Iberostar Daiquiri

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    C

    The service ruins the experience; NB: Abbreviated review due to limited characters

    Reviewed by Connie on Jan 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    The resort itself was nice and the food was tasty, we stayed in a Iberostar chain because my travel agent explained that they imported spices from Spain and therefore the food was well above that found elsewhere in Cuba. The staff were friendly, and the shows incredibly talented and entertaining note: the "dance bar" portion of the night always included the staff's children and teenagers bumping and grinding on the dance floor babies included, and no one dressed up , but with regards to service no one was jumping up to help and often just tried to get you to go talk to someone else rather then help. A quick example our credit card that we were told would work would not work. When I asked the front desk for advice they were unhelpful and uninterested when I asked them to call our Westjet travel agent they told me I had to call from my room so I would be billed for it. Explaining that I obviously had no money because the credit card issue was the reason I was calling got me the response "Well I'm not paying for it!" So I made the call from my room, and then asked how much I owed to make sure I saved the cash from the bit of money we had left, I was told $2.89. I was surprised it was such a small amount and clarified that translation was not messing up the amount. On checkout day they told me I owed $20.89, not the $2.89 the man had told me 2 days prior. When I told them I had no money left but $12 they refused to accept it and told me I would not be allowed to leave the resort or the island unless I paid. They THEN were able to call my Westjet agent on their phone no problem! He was kind enough sarcasm to suggest that I borrow money from other travelers or else I was out of luck and they would prevent me from leaving the resort. All of this while my two young sons stood beside me. Oh and the hotel was constantly out of things like towels, and only refilled the fridges in the rooms every other day.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4636 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Awesome stay at Iberostar Daiquiri Cayo Guillermo Cuba!

    Reviewed by Jazzy4Ever(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The best service, smiles and ensuring your stay is a pleasant one at Iberostar Daiquiri. Excellent!!! And the Cubans are happy people! The resort is an older one, very clean and they really do work hard on maintaining the resort and grounds.we had hot showers, air conditioning and a good sleep! Hurricanes in the past few years have stressed the resort a little. That did not reflect our thoughts and stay there. We were very happy with our room and the view of the beach was just spectacular. I recommend a stay here on the island. Our food was great, we did not have any issues! The hard work of all the employees ensuring great food quality and choices. If your mind is open to the little differences you will be fine! We especially enjoyed the artisan pancake designs, every day we were presented with them! Lots of fish and seafood!! Pasta, stir fry chicken and pizza stations all made fresh to you on how you wanted it. Prime rib and stea grilled! Condiments available from maple syrup to many varieties of salad dressings ect. No pepper or ketchup, mustard and relish though. We survived with the delicious salsa bbq sauce. Home made bread and fresh donuts to die for! Gelato was regularly served at lunch and supper as part is dessert. I will definitely recommend this resort and go back! If your looking for the best beaches it’s a must to go to Cuba! Cayo Coco and Cayo Guillermo is total relaxation. Beaches I rate over a five star!!! A ten....One of the best beaches in the Caribbean. Unbelievable colours of turquoise blues and greens that are constantly changing. Lots of excursions available to be booked at the hotel. Easy to change Canadian Money or American to their dollar the Cuc. If your Canadian just bring your currency to change. Resort has a cigar store and lots of vendor shops! Liquor from Cuba very cheap and great prices at this resort. Local artisans with their beautiful work sell things daily. Leather and beach bags to trinket souvenirs Prices are very reasonable for the variety of items sold. I always support the locals as they work very hard for a cuc dollar. My recommendation is experience the beauty and calm of the amazing Cuba! I will be back??????

    My first trip to Daiquiri

    Reviewed by Yaelmird() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed last week there, this was our first time to Daiquiri and we absolutely love it. This resort is beautiful. The food is really good and the staff were amazing. I would recommend this hotel and can not wait to return.

    Very nice resort

    Reviewed by derlume3154() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I just came back from a wonderful holidays at this resort. Room was old but very clean with nice hot water and AC. The maid was excellent, her name is Raisa. Food was ok, good variety at the buffet restaurant. Mexican a la carte was our favorite. The beach is georgeus and the weather was super.

    Great food, great time

    Reviewed by Gary M() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Daquiri from April 2nd to April 12, the trip started a little badly, our superior room was not by any means superior, it was basically 2 twin beds with a loveseat and armchair crammed in the corner. we were switched to a nicer room the next day without any problem, so if you book superior, make sure that's what you get, we were in room 2156, nice room, close to the beach. big thanks to Michael and the crew at the front desk they were awesome, . The food in the buffet was the best we have had in Cuba up to now, nice variety for lunch and supper, Pasta station is awesome, Alfredo and rose are the best, fish, pork and chicken on the grills every meal, pork was salty but good, there was steak almost every day, but very tough. Stir fry was great, we had spring rolls, beef bourgignon and much more, we never went hungry . Big thanks to Ladylady , Iran and Dago in the buffet, great people, (don't forget to tip, many people don't). We don't do A la Cartes in Cuba, so I can't comment (more disappointments than good) so we don't bother anymore. We did take a chance on the 20 peso lobster dinner, but we were sick for 3 days after, nothing major, but lesson re learned. They have a snack bar at the pool bar basic stuff, burgers / fries / hot dogs etc, and a buffet at the Marina bar, but we stayed away from there because of a very rude bartender, didn't get his name, just look for the miserable guy behind the bar. All the food there was pretty good too. The beach was huge and beautiful, if you go, bring some snorkeling gear, many fish and crabs in the water, especially around the dock, we spent most of our beach time doing this, also, despite the resort being full, we always found a chair and a palapa at the beach, as for the pool, all the chairs with shade are taken by 6:00 am, the pool is pretty small, but the entertainment crew do a great job if you can find a seat. The lobby bar has great entertainment in the evening, Brian, our regular waiter was awesome, super nice guy and does a great job, our drinks almost never went empty. The public bathrooms were always clean and always had toilet paper, no complaints there. If you decide to go to Pilar beach, a short ride away on the bus(5 pesos for the day), they try to cram as many people as possible under the 2 peso palapas, you would be better to take the 10 peso beds, they include 3 free drinks, and you have a bit of elbow room, otherwise, not a pleasant experience. Daquiri is a small hotel, but very well managed, managers were often working the floor when staff were overwhelmed, always interacting with the guests. All in all, worth the money. 7 - 10 days is perfect as other than excursions, there is not much to do off resort . Also, thanks to Tony Tony (his real first and last name) our Sunwing rep, nice guy, always around to answer our questions.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    7 day all inclusive from manchester

    Reviewed by howardeast2(Clevedon, United Kingdom) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    3rd visit in 18 years. Food ok not as good as 2010. Beach fabulous, trips great Staff friendly and helpful entertainment better than the Canaries. Easy flight from Manchester via Thomas Cook. Great value.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX