Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa
    6. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    Will never go back

    Reviewed by Jules on Dec 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I will not recommend this place, red flag the whole time on the beach. Even the Mexican restaurant didn't make Mexican food. The only good meal we had was when we walked down the block 10 minutes to a restaurant.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Amazing staff would go back for sure

    Reviewed by Kenny on Aug 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first time in Mexico and We were pleasantly surprised with the service at this hotel. The staff was Amazing , so friendly ,always happy, humble, hard working and would always accommodate your requests. They would always go above and beyond their duties to fulfill your desires. We even received a free upgrade to an ocean view room upon arrival after my husband requested for one. The food was awesome . The best food was at the Pier Restaurant. The Shangri-La restaurant has formal-casual dress code in effect ,but I personally didn't like the taste of food at this restaurant. Oscar who works at the Paradise restaurant was the best. Others were great too. The bartenders were amazing. The resort had entertainment programs throughout the day. The Group who performed at the karaoke night was amazing. Although I wish they had similar programs each night .We always felt safe, secure and pampered to the extremes at the Golden Parnassus despite of all the horrible stories we here about Mexico in the news . I would say the beach was a little rough at this area. The tide was always high and the waves would really kick you out always. The guys who picked up at the airport (Best Day Travels)were really nice and helpful too. All in all since the moment we stepped in Cancun till we departed we had an Amazing dream like experience. The only thing the resort lacks is free wifi, You have to pay $21 CAN for a day for the internet which is only available in your room..If you want to connect to the internet though the La isla mall is just 3 km away from the resort and has MacDonald's and Starbucks that has free internet. And the Bus that goes in the hotel zone only take 12 pesos to get there. But all in all I would give it five stars .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8361 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Our Stay

    Reviewed by RicoRico50() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wife and I on vacation in Cancun first time there:What a great little hotel on the Cancun strip!!!! Staff was very pleasant and would bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. Food is fresh and water/ice no problem. Nightlife is great as well in the resort with music and activities! CANCUN IS SAFE! Ask for the bartender Jose!

    Well deserved rating

    Reviewed by Shamiah B() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Overall I really enjoyed my stay. The staff welcomed us with drinks at the bar, the bartenders were all really nice as well as the bell boys - they were all really fun and friendly. The spa services were superb as well

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Good drinks, Good view, good service, all down hill after that.

    Reviewed by nathang104() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This is me and my girlfriend's first time leaving the USA and I dont like to write reviews, let alone a bad one, because these people really do work hard so let's start with the positives: -The view is breathtaking, I'm talking Gatorade water view. -the beach is wonderfull and soft when you're not getting hassled by vendors every 5 minutes -the pool, if a little small had a nice location and a wonderful view - the service was wonderful from a few employees, especially Martin and Marco and the bartenders at the beer garden. -the drinks were pretty tasty and fun, if a little, too much on the sweet side But that is where the positives end unfortunately. Here we go. -The food at 80% of these restaurants were absolutely atrocious, especially the pier 12, and this is coming from an American who definitely isnt picky. Montezuma strikes his revenge with great force at this resort. The buffet is bland and contains the same food every morning and lunch, although lunch has a larger variety and actually wasn't too bad and was our favorite for the first two days before it got old. The japanese and Shangri La were pretty nice, but order a bit, portions are teeny tiny, maybe that's because of my yee haw American diet, I'm not sure. I could go on about the pier 12 and the breeze, but just know if you were hoping for good food, this place will surely disappoint. - it is really hot in the lobby, I mean I love open concept but sweating while I'm trying to eat a crepe is not my idea of vacationing, and god I feel so bad for the employees working here, I'd be a major grump ass too if I had to work in this heat. The buffet was especially hot and I just cant believe the managment would be cheap enough to not install some air conditioning. -wifi costs money even though it's free down the street. -beds are like rocks, didnt get one night of decent sleep. -jacuzzi tub kept filling with yellow water and leaving yucky sediment and residue behind -air conditioning in our room sucked -room service was kind of rude to us -we felt like a bother to a lot of the workers when we asked for help with anything although the service of a few made up for that. -It felt like we were just getting ripped off the whole time, I mean they let a guy sell fake cubans in the freaking lobby. -food was the same in every restaurant, if you got mashed potatoes in the steakhouse, they'd be the same as what you got in the buffet Overall this experience in Cancun was definitely educational, but I wont be returning soon and I will not be returning to the golden parnassus. In its day I bet this hotel was something special, and I bet it still could be, but management probably got a little greedy and so here we are. Really hats off to the workers for working in this sweathouse, my greatest sympathies go to them but I cannot ever recommend it here.

    BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER

    Reviewed by Jennisserg() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just stayed here for our honeymoon honestly couldn’t recommend it anymore ! Has been the best customer service we have ever received.!! It felt like home everyone so welcoming & extremely nice! Specially Martin at the door greeting & helping us adjust, Jesus @ the sumo restaurant was absolutely amazing!! & Carlos @ the outdoor bar amazing!!!! Will definitely be back!

    Special place for our honeymoon!

    Reviewed by sheenarocks4(Walker, Louisiana) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel on the outside wasn’t much to look at, but inside was beautiful. The lobby was very clean and fancy. We paid a little extra to get the top level honeymoon suite, and it was soooooooo worth it! There are only 6 levels, so we wanted the highest for the best view, and wow what a nice view of the warm inviting pool, and clear turquoise ocean! We enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the staff play games with the other guests. The shower was roomy. We had a large jet tub by the bed and balcony. The bed was large and comfy. The room was clean. The staff are so friendly and helpful. They made the experience even more enjoyable. The drinks were yummy with plenty to choose from. My husband was able to drink from the moment we finished breakfast till bedtime. There was plenty of activities at the pool area day and night with a tiki bar. The staff even came to us on the beach to take drink orders and pickup our mess. I think our only complaint would be that we were dissatisfied with the food in most the restaurants. It just didn’t taste good. We did however love the steakhouse restaurant across from the room that is included. Wish we knew this earlier on, so I really suggest people try it out! Other than that we loved the hotel for our honeymoon, and would go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX