Roc Barlovento

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    R

    Adult only, adequate, food is improving, had a great time everytime I went.

    Reviewed by RG on Aug 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location , fantatstic beach,house staff are very courteous, desk staff are not pleasant and do not go out of their way as one would normally be accustomed to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    The front desk staff at this hotel ruined our vacation.

    Reviewed by Cate on Mar 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The front desk staff at this hotel ruined our vacation. Every time we asked for assistance their answer was one of the following: no, wait or it will cost you. They were very rude and unhelpful. I would not recommend staying here at any price.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    a

    It's a 2 star at best

    Reviewed by ann on Aug 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I booked this hotel knowing full well that it was only a 3 star and so my expectations were not high. The price was right, so I booked it. The best thing about this resort is the location. The beach is AMAZING and BEAUTIFUL. I also loved the fact that we are in the center of Varadero and in walking distance of markets, restaurants, etc. It is in walking distance to a neighbourhood where we met many friendly Cubans and were able to hand out gifts and treats to children and adults.The bad thing about the beach is that it is being littered with garbage and cigarette butts. The local people and many tourists from countries other than Canada, are not educated about the environment and how to take care for it. It was SHOCKING to see people drop cigarettes into the ocean and just leave their empty chip bags and cans on the beach. If this keeps up, the beach will be ruined. Staff from the resort do try to keep it clean, but they can't keep everything under control.The food at this hotel buffet was absolutely horrible. I am not a fussy eater at all, but this was horrible. Even the tomato sauce for the pasta was disgusting. Had to eat plain pasta all week. There were too many flies in the buffet. It was gross.The pancakes and omelettes for breakfast were safe, but everything else was pretty unappealing. The à la carte restaurants were much better than the buffet. You only get 2 reservations for a one week stay, but after tipping generously on our first visit, the waiters shook our hands and told us we could eat there any night with no reservation. And that is just what we did. We just kept tipping nicely. Yuniel and Yulina were the servers and they were absolutely wonderful.We had several problems with our room. The toilet broke, we had no towels and then the AC started dripping and creating a huge puddle on the floor. We finally had to be moved to another room where the AC didn't drip, but it also didn't work as well as it should.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    t

    we loved our stay

    Reviewed by terri on Mar 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    I loved the location, I loved that it was adults only, I loved the beach but needed new chairs, the staff were accommodating esp when I had to change rooms. The ones closest to the beach were not suitable. Room 358 was great. At breakfast when I was drinking my coffee once I neared the bottom there was a broken coffee handle in my cup. Accidents happen. I did not like the idea of a safe in your room opened by a room key. Did not feel safe with it. I used my visa once in the lobby to book an excursion and when I got home about 2 weeks later the visa called and said my visa number was stolen. Would I stay there again, yes I would in a heart beat. It was unfortunate that I had some bad luck but it does not factor that I would not stay there again. If I did I would want room 358 again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    4+ star service! Great hotel.

    Reviewed by Mking on Feb 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the Barlovento at the end of January. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The food is wonderful, for Cuba. Lots of options on the buffet and 3 great a la carts. Some rooms are updated. Our friends room was updated , ours was not. But still clean and functional. Tons of beach chairs always available. Wonderful entertainment staff. 3 bars and a snack bar near the beach, very functional layout, never far from a bar, food or washroom. 3 blocks from the large varadero market, make for a nice walk, no need to pay a cab. Will be recommending this hotel to friends.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    V

    Great beach does not make up for the rest

    Reviewed by Val on Apr 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Rumor has it that this hotel is being renovated - long over-due! Room 222 is SO in need of renovations that I would advise the hotel not to use it until it has: upgraded plumbing re water pressure , upgraded bed linens and towels, security locks on hallway and balcony doors, bottled water, a thorough cleaning-top to bottom, a second reading lamp. Buffet food would be more acceptable with hot food available, and real coffee. Beach is fabulous, except for the 400million cigarette butts, and the cigar smokers. The staff did their best. The feral dogs are running all over the resort in packs, and they're scary. I cannot recommend this resort, nor will I be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    D

    The best Vacation, and going back as many times as we possibly can.

    Reviewed by Deb and Dave. BC Canada on Feb 08, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Small Adult only Resort within walking distance to anything you might want. It is clean, staff are so kind and helpful. The beach and ocean are beautiful. We are going back for the 2nd time in April. We can hardly wait. We love Cuba and the amazing people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2370 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Home away from home!

    Reviewed by Shegal71(Ottawa, Canada) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a wonderful week at the Roc I Barlovento. My room was awesome with two balconies, air conditioning worked great and Noella was an exceptional. The food was great with lots of fresh fruits and the buffet and a la carte restaurants were fantastic. I recommend the stuffed chicken at the Mexican Restaurant. All the Bartenders were open even during low season. All the bartenders go out of their way to accommodate requests when they can and are always a delight. Pools were beautiful (thank you Daniel) although I camped out at the beach most of the time. The animation team was awesome with encouraging us to participate in games and the evening shows were awesome!! I especially love the music throughout the day. Shout out and thanks to the amazing DJ’s Eloy and Ramon! Mucho gracias to all the entire staff, security and our hosts Lia and Ethan at the resort for making my vacation so amazing. See you all in October - my second home!!

    Excellent Food & Service/Inexpensive

    Reviewed by Nessadaflower(Ottawa, Canada) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a a great time. The food was excellent! On Mondays we had a grilled BBQ for lunch with every kind of meat you can imagine. There was also slow cooked soups and so much more. There were freshly picked coconuts that were cut for you to drink from and it was all free. The service was great. We had a room where the AC didn't work so well and they showed us a few rooms we could pick from. The rooms were so so. There was a red mark on the wall that I could never figure out what it truly was. The first room had stained sheets but we barely spend anytime on the resort. We went the week of christmas and it was the only resort that was about 1000$ CAN per person but I would go back anytime. It's rated like a 3 start but I really think it should be a 4 star. We met a man with his family that had gone to Varadero 17 times and chose to go to this resort after the first 9 times he went. He said he had stayed many times in 5 stars in Varadero but the food never compared to this resort. Also, the beaches were very nice and yo had great service in regards to getting the lawn chair where you wanted. Ultimately, don't let the star rating discourage you from booking this resort.

    At home ,with family.

    Reviewed by hcphilpitt(Halifax, Canada) on Jun 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hello Friends. First I would like to Thank the staff of Westjet & also the Staff of The Roc Barlovento. With the help of these people my daughter travelled to Cuba on same planes from Halifax& Toronto to Cuba & also on same bus. We did not even know,. Our daughter came to spend 10 dayswith us. Well done.,What a surprise & so enjoyable. The Staff of Roc Barlovento are just superior in the way you are treated on your time with them. The Kitchen staff& servers are extremely helpful . The food served at this resort is much better that other places I have been. The bar staff are so pleasant & so much fun to interact with. This year, there was a problem with the pool & I thought it might take a week to fix,not so, Daniel had it up & going in two days, Thank You Daniel . The nightly entertainment is always so enjoyable as the Director & assistant Director work very hard with the young dancers/performers to ensure all is perfect. There are two other groupsI would like to say a special THANK YOU to ,First the Animation team, OUTSTANDING, this year two new people ,Legna & Livan ,both done a superior job & so much enteraction with the guests & soooo many laughs,along with the other members of the Animation group, you all truly made this trip the best vacation ever--THANK YOU. In closing the last small (two) group The Customer service. These two staff member never stop trying to assist or help with any requests from the guests. Lia & Eathan are always there at the desk or within the resort sorting out any problems. The best Customer Service team I have ever dealt with in 12 yrs of travel to Cuba-THANK YOU Lia & Eathan. To ALL at The Roc Barlovento THANK YOU for a most enjoyable vacation,We look forward to next year. XOX Harry & Linda

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Another beautiful visit!

    Reviewed by pumkinhead(Bowmanville, Canada) on Jun 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 13th visit to Barlovento. It was probably our best stay ever. My husband surprised me with a renewal of vows ceremony, on our 30th wedding anniversary..It was so beautiful. I’d like to thank Claus, and the entire staff, for once again, doing all they could, to make our vacation as wonderful as can be. Above all, I want to thank Lia, and Etian, of client services. Thank you Etian, for staying so late, to be there for us. Lia, thank you for everything you did, in planning such a beautiful day. You and Chris did a great job at keeping it a secret from me. You went above and beyond, and we will forever be grateful. Everything was beautiful, and was even more beautiful, having our entire Cuban family, from Santa Marta there, to share such a beautiful day. The staff is just as wonderful as they have been in the past. From the front desk, to the gardeners. Never are tips expected here, but as always, are very much appreciated. Especially in harder times, such as now. We went shopping, and it was very sad. All freezers were empty. No meat to buy at all. I won’t go on about that, but what you hear is true.. The food gets better every time we go. Things are kept hotter, and are tastier. Something for everyone. The Fusion Restaurant was very good. The salmon dish, and the chicken dish, are very tasty. The Mexican Restaurant was good as well. Nice to have a break from the buffet. The beach of course, was beautiful. Never a complaint there! The public washrooms are kept much cleaner, always had toilet paper, and have a hand dryer as well. Would be nice one day, to see the washrooms renovated. That would add a lot to the resort. Entertainment is still the best we have seen. Addys, and Gelvin, have the best dance team. They’re shows are wonderful. Great to see you back, Gelvin. The rooms aren’t anything fancy, but they do the job. Any problems, just tell reception. Unfortunately, they had a problem with the pump of one of the pools. Daniel did his best to keep it clean. We did enjoy the other pool though. They got a new pump, at the end of our stay, so all was back to normal. Great job, Daniel! They were also building more cabanas around the pool, which will offer more shade. Beautiful, lounging swings, were being brought into the courtyard area, as well. All of the bartenders, are so friendly with us. I can’t imagine having their job. So many different types of people to deal with. I guess they are used to it. Miguel, at the lobby bar, has been there for 30 years, and is still going strong. They all do a great job,but there are too many to name. That about sums up our two week stay. Thank you once again, for giving us the most memorable holiday ever. Lia, I know you’re reading this right now, and just want to say that we are so lucky so have you as a friend. Thank you for everything, and we hope your burn is healing well. Muchas besos y abrazos..hasta pronto?????? Lisa and Chris

    Awesome with Cuban Class and kindness!!!!!

    Reviewed by damcrandall(Dartmouth, Canada) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a bit late!!!! My Brother, Sister and our betters traveled to the Roc B. for the first time in Feb 2019!!! All I can say is WOW!!!! From the moment we walked into the lobby til the time we left. We could not have asked for a better week. Close to town. Kiki`s!!!! yum!! Beach,,, magic. Staff was the best!!! Food sooooo awesome. Never go hungry. I really wish I had written down all the names of the staff and ppl I met while there.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX