Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa
    6. Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Would not recommend it

    Reviewed by Blues traveller on Feb 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Single

    Very pretty resort and immaculate grounds but once you scratch the surface not so great. Food was mediocre, leaking air conditioner dripping water on floor and created big puddle of water on floor in middle of night, room smelled like mould. Super noisy pool with staff using microphone all day for activities. Super uncomfortable poolside chairs (unless you have a membership- beware the concierge will try to refer you to their salespeople). Other pool did not have enough loungers and they did not fully recline. Very family oriented and might be ok for families.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    Y

    Lots to see and do!

    Reviewed by Yvonne on Apr 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We enjoyed our stay. Beautiful resort and always clean. Food was not as good as at other resorts we have been to. Beach is great for snorkeling but not a typical beach that many would prefer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    l

    Would not return to this resort!

    Reviewed by lynn on Jan 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Outdated rooms, short staffed around pool areas, hounded to do time share seminar, no carts available unless you were a Premium club member.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    j

    well compare every other resort to this one! and well keep coming back

    Reviewed by joe on Aug 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    we been to many places over the last 10 years and have come back to this resort as it is a 4+ resort and no other in mexico can campare for the value, the rooms, the spa, the douphins, the entertainment all top notch, great family and adult spots.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Loved the lazy river!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Lazy River, nice renovated rooms - nautical feel - not all rooms are renovated so put a request in! I would totally recommend this resort for first time travel to the Mexican Riviera.... you won't be disappointed

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Amazing! Can't wait for my third visit to this resort.

    Reviewed by Sisters on Feb 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Amazing. Have visited twice. Can't wait to visit again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Would recommend this resort.

    Reviewed by Ty on May 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    We recently travelled to this resort with 20 family members for my daughter's 10th anniversary vow renewal. We had a wonderful time! The staff were very accommodating, from the moment we checked in until we left. The servers in the restaurants were extremely attentive and the buffet servers were surprisingly wonderful, in particular Ramon Renterio who looked after us the 3 nights we had dinner in the buffet. My wife has mobility problems and when she had selected her food, he took it and escorted her back to our table and held her chair for her. Wonderful! The rooms were large and well appointed and were cleaned spotless every day. The bartenders at the pool bar, although very busy, did a great job of keeping everyone well served, including the youngsters who got a charge out of ordering their drinks just like the adults and the bartenders did not ignore them at all. All in all, from a service perspective, this was a great vacation. However, there were a few minor negatives. First of all, this resort is very large and spread over a huge area. The venues are spread out and for the elderly and those with mobility problems it was difficult because, although there is a shuttle service, there are not enough shuttles and therefore its hard to plan activities with other family members when you cannot be sure of getting to a particular venue at a specific time. Secondly, although there are several al la carte restaurants for which you must make reservations, it is difficult to book more than 1 or 2 couples because of limited space. The Japanese restaurant has only 32 seats and is one of the more popular and we were unable to book it. Lastly, a few members of our group went on an excursion off the resort and were over 2 hours late getting back and no one at the front desk could help us. Their answer was to call our tour rep, who had left for the day. The resort should have a contact number for the bus driver when guests leave on a booked excursion.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    We loved our stay except for the beds and pillows and the smoking!!!!

    Reviewed by L on Feb 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    First of all I want to start by saying the staff at the Hotel were excellent, hard working, polite and top notch. The hotel and its grounds were very nice. The food was just average because it was usually was cold to luke warm, things like fish were swimming in sauces, lots of the meats were undercooked and bland dishes. Their barbecued hamburgers on the beach were very good. We really missed fresh fish, shrimp and seafoods. The hotel rooms were beautiful but the hugest problem was the very, very, poor, uncomfortable beds and pillows, if you can even call them that. We asked for more pillows and were there for 12 days but never ever got them. My husband snores so he had his own bed and his was like a canoe! It had huge stains on it and a skimpy mattress pad, mine was just as bad and my sister and her husband had a king bed and they said there was a huge ridge in the middle and it it was hard and like a canoe on both sides of the bed, pillows were also flat and tiny. The housekeeping staff was excellent! We also were disappointed that they allowed smoking all over the hotel and on the grounds. First thing we smelled when we arrived in the lobby was cigarette smoke. We could not even enjoy hanging around the bar and watching the entertainment in the lower lobby areas because of the smoke. The beach should also offer a smoke free area, nothing is more disgusting then being on the beach trying to enjoy the fresh air and being forced to smell and breathe in someone else's bad habit of smoking. We saw small children playing in the sand and their parents trying to keep the garbage from the cigarette butts out of their mouths, yuck! thank you!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16964 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing experience, recommended!

    Reviewed by Mavi M() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved it, everyone is kind and helpful! Danna from the members club crew was attentive. The room was great. The food was always fresh and delicious. Amenities were available most of the time and the staff was friendly.

    Wish I was back there already!!

    Reviewed by 267nathanr() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I really don't know where to start with this review, as everything was just Amazing about it. This was my second time to Mexico, but first time to this resort with my Girlfriend. Arrival 4/5: From the minute we arrived we were welcomed with a cocktail. This at the time seemed a bit long winded, as they gathered everyone from the coach in the lobby for a 'sit down' chat. This just went over the hotel, what's on offer, where things like the buffet is etc. Having then realized there were a good 20-30 people from our bus, I can see why doing it in a group was more time saving than explaining this for every couple / Family when collecting your room key. Rooms / Accommodation 5/5 : We got a golf buggy to our room, and shown where some of the key locations were by the driver. (Entertainment, Sky Bar, Buffets, Pools & restaurants etc.) Once in our room, we were immediately amazed by the cleanliness and size of the room, and the complimentary beer in the fridge was opened straight away. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels replaced. Swimming Pools 5/5: There are 3 pools in total. One relaxing pool, & two activity pools. We stayed around the Main activity one by the Brazilian Restaurant which had a great atmosphere. The pool bar opened around 10am everyday, and was open until 6pm. The bar staff were great. Two bar staff served to your sunbeds which was quite nice. Drinks take a little longer this way, but they work relentlessly providing a great service all day! The Lazy River is also close by to the pools, and makes a nice added feature to the hotel. You can go round on large rings, or without but is nice to take a cocktail / beer on and chill out as you slowly float around the grounds, with some of the amazing wildlife which is also on site and not shy to say show themselves. Entertainment Team 4/5: The entertainment team around the pool were great. There is a large range of activities so there is something for everyone. They all spoke fluent Spanish, English & French which catered for most. They were always trying to get you to do activities which sometimes got a bit annoying as you do want a restful break as well as occasionally take part. However can sometimes be a bit too pushy and try to pull you into the pool off your sunbed while you are reading or on your phone. I didn't mind this too much but some may get annoyed at this. Buffets & Restaurants 5/5: When it comes to food, you're spoiled for choice. There are two main buffet's for Breakfast lunch & dinner. Largest one in Mayan Lobby is also open until 6am, for those who arrive during the night or have had a heavy night drinking and fancy a snack after coco-Bongo's or the Disco-tech on site. There is a theme every night which is the main type of food for that night. IE Mexican, Spanish ETC. There is also your standard mix which will offer more than enough for everyone. Great variety of fresh salads & dips & fresh bread. The staff in the restaurant were great. So friendly and also very funny. Every time I went to the table they'd say 'hello mate' in the same cockney accent I have, which just makes you laugh and puts a smile on your face. They work relentlessly from the crack of dawn until late!! Topping up drinks without having to ask, and providing a quick service. A La Carte's 4/5: The a La Carte's are have mixed reviews. Whoever you speak to on your holiday will have their own opinion, so be open minded when choosing. There is Japanese which is by far the most popular. This is a show cooked meal by the chef & is very entertaining. BOOK AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE. There is also Mexican which is relatively average, Brazilian which is also Average. A steak house which is great, and then there is also Mediterranean, Italian & French (Extra charge for french). You get 3 a week, and the time table's are released each Wednesday and is booked through your Concierge at the bottom of the stairs by your room. My only recommendation is that the Brazilian just offers the same meat cooked in the buffet, but it's served on a skewer so was a bit pointless as it's not actually Brazilian meat. Only other pointer is that they take forever to sit you to your table, so you're always queuing outside for about 15 minutes.. So don't think the times you book it for are ever met. Bars 5/5: Pool bars as mentioned above were great. Service was brilliant. This service was also received from the staff within the sports bar underneath the lobbies, and also the sky bar which was great for some late evening entertainment. When busy service gets slow but it's expected. The sports bar was great. Had a large varierty of sports showing including golf, Hockey, And most importantly English Football. It's open from 10am ish, but if there's an early premier league game they tried to open it from kick off even if it was 7am Mexico time (12pm UK Time). There is also a coffee shop serving propper grounded coffee's like Costa/Starbucks opposite the A La Carte's. This is nice for a morning coffee. Finally there is a health Juice bar by the relaxing pool which offers a range of fruit smoothies which are freshly made in front of you. Beach 4/5: I'm really not sure what people are making such a fuss about. Yes there was some small amounts of sea weed, but the staff are working hard to clear this up. I didn't see or hear any noisy machines which made it too loud to sit near or not go to the beach for. Most of the sea weed was cleared up daily. The main part of the beach is difficult to get into from, as there is a bit of a reef as soon as you get in. I went in bare foot and got through fine, but it was a little sharp and also quite slippery so beach shoes are advisable. There is a clear entrance a little further round which is full of fish which swim right up to you.It's a lot more sandy and not stony or pebbly at all. There is another beach bar / BBQ Buffet which is great for a late breakfast or lunch. It' offers BBQ'd meat and has a great variety to offer considering it's relatively small. All in all a really nice beach, but I didn't spend much time here. Gym/Spa 4/5: I went to the gym three or four times over my stay and each time was well air conditioned. Equipment in the cardio area was well maintained, quite new and all in good working order. The weights side offered a large variety of weights, all labelled in LBs and well kept. The weights had some age to them, but done the job for what you need in a small holiday gym. We didn't use the spa as it runs separately from the hotel. It looked lovely and having I had a few more days I would have used it but we just ran out of time, and as an extra charge to just go in there for a sauna or steam, we chose excursions over this. Excursions: 5/5 - We went to Coco Bongo's booked via our operator, but there is a Bongo's rep at the hotel who offers the same, if not better deals to get into the club. I'd recommend for all ages up to 60's.. as it's quite busy and loud as it is essentially a club, but is an amazing cirque du soleil show with lots of film characters flying all over the place! Well worth a visit. All drink included again with brilliant bottomless drinks and service. Adult Luxury Catamaran Cruise - We went on a day which was very choppy, but had an amazing time. Unfortunately didn't get to go to the reefs for snorkelling, but this was as it was too dangerous to do which was well explained. Lots of drink available on board, and the cove bit was great where you get to paddle board. The on board photographer got some great snaps and you get them all emailed to you at the price of $40USD which isn't too bad. Emailed within a day or two. Again the service was excellent and having we didn't spend all of our cash on the photo's we'd have left a good tip! Akumal Beach Snorkelling - This was a great thing to do which we done outside of any of the excursions on offer. It cost us $20USD (each way!!!) for a 5 minute journey which seemed a bit steep, but once there was well worth it when we saw the paradise beach it was. We had to pay a $5USD entrance fee which was a government fee to protect the reefs. Seemed fairly official but was again CASH ONLY. Then we did the snorkelling which was $35USD each. For this we had a private guide for the two of us, snorkels and goggles. They took us out in a huge loop over an hour or so and showed us some great spots for turtles. stingrays and lots of coral fish. I recommend buying a waterproof phone pouch to allow you to take pictures and video's as it is really worthwhile. As an overall conclusion to the holiday - 5/5. We had an amazing time meeting some great people. The hotel staff were all on form and gave amazing service in all areas of the hotel. I would definitely go back for everything it had to offer, and would recommend this hotel / resort to anyone who is looking for a couples holiday, family holiday or is a little more elderly looking for a relaxing stay. Only other thing to note is there is a departure tax of £50GBP/$65USD when leaving. We were unaware until we arrived to the hotel, but is a 'good to know' before booking as it can add on more to the cost if you are on a budget or there are a lot of you. This is paid IN CASH on departure when checking in for the return flight.. and if you don't have cash they make you get it out at a cash machine.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing Resort

    Reviewed by funtraveler12345-() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Was an amazing experience! For the Tulum buffet Beto and Cuevas are amazing servers they treated us very well. They served closest to the left of the tulum buffet Beto right before the curtains! We travelled as a family of four and had no issues. Room was always stocked with drinks and snacks. Gualalupe was cleaning the room twice in a day and leaving the kids little treats. For aerobics Victor and Pamela were beyond amazing. They made the activities fun and enjoyable for everyone! The members only beach area was amazing and very peaceful the workers set up you’re towels for you and make sure you’re comfortable. Overall the workers at the resort were amazing, they were able to remember little details very clearly and would have certain things prepared to our liking without us even asking by day two! We will definitely be back sometime next year.

    3rd time and last

    Reviewed by Montrealchick_12(Laval, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our 3rd time visiting this resort, and unfortunately it will be our last. We travelled March 4th to March 12th, along with our 2 children, mother in law, and another family of 5 (it was their 4th time at this resort). What you need to know: This resort is HUGE. You will be doing lots of walking. There are shuttles, but the wait is long and it's quicker to just walk to where you want to go. The rooms have been updated since our last visit here, and the smell of mould is no longer lingering in the rooms, thank god. Each building has a "concierge" service, which means there are 2 guys sitting at a desk in your lobby waiting to help you book your restaurants. If you are staying 1 week, you get 3 restaurants. Good luck getting the Japanese. We were given the runaround with this restaurant from the 1st day we got there, saying it was closed for the week and come back in 2 days and we will book you for Sunday. Went back 2 days later and it was booked up. No way. One of our concierges in Building 12, Armando, was very arrogant and distincly gave us the impression that he didn't give a hoot whether we got a reservation there or not. Very disagreable person. We tried dealing with Jose any chance we could. Be warned, they will try to sell you time share visits. I was very clear from the beginning that i was NOT interested. Choice of restaurants are Brazilian (it was so-so for me but others enjoyed it), Mexican (very good), Japanese (very good, the best there), Steak House (we didn't try), Italian (very good), Thai (we didn't try, but last visit it wasn't good) and French. Please note that the French restaurant is extra charge (not included). We tried to get a reservation for my husband and I and they wanted to charge us $220 CDN dollars for a dinner that we couldn't see the menu before signing the credit card slip !!!!!! Be wary of these scams. We said no thank you and they were upset that we had changed our mind. Buffets are OK, but many days i ate chips and guacamole for lunch as there was nothing that seemed very appetitzing to me, but that is my own preferences. Others were happy with selections. Beach resto has a selection of hot dogs and hamburgers and other snacks such as fries and chicken nuggets. Beach : this was the biggest dissapointment for us. We have heard that the Caribbean was having a hard time with seaweed lately, and that was the case at this resort. The people try very hard to clear it, but there is so much of it that they needed to run generators to pump out water from the ocean that would then filter the seaweed and they would rake it up in a pile and then have a tractor come and shovel it into a truck. I can't express how LOUD these machines are and you couldn't sit anywhere near them on the beach unless you wanted to hear that all day. They seemed to work from Monday to Thursday and quieted down on the weekend though, but still unpleasant. As for the ocean, if you DID try to go in, your feet will get ripped up from all the coral/rocks in the water - bring watershoes !!! some good snorkelling off the beach - kids and hubby went and saw stingrays and a turtle and plenty of fish. as for the rest of the beach, plenty of shaded huts and chairs, but the beach is very thin on sand, so hard on the feet. you couldn't really sink your feet into the sand. Shows were mediocre. They try hard, but fall short. tons of activities in the daytime to keep you busy, from bingo, to spanish lessons, archery, yoga, mini put competitions, bag throwing, dance lessons, etc. kids really enjoyed that aspect. Lazy river was by far our favorite thing to do many many times a day. Staff work very hard, and overall are friendly. though in some spots you get the distinct feeling that they are laughing at you when you turn your back. This was backed up by some other travellers i spoke to. Something might have been going around the resort, my son was sick overnight and into the next day (vomiting and diahrea and fever) and one of my friend's sons was sick as well the previous day. Another family we spoke to said her 3 kids had been sick as well. I think it must be very hard to keep such a large resort free of germs, with so many people handling things, so just be wary what you touch, don't drink the tap water, etc. I've travelled alot in the last 20 years and i'd say that the quality of the staff felt unprofessional here. Weather was beautiful every day and very HOT ! Bring lots of sunscreen ! Overall i would rate this hotel a 4. I think most people would enjoy it, my kids didn't want to leave, but for a 3rd visit, it fell short pretty much everywhere. With so many resorts in the Caribbean, we are going to discover some new ones. Go with an open mind and you might be pleasantly surprised !

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    This resort is okay

    Reviewed by NurseLiLi(Chicago, Illinois) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort is okay. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WANT TO SNORKEL OFF THE BEACH AT YOUR RESORT! I read many reviews of different resorts in this area and supposedly there was great snorkeling off the beach. The beach is rocky and the water is too rough to see anything. While snorkeling is Akumal bay is amazing, it is about 10 min from the resort. We met some people from Grand Bahai Principe and they were shocked and said snorkeling off the beach was good. Positive: Reception staff is very helpful Servers were amazing Beautiful grounds Lazy river is beautiful Clean room Nice beach Whirlpool bath Italian ala carte restaurant was really good! Many large pools Swim up bar for water and non-alcoholic drinks as well as regular drinks. Wildlife Nightly shows Market place held once a week Ice cream bar Dolphin discovery on site with free daily shows Bell services were prompt and helpful Negative: Supposedly they have a shuttle which we waited for 30 minutes and we're passed by about 10 other shuttles which we were told we couldn't take because they were for members. Shuttles were everywhere and you had to get off the path or get run over. At least 3-5 large golf cart type shuttles passed no matter where we walked and we would stop and get off the path so they could speed by. There were a few times when small children almost got hit because the carts are quiet. Signage was awful. There were always people looking at maps and we got lost a few times at night. Some areas are not well lit at night. Food was not good at buffet Very confusing to figure out where food was available at times.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX