Ocean Maya Royale

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 9437 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Terrible....no words just TERRIBLE

    Reviewed by L1013LMandrewp() on Jul 06, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I booked a jacantion for July 12 to July 22 2020 one week before my trip I called to confirm the reservation with a person no answer to the 24hr Hotel email no answer Finally i called Spain Barcelona the main office and was told the Hotel is CLOSED....how about a email or a phone call or a dove maybe what happens if I have not called and made the trip to a closed Hotel Tell me? Take it from me when a business is in trouble then you can see the true nature of the management. Beware before book there it's a scam.

    Fantastic Hotel

    Reviewed by Sunshine807076(leeds, west yorkshire) on May 26, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 2 weeks in September. Absolutely loved it. Room was lovely- we had a sea view room. Cleaned thoroughly every day. We spent most of the time by the quiet pool. Was nice and clean, and had a waiter constantly walking round getting fresh drinks. We only used the main buffet restaurant for breakfast, but there was loads of choice, and amazing fresh juices. Loved the BBQ on the beach at lunchtime, and also the Mexican for lunch. All the speciality restaurants were gorgeous, and had no problems getting a table in any of them. The Japanese restaurant was great fun. Really loved Mikes Coffee bar. We used to get amazing sandwiches and cake before returning to our room after a day by the pool/ beach. Wonderfulchoice of meals in the sports bar at the end of the night. The wildlife wandering around, made such a lovely change. Would definately return here. LOVED IT.

    Great hotel mediocre staff

    Reviewed by stainy619(Blackburn, United Kingdom) on May 24, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed here with my girlfriend for two weeks, the hotel was spotless and after reading the reviews of the smelly beach due to the seaweed we was a abit concerned, but whilst we stayed here the beach didn’t smell at all and was always kept pristine. Most of the staff were okay however it felt like most of the staff only cared and catered for you if you tipped them ( with the exception of the entertainment team who did a great job!). The food was average and became very repetitive but the sports bar was very good. Overall the hotel was very nice and well kept and I would recommend staying here if your abit older and looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.

    Arturo is the greatest!!

    Reviewed by Wander541941() on May 14, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Visited this resort in March 2020 with a group of friends. Great accommodations, food, drinks and friendly staff. Arturo, Rodrigo and Marena were the highlight of our trip! Will be back in Sept with an even larger group for a birthday celebration and look forward to seeing them again! Seriously, if you visit you will know who they are! Arturo’s personality has him standing out of the crowd immediately! These guys are the best at entertainment, day or night, and will go out of their way to ensure you’re having an amazing time. Even when the resort doesn’t have scheduled entertainment, they stick around and make sure you’re enjoying your stay. Honestly, just phenomenal people! Can’t wait to be back!

    I love Ocean Maya Royale!

    Reviewed by jillyspice(Portsmouth, New Hampshire) on May 09, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my second visit to this property and I LOVE it! I went in October 2019 as well and they did some upgrades and added a sports bar. I usually travel solo, but both visits to this property were with friends. However, I would return here alone as it is not as couple-like as other adult only resorts. It's a smaller property, which I like because I don't want to get exhausted walking from the main lobby to the beach. The food is outstanding and there is very rarely a wait for the a la carte restaurants. The staff is amazing, especially El Tigre (Hebert) and Oli at the lobby bar. Francisco and Eduardo in the restaurants are top notch as well. Love them all! The rooms can be noisy depending on your neighbors. I would recommend a top floor so you don't hear furniture dragging across the floor. Although the coastline had the seaweed, OMR created a netting to keep it from their beach. I love Playa del Carmen. The vibe in the Riviera Maya is much more relaxed than the Cancun area. I also loved 5th Avenue for the shops, people watching and restaurants.Again, LOVE LOVE LOVE this property and can't wait to go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5