Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda
    6. Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Esmeralda review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Perfect Place for a relaxing Family Vacation!

    Reviewed by Carlos on Apr 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    After a lot of research we decided on Paradisus La Esmeralda and it did not disappoint! The service was superb and all staff went above and beyond to provide the best service especially Joao he helped book restaurants and gave us a fantastic tour of the resort, excellent service. We tried several restaurants and they were great ( only complaint is they need to have more seafood selection without additional charges). We had a fantastic photo shoot and they pictures turned out amazing, a little pricey but well worth it. I also booked Xcaret park through the resort, again a bit pricey, the park it self was mediocre but the dolphin swim was well worth it ( pictures are an additional fee) we booked with Fabiola and she was great. We also went to the 5th avenue markets a few times paradisus will have a taxi ready for you within 5 minutes and it?s a great place to visit, eat good Mexican food and buy Knick knacks. The beach yes it had seaweed but so does the rest of the cancun area but it was cleaned every morning. I would highly recommend booking a Bali bed at least once near the poor for parents to relax and kids to enjoy- also highly recommended a swim up suite. My kids absolutely loved the new water park and pirate ship. I consider myself to be fairly picky and I would highly recommended this resort, food was good customer service was above and beyond and all staff were friendly and helpful ( don?t forget to leave tips!)This is an excellent place to visit with or without children, it?s beautiful and the service is absolutely fantastic!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10597 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    La Esmeralda at Paradisus

    Reviewed by keaganCO(Brighton, CO) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I just spent 5 days at La Esmeralda. It couldn’t have been better. The rooms were very clean and each night there were slippers and chocolates by our beds. The entire staff was very gracious and eager to make our stay the best ever. All the wait staff were exceptional but Mario at Mole was beyond exceptional. He had a wonderful sense of humor, made certain our needs were met before even asking. Alejandro Mondragon at the front desk was also exceptional. He went out of his way to solve a couple of questions we had. If you are planning a family vacation I would rate this a 6 out of 5.

    Paradisus Mostly Delivered For Our Family - Again!

    Reviewed by Inquisitive19(Ellicott City, Maryland) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall: Consider this ... our family was back at Paradisus for the 2nd time in 3 years, something we have never done with any other place. I am not one that posts a lot of reviews but this place was exactly what we were looking for with our 7-year old son. You don't necessarily come to Paradisus if you want a beach and that's the only way you define your vacation. But they have got too many alternatives to the beach so that you can have a delightful time. Pros: Modern and beautifully maintained property that is super clean which matters to us. More than enough activities are offered for the whole family that are mostly part of the all-inclusive experience. Of course, if you want to simply relax, you can't go wrong here. Pools and the Pirate Ship offer plenty of memorable moments and I would highly recommend the swim-up suites which we love. Think your patio leading to your private seating in the water with your favorite adult beverage under a sunny blue sky. The new water park was a very smart move by Paradisus and we spent a lot of time there. In early August, the park never felt busy and it was a ton of fun with gushing water and many slides including a terrific separate area for the very little ones. Bars at the park and at the pools offered plenty of non-stop goodness. You could never go wrong with Mole and our family loved The Market. La Palapa was perfect for an adult only evening with a good Cabernet and grilled Octopus. Our suite was very modern and the staff did a terrific job keeping it clean. Cons: We did not really use the beach and it's a hit or miss with the Sargussum. However, the restaurant reservation process, if you want meals during regular evening hours, remains a mess here unless you are signing up for family concierge. Look, I completely understand that this is a business which is trying to sell the family concierge service for an upcharge. But having empty tables at a lot of these restaurants while not allowing others to enjoy the experience is a little short sighted. For example, we were told that Olio was simply not available for our family unless we wanted to eat dinner after 9 PM. Thanks to: The wonderful Paradisus Staff ... they are kind, attentive and always there. Adrian at the lobby bar next to Bana, Mario at Mole, Fabiola and Laura at reception, Juan and Alejandro at Market, All the Staff at the water park and Sunrise bar, Juan Cruz our room attendant, Marco at La Palapa .. these are special people.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Fabulous hotel, lovely staff.

    Reviewed by KLH68(London, England, United Kingdom) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is fantastic, the staff are very attentive and helpful. Our room is very nice, it's cleaned more than once a day and the mini-bar is kept stocked up. Two things could improve paradise, lable the vegetarian food in the buffet more clearly and turn down the music by the pool. We would rather listen to Mexican music or silence than loud European pop music.

    Best family vacation ever...

    Reviewed by Daydream663193(Chicago, Illinois) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our first time in the Mexican Riviera maya. At first I was very nervous in taking our kids to a foreign country for our annual summer trip, but I made the right choice! We stayed at the Family Concierge, our room was big enough for our children and us. The service was excellent, Jeannine was our personal concierge and she went beyond her capacities to make sure everything was perfect and made me feel at home. Denisse, since the check-in, was very helpful with my kids, taking them to the snack bar and playing with them. Girls, thank you for everything, we are definitely coming back for sure!

    Best all inclusive I’ve ever experienced!!

    Reviewed by Marsha B(new jersey) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back from a 7 night stay in the la Esmeralda Family concierge section. We splurged for the butler and it was worth every penny. Jose Debir was our butler and since we had friends also staying here he took the nine of us under his assignment to make things easier for everyone. In total it was 4 adults and 5 kids (two rooms). Debir left surprises for the kids daily (I don’t want to give too much detail as the surprises were just as fun for us!) he made all of our dinner reservations as well as spa reservations. When things changed or conflicted he accommodated us quickly. The food at every restaurant was five star! I have never been so impressed with the food as I have been at this resort. We used the kids club on three occasions and all three times my kids were asking when they were going back! (They keep them Busy with tons of fun activities). One of the highlights of our stay was Demetrio.... our waiter at both Olio and the family concierge pool. He worked so hard to fill our drink orders and even surprised us with delicious concoctions that we didn’t order! Room service staff was so prompt and gracious and it felt as if everyone was happy to be working there. We will definitely be returning. The beach was overrun with seaweed as said in the other reviews.... but we wandered down to the cenote just yards from the family concierge beach and I’m so glad we did! It was crystal clear and cold! And we got to hang with the locals and buy some of the local Snacks. We did 3 excursions.... the Jeep convoy two beach excursion on playa Del Carmen run by cucurumbe tours and booked through best day travel inside Paradisus, the dolphinaris dolphin experience booked online before we left, and diversity diving scuba also booked online before we left. This was the Most memorable family vacation as of yet and we will definitely be back. We also purchased some of the pics taken. By the resort photographer. It’s free for the shoot and $25 per picture (with a discount when you buy 15 or more) they do a beautiful job!!! Hands down five star all the way around!!! The room, the food, the butler, the service, Check in, check out all of it!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX