Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    A

    Excellent Place to Stay!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort staff were friendly, hardworking, cared about the details and were always willing to help. The resort is beautiful, you can tell the resort is not brand new, but it has been very well maintained and there is an excellent attention to details. The shop is good, but sunscreen is ridiculously expensive. The gym had essentially all the equipment needed for when on vacation with good music and cool temperature. The rooms were excellent as well. We stayed in the main building and everything was close by and not noisy at night at all. Some of the rooms are in separate buildings which might be inconvenient for some due to the need to walk up many stairs or take a shuttle to the main areas. Our room had a small plumbing leak, but resort staff got on it right away. There was a very nice view from the room, the bed was comfortable, there was lots of storage and the bathroom was good. The food is excellent and there is a huge selection. Each night the buffet had a different theme. If the theme food did not appeal to you there was always plenty of other food options to eat. The only issue I can think of is I wish there were condiments like ketchup, mustard, etc. for the burgers. We only went to the Italian restaurant, but the food and service there was excellent too. The drinks at the various bars were all delicious and there was a good selection. The pools were all great, good temperatures, layout, size and features. The beach was nice, clean, plenty of beach space and chairs and the usable kayaks were good. At the main pool there were always fun activities going on, but they would never hog the entire pool which made them completely optional. The club/disco was not too exciting or special, but that could be a bit because not a lot of people went. There were some evening/night shows that were great. There was an acrobatics show that was extremely impressive and fun to watch. There is also a long bridge you can walk across to get to a nearby island to explore.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4413 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    What's not to like?

    Reviewed by Pedroverte(Halifax, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the GBPC for a week at the end of February 2019 with another couple. And we enjoyed every minute. The weather was great every day. The good: The people, the food, the view, the pool, the entertainment, and the beach are great. We enjoyed this smaller resort in Samaná - that was what also made it so great - more intimate. We also got to know some of the guests, and staff, especially the animation team, who are super. Any minor issues we had were resolved quickly. We would definitely go back again! The resort is also very close to the town of Samaná, so it was a short walk to the town, but there is also a shuttle from the hotel every hour. While there were a few touristy shops to buy souvenirs, the townspeople went about their business without bothering tourists. The property was very clean. The beach was cleaned of minor debris several times every morning. While there are plenty of steps, there is also a shuttle provided by the hotel for those with mobility issues. The bad: Nothing that we can really complain about.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Better than Riu and Melia!

    Reviewed by SL_Toronto_2019() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was one of the best all inclusive vacations that we have had (and we go every 3 months for the last decade)! What made it fun was the beach, food, and the entertainment team, especially Lewis! Would actually do this resort again!

    March Break trip

    Reviewed by ShannonFrizzell(Hamilton, Canada) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Nice resort, food is good, staff is friendly and helpful. Bed is terrible and pillows are small and flat. Some of the walkways are in need of repair. Gym is adequate. Beach is nice, generally quiet and clean.

    Fantastic vacation

    Reviewed by TheSearabbit(Montreal, Canada) on Mar 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I saw this hotel while being elsewhere in Samana and was curious about the building... an elevator to get to the beach is at the least unusual, so we, as a couple, planned our vacation there this winter. We were not disappointed as everything went close to perfect! The scenery from the 5th floor is unbelievable. Our room was rather small (particularly the bathroom) but spotless clean. Food was fine, as good as you can expect from a DR resort. We saw two pools, very clean with enough chairs for all and one has a snack open all day long. I can't really talk about the activities and entertainment at night, we didn't assist. We spent our days walking in town close by (it is safe!), exploring the area, different beaches around and it was really fun. The beach at the hotel itself is very small too but the walk on the bridge to Nowhere is a must! It is safe to be on the bridge and the little beaches close by are quiet and very nice. My only negative point would be the amount of staircases to go from one area to the other such as the snack at the pool. If you have problem walking, are going with a cane, it is maybe not a place you'll enjoy to the full.

    Amazing resort - staff needs improvement

    Reviewed by FMARKVC(Ontario, Canada) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort is PERFECT, the location is amazing and the beach/ocean/pools/rooms everything is super clean and very well maintained. The buffet is great, tons of options, much better than all 3 a-la-carte's. I'd give this place a 5-star if it wasn't for the following complaints: 1) The pools close early, 6:00pm everything outside is done. 2) The lobby bar closes at 11:00pm, you can only get drinks at the hotel's nightclub past that. - You get the vibe that they just want you to go to sleep at 11. The bigger issues... 3) Majority of the hotel staff do not speak English. Causes alot of communication issues when you're trying to order food/drinks/etc. and they get very rattled when you try to speak to them in English. 4) A lot of the staff members are rude, they give you nasty looks and have alot of attitude. Its makes the whole resort look bad, they act very hostile towards guests. They'll literally speak amongst eachother in Spanish and laugh...in your face. Regardless, it really is a beautiful resort, everything is perfect and this resort deserves to be recognized as a 5-star!!! Its too bad that their own staff is letting them down.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX