Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Huatulco
    5. Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco
    6. Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    L

    Loved our stay!!

    Reviewed by LAS on Dec 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    A well kept quiet little resort. Staff were friendly and food was good. Location is close enough to walk to other restaurants and shopping for something different. For my 11 year old daughter, she stayed busy swimming in the pool and doing crafts We upgraded to a room with a private pool, which although the views where spectacular, didn't use the pool enough.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 795 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best Part of Mexico!

    Reviewed by Laurie F(New Hamburg, Canada) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We arrived as a couple Jan 8 2019 and stayed for 1 week. We both work in retail and after the hustle of the xmas season we needed to relax and disconnect. This is why you should choose this resort. No nightly entertainment to guilt you into staying up and nobody to beg you day in and day out to exercise or play games.This is what we were looking for. HOWEVER...as nice as that sounded there are at least 20 people per day that will walk up to your palapa on the beach and solicit their wares or offer their excursions. This gets old super fast. I would rather they just had a common area where you could visit if you wanted to to check things out. This was an annoyance. The beach service was spotty to begin with but once we connected with a waiter we liked, we were treated well and tipped him accordingly. He went out of his way to do everything he could for us. The beach is beautiful. There was not a stitch of seaweed to be seen the whole week and combined with the very consistent weather and minimal rainfall in this part of Mexico is the reason we will return to this area. We thought our room was fantastic. Comfortable bed, no water issues and the temp was perfect. To the people who complain about it being run down....I would like to ask them what others would say if they were to vacation in their home? To whose standards are these people comparing. Like really? Pay no attention to anyone who says the rooms could be better. They are wonderful. The cleaning products made the room smell so good, even the toilet paper has a fresh scent to it that I couldn't pinpoint. We upgraded to a beach front pool room but in the end found that it wasn't necessary. We barely used it and spent all of our days on the beach. The pool is gorgeous and sparkling clean and perfect temp. This is NOT a location for anyone who has mobility issues. The beach is small so if you are a lover of long beach walks...reconsider. There are 2 locations to eat dinner that rotate nightly. One of them you have to take a reservation for in the morning. Both offer the same limited menu every time. I don't eat seafood and found the options limited.You do have the option of room service however, the food will be luke warm at best and unpredictable. Items forgotten, or just completely wrong. I ordered the same breakfast 3 times and got 3 different meals. Most of this problem is a language barrier. It would be easier to order by number. Breakfast is a small buffet with basically the same items daily, but good. Try the Mexican coffee in the crock...it's a nice treat. Our flight out was delayed once we hit the airport by half a day. After calling the hotel we were allowed to come back. They stored out luggage for us. We pulled out our suits and spent the afternoon by the pool, however we had to pay for our own food and drinks at that point. It would have been nice for them to make an exception. We were very happy to discover this beautiful part of Mexico and will return to the area. The only reason I think we would try a different resort is the limited dining options.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Great Vacation!!

    Reviewed by YYZtravel26(Toronto, Canada) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just returned from a week at the Camino Real. As a couple in our late-thirties, I was looking for a quiet, clean place to get away, and this fit the bill and more. We had a great time overall. Rooms: - All of the rooms have an ocean view - There are no 'loud' or 'quiet' places in the resort - it's all quiet - Some rooms have plunge pools. Ours didn't and I didn't feel like I was missing out on anything at all - Our room was near the lobby so we were able to get WIFI in the room - Overall, very clean, comfortable beds, sheets, snacks and drinks replenished daily Food/Dinning: - I would give the food a solid 'good' overall - Breakfast was the best, with fresh fruit, made-to-order eggs, omlettes, quesedillas and a buffet with lots of variety. Also open from 7 - noon. - Lunch took a few days to figure out what we liked, but also lots of variety at the beach restaurant, and they would accommodate requests not on the menu - A-la-carte restaurants were okay, not great. Dinner buffet was a bit hit or miss. But you always had the option to order room service which was great. - You could order room service to the beach any time, which was a really nice touch and also meant you could get food at any time (not just when restaurants were open) - You did have to sign out a cheque each time you left a restaurant or bar, which was a little off putting. This is because of the people who are visiting the resort condos (not all inclusive). It took a few days of getting used to, but we never had any issues about incurring additional expenses this way. Beach: - Beautiful, quiet beach. Not shared with other resorts - On the small side, not great for 'walking the beach', unless you don't mind going back and forth - the flags were always red, and the waves were huge some days. I think this is just based on where the resort is in the bay. You were still able to swim - Not great snorkeling, due to the waves Other: - Overall, we had a great experience - Staff were excellent across the board - Very clean resort - Beautiful beach and pool - Quiet, respectful, older crowd, along with some families for shorter weekend/day stays

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    It’s ok but I’m not staying here again

    Reviewed by Hershdog2016(Edmonton, Canada) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    It’s a very quiet hotel a great place for rest and relaxing. The food was ok nothing great and 2 of the 4 of us did not feel well during our stay. Wifi sucks, I don’t understand in this day and age why wifi is not available throughout the resort, moving forward I will only stay at resorts that have wifi everywhere (I believe I’m not alone). Also the place is dated and needs a significant upgrade of the room we stayed in.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Still amazing

    Reviewed by Osta1962(Nanaimo, Canada) on Feb 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have chosen Camino Real as our go to spot in Huatulco for many reasons. The rooms while dated , are a huge part of the charm. Looking up at the gorgeous architecture from the pool or beach is a reminder that this isn't just another hotel. The staff are incredible! Juanita, Roberto, Reynoldo, Carlos Mauricio, and Cubanon(bad spelling, but that's how he pronounced it), went above and beyond to make every moment of our stay memorable. Avoided Azul Profundo this year to not have the lap blankets over heating us. The buffets have gone way downhill. Mostly cold, unimaginative fare. Was far better when one could get their feature items, fresh from the grill or pizza oven. With that said, would return in a heartbeat to our favorite piece of paradise in Huatulco.

    Beautiful setting

    Reviewed by TopherRolf(Calgary, Canada) on Feb 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Setting Spectacular backdrop. The buildings look like something in Greece. Quiet place, not for those looking for partying, tons of entertainment. Beach Natural privacy by rocks/cliffs on either side. Beautiful. But not for swimming unless you have superior skills. (with caution you could climb rocks on right hand side to walk on the neighbouring beach which is used by the Dreams and Barcelo resorts {soon to be Quinta Real? looked ot be under construction}) Rooms Dated but large and certainly adequate. We had one with plunge pool close by the pool (beach front ones already reserved). Worth the upgrade. Food Limited options, but we didn't mind that. Food was tasty and mostly authentic Mexican (Oaxaca area especially) - we're in Mexico so we like that local touch! Ceviche, fish tacos, guacamole, coconut shrimp all great (Note: I did have some GI illness on last day of trip; may have been resort food but cannot confirm - I did admittedly get adventurous on food choice the night before) Beverages Many premium beers/spirit options for our package Staff Really great. Though sometimes definitely understaffed. Sunday seemed to be an especially busy day with the same number of staff trying admirably to keep up. There could be improvements made in terms of efficiency of how things are organized and executed. E.g. Running around does not equate to efficient service (this was especially noticeable at the Azul Profundo evening restaurant which has the potential to be exceptional, intimate dining experience). Standout staff: Alan at reception. Servers: Avelino, Reynaldo, Antonio, Jose Carlos (if management reads, please tell those 4 that Chicharo says Hi! ; ) - they made our time there extra special. They all work long hours. Have patience and be kind. You'll be rewarded. As well, the gardening staff does a great job. This resort's ground are kept up nicely. Entertainment None to speak of which is fine by us. They did have a super bowl party which was cool to see. All-inclusive Vs Condo Rental We were there on AI package. Although we saw no direct conflicts that have been previously noted there were a lot of signs hanging from the buildings which contained condo units. Didn't really affect us, but use caution if you are renting from a condo owner. There seems to be still a major unresolved conflict between the hotel and the condo owners. It did not affect our stay and we would not let this inhibit us from returning. Excursions Through MaxiTours via Westjet, so not resort specific. - Sightseeing/shopping: shopping was a tad long to our liking but others on tour liked it. Some duplication and aspects of it drawn out, but guide Manny Gonzalez was really nice and super knowledgable. He had Gamaliel training with him as well and we enjoyed having him show his youthful enthusiasm for the beauty of Huatulco area and how they are trying to conserve environment and culture. - Sun and Fun snorkling, boat tour of bays: overall worth it. Main negative was we were told there would be a light snack which would have been fine. Instead, beer was included, but for food we stopped long at one beach and you had to pay (fine if told in advance). There some safety hazards on the snorkeling portion (cave, tight squeeze along a coral reef). Again, ok if told in advance. Also, only one chance to snorkel and not for beginners.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX