Aston at the Maui Banyan Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Across the road from 3 great Kihei beaches, restaurants and food/shopping close by .. You MUST spend the extra for a deluxe room!!

    Reviewed by Doug Blades on Nov 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit with our 2 teen-age kids (1 bedroom kitchen unit was P407 and attached lock-out unit with 2 double beds for the kids was P407A) The whole unit was very roomy and had a nice balcony with partial ocean view (given as an upgrade though) this particular unit is slightly below my expectations for a standard room. We did ask about the "deluxe" units and they are units that have been more recently renovated and should absolutely be your pick if you want a true 3+ rating. You could definitely see the difference in units when the hall doors were open for the house keeping staff during the day. All the staff were great and did their best to provide you with a great experience. The property itself is truly beautiful and the grounds keeping staff do an awesome job manicuring everything and keeping the pool and BBQ areas perfect. Location across from Kamaole 2 beach is primo! The buildings were built in 1990/91 and the room units we stayed in (P407 & P407A) appears to have had very little done to them renovation wise since 1991. Carpet was dead and needs to be replaced (maybe try tile or lino for sand coming in off the beach ??) Walls look like they were spot re-painted/patched sporadically, a few pictures were actually painted around while they must have been left on the wall. One of the burners on the stove didn't work and shows its 1991 vintage. Bi-fold closet doors were NOT hung with care in P407A. All of the above could be overlooked because the unit was roomy and did the trick. But .. shame on the owner of this unit, as the bed in master bedroom is right sacked. My back was so sore after 2 nights, I slept on the pull out sofa and everyone knows how great a pull out sofa is. On the 3rd night, I asked house keeping if they could swap out the mattress and they graciously put a foam pad unit under the sheets and gave me a thick blanket to sleep on ... this and some Aleve tablets got me thru the rest of the week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 850 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Stay

    Reviewed by Cassandra T(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 10 days in the middle of June. We had a one bedroom condo with two bathrooms. The room was spacious and clean. We had a kitchenette which was a great way to save money and take a break from eating out. The grounds were maintained and the location was amazing. You are walking distance to many restaurants and beaches. The staff were friendly. I recommend booking excursions with the Expedia rep in the lobby, he was super nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are planning to visit Maui.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Aston at Maui Banyan

    Reviewed by Beajoy19(South Kingstown, Rhode Island) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed in a Deluxe, 2 bedroom with partial ocean view for 6 nights. The property grounds were attractive & well maintained. The staff was pleasant & although we didn’t have but one request for a clean blanket to replace the stained one in our room, provided us with good & friendly service. The request for the blanket was NOT met in a timely manner. However, with a fresh coat of paint & better insect/ pest control in the rooms, the rooms would be much, much more pleasant to stay in. The bathroom & kitchen had very tiny crawling insects even though they came in and sprayed at our request one day while we were out. We also had a very large spider in our bedroom that we couldn’t catch on the last night of our 6 night stay. Although the rooms overall seemed clean, the glass sliding doors & other vertical surfaces & mirrors had fingerprints, indicating to me that the rooms aren’t thoroughly cleaned. No attention to detail when it came to cleaning these things. They could rate 4 stars if they took care of the above. However, I’d rate them between a 2.5-3 at best.

    Nice place

    Reviewed by X172FEdonnab(Stanley, Kansas) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Pros: We booked a one bedroom for one night here while waiting to get onto our timeshare resort. They upgraded us to a deluxe 1-bedroom with a kitchen. The double shower was nice, but it was in the extra bathroom, not the master bedroom (thAt had a tub and shower.). All the utensils, dishes, soaps, shampoos, detergents and towels we needed were supplied. Coffee, sugar and creamer was also in the unit. Even plastic storage containers. The unit was nice and clean, and the air conditioner worked well. They even gave us a complementary box of macadamia nut chocolates. The desk personnel were very accommodating and friendly and check in was streamlined. We also got a card for unlimited DVD movies. They had a small but not crowded pool, but we didn’t have time to use it. It is in nice location with lots of shops and a grocery store within a mile or two. Foodland, the local grocery store, had fairly reasonable prices considering it is Hawaii. We just took advantage of their sales. Just be sure to sign up for their rewards card, A very simple process. Also I learned that on Thursday’s they give senior citizens a 5% discount. Make sure to bring your own grocery bags or you get charged. However you get 5 cents back for using your own. Now the cons: We had issues converting from Cable TV to the DVD source. They use a game boy device and since we are senior citizens, it was difficult to figure out. A maintenance worker had to come up and show us, but his English wasn’t too good and we still had a hard time with it. The outlets in the bedroom were minimal. Only on one side of the bed, and there were no USB ports for phones and other devices. We also had an issue with ants, so I kept all food and supplements in plastic ware and ziplock bags. This seems to be a universal problem in Hawaii as we had ants in our Big Island condo as well. Just make sure you bring lots of ziplock bags for food. Even for your medications. Overall, it was a very nice place

    off the beach

    Reviewed by C L() on May 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very nice condo project, good amenities in the unit. Clean. It is OFF the beach however, across the street and depending on which building you are assigned, you may have quite a walk just to get to the road. Good location, although traffic can be a bit over the top. Good pools, parking was difficult.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Plan carefully and you will really enjoy this location.

    Reviewed by secauley(Denver, Colorado) on May 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Some reviews of the Maui Banyan are bad, some are great. We had a wonderful experience! The key is to remember that each condo is owned by an individual. So some are really nice and some are not. I would suggest that you make a reservation, then call the front desk and talk to them. They know which units are in good shape and which ones are not. Get their advice. The unit we were in was recently remodeled and everything was awesome. We had a nice ocean view, near the pool, and it was a quiet part of the property.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX