Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Stunning Property and Awesome Staff

    Reviewed by Mac on Jan 30, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Likes: Property is stunning, spotless and beautifully designed. Buffet offers excellent variety. Staff is phenomenal, so pleasant and accommodating. Entertainment is uplifting. Dislikes: Samana - shop owners are in cahoots with taxi drivers and will rip you off. Purchase goods at the resort gift shop instead. Final dislike is leaving the Island. :(

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Very effective and friendly services

    Reviewed by Dan and Marilyn on May 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I would like to thank Lizairi, Diego Gomez chef cook of this beautifully resorts , Would like to mentions all staff of this hotel Island was very notable during our visit with the warmest welcome with the Concierge Gabriel,Emanuella ,Caesar,took time and good care of us as we were celebrating our 35th anniversary.we were a little deceived about the cleaning in the room example sheets were not change every second day as we know some accident can occurs during the 7 days so imagine 14 days. Food were superb in the Don Pablo, Rodiozio grill, Mediterranean,was excellent. The Elportillo was not bad except for Banos a lot of Beach flees and strange crawling insects. Required more insecticide. All other Banos were very clean. Bar at the Jaccussi was very high quality service thanks to Leudy , Sanael De La Cruz and Measael. I would like to thank West Jet Crew for the care at the Pearson airport as we required assistance for spouse as she very ill on the arrival. My spouse and I are very thankful about the help we got outstanding to West Jet and Pearson airport personnel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    Not a 5 star resort

    Reviewed by mmahal99 on Jun 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are truly looking for a luxury 5 star vacation, this is not the place to go to. I would say it's more like a 4 star overall. We stayed here June 11 - 18, 2016 for my birthday and selected the resort based on the great reviews we read. We were quite disappointed. People can smoke anywhere outdoors, around the pools & the beach. This made it hard to get away from the smoke fumes. The good side of the beach there's a calm side & windy side is pretty confined. We had to move locations 4 times one day to get away from smokers. The resort really should divide the beach and pool areas into a smoking and non-smoking side. Furthermore, the service on the beach was pretty much non-existent, despite us tipping. We were there for a week and were only offered drinks on two occasions. Also, people hold the good spots on the beach all day with their towels as the resort doesn't set a time limit for chairs to sit unused. We noticed beach chairs would be reserved with towels yet unused for hours. Because the beach isn't that big, they really should set a time limit and remove towels from chairs that go unused for a couple hours as some of the other resorts we have been to do. We had upgraded to one of the villas that offers butler service, and the service was pretty much non-existent. Little things were missed, the maid didn't leave any shampoo or soap one day and didn't replace the empty tissue box another day. The toilet was dirty upon our arrival I just cleaned it myself because I didn't want to bother waiting for someone to come clean it . On my birthday, we had ordered champagne and chocolate strawberries for an additional fee to be delivered at a particular time, which never came. Management did apologize, but you get the point that this was no where near the 5 star experience we had hoped for. Other small issues of note, we ordered tea, they delivered coffee instead. Then they brought tea bags with no hot water. The hot water finally came about 20 minutes later.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Simplement fantastique

    Reviewed by Josiane on Apr 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Tres beau sejour, tout simplement parfait, chapeau au represetant westjet Herman, disponible et tres gentil.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6030 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A piece of paradise

    Reviewed by Deanna W() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We would highly recommend this resort to anyone and will be going back. This is by far the nicest place in the D.R. The facilities are well maintained and very clean. All rooms and villas are spacious and have wonderful views. The wind can be quite high at the beach and the waves are strong at times. The wind helps keep the heat down. The beach offers a large section of naturally shaded areas as well as palm leaf umbrellas. The resort caters to all your needs and the staff are warm and welcoming. The buffet is amazing and the best restaurant is Don Pablo's. There is a small portion of the island for the public, separate from the resort. The local vendors are quite aggressive, the food area is dirty (we saw a dead bird and dead rat) we did not stay to eat. Snorkeling on the public side is amazing. Anyone coming from the mainland will be required to rent lounge chairs, the resort guests do not.

    Wonderful experience

    Reviewed by MiguelA1435() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I’ll have to agree with many reviewers who’ve awarded 5 stars to Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. The hotel is beautiful with very well tended grounds. The restaurants served really good food. I’ll have to say, our favorites were the breakfast buffet and Rodizio restaurant. The rooms were large, immaculately serviced and the minibar well stocked. Pools were well maintained and the beaches (private and public) were very nice with turquoise water. The most important factor though that influenced my decision to give the resort 5 stars were the people and their amazing disposition. Everyone we met had a smile and they went out of their way to make the experience truly unforgettable. Kudos to Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado and thank you!

    Gorgeous; but deficient F&B Mgmt.

    Reviewed by rafos(Miami, Florida) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Resort is GORGEOUS and almost everyone is super Nice! However, has a very rules-oriented Food and Beverage Manager that damages the experience and the excellent people service-oriented culture in most areas of Cayo Levantado... Would not allowed us to seat at restaurant while using DRESS Shorts, while the written posted "Dinner Dress Code" policy said clearly (have a photo of it); no "Sport shorts" in English and no "pantalones cortos de deportes" in Spanish... Others with ripped-off torn (but long) jeans were allowed, but not a DRESS (below the knee) Men short... Front Desk personnel untruthful about the Air conditioning problem and lacked interest in solving. Treated us condescending. The Food & Beverage Manager was around and as part of senior management did nothing and was totally stand-offish... Yes, mechanical problems happen with any cooling system, but HOW you handle it makes the difference... This is a Management Issue... We did had a great experience with Manager of Rooms (Franz, Haitian guy) who is very professional and helped us stay and have a great experience. Concierge (Deivi) was always taking care of us (what a great guy to have around). Servers at Mediterranean restaurant (Pamela and Melvin) went out of their way to make us feel appreciated. Beach massage therapist (Reina) was super professional and friendly (plus a great masseuse)... Cart drivers are super courteous and main bar bartender (Armando and Valentina?) are true Pros....The issue is with insensitive Front Desk personnel and incompetent Food & Beverage Management.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Well worth the wait! March 31 to April 7, 2019

    Reviewed by Italiandutch(ontario) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hi everyone, this may be lengthy. I’m sorry in advance, I just don’t want to forget anything??. Ok, my husband and I and another couple (friends of ours) stayed at this amazing resort from March 31 to April 7/19. We flew with Air Canada Rouge from Toronto to Samana directly-this is only avail on certain days. The flight was very good, no issues at all. If you want anything to eat or drink during the flight you will have to pay for it. Unless you had the premium package. We paid extra for exit row-our personal preference. When we arrived in Samana airport, all was smooth and we boarded the bus for our 30-45 min ride to the Gran Bahia dock. Once we arrived at the dock, we did our check in there, received our bracelets, map and room keys. Then we got on our boat with our luggage (sometimes it’s separate depending on how many people are staying there) and went for a quick 15 ride to the island dock. Because our flight was late in the evening, they resort kept the buffet open for us to grab some food. We were very excited to discover that we had all been upgraded to a villa! That was a wonderful surprise! Our room was 04202 which was on the second floor overlooking the beach and beautiful water! Our friends we right next door and they had a corner unit -the only difference in rooms was they had a HUGE bathroom with a window and their balcony was a bit bigger and had another opening instead of a wall on each side. No big. Otherwise the room was huge, clean, king size bed, stocked fridge(soda, water, mini booze) coffee maker and coffee, bottles of water, in room safe. Bathroom had jacuzzi tub(didn’t use it), bathroom amenities-shampoo, conditioner etc., loads of towels -lacking was facecloths after first day. No big for me, but if you use them then you may have to keep up on it -definitely not a deal breaker ??. Also the villa upgrade came with butler service. We’re not remotely used to that so we didn’t really use it. Except for an upgrade in pillows and to have a nightly scent around 8 pm- coconut. Sooo nice. There’s an app for the Gran Bahia. Our friends used it for room service and they had no issues. They would order their breakfast the night before and it would be ready at their door for the time requested the next morning. Breakfast treats ie muffins, danishes, fruits, coffee etc. Ok from our villa it’s a 5 min walk to the beach or you can call a trolly for those with mobility issues. Trollies go pretty much everywhere. Property was beautifully maintained and manicured. No garbage, no cigarette butts. The groundskeepers got our friend a fresh coconut, which he had been wanting since the beginning of planning this trip ??. 2 sides to the private beach. The “rough” side which was visible from our balcony (you’ll see from the pics) and there’s a calm side as well. You can snorkel on the calm side if you want. There’s a lot of angel fish that come right up to you at knee deep level. Pretty fricken sweet! There are also water sports avail on the private side. We stayed at the beach pool/beach 99%of the time. No issues for chairs at either spot and no issues with towels. There is a quiet pool. It’s very nice, clean, serene with covered areas with chairs - too calm for me ??. Both pool areas have staff that will bring you a wooden tray with a cold compress and a flag. If you require a bevie put the flag up. The staff are very attentive to you if you need a drink. Or you can get up, socialize, be friendly and walk the 50 feet to the bar yourself whether the beach or pool ??. At the beach pool and pool area we had amazing staff. Erick in particular was hilarious, very friendly and personable. We enjoyed his company and we had him in stitches quite often! He’s a gem! Luis was another awesome staff member- he’s in the main building when you go to book your reservations. Very kind and personable. We were very thankful for all the staff but those 2 made it awesome! There’s an elevator to the beach pool/ beach. It’s has a stunning view of the beach and mainland. There’s a pool/ beach bar, and a beach restaurant that we had lunch at daily, “Las Caracolas”. They had pretty much everything -no issues. We didn’t eat at the main restaurant for lunch so we can’t comment on that. There is a public beach which is open to gbp guests as well. We did not have to pay for chairs, just show your bracelet. But if you go to public beach you will have to pay for your beverages at the public beach bar. Then at 6 pm the public beach is closed to public but guests can still go there and at 11 pm the public beach bar is open for the gbp guests -you don’t have to pay for drinks after 11 pm. It’s open till 2 am. That beach is also gorgeous!!! And if you do go at night you’ll be able to see the blue glow from the plankton. Pretty fricken cool!!! Ok, we ate at 2 a la cartes- Don Pablo (gourmet) and Rodizio (Brazil). At the Don Pablo, my husband and our friends ate the soup, filet mignon, fantasy chocolate and I had the soup as well and the vegetarian meal. Which was, ratatouille in an eggplant bowl(for lack of a better term) sooooooooo good and soooo filling!!!At the Rodizio(Brazil), I’m not a big meat eater, so I had a couple of pieces of meat. But there’s no lack of food for non meat eaters! The “salad bar” had so much food to choose from. So don’t panic. I was stuffed! The main buffet has theme nightly- that’s fun. We ate there the rest of the time. New favourite drink- Bahia Principe very very good! There’s no pueblo like other gbp, which have more land to be able to have one. Remember, you’re on an island and this is the only thing on the island. They do have little shops and an outdoor are which is beautiful- that’s where the nightly entertainment was. There is the “alley” on the public beach which has a lot of vendors. It’s not a hidden alley or anything-it’s out in the open. It just made me think of an alley- so don’t panic. There are a lot of day trips you can do. Most we have already done. El Limon, Los Haitises National Park, Catamaran, Whale watching(mid Jan to April-ish), Jeep Safari, Atv. All can be booked through the rep from your tour provider aka Air Canada, Air Transat etc. Message me if you would like details and days. I feel I’ve written a lot and flooding the page lol. We did book the “athletic massage “ at the spa, which is basically deep tissue. My husband and I had it done at the same time with Paulina and Esmerolin (I hope I spelled their names right). The ladies we lovely and good gravy they had strong hands! It was 110.00 US pp and you can pay the day you check out. We asked for a late checkout the day we were leaving. They are most of the time able to grant this as long as there isn’t a group of early arrivals coming. If that’s the case you can shower at the gym and at the spa I believe and they store your luggage in a room by the entrance. You can get to your luggage whenever you want. We were able to get a 2 pm checkout which was perfect. Yes this is a family resort now. We have no issues with kids nor did we feel bothered by them as I’ve read some other people had. Just don’t sweat it ! Do your own thing and enjoy yourself. Be respectful and kind. You are a guest in someone else’s country. Please don’t forget that. We would definitely return! Per usual the Gran Bahia chain has treated us like gold and has made our vacations awesome! This shows, since this was our 7th time at this chain! Thank you again Gran Bahia and all staff. ¡muchas gracias a todos!

    Beautiful Property/Excellent Value in this Resort

    Reviewed by Jeff W(Brampton, Canada) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at this property the week of March 31, 2019. Have to say, this resort at a more premium destination like St Lucia would be a 10K + vacation, so great value! Located on an island, w/private beach which adds a level of security. Lots of availability for all amenities including beach/pool chairs, towels, food, drinks etc Property is vast & they are VERY diligent about maintaining the lush landscape, making the daily walks to/from anywhere relaxing & nice experience. 2 large, nicely maintained pools w/plenty of access, an ok gym Service is very good/professional. (not sure what some others here spoke to in this regard,folks were always polite &eager to please) some are just miserable by nature so to me, that is on them. Plus, just like any other service, You DO TIP for good service. I am always blown away at how CHEAP many people are-for gods sake, somebody provides good service, show some appreciation and BE GENEROUS! (as much as able) Drawbacks (minor at best if you even consider them such) -Lots of walking depending on where you are situated-but we enjoyed that part / and ride service is available -water taxi to mainland to visit can be a bit of a hassle/costly $40 bucks plus, there is a small public beach with a small market on the island if you so choose -two smaller beaches, one rough to play in waves, one calm.If you are person whose priority is long walks on beach, this resort is not for you. That said, we fall in that category, &we still thoroughly enjoyed my time

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX