Meliá Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    Will never return!

    Reviewed by Jeanne Phair on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only good thing about this hotel was location and staff. The hotel is in serious need of updating. Upon opening the door to our garden view room we detected a horrible smell like sewer. Furniture was old, lumpy pillows. View was right into a large palm tree. We upgraded to an ocean view room which was much better. Buffet food was absolutely terrible with same stuff two nights in a row. Coffee was served lukewarm which meant it cooled off quickly, same with tea. Beach could use better maintenance. Pool furniture old and many covered with bird droppings. Music was too loud around the pool. The loud music from the theatre was tolerable because it ended at 10.00pm, however the loud music from the lobby lounge started at 10 and went until 1:00am which I did complain about to desk. The constant thumping of the base drum was horrible and kept us awake.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    R

    We will NOT Return to this run-down over-rated hotel!

    Reviewed by Ron Kellington on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    This is a bad hotel. The only redeeming thing was that we were part of a 40+ group at a wedding here. The wedding turned out really well. The company/family reunion of sorts was good. The All Inclusive wine is HORRIFIC! The food is so-so. The rooms stink. The AC doesn?t work. Room Service has a cost. A La Carte restaurants are bad. This isn"t just my opinion. Everyone in our group who has been to Mexico more than once will NOT be returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Good place, not recommended for single/party crowd though

    Reviewed by Bravo on Feb 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Nice, clean hotel with good service and great pool. Food not very good but in line with what one would expect. A la carte meals where better, but not lively events. Evening shows were popular and quite impressive. Not much night life aside from that, no on site disco. Location is good, minutes from airport, walking distance from good golf course, and across the road from marina restaurants and shops, and a top notch "dance" club. The demographic of this was resort was lots of families with kids, lots of younger couples, and lots of older couples, very few young people looking to party. About 30 min cab to downtown party area. Would go back, but will likely go elsewhere next time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Such a wonderful time there that I'm already looking into returning next year!

    Reviewed by A. Turner on Feb 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    I absolutely loved every minute of our stay there. I thought the hotel was charming - I loved the big open air lobby with all the greenery. The outdoor walkways with the overhanging trees and ponds with koi, turtles and ducks were gorgeous during the day and enchanting during the evening. The staff was exceptional - friendly, attentive and the service was great. Yes, the hotel may be a bit older, but the rooms were immaculate, as was every part of the hotel. The beach was clean, as was the pool area - staff were constantly cleaning - all hours of the day and night to keep things spotless. There were many selections at the buffet and the restaurants had very fine dining. We enjoyed the live shows that were held each night as well. I had not been away on a vacation in a very long time and am looking forward to returning to this resort next year. It was a wonderful experience!! Thank you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4875 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not a 4 star hotel pick another one

    Reviewed by aemoon4() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Old hotel needs renovations badly and more staff. Food was bland, not hot, you had to make reservations for the restaurants a la carte and they would not have availability even though when you walk in front of them they were almost empty, I couldn’t try the Azulejos one because of that and also because the reservation has to be done in person starting at 10am in a desk, so if you’re planning on doing any type of activity during your morning you’re not going to be able to make a reservation so you’ll end up eating at the buffet every day.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-2

    STAY AWAY BETTER OPTIONS ELSEWHERE!

    Reviewed by Emontes0213(Chicago, Illinois) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were supposed to get ocean front rooms and we booked well ahead of time to our surprise we didn’t get what we were promised! Customer service was rude and obnoxious, when we addressed the problems we had, instead of finding a resolution they just ignore us. We tried to make the best of it since our entire family was here. We arrived to our room and they were old and stuffy. The ac did not work properly half the time even when they apparently fixed it. Little did I know that the worst part still had to come – the “good night of sleep” that I was looking forward to quickly evolved in some sort of nightmare. As soon as I switched off the light, My daughter yelled and said she heard squeaky sound that reminded her of a mouse we turn the lights on in a panic, and we encounter rats in our room! We went downstairs to the VIP club to let them know we had rats and mouse droppings everywhere and were told that we could eat for free, we kindly declined! They look as if this was no surprise to them. I had high hopes for this place but was left bummed out. Will not come back to this resort or reccomend it. However Puerto Vallarta is beautiful and the weather is amazing. We Uber everywhere they were very convenient and safe. We will come back to Puerto Vallarta, but we will never return to Meliá changes need to be made!

    Club Melia Members Horrible Experience

    Reviewed by Experience96695(Puerto Vallarta, Mexico) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    All I can say is that Club Melia Corporate office will be receiving a very disappointing email. We became Melia Club members in 2009 and purchased 88,000 options which is a platinum membership. When sales associates for Melia want you to purchase time shares, they will hunt you down, wine and dine you and even make sure that everything in the rooms is up to Melia standards. So once we purchased our memberships I expect to get the same type of treatment, the VIP treatment. My family trips consist of 4-16 members each year, this year our party consisted of 12 people and we chose Puerto Vallarta since we were here last year and loved it. The city is beautiful and will be coming back next year for sure, but WILL NEVER EVER STAY WITH MELIA again. From the day we checked in we had issues with the VIP staff. The staff assured us that that our rooms had a beach front view, but of course they didn’t. We had an ant problem which was never fixed and a different room was never offered. As matter of fact our ant problem only got worse by the day, by the third day our room was filled with ants all over the room, including the bathroom, the kitchen and sleeping area as well. My wife spoke to the Supervisor José Luis Cantu who assured her that he would send someone right away. We waited in the room for about 1.5 hours and no one showed up to take care of the problem. We left the room because our family had zzzzzplans, we came back at approximately 3 pm and went directly to speak to the Supervisor José Luis Cantu who was very rude and stated to my wife “someone went to your room at 11am and took care of the problem” and proceeded to turn away from my wife. Once in the room we noticed that the room had not been cleaned and all the ants were still in the room. We reserved Bali Beds and I personally confirmed the beds with the staff. The next day we walked to the Bali beds and noticed that someone had taken them because the staff failed to reserved them with our names. We really stop asking anyone for anything to be done in our rooms because even the supervisor seemed like they could care less if we were having issues. We had to to keep walking to the front desk pretty much every day to get our door keys reprogrammed in order to open our rooms. This hotel, by far, has been the worse hotel offered by Club Melia. Melia Puerto Vallarta pretty much makes me regret spending all that money on our membership. I can deal with a hotel that needs minor repairs and updating, but I cannot deal with rude staff or people that do not care about their customers. And to top it off on my last night we encounter a “fear factor” size cockroach right outside our room which I have uploaded photos. All I can say is that we are very glad that we did not purchase the All Inclusive option because it was cheaper to eat outside the hotel and the food was much better and we got to explore the city. I suggest that everyone visit Puerto Vallarta it’s a beautiful city, but please stay somewhere else.

    Mixed feelings...

    Reviewed by velazquinho(Leon, Mexico) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Here goes my review for an all-inclusive resort: Rooms. Spacious, old furniture, ok beds. Shower did not work properly one night. Food. Hit and miss. Lots of great stuff and some very bland flavors in many, specially the burgers and pizzas. The best meal at the Vitrales restaurant (reservation needed). Mixed Beverages were not that good so had to stick to beer. Not a lot of selection for Pool snacks. Service. As usual in Mexican resorts, pretty good and attentive. Hotel premises. The hotel seems a bit outdated, 80’s style but in great condition overall. They could improve the sun shade area at the beach, it is pretty small. For an all inclusive hotel that wants to stand out from the rest they should avoid the plastic Tecate Chairs, makes it look cheap!

    Really old rooms!

    Reviewed by Denise0422() on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Overall experience wasn’t good...we paid extra to have ocean view and what we got was mostly garden view, the ocean was about half a mile away. Food was mediocre, seems like we had the same thing daily. Pool closes at 8pm, but the pools bar closes at 6pm...so if you want another drink, you’ll have to walk dripping wet all the way to the bar upstairs which makes absolutely no sense.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX