Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa
    6. Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    Will never go back

    Reviewed by Jules on Dec 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I will not recommend this place, red flag the whole time on the beach. Even the Mexican restaurant didn't make Mexican food. The only good meal we had was when we walked down the block 10 minutes to a restaurant.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Amazing staff would go back for sure

    Reviewed by Kenny on Aug 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first time in Mexico and We were pleasantly surprised with the service at this hotel. The staff was Amazing , so friendly ,always happy, humble, hard working and would always accommodate your requests. They would always go above and beyond their duties to fulfill your desires. We even received a free upgrade to an ocean view room upon arrival after my husband requested for one. The food was awesome . The best food was at the Pier Restaurant. The Shangri-La restaurant has formal-casual dress code in effect ,but I personally didn't like the taste of food at this restaurant. Oscar who works at the Paradise restaurant was the best. Others were great too. The bartenders were amazing. The resort had entertainment programs throughout the day. The Group who performed at the karaoke night was amazing. Although I wish they had similar programs each night .We always felt safe, secure and pampered to the extremes at the Golden Parnassus despite of all the horrible stories we here about Mexico in the news . I would say the beach was a little rough at this area. The tide was always high and the waves would really kick you out always. The guys who picked up at the airport (Best Day Travels)were really nice and helpful too. All in all since the moment we stepped in Cancun till we departed we had an Amazing dream like experience. The only thing the resort lacks is free wifi, You have to pay $21 CAN for a day for the internet which is only available in your room..If you want to connect to the internet though the La isla mall is just 3 km away from the resort and has MacDonald's and Starbucks that has free internet. And the Bus that goes in the hotel zone only take 12 pesos to get there. But all in all I would give it five stars .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8125 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Experience

    Reviewed by Dream16506734624(Regina, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was the very first trip to Cancun and we chose this report as it was affordable and was having good ratings as well. We had the best experience of the vacation that anyone could expect. Will surely recommend this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Mediocre Hotel with wonderful staff

    Reviewed by Dayna G(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I chose this resort for the location and restaurant selection. When we arrived they only had rooms with two beds so we had to upgrade to "ocean view". It was worth it. The staff was wonderful. The decor is old and you really get what you pay for. The shows and entertainment need improvement. There's absolutely nothing to do at night unless you leave the resort. No disco or place to walk that's safe. No musical entertainment.

    Golden stay at a great resort with a beautiful beach!

    Reviewed by Sunshinegirl2003(Strathmore, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from a week at this wonderful resort. We traveled with two other couples as we were celebrating my husband and friend's 40th birthdays. The Golden Parnassus did not disappoint. We were greeted with their delicious Golden Parnassus drinks, which became a favourite throughout the week. Check in was easy however out of the three couples, we were the only ones who didn't get a free upgrade to the ocean view side. They were able to move us after two nights, which was much appreciated. The buildings are older and the rooms are plain and simple but we were expecting that. I did come prepared for limited bottled water in the room and the lack of a refrigerator with a good quality insulated cup. There are plenty of places to fill up your water around the resort so it wasn't as bad as I was expecting. You also have to pay for wifi, which really should be included at every resort. We paid $53 USD for two devices for the week and were able to split it with our friends. The rooms and the entire resort were kept very clean, I think this is one of the cleanest resorts we've ever been to. The food was excellent at this resort, from the buffet to the a la cartes. The buffet is open every day for breakfast and lunch but only some evenings. The a la carte restaurants also each close for one day a week so keep this in mind with your planning. There is also an a la carte breakfast at the Pier 12 restaurant. You don't need reservations at any of the restaurants except for the Teppanyaki show at the Sumo restaurant, which I definitely recommend. Valentino puts on a great show and the food is very tasty. We tried all of the a la carte restaurants and enjoyed them all. Our favourites were Shangri La and Pier 12, definitely try the stuffed chicken at Shangri La, and the lasagna and coconut shrimp at Pier 12. The service at all of the restaurants and bars was excellent, especially Nikolas at the Tiki Bar. There is also a Creperie next to the Sumo restaurant in the evenings. Esther makes delicious crepes and puts lots of love into making them. We spent most of our days at the beautiful beach. The ocean was pretty rough, red flags every day except for one. If you wanted a pillappa you apparently had to get up very early to put your towels out. The pool area didn't offer a lot of shade either for those who were looking for shade. The hot tub was nice and big but wasn't very hot, which would have been nice after the sun went down. We didn't take in most of the shows at the resort but we did catch the end of a Grease show and the Elegance show. They also have a Mexican dinner and show by the pool once a week. We did go to Coco Bongos and had a fun and crazy night there. It's a combination of a night club and a Vegas show all in one. Be prepared for a late night as the show doesn't start until 11:00 pm and doesn't end until around 3:00 am. The gym at the resort had updated equipment and weights and a great view. We also enjoyed massages on the beach one day. I would definitely recommend getting them on the beach but keep in mind that the hut is right next to the hot tub, the Tiki bar, and the beach volleyball court. We had ours on a rainy day so it was very quiet and relaxing until a volleyball game started. If booking on the beach I would try to plan for a quieter part of the day. Overall we were very happy with our stay at the Golden Parnassus. It's a smaller resort, which was nice because everything is close. Although the buildings are old and could use some updating it is kept very clean. The food and the service were excellent and the beach is beautiful.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Very good price/quality

    Reviewed by RostomC5(Quebec City, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great vacations overall (2 weeks). The food and service were awesome (restaurants without reservation!!). But the rooms are old, there are not enough parasol and too many elderly customers. We were 2 couples aged 36 and we recommand this hotel for the price/quality value.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    ALL INCLUSIVE

    Reviewed by Wanderer27505652446(Hamilton, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I almost had a great experience until the staff forgot to give me my checkout time that they gave to everyone else. it was not fair and i got charged 50 USD for staying longer. The maid was suppose to drop off the date of checkout however i was only given the the departure of the bus time. disappointing the staff was not helpful and did not compensate for there lack of communication.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX