Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    D

    Fabulous stay. Excellent service personnel. Who needs Nuevo Vallarta when the charm of the old city is so well represented at Buenaventura

    Reviewed by D&M on Apr 15, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff are who make this hotel what it is. From Claudia, our server in the restaurant, to the friendly boys at the poolside bar and virtually every other staff member we encountered, the vibe here is relaxed and friendly, with a nice Mexican sense of urgency. The fellow who checked us in at the front desk upon our arrival could?ve used an espresso to speed him up and a kick in the butt to cheer him up, but thankfully everyone else seemed genuinely happy to be working here. We tipped generously, not because we felt obligated, but because we felt the hospitality and service was genuine and the people deserved it

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Over priced and bad service!!

    Reviewed by Bert on Mar 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The location of this hotel is great but that was the only good thing about it. Booked our holiday on line and booked the Honeymoon suite but on arrival was told we only booked deluxe and had to wait till the next day to talk to agent. The deluxe room they put us in was a total dump!!! Smelt so bad could hardly sleep and wouldn't use the bathroom because it was so gross!! To get the room I thought I booked cost us a huge amount!! Had to complain every day for more bottle water and finally gave up and bought our own even though the agent told us to brush our teeth with only bottled water. Only hot meal we could get was at pool bbq the other 2 restaurants the food was barely warm. Husband sliced his toe open getting out of pool because there were pool tiles missing. The maid and waiters at pool were awesome but found with most staff if you didn't have deep pockets for big tips you got no service! Very disappointed in the hotel and way over priced for what you get!! When booking make sure to ask for a renovated room!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3430 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Perfect location

    Reviewed by Chellenumerodos(Vernon, Canada) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We loved this little resort. The location is fantastic, an easy walk to the malecon and romantica zone. Nice main pool area and the adults only area with the shallow pool and built in lounge chairs was perfect. The bar up there was only open fri/sat/sun but I’m assuming that’s because it was low season while we were there. Quiet in the evenings. Last call is pretty early compared to my other experiences in Mexico. Food was good. Omelettes were amazing. So we’re the pastries. Would definitely stay again.

    Great location. Great staff.

    Reviewed by GoPlaces58233599615() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The location is central to everything. Food is great. Staff is great. Beds are awful. Nights are loud. Lots of drunk people making noise through the halls at night.AC in our room wasn't working properly. Advised front desk. Issue didn't get resolved.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best Location and Staff- Buenventura Grand Hotel

    Reviewed by LOVITA(Calgary, Ab) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel is very clean, friendly staff and great food - walking distance to the Malecon. We have been coming back for 19 almost 20 years to this hotel because of the staff. The beach is out front, hotel is not to big that is hard to find other family is comfy and has charm.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    This resort is simply the BEST. Believe Me

    Reviewed by LUCY N() on Jun 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort is unassumingly simple. The Rooms are smaller but very comfortable and we didn't really care since we barely stayed in, just to sleep and my King bed was awesome ( i observed their bases are concrete- I thought that was interesting). The Employees as you may have read in other reviews is the true GEM of the place. They are simply NICE and pleasurable. From the get go, they make you feel important and always want to please. They have a great demeanor and resolve any issue promptly. The next shining star is the FOOD!!!! Seriously - its tasty, full of flavor and variety for everyone... and YES they have pork bacon - you just need to ask for it and that is because they recognize that we have many folk who do not partake PORK for a myriad of reasons & so accommodate them We stayed there for 7 days and didn't wanna leave. I met many patrons who are repeat customers and that often is a sign of good service. They seemed to always be service us with FOOD and DRINKS really surprising, I haven't been on a cruise but this is what I would expect one to be like where you eat drink and play all day . We may have come at a slower time of the year but it didn't feel crowded Breakfast being served through 11.30 for me is a great plus especially given that they have a fantastic omelet station (Thanks Dahlia for making the best omelet ever). I chose to not name the Great STAFF by name because to leave one out would be unfair, but trust me they are all great and seek to make a connection with the quality of service - from the bellboy ( don't know why they are called Boys they are MEN) to the concierge ( tip;; Beware of Marco .. he will try to sell you a resort next door but its easy to just say No ) to the front desk and the Bar servers ( noticed they are all MEN no ladies in the bar - made me curious ) and then there's the sky bar with the top shelf liquor - BOY!!! that was a Bar with a view and their hors d'oeuvres assortment was great. They also readily provide water so its a myth that you only get 2 bottles The Hotel is located waling distance to the famous MALECON, there was something happening every day and every night there was nightclubs that one could patron and we had fun regardless of the age in our party of 6. The food on the streets is great and there's safety from my perspective, we walked on the street daily at all times of the day and night and felt no harassment - Vendors open early and late into the night so its up to you. We went to the FLEA market - its not really a flea market like we know it to be, but its an assortment of vendors with no permanent stations so to speak but the experience was unique. We got to try the taxi - easy - no hustle and then of course UBER was easy and we used it often. it was 45 pesos to the Malecon drop off spot. (used that after having 1 too many to drink )

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great 4 star hotel

    Reviewed by etsu2013(Sydney, Australia) on Jun 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Have activities throughout the day and a performer at night. The hotel has an ala carte restaurant with a few options for each course with limited spaces at 6.30 ,7 . 30 and 8. 30. You need to book 24 hours in advance. They have a good breakfast buffet with a wide selection of dishes. I recommend the green breakfast juice. Itâ??s healthy and tastes sweetish. If they ask you to attend a presentation about the hotel next store itâ??s a timeshare presentation that goes on and on so if unsure give it a miss. It is in a good location. I attended an excellent yoga session one morning.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX