Occidental Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    n

    Disappointing, badly managed resort

    Reviewed by nellikapro on Jan 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst resort experience in Mexico by far - been to this part of the country just about every winter in the past decade. Incredibly poorly managed. Changed 3 rooms in the first 24 hours - 4 of us were housed in a ONE KING BED room: 2 adults, a teenager - paying FULL PRICE - and a 7-yr old; second option was 2 DOUBLE beds - not queen, uncomfortable for two adults. Ended up sleeping with the young one in a king bed, and a roll-out bed for the teenager - worst sleep ever. Had room for only half the clothing in the small closet which is in the bathroom, BTW. Bell boy brought someone else's purse to our room; while our 5 suitcases went missing. Eventually discovered who knows where - not at front desk, nor storage room. Staff were unmotivated and indifferent, nice sometimes but mostly seemed burdened and rarely smiled. I don't necessarily blame them - they must be dealing with unsatisfied guests all the time. Exceptions: Carolina, Chrystal, Olegario, Sonya, Jesus, Edgar. Long wait for service ALL AROUND: front desk; beach towels - self service most times; at buffets: to be seated, order, be served, refills; a la carte: once waited 45 min for appetisers, 90 min for main; bars - especially at pool/beach. Have never seen such poor variety of food choice in Mexico; especially the fruits and veggies. Though, most cooked fare and a la carte food were tasty. Once we had a la carte reservation, but the restaurant was closed. Some of the timeshare people are duplicitous, annoying and cocky - especially the project managers. Beautiful grounds and beach, lots of potential; but not under the current management. Will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6468 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Relaxing Oasis

    Reviewed by CarrieReneeNYC(New York City, New York) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our fifth year going to Occidental Cozumel. We are now First Club Members in the Occidental Vacation Club as we realized we wanted to keep coming back. This resort has the best beach on the island. We snorkel off the beach and see an array of sea life. We love the relaxed vibe of the resort and spend most days relaxing at the beach, snorkeling and popping in to the open air restaurant right next to the beach. The food is good at the buffets, especially the lunch buffet with a selection of local faire, as well as burgers and fries for the kids. We love the variety of restaurants for dinner. Our favorite is Sonora. The resort is in sync with the natural surroundings and is landscaped so beautifully and every room feels so private. It is a special place and everyone who works there is so friendly and attentive that they feel like family. We especially love our first club staff. They always make us feel so welcome. We can’t wait to go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Dive Trip

    Reviewed by jmmeatmarket(Searcy, Arkansas) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Probably the worst food I have ever experienced at any restaurant any resort I have ever stayrd in. There was only one place to eat during lunch any day same food every day food quality was for room condition is good beds like sleeping on rocks pillows were the rocks that we were using the sleeve only other rocks

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Awesome Resort!

    Reviewed by Nomad157649() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I had a great time at Occidental Cozumel. Excellent service! Our room was always impedcable, the pool by the beach had good entertainment. The buffet at lunch and dinner time could use a bit of improvement on the variation of foods. Only downside I found was not having palapas in the beach area. We will definitely go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Dive destination

    Reviewed by mjsloane6215(Park Falls, Wisconsin) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    One of the best places to stay if you are planning a dive trip. The only exception is the dive center they have on site. If you are new to Cozumel or SCUBA diving, they can provide a decent enough experience. However if you know the reefs you may find Pro Dive somewhat lacking. They bring in dive masters from overseas and they do not know the area as well as the local dive shops. My suggestion would be to look into doing your dives with a local shop.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    thought food and rooms wouod have been better

    Reviewed by timjohn11(Orange County, California) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Nice beach and service, buffets and one of the restaurants were below average. Premium restaurant was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Beds were hard and sheets and pillow cases were old and dirty

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX