Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    F

    Did not enjoy Sansals

    Reviewed by FrancisM on Apr 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overrated, not a 5* Resort. Rooms are old and need maintenance. Food in the buffet were scarce and cold. Club level not worth the price and the associated staff did not respond in a timely manner. Restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. I would not go back to Sandals

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10418 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Pains me to say this...

    Reviewed by Bill B(Abingdon, Virginia) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We've been coming here for years. It's a fantastic property. But this year, something was amiss. Perhaps there's a labor dispute or lots of employees had a bad week but it wasn't the resort we've grown to love. First the good: Great meals at valentinos and great service. Actually the entire beach side of the resort was great. Not so for the manor side. Terrible dinner at the southern table, the jerk shack and the pizzeria. These have been highlights in the past but we tried jerk/pizza on the manor side twice and didn't get water, let alone a drink for 15 minutes (happily, very different story on the beach side). and the resort was the slowest I've ever seen it. the very sweet, "soon come back" staff were working overtime. Word to management, they can't overcome bad service, bad jerk chicken and pork in Jamaica is just not cool, mon.. Our room was not made up before 2 pm any day until we tipped the staff. We normally do this anyway and are more than happy to but to just get decent service seems a major problem. even after that we got attitude. We received no info re outbound travel arrangements. this is new and not a welcomed development. Finally, the room furniture and bedding, towels are not luxury by any means. They're are tired and old. Guys, get it together. As you pointed out at your returning guests dinner, customers have many choices. We love this place but this year kinda sucked.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    Anniversary trip

    Reviewed by Barbara M() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful time at Sandals Ochi. There are several employees we would like to thank. Tarik in travel and loyalty. Simion the best waiter in the world. Jerome the beer delivery guy, Martin, Dwayne and Aisha (fruit loop) at the beach bar. Delano at Kelly’s and Kemar at the southern table. This was the best trip ever and you all made it extra special. Thank you !

    Ochi 4.0.... Still our “home sweet home”

    Reviewed by teri2280(Arcadia, Ohio) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I am not known for short reviews... you have been warned. Travel Dates – August 6-13, 2019 Room Category – Butler Village One Bedroom Poolside Villa Estate Suite (G1) Butlers – Romaine & Peta-Gaye Previous trips with this brand – 2016/2017/2018 to Ochi, 2018 to Carlyle/Inn AIRPORT/CLUB MOBAY/TRANSFER TO RESORT After beginning our day at 2 am to catch our first flight out of Cleveland, we arrived in Montego Bay right at 12 in the afternoon (20 minutes ahead of schedule). We swear by Club Mobay for both directions and had also used the link provided (by Club Mobay) to do our immigration stuff for Jamaica ahead of time. We knew that the online immigration forms were relatively new, so to be safe we still filled out the paper forms that we were given on the plane. We were the first people off the plane and were met by our Club Mobay rep almost immediately. Our rep (I don't recall her name) looked over our paper forms as we were walking, and I told her we'd also done the online ones. At immigration, we handed them our paper forms and also told them we'd done the online. All good and the online ones went through without a hitch. We had only carry on luggage for this trip, so we didn't have anything to claim, and went directly to customs. From getting off the plane to getting our first drink at Club Mobay (after checking in and dropping off our bags at the Sandals lounge), our total time was less than 30 minutes. From seeing the length of the lines, I'm confident in saying that having Club Mobay on arrival saved us easily 30-45 minutes. Wheels were in motion on the shuttle at exactly 1 pm from the airport. On the way to the resort, the driver made a pitstop. This was honestly the first time in 4 trips to Ochi that the driver hadn't asked the guests their opinion on the stop, but this was also the first time we were on a completely full shuttle. The stop was at most 20 minutes, and while my husband got drinks, I grabbed an order of festival. We were arriving on Jamaica's independence day and ran into a LOT of traffic around the Dunn's River Falls area. It didn't hit me until I saw the traffic, but it made sense that locals would be out enjoying their holiday. Total transfer time from the airport (with pitstop and crawling traffic for about the last 30 or so miles) was 2.5 hours, to our drop off at the resort (they drop off on the beachside first, and we were the second drop off since we were staying hillside). For comparison purposes, our shortest transfer time in 4 trips has been 1.5 hours with a maybe 5-10 minute restroom break. ARRIVAL AT RESORT Upon arrival at 330, we decided to take our time checking in, in order to allow the potential line to go down a bit. We went to the designated smoking area and had a cigarette break, used the restroom, checked on some things with the spa staff member (I needed to make sure that there was a cancer certified therapist still on property) and Island Routes (checking to see if the Turtle Hatching trip would be happening during our visit), and then we both grabbed a drink at the Polo Lounge before heading to the Butler lounge to check in and put our credit card on file. Sure enough, our plan worked, and we were the only couple checking in, with another couple showing up while we were waiting for our butler to arrive. Peta-Gaye arrived at the lounge right around 4 pm. This girl is a DOLL. She is relatively new to being a butler, but I honestly couldn't tell it, even knowing how new to it she was (I talked her into telling me lol). She took us up to our room, and we explained to her what kind of vacationers we are, and what our expectations are out of butler service at this resort. We requested to have Gourmand delivered to the room that evening for dinner. We were then told of a new resort policy that butler takeout needs a reservation. The restaurants that were open that evening had been changed around due to Jamaica's Independence Day, and Gourmand isn't usually open on Tuesdays, so I hadn't thought to put it on my butler preferences that we'd want takeout from there that night. Romaine and Peta-Gaye still made it happen. We unpacked and were in the pool by around 5 pm. Romaine was our butler on shift that first evening. We seriously love this guy like another brother. He was one of our 2 main concierge staff members for our 2016 trip, was promoted to a butler before our 2017 trip, and has been our go-to butler since. I seriously don't know what I'll do if the time comes that we're at Ochi and he's elsewhere in the company. If it's a promotion for him, we'll, of course, be happy for him, but it will honestly be somewhat bittersweet on our end. It is so easy with him for us. He knows our vacationing style, knows that we don't need the frilly stuff like bubble baths and decorated beds every night. He also knows what time is too early to call and check on us in the morning depending on what we end up doing the night before lol. I've also seen him grow as a butler. Our first trip with him as a butler, he was probably about 6 months or so into it, and every trip I've noticed a difference for the better. Romaine brought us our dinner from Gourmand around 8 pm, and after a very long travel day and essentially turkey coma, we crashed for the evening right after. OUR ROOM I had requested a specific villa, but we weren't placed in it. Overall, I was happy with what we had, though. We were in a single-story version that shared the pool with only one other room, and we didn't have neighbors at all for our entire stay, which was PERFECT for us. (We like less competition for the villa pool since we tend to spend more time there than most guests.) We were right next to a storage/employee area, but that didn't bug us at all. We know that a place of this size needs a couple of those every now and then. The villa was a short walk from the hop station, which fared very well with my back issues. The only downfall of our villa was the mosquitoes. In 4 trips to Ochi, this was honestly the first trip that I've needed to use the bug spray wipes that I bring each year just in case. I doubt that the storage area is as well sprayed as the rest of the resort, and this likely had something to do with it. The Jamaican mosquitoes aren't quite like the ones we have at home either. At home, you can usually see them land and slap them before they have the chance to bite. Not so much the case in Jamaica. They're like mosquitoes on speed lol. They're super tiny that you can barely see them, and it isn't until 3 or 4 bites that you realize you're being bitten. RESTAURANTS Throughout this trip, we ate dinner at (or ordered takeout from) Southern Table, Kelly's Dockside, Vista Sky, Gourmand, and Reef Terrace. Reef Terrace was a first for us this trip, and it will be added to our list for future visits. EVERYTHING about this restaurant was a 5-star experience from our server to our drinks to the food. On our next trip here, we will likely dine earlier, though. We ate here kind of late in the evening due to wanting to have the energy for Miss Ethel's piano bar (which is right next to the restaurant), and it served its purpose, but at sunset, the views will be to die for. Gourmand is our favorite restaurant on property, and we ordered in from there 3 nights of our trip. For us, at this resort, there really is nothing better than eating on the patio, and Gourmand is our favorite place to order from. Kelly's was excellent for us. In 4 trips, we've eaten here at least once each trip. Vista Sky this time around was a bit on the disappointing side. Our appetizers were perfect, the lobster tail and sides were very good, but the steak was pretty “meh”. I ordered my steak medium, and my husband ordered his medium-rare. It wasn't until we were a few bites in that we realized that the server had given me his and vice versa. Not a big deal, as I wasn't into the rarer part yet, so we just switched plates. Both steaks were tough, and I feel that at medium and medium rare, respectively, a steak shouldn't be tough. Well done, ok, yeah...but not medium or cooler. I don't know... maybe I was just too used to the Ribeye from Southern Table, or the Filet from Kelly's or the Chateaubriand from Gourmand that the Sirloin at Vista just didn't measure up....??? Service was also a bit on the rough side at Vista, both at breakfast and dinner. At dinner, our server seemed to just take our order, deliver it, and forget to check on us. We were halfway through our entrees when both our cocktails and our water glasses were dry, and they remained that way until we left. At breakfast, it was even worse. It's a buffet breakfast, so I know that they don't come around and check on your order or anything, but when you order drinks and leave close to an hour later without receiving any drinks other than ice water (that was refilled by someone other than the young lady that took our drink order), something's wrong. Gourmand for breakfast was amazing as it usually is, but it was a LONG time to get our food. I found out that the resort was at about 85% capacity at the start of our trip, and this is now understandable. We were also informed before being seated that turnaround time was high, and we still chose to dine there, but because of that, the wait time at Gourmand does NOT affect my review. Just want to warn people that may travel at more peak times to potentially expect a bit longer of a wait. Southern Table was probably the most disappointing for me. The meal and service itself were amazing, but I was severely turned off by the photographer making the rounds here. For multiple reasons. First off, he didn't get our subtle “thanks, but no thanks” when he first approached us (as all others on ALL of our trips to multiple resorts have). Second of all, why was there even a photographer THERE? At our Kelly's reservation that straddled the sunset, I expected it (but there were none), but at Southern Table at almost closing time? That's a bit odd.... BARS Perfection, with the exception of our second visit to Miss Ethel's of the trip (Saturday, August 10th). The bar was out of the liquor of my husband's first choice of drink (Jim Beam), and then they were immediately out of the mixer for his second choice (Ginger Ale). Really? I'm sorry, but a bar shouldn't run out of this stuff (a main liquor AND a popular mixer) on what is a big turnaround day for the resort. Tons of guests are arriving and looking to “party it up” on their first day, and Miss Ethel's isn't even open during the day, so there should have been more than enough time for the bar to be restocked. POOLS This trip we hung out at the Manor Pool for a few hours one day and also the Amphitheater pool for the same amount on a different day. We didn't make it into the beach club pool at all. The amphitheater pool was our favorite this time around. Service at the pool bar was top-notch, and we met up with a couple of friends there. (One from a previous trip, the other someone I recently found out was overlapping their trip with ours.) The manor pool was... interesting. The service and drinks at the pool bar were both great, but there was a dirty odor to the pool. I don't know if that was due to people sitting at the bar all day and not once getting out of the pool, or what, but it smelled almost like sewer, and this was even on a Sunday, which is a relatively slow day due to turnover. Needless to say, we weren't there too long before heading back to our villa pool. OVERALL Will we be back? Yup. We have a trip to Barbados planned for next summer, but Ochi is home for us. None of the issues we experienced are enough to keep us from returning (or in the case of tough steaks at Vista, it won't keep us from giving it a go next time), and there are a few more room categories here that we want to eventually experience. And the staff? Oh my gosh, we adore them, from Jodi-Ann, our housekeeper to Adam and Daneil, our “pool boys” (for lack of a better term – I'm not sure what their title is within the resort lol), to our butlers, Romaine, Peta-Gaye, and Nardia (the latter of whom was on vacation for some of our trips but fielded calls from us a few times that I called the wrong phone number, but we had her last year), all of these staff made our trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Worst corporate service ever, bait and switch

    Reviewed by 332dustinr() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I hope this review helps any other military,police or firefighters since Sandals posts no information on their “rules” of the discount program. First let me say I always try to book and support businesses who support public servants. I appreciate their recognition and appreciation. That being said I’m currently on a trip to Sandals Ochi in Jamaica. I booked the trip last minute (the day before) and one of my reasons for booking a Sandals resort is because they do offer public servants a 10% discount. In this particular case the discount doesn’t equal a lot of money but that isn’t the point of this review. I followed the instructions in applying the discount per the website which requires you to book first, then fill out the discount information. I booked and then filled out the information requested only to receive a response that because I had paid the reservation in full I couldn’t complete the form online. I then chat with someone at sandals who says to call the 800 number and it would be applied. As I mentioned before I booked the day before I traveled so I inquired at the resort. The informed me the couldn’t do anything and that I had to call the 800 number. So when I could I called. I was first told that because I was already on the property no discount could be applied and that had I called before I left they could have applied it. Then after getting the runaround and speaking to a supervisor the story changed to the booking has to be made 30 days ahead of time. The bottom line is they need to provide correct information on their website and the customer service agents could definitely stand some training. They give the appearance of giving a discount in order to attract the business of public servants but the truth is they have no intention of honoring it and only want your money!

    The good, and the bad

    Reviewed by 32807(Orlando, Florida) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Unfortunately, it took four attempts to get a remote control for control of the frigid conditions in my suite! I was forced to sleep in a bathrobe one night, and again tried to get someone to regulate the a/c unit. After 4th try, I flagged down a Sandals Club employee, and he "borrowed" one from the vacant unit next door, and adjusted the temperature for me. Tell me, why couldn't another person do this in order to have a remote control available for a guest to adjust the temperature. Sad.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX