Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Good food and extremely clean

    Reviewed by Chard on Sep 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Cleanest hotel I have stayed at, the food was really good as well and the staff was extremely attentive.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11286 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    3rd time at this resort

    Reviewed by AlmaNovaScotia() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just back from a wonderful week at Paradisus! This was our 3rd visit to this resort. We only had a week and wanted to go somewhere where we knew it would be great. All 3 times have been with royal service although this time we had a 1bedroom suite with swim up, so we were not in the royal service main building. We were moved to quiet side of adults only as we found the swimming pool in that portion way to loud with music. Our butler Sergio Bustos (chocolate) and royal service manager Vera made sure that our stay was quiet and relaxing. We love the food here at this resort. Bana (Asian inspired) was amazing. Had amazing seafood at Fuego. Amazing rack of lamb at Lapalapa and a perfectly grilled med rare t-bone steak at The Grill. One night we had to eat at the buffet (our 1st time ) and were pleasantly surprised by the fresh Asian stir fry that we had and amazing coconut sorbet. Our waiter at The Grill was Aaron. He was very charming with a wonderful smile. We were watching hockey game on phone during dinner and turned to find Aaron watching. Turns out he lived in Toronto for a few years and had been to Maple Leaf, Raptors and Blue Jays games. We had a nice chat with him. Our waiter for breakfast at Lapapla all week was Reneau who we requested. He has waited on us every time. Very professional and such a wonderful man. We really enjoy chatting with him. He always remembers what we like. Also the hostess at Lapalapa breakfast, Yuridia, always had a wonderful smile and remembered our names every time. Alfredo (Tortuga) at the Royal service pool bar is amazing. Such an amazing guy. Always has a smile and remembered us from our last visits. This trip we also had excellent service from Joquian, waiter at sunset grill. He found us every day at the quiet pool and made sure we had water, drinks and food. All staff that we encountered were very pleasant. Our room was amazing. Bed is very comfy. The grounds are beautiful. The only negative this year was the beach. There was so much seaweed and it smelled bad. It had not been like that in our previous visits. Staff were working diligently to try to remove it but it was beyond anything they could handle. Some natural phenomenon. We will definitely be back!

    Highly recommended

    Reviewed by iw1217() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had a blast at Paradisus - La Perla (adults only side) for 6 days! The food was excellent and the service was excellent. The resort is very clean and organized. So many activities and food choices! Excursions were a nice touch. The Yoga instructor is very experienced and class was fun! I highly recommend!

    LOUD DANCE music ALL DAY & STAFF ON STRIKE for a day, not a beach place

    Reviewed by CThomas_27603(Raleigh, North Carolina) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    GIRLS GONE WILD!!! COLLEGE SPRING BREAKERS Paradise!! STAFF ON STRIKE! For one day. Managers tried to serve poorly made drinks, activities staff, stepped in to serve, room wasn't cleaned. Only restaurant available the night of the strike was buffet. ** ADULTS ONLY?!?!?, but allowed children to walk around during the day and eat at the restaurants We will not return to this property. Pros: -Restaurants & Food were great & abundant. -Staff were friendly and responsive. -Resort was nice, large but conveniently laid out -Hobie Cat sailing is a blast (time limited, understand) -Plenty of lounge chairs to use (except towel squatting) -Insisted that we needed to make reservations for dinner every night upon arrival. However, no reservations were needed for us, eating later it wasn't an issue (8:30-9:30) Cons: -No alcohol until 11 am, no bloody's nor mimosa's with breakfast (This is local law, not the resorts problem) -No "a la carte" options for breakfast, same buffet every day -Typical towel squatting on lounges & cabanas all day with no one in them -Unless Exclusive Guest, no pools available without loud top 40 Pop music from 12 pm - 6 pm. -LOUD & DRUNKEN PARTY SCENE, from 11 pm thru 6 pm then after dinner -They pressured the Passion Restaurant (Extra $$). -Children were frequently present at the restaurants and walking around the Adults only property -AC in the room would not cool the room below 74 degrees, if you like cool room to sleep at night, expect to sweat. -Cocktails are inconsistent, sometimes strong, watered down, wrong type of liquor, or completely wrong ingredients. -No beach/ocean views from the room or otherwise. You can see the ocean in limited areas, walk down a walkway to get to the beach to see it. Then the overwhelming smell of seaweed washed up hits you. Seaweed covers what use to be pretty beaches.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-1

    Wow doesn’t even describe this resort!

    Reviewed by katey w() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    After searching for the perfect destination for my boyfriends birthday I came across Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla. I booked the Royal Service and stayed in a Junior Suite. Prior to our arrival I wanted to plan a few things (spa/dinner reservations). Roxana was so incredibly helpful and did everything by email. She is thorough and made things so easy! Thank you Roxana! Once we arrived we were seriously blown away. From the moment you arrive, you are truly treated like royalty. The check in service was fast, and very professional. We were introduced to our Butler Hector and couldn’t have been happier. If you are visiting this resort you will want to request Hector. He is friendly, sweet and went above and beyond to make our stay even more special. Our room wasn’t ready so Hector took us to the royal pool and showed us around. He introduced us to Elias who looks after this area and he was superb!! Everyday he ensured we had a great spot and laid out our towels in the most perfect manor. Hector messaged us at 3pm to let us know our room was ready and brought us to our room and did a full tour. In the room there was champagne, fruits and lots of delicious things waiting for us. Again, well done La Perla! Each day we ran into more and more team members that went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. The team at la Perla truly love what they do and it shows! My boyfriends birthday arrived and I wanted to purchase champagne by the pool with the new friends we met that were also staying in the royal section. We then had the pleasure of meeting Danura. Danura was the absolute best and had our entire group in stitches with her hilarious jokes and all around fun and bubbly personality. Every interaction we had with Danura was pleasant and so much fun! Danura works the royal pool section on weekends and at La Palapa during the week. This women needs a raise! She is definitely one of the reasons we will be returning. Thank you Danura! Special mention also goes out to Alfredo at the royal service pool! He was so attentive and sweet and always made sure we all had cold drinks and also brought us snacks and lunch several times. He’s a gem! The Yhi spa was so beautiful!! I booked the Red Passion package for my bf and wow what a great experience. The lovely ladies who provided us these services ( Yamiley and Maribel) were very great at what they do. So great that we booked a second visit! While at the spa I dropped my necklace in the change room and it unfortunately fell between the floor boards. I wasn’t sure where it fell and was in a panic. Several of the spa associate assisted me trying to find it but we were unsuccessful. That is when Maline stepped in. She told my boyfriend that they would find it and even if that means ripping the floor boards up! I honestly didn’t think I would ever see it again. Later the same evening while we were having dinner at the Passion restaurant, Maline stopped by the restaurant with my necklace in hand!!! She went over and above and really made my vacation. The necklace meant a lot to me and I felt so upset knowing I had lost it. Throughout the rest of our vacation we would run into Maline and she would smile and chat with us and I couldn’t thank her enough. Maline, thank you! You are definitely in the right role and keep doing what you do best! Back to Hector. Hector went to our room on my boyfriends birthday and decorated and made it so special!! Hector was also our saviour when my bf left his cellphone in the taxi (on our way to the airport). I called him immediately and he contacted the driver and he came back! Hector, thank you so much for all of the special moments you created for us. We will definitely be back to see you!! All in all this place is a gem. The food is wonderful, drinks are delicious and the people are what make it. On two occasions we ran into someone who wasn’t too pleasant. These team members may have been having a bad day or perhaps just don’t fit the culture this beautiful resort has created. Juan at the grill and Alan at the checkin desk made us feel like we were a inconvenience and again the only interactions we had all week that felt off. Beyond this we will be back! This is coming from someone who travels often and never returns to the same spot twice. Thank you Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla for an unbelievable vacation!

    MOST AMAZING VACATION EVER

    Reviewed by LianaLipari96(Newmarket, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    If you are like us, looking frantically for months trying to find an amazing destination sport for your vacation, please STOP your search NOW, do yourself a favour and please book this resort (both La Perla and La Esmerelda are excellent). We are already planning our next trip back and we just got back from a 10 days stay. Of course being there for so long we have a few honourable mentions for people you should seek out at this resort to enhance your stay, as they are truly amazing. For this review I am going to be speaking about the most amazing thing about this resort first. If you have ever wondered, thought or were intrigued by scuba diving, please go see Gustavo from AquaWorld located across sunset grill, where you get the towels. Gustavo is by far the kindest, most knowledgable and patient teacher you could ever find. I liked him so much that i chose to get certified and found a life long passion for the sport. If scuba isn't your thing, he does snorkelling and other water sports as well. Honestly speaking we will be returning to this resort in the near future because of him. Side note: I strongly suggest going to Cozumel for diving or snorkelling, it's break-taking. Another amazing thing to note about this hotel is how hard the staff works and how friendly every single person on resort are. Juan Carlos, was our bell boy was fantastic, super helpful the whole vacation. Fior and Maria from guest service are also excellent and truly made us cared for and helped us with so many different things. NOW FOR THE FOOD. The food is AMAZING everywhere, however, we tended to eat at the same few places because of the phenomenal service we received. From the breakfast buffet NAOS at La Perla, Eva was fantastic. She was always super upbeat and remembered how we took our coffee and which juices we liked and we never had to ask for anything. For dinner, at the buffet NAOS at the Esmerelda side the server to look for is Filiberto. Not only is he the absolute sweetest person on resort, but went out of his way to ensure that we had the best experience every single net. A man that takes pride of his trade and is wonderful with customers. The best place for lunch is the Grill over at La Perla. Not only is the food wonderful and always consistently great but so are the two servers Valentin and Santos. These men are so efficient, fun, upbeat and again, went out of their way to ensure the highest quality of customer service. I have never seen anything like them at any resort I've ever been to. Last but certainly not least, look out for Adiel who is a server at the beach. Every morning he would make sure to put out towels for us and had our favourite drinks waiting for us. He works so hard for all of the guests and delivers such an elite level of customer service. Yes the beach has some seaweed... But the people on resort work so hard to clean it, and do everything they can to minimize this unfortunate phenomenon hitting all throughout the Caribbean. Please do not let this sway your decision. This has been the best trip of my life, and will be a proud customer for life. Liana and Claudio

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX