We picked the perfect place to experience are honeymoon. The staff were welcoming and pleasant. They treated us like a king and queen. I especially want to thank eric on the beachside in water sports. He went the extra mile for us. He captured some amazing pictures of us and found some amazing pictures at the bottom of the sea. My wife was very uncomfortable but he explained precisely what to be aware of and how to deal with it. We both had a blast and it was the highlight of are trip. Thanks Eric and sandlals ochi for the trip and honeymoon of a lifetime...

    It should have been better, for the price we paid!

    Reviewed by parrycp(Benfleet, United Kingdom) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a number of minor (mainly) complaints during our two week stay, which the management attempted to compensate for, during our last few days. Most people we talked to (mainly americans) agreed with our feelings, but with a few exceptions, tripadvisor reports do not seem to detail these. We would certainly not return to this location, even though we did enjoy the holiday. Sandals get many aspects right and it is a shame that a little extra effort in a few areas would/could provide value for money!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX