Zoëtry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Zoëtry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya
    6. Zoëtry Paraiso de la Bonita Riviera Maya review

    What to expect (based on 2846 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Second visit to Zoetry

    Reviewed by Robert C(Rome, Italy) on Oct 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was the second time we stayed at Zoetry and this time in the Impression Suites. Delightful service especially Jarlin who greeted us everyday and prepared our beach bed with care and wrote our names in sand in a very creative way. He worked so hard to make sure we were happy and is a great asset to Zoetry. Our Butlers Victor and Isaac were exceptional and always there to help us with whatever we needed. However the food has taken a decline since our last visit. The portions are tiny and we are not big eaters and not prepared well. We had Prime Rib one night which was raw and unedible and the Food and Beverage Manager tells us "Oh yes I saw how rare that was in the Kitchen" and did nothing about it. Oh well move on F and B Manager--- Not good for this resort. Overall the service is excellent and the restaurant Dragons is exceptional--especially Jessica and Ernesto made our dinners very special and deserve compliments. We will give it another try and will most definitely stay in Impressions and hope the food will improve like it has been in the past. Zoetry remember profit is important to all business but do not ever cut back on quality as you will lose your loyal customers.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Not as advertised

    Reviewed by Akumalsun() on Oct 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My husband and I spent our anniversary here based on the photos and reviews and were very disappointed. This resort is not worth the money they charge and not sure who is giving the high ratings. The only 5 star here is the staff. They are very friendly and attentive. We stayed in a romance plunge pool suite which was in much need of upgrading. The sewage smell outside was so strong and there were times in filtered into our room. The food was just okay and that was at the upgraded restaurants. The ocean was the most disappointing for us. The photos show beautiful blue water and this is not the case. Management told us it was the time of year but everyone else we asked said the water is never blue or very good for swimming. (And this was not due to sargassum which can be an issue)

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Terrible

    Reviewed by oldhallfold() on Oct 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This hotel is terrible sat listening to building work they just closed the main pool and only booked 2weeks ago for the holiday so they should not have taken the bookings don’t come here Eaten alive by mosquitoes most restaurant closed this is the worst hotel we have been to,the management haven’t a clue but staff try to help as much as they can

    The one star is ONLY for the Staff, otherwise I’d give them zero stars

    Reviewed by 512zahraf(Bethesda, Maryland) on Oct 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I am so sad to be writing this review. I visited Zoetry Parsiso de La Bonita back in 2012 and it was a dream vacation. One of the best vacation experiences ever. Sadly however, this time around has been one disappointment after another. The staff continues to surprise, delight and exceed expectations. They truly want to deliver quality service, but are no longer equipped with the necessary tools to do so. I understand from other reviews that Mr. Salvador Gutierrez the General Manager of a month, is not inclined to respond to reviews, but I need to warn other travelers to STAY AWAY, until something changes. I have been recommending this Resort to everyone I know for the past 7 years, but no more. This trip was for my Mom’s birthday: 1. The people at the Front Desk either have ZERO authority or do not care. 2. We were informed by a circulating flyer that the main pool will be closed from 10/13-10/19. We are here until the 16th. Had this been communicated properly we would not have been here. When I asked if we could be transferred to a sister property, I was told there would be a 2 night penalty. 3. As a retired Chef, the quality of the cuisine was one of the things that brought me back. This trip, our choices have been reduced to nearly nothing. The eggs and bacon at breakfast both days now have cooked in rancid, old oil, and that’s a taste you cannot avoid. 4. This resort continues to have a very hard working team, by the pool, bar, restaurant and housekeeping, but my heart breaks for them because at this rate their hard work might really not be worth it. The rooms are in desperate need of renovation. The food is mediocre at best. The grounds do have a sewage like smell. All in all, with Cancun and vicinity there are plenty of options old and new which are eager to earn your business. Do not bother with this Zoetry unless there are fundamental changes. I will continue to monitor future reviews in the hopes that something does change because it truly had the potential....once upon a time.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS! HORRIBLE! NOT A FIVE STAR ON ANY LEVEL

    Reviewed by TheLuxeLife() on Oct 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We booked this hotel as a family vacation for 5 days and 4 nights through hotels.com. First the hotel is tucked away in the middle of fields away from everything. There is a lot of construction going on and the road that has access to the hotel is small so that buses cannot pass each other going in the opposite direction. We arrived and our room wasn't available. There was one place open for lunch which was only ala carte. I tried to order Mexican Hot Chocolate - they did not have any. I tried to order juego de jamaica - they did not have any. I tried to order horchata - they did not have any. No Mexican drinks in a Mexican hotel. By the way, the resort was a ghost town. The beach is brown and boring. Very dirty. There is a disgusting smell that engulfs the entire resort. We went to the "concierge" to ask for advice in how to have dinner outside the resort because we wanted something more authenticly Mexican and she offered us to visit a sister property that was having a "Mexican night" - go figure. We would have to pay $10 USD each way in a taxi. Then we received our "welcome packet" which consisted of some guy trying to sell us a time share type of agreement. If we agreed to a 90 minuted breakfast we'd get $1000 spa credit. We reluctantly agreed to get the guy to stop talking. We definitely were not feeling this hotel already, so we started to look for options. We ended up spending the next day in Isla Mujeres and subsequently called hotels.com to explain the situation and book a different hotel. They stated they'd contact Zoetry (to their credit they've been great). We said we'd gladly pay the two nights (even though we only stayed one and were checking out) and requested a refund for the remaining two nights. When we were returning from our tour it took 40 MINUTES TO GET TO THE HOTEL ON THE ONLY ROAD THAT LEADS TO IT BECAUSE OF THE CONSTRUCTION GOING ON NEXT TO THE RESORT. That was it for me! My 4 yr old has severe allergies and in the case of an emergency we could never get off the property and to a hospital. ...LET THE NIGHTMARE BEGIN. When we get to the hotel, the night manager, Faride Parroquin, says she has to charge us for three nights because hotels.com said so. I told her that's not fair we're paying for two nights and not even staying the second. I explained to her that hotels.com said it's up to the hotel. I told her let's call together in the office to which she did with attitude. I explained to her the access to the hotel is impossible and she told me the construction doesn't affect the hotel. I explained in detail why we were deciding to check out. Um newsflash if you can't access the one and only road to the hotel it affects the hotel! Then we are charged $680 for three tours! We only took one. The guy decides to argue with me by showing me the receipt to which I said you're reading the receipt wrong because you charged me for tours on days that haven't even occurred. As of the date of this review (10/12/19) we haven't been refunded for the additional charges. Despite calling over and over again. The transaction took place on 09/25/19. The guy said he couldn't access the accounting office. A;sp, Ms. Parroquin was also too busy on her whatsapp messages and instagram while we were talking and while she was on the phone with hotels.com. We were promised a call from Salvador Guiterrez the General Manager, and again have yet to receive a call an email. Nothing. We are in the process of filing a complaint with PROFECO (Procuraduría Federal del Consumidor) and a dispute with our credit card company. THIS PLACE IS GARBAGE.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1