Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort
    6. Hilton Playa del Carmen, an All-inclusive Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Best holiday ever

    Reviewed by Jessica on Feb 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have been to the Royal Playa del Carmen 9 times and plan to go back again this year. Great location, excellent staff. There is not one thing that we could complain about. We have travelled to different places and find this is definitely a 5 star and one of the best.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    d

    Excellent food and service

    Reviewed by dirtdigger on Sep 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellent service. We ate at one of their restaurants and they just made some food up for my wife that was not on the menu. You are right in Playa so you can try some of the local restaurants and shops, but we found the food and drinks so good at the Royal that we only ate off site once. The only reason I gave the beach a 4 star is that I like to snorkel and their

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 19270 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Its good, but not as a good as a typical Hilton and not as good as the previous owners.

    Reviewed by Melissa T(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was very excited to go back to this resort when I found out it changed over to a Hilton. But the changes were not all necessarily positive. 90% of the staff have remained. You can tell the atmosphere is far more relaxed not in the good way. Front desk check in was no smooth at all, there was to much joking around (it was a much younger set of staff running the front desk). At the time one of the restaurants and cafe were closed for renovation which we knew going in and felt there would be no issues. Thinking the other restaurants would pick up the slack but that was not the case. The buffet choice was very limited. The new healthy snack bar was great, to bad that you can't get a smoothy after 11am. The type of people who go to the resort have changed and yes there are alot of people who are getting up early and saving chairs by the pool and beach but you can still find some chairs. The beach portion is defiantly not being patrolled the same way it was before. I am not sure if this was a resort a new city policy but you really have to watch your items, the kids selling items are coming right into or on your chair. I would still go back the location is great, the food is good its just not the same and its defiantly not up to Hilton Standards as of yet.

    Great value

    Reviewed by Venture41776140480(Wichita Falls, Texas) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We've stayed at a lot of all inclusives around the Caribbean. Several Sandals Resorts, Secrets, and a few smaller properties. This was the best value we've ever had an an all inclusive. Food was also the best of any that we've been to. We'll be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wonderful Trip!

    Reviewed by melodeef2016(Centralia, Illinois) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed 7 days. Check in was fast. Our room was ready. I was pleased with the location of the room, it was near the lobby. Only issue was we go to bed early, and the shows last to 10pm. No big deal really. We could just hear it. Good food, great staff, beautiful view. Relaxing!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Still high quality, but ...

    Reviewed by llne(Lockport, Illinois) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We are members and have stayed at this resort 10 times over the last twelve years. While we are excited to see the capital improvements a large hotel chain can offer, we are a bit concerned about the impact Hilton will have on the culture of a resort we’ve come to enjoy away from home. This past visit, we had exceptional service from Luis at Chef’s Plate, Fernando at the pool and Marcelo in Member’s registration. We also enjoyed the additional cabanas at the pool. We hope our next visit will be equally enjoyable, without too many “corporate” changes that will make this resort feel too much like staying in the states.

    GREAT LOCATION

    Reviewed by Barry C(Tomah, Wisconsin) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great time and most likely will stay here again but It is not as nice as when we stayed about 4 years ago. There were a lot less dining options. at the moment I can give it a 4 star rating. Paradisus, Secrets, Valentin Imperial and others are now ahead of you. All your staff were wonderful , service was 2nd to none. The rooms were still great and have a different look than most hotels. The entertainment was good but very similar every night. How about some live bands and dancing. Keep up the good work,

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX