Plaza Pelicanos Grand Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    T

    Amazing relaxing vacation!!

    Reviewed by Truus on May 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had an amazing relaxing vacation. We felt so welcome. Everyone was so friendly. The food was great. The views, especially from the roof top bar were amazing. We will go back!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3040 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    7th year at Pelicanos

    Reviewed by owenjmcarter(Hamilton, Canada) on Jul 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great resorts with an amazing staff, from Artaimeo who greets us to Victor in the Bar and Mary Reyes who arranges our stay the staff is amazing. PV is a great spot to travel to very safe with lots of great places to shop eat or play, and lots of great areas to travel to that are not far away. And finally you have to love leaving the airport and being at your resort within 15 minutes

    Great family vacation spot in Mexico

    Reviewed by shiplej(Kansas City, Missouri) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort combines beautiful surroundings with extremely friendly staff at an affordable price. Walking distance to the Boardwalk and lots of day adventures. All inclusive packages are available and are well worth it. This place seem to attract very friendly travelers from around the world.

    Needs tlc

    Reviewed by Connector07192085619() on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort its self is amazing the staff are super friendly helpful and hospitality is awesome they make you feel important. The activity's are great the buildings and the rooms need a little tlc some cracks on the ceiling wall and some of the cabinets can be updated overall a great place

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wanted to love this place, but...

    Reviewed by pjsurfs() on May 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Let me start by stating I have never written a bad review for a vacation stay, but I am at the end of my rope trying to resolve a billing issue that occured 2 months ago. The stay was fantastic and I really wanted to recommend the Grand Pelicanos to friends & family, even making a return trip again. Upon check in at the hotel I was unable to bring the credit card that was used to make the online reservation- which was paid in full. I was asked by the front desk to pay in full with another credit card and my initial payment would be credited and this would NOT be a problem. It is now 65 days and counting, countless phone calls and I now have to dispute the charges with my credit card company to resolve this issue. I have spent hours on the phone to be told I would receive an email and see a credit on my account. Come on it is not that hard to refund a credit card, but the worst part is the constant lying that I will receive an email within 24 hours showing that a refund has been issued. I now will never return or recommend this place. Please be aware of this as it is beyond frustrating, not to mention the amount of time it has taken me to resolve something that is an easy fix. Whatever happened to the days of good customer service? I guess they don't care about return visits or recommendations!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by Kim B(Eugene, Oregon) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our stay here was the last 4 days of our 11 day trip to Puerto Vallarta. We moved here after a stay at Sunset Plaza (amazing). Upon check in the front desk people were not the usual friendly staff you find. We were just handed keys and towel cards. Then we went to the lady to help us with our stay, she knew we had moved over, so we didn't get the whole spiel. That was nice. I inquired about all inclusive and was told I had to do that at front desk. There was no mention upon check in. We were then taken to our room. It was on the 2nd floor and noisy. It felt as if the people in the pool were looking straight in our room. We called down to the desk and asked to be moved. It took 3 people to figure that out. We were moved 2 floors up. This started our trip out not so great. I am an owner with the Plaza Vacation club, and would of expected a little more. The next morning my husband noticed that his headgear from his c-pap had bled a little color on the pillow case. He has worn this for over 10 years and we have never experienced this before. All I could think of was that the chemicals they used to clean the linens reacted when he was sweating that night. He is a big sweater... Later that day we returned to our room and found that the maid had taken the pillow case of and left it folded on the dresser. While getting ready later we decided to turn on the TV, which we had watched the night before and it did not come on... I suggested it might be unplugged, sure enough. Very strange because we found the bolster pillow from the bed behind it. This left us with a very uneasy feeling. What had the maid been up to? Later that evening the phone rang and I was confronted by a manager telling me the maid had said we had left a dirty blanket. I said no. He kept going on about a blanket. I told him it was a pillow case, and it had been caused by my husband's medical device. He said we would have to pay for it. A cheap quality white pillowcase that I'm sure it would wash out. He became quite agitated with our conversation and said never mind and hung up. Day 2 of our stay and only getting worse. At this point we were very uneasy and decided to leave the do not disturb on our door the rest of the time. This was my 3rd stay at Pelicanos and you do need to know that there is a strong smell in the rooms. I'm not sure if its because it's old and damp or if its what they use to clean. I did feel it was a strong ammonia smell. The place is clean and well kept. We did not find much of the staff friendly with the exception of the bell boys. It was our 3rd day at the pool before we were asked if we needed anything. Most of the food is pretty good, but if you want a really good meal and wonderful service eat at the dinner only restaurant that you have to make a reservation at. Again I'm an owner with the Plaza group at Sunset and this hotel is a perk. We managed to make the best out of our last few days. Since the stay was not what we hoped for, so we used our time to explore a bunch of the restaurants and services near bye. We ate at Mama Rita's pizza a couple of times and a couple other places out front. There are a lot of amenities located just outside including $20 massages. The place I go to I have been visiting for the last several year and really enjoy. It's been 4 days since I have returned. I decided to wait on my review to see if I still felt as negative. I do.. I probably will never stay at Plaza Pelicanos again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX