whala!bavaro

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    We truly enjoyed our trip and stay at the Whala Bavaro and the WestJet staff are the best

    Reviewed by Jack on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The vacation package was great. The locals were very warm and friendly, Staff looked after us with great respect couldn't ask for any thing more, Check in was quick and easy. We only had one bad experiance " Do Not Order The Lobster Special Dinner It is unacceptable and uneatable

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Wonderful Week at the Whala

    Reviewed by NSJanet on May 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Stayed at Whala the first week of April to celebrate my birthday; we had no issues with the hotel. We stayed in the suite section at the back, no issues with the room. Bar service is hit and miss, coffee is terrible not Dominican coffee but drinkable. Food is basic but good, hotel is only 147 rooms so there is not a big selection but you will not go hungry. Beach is a short stroll down the street. If you are used to 5* treatment and 5* resorts this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a basic hotel with good food, no loud entertainment to annoy you and want a quiet place to relax and meet new friends around the pool this is the location for you. We would return and would recommend the Whala without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    W

    We love the Dominican People but the resort needs some better organisation

    Reviewed by Wolfgang : Halifax N.S. on Apr 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My Wife and I went for 10 days to the Whala Bavaro Resort The customer service Roberto and Jose were very helpful and very efficient ! Our Maid Carmen a very pleasant hard working women and helpful to . In the buffet and in the bar a very happy and helpful waiter is Julius,always on his toes to please the guests. The bad : The coffee was the worst we ever had in any resort in the Dominican Republic and we were 18 times visiting other resorts. Overall it is a small quiet place and the price was not bad. But we would not recommend it to any of my friends. And we would not return to this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    5

    Website misrepresents Hotel - Did not believe bad reviews. Check out travellers pics instead of stars - my new lesson learned.

    Reviewed by 50 in the DR on Mar 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst hotel I have been to in 20 years. My passion is the DR!! Travelled with a family of 6 adults. HAD to change rooms for unsafe or unsanitary reasons 3 times and only on the 4th day after they insisted they had no rooms or wanted funds for an upgrade. Drippings from the ceiling-still don't know if condensation, air conditioner or toilet water. Had no phones in the rooms, so could not contact front desk or people we were travelling with. No entertainment at all-could be my mistake, thought I read there was. I have never met a Dominican that could not look me in the eye...I did this trip. Instead of admitting to the issues and trying to find a work around, they ignored you told you to come back hours later, days, later, then changed shifts...it was a game to them to survive all the complaining. I finally asked for our WestJet rep, who admitted issues with hotel and tried very hard to accommodate...but still 4 days later. We were only there for 7 . False advertising on the website: This hotel charges for their better rums - found out the hard way. 6 shots Anjero Rum 22 USD. Go offsite to BAM and purchase a large bottle for $16USD Bar is only open 10 AM to 11 PM = this is not an all inclusive-nor does their site give the hours. You pay for what you want after 11 pm - which is there disco on the beach. They give towels out only Monday-Wednesday and Friday's. Very low on loungers everywhere. The coffee really is a coffee machine, and there is no real juice's or tomatoe for Red Eye's-SAD. Saw a rat near the buffet tables and pool, yep no lie. Heard of 1 inch thick bodice spiders in other rooms by two different people...but I personally did not see them. Do have salt water showers!! First time for me. Did not have hot water twice - but not an issue for me. Did not have water once - said the pump broke - can happen. Upon leaving they had sewage issues - explained the week Positives: Food is tasty, you won't starve. Only 1 fish one meat selection daily.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 139 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Would return

    Reviewed by _Heart13S(California) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed for three nights, and overall we loved this hotel, me and my boyfriend enjoyed a great trip, and we really would love to return soon. So our bedroom was very modern and very big, the mattress was soft and comfortable, slept like an angel every night, not a single noise coming from the outdoors or hallways. Eating at the hotel was a pleasure, the food was great everywhere, and the breakfast had a lot to offer, and we never had to wait to be seated. Pools are very clean, felt comfortable walking shoe-less around all the premises actually, its quite spotless. The hotel has it all.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Spring break

    Reviewed by ElenaGromis(Columbus, Ohio) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at the Whala! hotel for spring break at the very end of March into beginning of April. I can attest that the hotel looks just like in the photos, new and very clean. The staff were the best by far, every morning would greet us with "good morning mam" and every after everything would always say "its my pleasure to help mama" I mean, the staff are really well trained, better than in some 5 star hotels. Also the beach, the drinks, the food, the area are all amazing, very good location too, we got lucky as we didnt really think we would be leaving the hotel so we didnt look into the location really, but we did end up going out for dinner one night and it was fast and not too expensive to get around. We would defiantly return again to this resort, great staff, thank you!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Sea View rooms are much nicer.

    Reviewed by Nancy L(Oklahoma) on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent room in new block. Older part also looked good but if you can afford it we totally recommend the sea view rooms! Amazing views, gorgeous interior and on the roof there’s a pool and bar which is a perfect spot to take in the view with a cocktail or cool down in the pool. The staff were good at making you feel at home and we spent most of our time in the hotel rather than outside which is what we usually do. Guess that says a lot in itself about how nice the hotel is. Food and drinks were good quality too and the beach was picturesque. Loved every minute!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Mrs 0

    Reviewed by Trina T() on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for 10 days ! Probably had 2 nights decent sleep in all . Arrived late in the evening to be checked into a room that hadn’t been cleaned ! Back down to reception again the room was not like any photo on there web site dated and bathroom awful , asked to be move ,was shown another room apparently a superior room ! It was ground floor and over looked the noisy flooded road that smelt of sewage ! This road is a problem it really never dried out the whole time ! I asked nicely as it was our first wedding anniversary if we could have a ocean view to be told $ 300 it would cost ! Julio said rudely they were running a business he is lacking in customers service !! We paid got the room it was a nice room but had issues and for the extra money I don’t expect that !! Shower was broken , draws were broken, the bed broke , only 4 hangers in wardrobe, the water is so salty you can’t bare washing in it ! The drains smell as well ! The noise level in the new building is terrible! People slamming doors , shouting at 4 am musics playing till 630 am ! Then the maid starts banging about ! I’m looking forward to a decent sleep at home and hair wash ! After unpacking we just thought to get on with it ! A few points Don’t expect to have clear beach and water !it’s full of seaweed ! Although the staff are great at raking it up all morning ..but it’s in the sea all round your feet ! Also the noise from the party boats starts at 10ish they seem to be in competition who can play the loudest music ! And the smell of the diesel isn’t very nice ! The security is good in the hotel guards on day and night ! The bar staff at the beach bar are helpful Elizebeth and Eddie stand out Elias very good at managing. The hotel is clean , our maid did a good job . The food is ok plenty of choice ! I would suggest they need a extra chef on the grill section. The pools are well maintained and always a sun lounger ! Paid $85 for the steak meal with wine it was a nice experience cooked well ,the chef and Elias came to check it was all correct a nice touch ! There is a problem with the road outside the main hotel it was flooded the whole time not nice when you are trying to walk from the beach to the restaurant and it smells ! This is not a 4 star more a 3 but good for the money I suppose!

    Adequate

    Reviewed by Jezeroo() on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Punta Cana was not what I expected, not a dazzling Caribbean gem and not quite a paradise beach. The hotel was ok, food was ok, staff generally very pleasant and helpful. Our visit didn’t start well with our room not being ready for us on arrival, i.e it was still not cleaned from the last occupant. The reception staff didn’t sort it out as quickly as I liked and generally rubbed me up. The replacement room offered was not what we wanted and in the end we upgraded to the beach front rooms. This was great as the view was excellent and allowed us to have the pick of the beach beds each day. The room was large enough and clean and tidy. There were a few things that needed fixing, ie the bed broke and the shower head was broken on arrival but these were fixed immediately. I found the room noisy for me with external and internal noises that woke me. The balcony light only goes off automatically at approx 4 in the morning. This once again was a problem There was a fair amount of seaweed in the sea that ruined the swimming experience, not anything that the hotel could control and their staff did a brilliant job each day taking it up off the beach Food was generally ok, we spoke to other travellers who rated the food highly to other hotels they had stayed at in PuntaCana. Service could have been improved by having two chefs constantly on the hot grill section where the main guy did a great job juggling the cooking of pasta up for individuals alongside grilling meats / fish and carving roasted meats WiFi was hit and miss! Value for money even with the upgrade cost. Would I return? No

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX