Friendly Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Not enjoyable

    Reviewed by Trewett on Mar 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was a disappointment as a 4star resort. Dated , HARD BEDS , poor service to fix ac that didn?t work. No room services. Food ok but not great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    G

    Absolutely amazing and now with the upgrades going to be even more amazing.

    Reviewed by Gramma of 4 on Feb 05, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have been to the friendly numerous times. This will be our 20th stay. We go for our anniversary every year. They are amazing. The best hotel we have ever stayed at. Never ever had a problem with anything.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Enjoyed our stay!

    Reviewed by Rcklys on Dec 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Is a smaller resort that is easy to get around. Staff always very helpful, especially if you offer some small incentives(min. Wage is only 90 pescos/day). Rooms always clean along with all common areas. Pools and beach area well attended. Only issues we had were the fact that our kids are older teens and could only use the ?kids? pool even though adult pools weren?t overly used. But the kids pool wasn?t overly crowded so not a big deal. Food at the buffets and restaurants all very similar and not a lot of variety throughout the week, food could be warmer as well. All rooms except 1st floor of tower have a view of beach/pool.Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    Everything is great here

    Reviewed by Arlene on Oct 25, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    It was so good we are coming back this winter. There was nothing we did not like. We have another couple coming this year. Entertainment, food and staff were awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Loved our stay

    Reviewed by David on Nov 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The service is excellent and there is a variety of food. Plenty of night activity and something for everyone, if you wish to get involved and if you don't that's OK to. Would highly recommend going to Friendly as we plan on going again soon. Remember to keep in mind what you are there for and it will be very easy to overlook the minor stuff, which there really is not much of. Ask for Double Double when requiring a drink, great personality, as are all the staff. Tip the staff for their service, keeping in mind what they make, you wouldn't regret it and they appreciate the acknowledgement You will not be disappointed and if you are, what can I say. David Alberta Canada

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    We loved our time at the Friendly! Plan to be back this year.

    Reviewed by Kathy and Norm Horne on Mar 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We travelled from Saskatoon to Puerto Vallarta and stayed at the Friendly Vallarta for two weeks from December 7 to December 21. We were absolutely astounded at the friendliness of the staff during our stay. They went out of their way to try and accommodate all of our requests; from the people at the front desk to the waiters, bartenders, and housekeeping staff. We found the hotel to be clean and the staff were always cleaning, polishing and improving the resort. The meals were very good, especially in the a la carte restaurant. The evening activities were all very enjoyable, the beach was beautiful, and downtown Puerto Vallarta was just a short bus or cab ride away. We are planning a trip again this December and are definitely going to book into Friendly Vallarta again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    we loved our stay, staff very friendly and resort extremely clean

    Reviewed by Barry on Mar 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I spend two weeks a Friendly and we found almost everything just excellent. The accommodations were extremely clean, the staff the same very friendly , the food was very good and the specialty restaurant was outstanding as was the staff. Activities for both children and adults alike were just great, and over all the whole experience was very enjoyable, we would certainly go back to this resort again - and the price was right. West Jet was also extremely efficient and helpful - having staff to meet you at the airport, direct to transportation to take you to your resort and at the end ensure you are picked up and returned to the airport. A brief orientation was most beneficial and all in all just great

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Don't expect much!

    Reviewed by Phil T. on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at the Friendly Vallarta for 10 days beginning on Feb. 20, 2015. Their website states that this is a 5 star hotel. It is not. There are no room amenities worth mentioning. The food is bland and I often thought that I was eating leftovers. The Gourmet restaurant was nice but certainly not gourmet. Wine served in the restaurants was marginal at best. WestJet states that the All Inclusive price included gratuities. If you think that is true then you will not be served. Planning to leave a gratuity for maid service at the end of our stay, we left nothing each day as we headed out to the beach. By the fourth day we were without washcloths and bathmat. A healthy tip the next morning restored service. Many guests went to the beach with rolls of American ones, to give to servers for their free drinks, umbrellas and loungers. The lobby reeks of cigarette smoke and is often filled with drunken guests smoking and drinking. Is this a place for kids? The worst part was the poor value tours offered through WestJet by Timon Tours to various local sights. The sights were great. But the prices were unpublished and only determined when one talked to a local rep. Could the prices change from guest to guest? Who knows? All prices are in $US which is strange for a Canadian company in Mexico. WestJet used to be great. After this trip, I have lots of stories to counter that thought.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4371 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Food is terrible. If your not going with the all included and you can get to eat outside then is ok.

    Reviewed by Oleg C() on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Food is terrible. If your not going with the all included and you can get to eat outside then is ok. Also an outsider tried to open my room. The door was forced so they had to relocate me to another room

    Beautiful area

    Reviewed by Tour40068322793(Hesperia, California) on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very Beautiful area. Friendly staff. The food is delicious. And the bar service is good. Pools and jacuzzi are also very clean. Very close to malls and the malecon is only about a 10 minute drive away.

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Fidel M() on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Loved the open bar, the pool party, the atention and the food. The location is excellent, I had the pleasure to visit La Isla shopping mall, very close, and have an amazing view to the sea. Loved the rooms too.

    Excellent service

    Reviewed by SIMONDEJA B() on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was a wonderful experience that you should really try,The cheerleaders Keren an Nataly are very kind people, all the food we're amazing, and the beach parties were always amazing, so I invite you to come a feel the experiences

    Chef who specializes in Gluten Free meals

    Reviewed by Linda S(Surrey, Canada) on Jul 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Juan, Chef at the Friendly Vallarta Beach Resort and Spa – Puerto Vallarta, Mexico My expectations were not only met, they were surpassed when Chef Juan was chosen to take care of all my Gluten Free meals while I vacationed at the Friendly Vallarta in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Juan takes great pride and care when creating many very tasty gluten free meals and snacks. He is a very dedicated, reliable, friendly, caring and kind individual. He checked in with me on a daily basis to talk about what I’d like to eat each day, and then he would create an amazing meal. His meals were exquisite and top notch! He cares about ensuring that I am happy and enjoying my food. I highly recommend Juan as your Gluten Free Chef while you vacation at the Friendly Vallarta Hotel in Puerto Vallarta.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX